Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show Eurosong Special - 22nd. February 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Ooh I loved Lordi !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,320 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

The big five...

'Kiss Me There' by Kasey
    Composed by Drax
    Mentored by Mairead Farrell

'Crashing Down' by Aimee Fitzpatrick
    Composed by Robert Grace
    Mentored by Mark McCabe

'Fire' by Zoe Alexis
    Composed by Lauren White, Niall Mooney and Willie Weeks
    Mentored by Niall Mooney

'Son Kez' by Inchequin
    Composed by Hugh O'Neill and Sinead Bradley (Arranged by Tevfik Kulak)
    Mentored by Shay Healy

'Only Love Survives' by Ryan Dolan
    Composed by Wez Devine and Ryan Dolan
    Mentored by Stuart O'Connor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

'Kiss Me There' by Kasey
    Composed by Drax
    Mentored by Mairead Farrell

Years in the music biz........ WTF????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

What i love about Lordi is that Brian Kennedy and RTE still think they were hard done by that year...almost as if Lordi were sent in the same manner as Dustin!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Lordi lead man's statement from this week on the Twitter machine.
    MrOXOFFICIAL We'll perform on Irish Eurovision song contest on friday. Good that they can't choose us, I really have no energy to do it all again. :)

1. muck
    2. not bad
    3. plagiarized (clearly Rhianna)
    4. muck
    5. decent tune for the generic cliche it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Bring back Dustin in his shopping trolley - we ain't gonna win it no matter who goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Is the whole show eurovision based?? Bet Dana, Linda Martin, Johnny Logan etc are rolled out again

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

eh i dunno wrote: »
    Is the whole show eurovision based?? Bet Dana, Linda Martin, Johnny Logan etc are rolled out again

And Twink, sure she had nothing to do with Eurovision, but RTE sure love shoving her down our throats on the Late Late! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Im in the audience tonight! Anyone know if there is only the eurovision stuff on or anyone else too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Dovies wrote: »
    Im in the audience tonight! Anyone know if there is only the eurovision stuff on or anyone else too?

Are ya joking? This is RTE, why would you want to get other stuff on when you can do a whole programme about a meanlingless "song" contest? They'd have one of these on every week if they thought they'd get away with it :)

They've really assembled a crack team of experts in the music industry to choose our entrant this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

I'll watch the Lordi bit...but I bet Tubs asks the frontman a bunch of cringe-inducing questions.

What i love about Lordi is that Brian Kennedy and RTE still think they were hard done by that year...almost as if Lordi were sent in the same manner as Dustin!!

It was definitely a case of 'sour grapes' from Kennedy, dismissing them as a novelty act. Image aside, 'Hard Rock Hallelujah' is simply a great song that clearly deserved to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It was definitely a case of 'sour grapes' from Kennedy, dismissing them as a novelty act. Image aside, 'Hard Rock Hallelujah' is simply a great song that clearly deserved to win.

I remember that aul coot Phil Coulter was giving out in 03 when Ruslana 'Wild Dancing' won for Ukraine. He came across as somebody who was really out of touch, even in 2003 it was obvious it was no longer just a song contest but also an entertainment spectacle. Mickey Joe Hart with his green guitar and backing singers looked 10 years too late for the competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Tonight should be fun :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

I have a date with Mr. Bond (eat your heart out MrsD007....:D) so will be recording Mr. T............

Bring back Lordi and Jedward I say!!.......There's a sentence that you don't hear often........;):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

I remember that aul coot Phil Coulter was giving out in 03 when Ruslana 'Wild Dancing' won for Ukraine. He came across as somebody who was really out of touch, even in 2003 it was obvious it was no longer just a song contest but also an entertainment spectacle. Mickey Joe Hart with his green guitar and backing singers looked 10 years too late for the competition.

<PEDANT>

Ruslana won in '04. We sent Chris Doran that year.

Sertab Erener won for Turkey in '03, beating t.A.T.u. by three points. And, of course, t.A.T.u. wasted their time complaining about us using our back-up jury vote...

</PEDANT>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Saw Johnny Logan just off Grafton Street during the week so I presume he will be on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭mydogjack

Number three is Rihanna/Pink all wrapped up in one and that's where my money is.

0007095d-628.jpg

Marty Whelan, Bill Hughes and Evelyn O'Rourke are also on as part of 'the Eurosong panel'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

C'MON DUNDALK. LET'S DO THIS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭phonypony

Could have at least ironed that flag!

I may not have Zoe down as favourite - but if she won, it would be about as surprising as water being wet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Saw Johnny Logan just off Grafton Street during the week so I presume he will be on.
    Johnny sits at that ATM all the time these day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

What the hell did Danny DeVito do to deserve this? Was yer one joking about that?

Out of the five, my personal favourite is Inchequin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Evening all, I can't wait for Danny de Vito:D.

Grey - hope you have a good time with Mr. Bond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Lordi are playing?

I'm in.

Who represented us at Eurovision last year: Linda Martin, Jedward or Johnny Logan?

They may as well ask us what 1 + 1 is... :rolleyes:

Annual Marty pic!

martyinthemorning.jpg

Has Marty been at the Bailey's?

Bill: "I love people who love the sounds of their own voices."

I guess this means you love the sound of your own voice, too, Bill... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

"Tv supper" thats a new one on me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

This is the same every year just different songs.

So wrong that Late Late show picks Euro entry and they wonder why we don't win anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Evelyn has beautiful eyes ...sigh :cool:

Marty: "Are we still hungry for success?"

Audience cheers in agreement... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Who's your wun in the orange dress?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Has Marty been at the Bailey's?
    D'ya mean the Old Baily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭passremarkable

evening all, what time is twink on at ? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Ugh, Alexander Rjybek... robbed Yohanna that year...

Wow, 4 whole years since Alexander Rybak!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

I like Marty, got a chance to speak to him once, he seems to be a very genuine and nice man. At least the acknowleges the audience and includes them in what is going on.

calex71 wrote: »
    "Tv supper" thats a new one on me

Evelyn's "TV Supper" was met with blank expressions here too.....

Ryan looks strangely casual this evening, what's different? Looks like he's been playing 5-a-side with the lads and then a few shandys!

Correction, Ryan - it can go anywhere except Ireland. ;)

I loved Alexander Rybak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭jluv

Dovies wrote: »
    What do you look like/wearing. Make it interesting for us at home..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭passremarkable

what do we need to win ??we need the best song obviously !!