Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was or is your favourite driver and why?

• 19-02-2013 11:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭

I'd still call myself newish to golf but I've had a few drivers already for different reasons, basically just buying off adverts because I felt like giving 2nd hand ones a bang.

I think the best driver I've had is my current 910 but my favourite one is an old taylormade r7 super quad. I swapped it on adverts fairly recently against a 3 wood. I love them at address, I'm fairly sure it's a 460 head but it looks really squat and neat. It's not the longest off the tee but its a joy to swing.

When I was fit for the 910 I honestly preferred the d3 look but the d2 numbers suited a little better, that being said I doubt with my swing it'd make a huge difference in the real world and should have probably bought the one I preferred the look of.

I'm just wondering what drivers others have regretted-loved trading/selling/swapping.

It's obviously a subjective thing but no harm to discuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Titleist 975D. Absolutely loved it. And hit it very well too. Wasn't massive, looked great behind the ball, solid when hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Paranoid Android 2

Taylormade R580 XD. Haven't liked any of their drivers since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Without a doubt the TM R320, still have it sitting in the spare room, must have been about 2000/2001.
    2nd = Adams 303 (also still have it), went no distance but always on the fairway.
    3rd = Callaway FTi Draw, the club that got rid of my slice

Adams Fast 12LS at the moment and it going to take a lot to remove it from the bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

m r c wrote: »
    I'd still call myself newish to golf but I've had a few drivers already for different reasons, basically just buying off adverts because I felt like giving 2nd hand ones a bang.

I think the best driver I've had is my current 910 but my favourite one is an old taylormade r7 super quad. I swapped it on adverts fairly recently against a 3 wood. I love them at address, I'm fairly sure it's a 460 head but it looks really squat and neat. It's not the longest off the tee but its a joy to swing.

When I was fit for the 910 I honestly preferred the d3 look but the d2 numbers suited a little better, that being said I doubt with my swing it'd make a huge difference in the real world and should have probably bought the one I preferred the look of.

I'm just wondering what drivers others have regretted-loved trading/selling/swapping.

It's obviously a subjective thing but no harm to discuss.

Taylor Made Bubble Burner (if you're new to golf you will never have heard of these), and of course the brilliant Titleist 975D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭chud1234

r11s so far seems to be a very good driver for me . not long back playing but had an r7 when they came out really nice club to , but even though im not as fit now definitly driver the ball further very impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Nike's first square driver. It sounded like a gunshot, looked like a toaster and hit the ball a mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭saintastic

Me too, I had that driver. I was reasonably long (250-260) and barely missed a fairway with it.

Now have the Titleist 913D2 and it is the best driver I have used since the above driver. Very forgiving and quite long. Haven't figured out my distances yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Taylormade Burner 2009 model. I got mine for about €140 back in 2010, mine is a 10.5 in a regular shaft. It replaced a Ping G10 with a Pro-Launch Red shaft. My handicap went from a regular 13/14 to 8 over the next few years, largely because it transformed my driving. May have been the shaft was wrong in the G10 but either way, love it and still have it.

eqil16driver_taylormaderburner.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

fav's were burner bubble and and ti 300 both from taylormade, loved both clubs, played my best golf using these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Taylormade R5 was my first proper driver and it has been hard from them to beat.
    Have had every Taylormade model since and the R7 was very good R9 No improvment.
    I think the shaft I have in the R11 is super but if i stuck it in any of the other drivers i don't think i would be able to tell the difference.
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

mike12 wrote: »
    Taylormade R5 was my first proper driver and it has been hard from them to beat.
    Have had every Taylormade model since and the R7 was very good R9 No improvment.
    I think the shaft I have in the R11 is super but if i stuck it in any of the other drivers i don't think i would be able to tell the difference.
    Mike

What shaft is it out of interest ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Pacly

Had this one up until last year when i got an R11s. Loved the R580 but thought drivers would have improved significantly since it first came out.

Loved the r11s at first, not hitting it just as well now...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I'd add to the thread title ... And why did you change?

Good addition KAL

Started with a TM bubble. Changed to TM Burner ala Mr Larson above as bubble was just too small head size

Changed to R9 supertri mainly due to shaft issues as I was fitted

Not planning on changing again unless I win some money. Got to the stage now where its definitely the Indian :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Good point tbh
    I think a lot of people like to mix the bag up a little every now and then. Add to that, the driver due to its nature(along with the putter to be fair) can leave some bad scars that can mostly only be covered up with retail therapy.

For the record here's what I've used thus far.

Mcgregor v foil
    R7 460
    Superfast 2
    I15 (on loan)
    910 d2
    R7 quad

That only goes back to 2007 :-o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭cormacjones

Another for the Titleist 975d. I'm currently using the 983k and it's fine.

If we're talking about favourite fairway woods I thought the TM 200 series 3w & 5w were great

http://www.ebay.com/ctg/TaylorMade-200-Steel-Fairway-Wood-Golf-Club-/45076438

I do like my current callaway steelhead III 4+ though

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Callaway-Big-Bertha-Steelhead-III-4-Firm-Flex-/230827198352

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Started in 1999 with a Ping TiSi, moved on to a TM 860 Burner, R5, Ping i15, and now an R11.

Favourite was the R5, all changes were after several years of using Driver bar i15 (COULD NOT USE IT). Reason for change was thinking the next would be better!!!!

