Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog hacked to death with an axe on Valentines Day

• 20-02-2013 12:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

We haven’t got the full report yet but the initial inspection shows the dog had a fractured skull, punctured ribs, multiple broken bones and a broken skull,” Webb said. "You can see from the photos we took that the axe went right into the dog’s head"

http://www.thejournal.ie/dog-hacked-axe-valentines-day-802162-Feb2013/?utm_source=shortlink (photos where too graphic for the Journal to publish to this is SFW)

Seems the pond scum that did this to the poor animal also made violent threats against the female Animal Welfare inspector when she visited to investigate.

Would it be out of order for me to say that I hope karma catches up with the "person" who visited such suffering on the defenceless animal in full kind and worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Rose are red
    Violets are blue
    I cut out this dogs heart
    Just for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I hope who ever done this rots in hell.. Nothing pi$$es me off as much as this st!t..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Cnut. That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Dog killed in gangland style attack! Time to arm our dogs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I would definitely beat these fúckers to death...... with my keyboard, verbally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

Cannot understand how anybody could hurt an animal like that :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Saw this in one of the redtops today. Picture of the poor bastard'n dead dog and all. Whoever did this will repeat his actions if not put down himself beforehand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Dog hacked to death with an axe on Valentines Day

Unrequited puppy love?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

If someone can do this to an animal then it's not going to be a far leap for them to bring serious harm to another person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

I wonder will he even be prosecuted? With our barbaric animal cruelty laws, I wouldn't hold my breath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I'd love to get my hands on the **** that did this and torture him very very slowly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Christ almighty how can people do this kind of thing, it makes me sick that people can do this.

What is going wrong with this world!!!!

judgefudge wrote: »

No normal person could - it would pretty much take a clinical psychopath, and that means this man should almost certaintly be locked up for the good of society

I'm guessing it's some auld fella from a farming background used to chopping the heads off chickens or the like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭The Barefoot Pizza Thief

Would it be out of order for me to say that I hope karma catches up with the "person" who visited such suffering on the defenceless animal in full kind and worse?

Nope.

I'm guessing it's some auld fella from a farming background used to chopping the heads off chickens or the like.
    What's that supposed to mean?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

What an utter scumbag.

Where To wrote: »
    What's that supposed to mean?

That some old-school farmer/hunting types are probably used to killing their own chickens/turkeys/pigeons/rabbits etc for home consumption.
    So they're used to putting down animals.

And I'm not condoning it in any way, it's savage... just trying to comprehend the possible thinking behind it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

judgefudge wrote: »

meat is murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

Jester252 wrote: »
    Rose are red
    Violets are blue
    I cut out this dogs heart
    Just for you
    Unrequited puppy love?

Its a wonder a moderator hasnt been on and moved ye to the comedy forum becuase ye are soooooooooo funny

That some old-school farmer/hunting types are probably used to killing their own chickens/turkeys/pigeons/rabbits etc for home consumption.

And I'm not condoning it in any way, it's savage... just trying to comprehend the possible thinking behind it.
    And what as a farmer putting down his own animals have in common with this barbarity?

**** all, that's what.

I hope 4chan get a hold of his details

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Seems the pond scum that did this to the poor animal also made violent threats against the female Animal Welfare inspector when she visited to investigate.

Thats an insult to pond scum in fairness. The individual is clearly not right in the head, no mentally healthy person would carry out such an act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

What difference does it make if the dog was killed on Valentines Day??

Unless Hallmark had something to do with it

What difference does it make if the dog was killed on Valentines Day??

Unless Hallmark had something to do with it

No difference, just pointing out the date. Could have said Feb 14th but this seemed easier

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I highly doubt it. For one thing, he was in a housing estate, not out on a farm or anything. Also, by the sounds of how brutal it was, doesn't strike me as a simple case of "putting the animal down". I'm more inclined to thing the guy is a nutcase.

Denny M wrote: »
    I highly doubt it. For one thing, he was in a housing estate, not out on a farm or anything. Also, by the sounds of how brutal it was, doesn't strike me as a simple case of "putting the animal down". I'm more inclined to thing the guy is a nutcase.

In which case he needs to be locked up for the good of the community. If a conviction can't be sorted on animal cruelty grounds (because we live in a strange old country that doesn't take the welfare of animals seriously it seems) then surely the Animal Welfare Inspector who was violently threatened could press charges?