The R11 is probably up there with the R5. Really like TM woods but am a Mizuno Iron player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

An interesting aspect of answers is the number of drivers that were in the past or older technology. Also TM doing very well.

I guess we always remember the time we stepped up to 200 euro plus mark. We want this to be our best driver and tend to believe it is.

I went with Big Bertha 2. It was the first time I had a stiff driver and the results were in the shaft. Don't think it was an amazing driver just first time with right shaft.

On a Titleist D2 910 now. A great driver. But I find it a tiny bit dead or heavy. I guess I haven't found my favourite driver yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

The Taylor made Bubble Burner was lusted after in my gaff! When my dad finally picked up one second hand, there was quite a lot of competition over who got to have the first craic with it! Pics below, still can't get over how small the head is by today's standards!

1001184.jpg

The Titleist 905r got me to my lowest handicap so deserves a mention; have pretty much stuck with Titleist ever since (currently 910 D2)

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTEuksCviEsjLQVCuF_iUxvsG8BTVSYNZCnrhSh5cfvpdy5KvY4Uw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

An interesting aspect of answers is the number of drivers that were in the past or older technology. Also TM doing very well.

I think people are naming the drivers that they have the fondest memories of.

For me it's my current driver - Cobra S9. I had a really old taylor made burner first, then a slightly less old one. Then a big bertha warbird - the only one I never really warmed to, I think because I didn't play much when I had that one.

But the current one is the longest and the easiest to hit. I might go off line slightly more with it, but it's definitely the best and my favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

alxmorgan wrote: »
    What shaft is it out of interest ?
    It's a Fujikura Tour x stiff shaft. Bought it second hand from the states, the pro in Halpenny said it was the tour only issue and would have been a 100 quid upgrade. I bought 4 different shafts from the states that i thought would suit and kept the one i liked best.
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

It's a Fujikura Tour x stiff shaft. Bought it second hand from the states, the pro in Halpenny said it was the tour only issue and would have been a 100 quid upgrade. I bought 4 different shafts from the states that i thought would suit and kept the one i liked best.
    Mike

They're not tour only issue, you can upgrade to that shaft when ordering. I have it in my driver which I bought new.

Mike

Get done on customs ?
    I always see plenty of great value on golf related stuff from the States but that puts me off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Callaway Great Big Bertha with a 'Firm' BB60 shaft. First driver I could really hit, and loooonnnng for it's time.

Changed when I was fitted for a G5, traded that after 2 weeks for a R7 425 & traded up to an R9 with a Motore 65 Regular (I am old now) shaft. Still hit a GBB 2 Fairway three wood with a BB60 Firm in it - never found a better replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

Taylormade R5 (12 degree) was my first right driver and I can't really complain about it.

Changed to the R11 because:
    Don't need 12d any more
    The face of the R5 has had the crap beaten out of it for the past 7 years
    Doesn't look like the R5 is holding its distance any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Callaway Biggest Big Bertha, firm flex. The only driver I've ever been able to hit straight consistently, still using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭lowelife

Too much metal in here...........

I've 3 to mention for myself and I think if I tried to use any of them today I think I would miss the ball let alone play well with it.

First up a Taylormade System 2

Then a Mizuno persimmon (I forget the actual model but pretty sure Faldo used it to win 1990 Masters.

Also another persimmon Joe Powell

I used to love the feel I go with the persimmon....pretty much the same way I feel about the forged Mizuno irons....so much feel

And I'm not that old either :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Finlay Harp

I loved my Mizuno mx700. Changed to a Ping G20 and am still not entirely convinced!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I loved my Mizuno mx700. Changed to a Ping G20 and am still not entirely convinced!

Have the MX700 myself, it's really been my only driver though. Have tried a few others but never over any considerable period.

Up until recently I wasn't a fan, starting to like it a bit more now.... But that has nothing to do with the driver itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Finlay Harp

It's a very underrated club. I wish I had kept mine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Still have a soft spot for my Cobra SS430 - used to have everyone in the driving range turning round to see what was making the noise :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

Only on my second real driver.... TM R9 with stock stiff shaft. Generally pretty straight. The R7 draw I had before was grand when I got it but as my swing developed I started ballooning my drives. Change to R9 solved that but swing has come on more.... Time for a change methinks ;-)
    I hired a set of RBZ's in Portugal late last year and fell in love with the driver but pro convinced me not to change yet as swing is a work in progress. . Aren't they all :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

MiniGolf wrote: »
    pro convinced me not to change yet as swing is a work in progress. . Aren't they all :-)

Sound like the pro isn't done charging you yet:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

Senna wrote: »

Sound like the pro isn't done charging you yet:D
    It does read like that but he is right! I am making good progress and managed to win my first singles prize in my club last weekend so happy with him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭onlyfinewine

For Paws wrote: »
    Callaway Great Big Bertha with a 'Firm' BB60 shaft. First driver I could really hit, and loooonnnng for it's time.

Changed when I was fitted for a G5, traded that after 2 weeks for a R7 425 & traded up to an R9 with a Motore 65 Regular (I am old now) shaft. Still hit a GBB 2 Fairway three wood with a BB60 Firm in it - never found a better replacement.

I remember reading that the Callaway woods played very soft and that the firm was about the equivalent of a regular in Aldila at the time (NV?) In a three wood it's mostly about accuracy rather than the last few yards with no control anyway.