If that's what it takes to get him punished I'd be all for it. The threatening probably wouldn't get him much unless he did something like swing the axe at her, but he doesn't deserve to get off scott free.

I can't believe people are making jokes about this, the dog's parents could be reading this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Section 6 of the public order act...he could be locked up for 3 months & fined €500 if this happened in a public place {outside of the home}

EnterNow wrote: »
    Section 6 of the public order act...he could be locked up for 3 months & fined €500 if this happened in a public place {outside of the home}

Too lenient, he should be skinned and thrown in a bath of salt water.

Denny M wrote: »
    If that's what it takes to get him punished I'd be all for it. The threatening probably wouldn't get him much unless he did something like swing the axe at her, but he doesn't deserve to get off scott free.

Well even if he just gets a few nights - if karma exists I would hope that the other inmates are well aware of what their new fellow resident did to that defenceless animal. At least give him a decent hiding that he won't want repeated in a hurry!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

DarkJager wrote: »

Yes, that's the answer to mental illness.

old hippy wrote: »

Nah, feck that excuse - he knew this was wrong, and if he didn't then he's a danger to the community and needs to be locked away for his own and everyone elses good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

I didn't click the link as I really don't want to see the pictures. How anyone could do that it is awful the person should get sent to jail for life it is "murder" in a way. If this was done to a person it would be different reaction it is still just as bad .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Is it strange that I feel more sympathy when this sort of thing happens to an animal more so than a person?

I don't care if he's mentally ill, if he's capable of such an act he should be put down. Mental illness is not a sympathy card you can play for actions like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

Whatever about the guy that did this, it strange that people are so quick to call for murder, putting down and torture of this guy. I agree with possible conviction and/or imprisonment, but some posters going a little to far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Valentines Day is clearly to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

meat is murder

Good album, prefer The Queen Is Dead though

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,197 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

A very sick and warped individual to visit such wanton cruelty on a little dog. Animal cruelty laws really need to be brought up to date and and to speed.

Jail time should definitely be among the options available for punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

the organisation got a call on its emergency hotline on 14 February to a housing estate where they were told a dog was being attacked.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/dog-hacked-axe-valentines-day-802162-Feb2013/?utm_source=shortlink

Know many farmers ploughing up the tarmac on housing estates do you........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

i certainly wouldn't want my kids living anywhere close to that freak.
    we have serious issues regarding the (mis)treatment of animals. this is just another horrific example.

a very sad reflection of our society i'm afraid.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

1ZRed wrote: »
    Is it strange that I feel more sympathy when this sort of thing happens to an animal more so than a person?

Like small children, animals can't speak or tell someone that they're being maltreated and they (particularly dogs) look up to humans and trust them.

I think that's why people get enraged at cruelty to animals and kids.

Like small children, animals can't speak or tell someone that they're being maltreated and they (particularly dogs) look up to humans and trust them.

I think that's why people get enraged at cruelty to animals and kids

That brought a tear to me eye. :(

But it is very true. But also, dogs in particular are very intelligent. A lot more intelligent than humans give them credit for..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

shanered wrote: »
    Whatever about the guy that did this, it strange that people are so quick to call for murder, putting down and torture of this guy. I agree with possible conviction and/or imprisonment, but some posters going a little to far.

Agreed. It was a horrible thing to do, but at the end of the day it's a dog, not a human.

Confab wrote: »
    Agreed. It was a horrible thing to do, but at the end of the day it's a dog, not a human.

It's not a human. But at the same time dogs/animals should be treated as fairly.

If this happened to a human he would be named and shamed. Not only did he brutally butcher a defenceless little dog, he threatened an Animal rights Inspector. The filth should be named and shamed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

Confab wrote: »

Oh once its not human its ok to torture and kill it as if animals dont feel any pain. I have no pity what so ever if this piece of scum had the same done to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

I'd love to get my hands on the **** that did this and torture him very very slowly.
    Well even if he just gets a few nights - if karma exists I would hope that the other inmates are well aware of what their new fellow resident did to that defenceless animal. At least give him a decent hiding that he won't want repeated in a hurry!
    sammy37 wrote: »
    Oh once its not human its ok to torture and kill it as if animals dont feel any pain. I have no pity what so ever if this piece of scum had the same done to him.

Welcome to Boards.ie, where we don't know the meaning of the word hypocricy and wouldn't believe you if you tried to explain it to us.