Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dundalk Cycle Trader's Cup

• 18-02-2013 5:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭

The Dundalk Cycle Trader's Cup will take place this Sunday, February 24th.

Full Details can be found here: http://www.cuchulainncc.com/open-events/traders-cup-road-race/

Please note a number of changes:
    • Racing Starts @ 10am
    • New Sign On Venue
    • New Out and Back Course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Looking at nearly a tenner in tolls, e30 worth of petrol and e10 race entry. A long and expensive day out in County Louth!

The forecasted weather might make up people's minds before travelling anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

sure it will be great craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Will be there, nothing better than getting your a** whoped by the A3/2/1 bunch on a Sunday morning :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Hope to be there to get dropped slightly further in than last week :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

Looking forward to it. Debut race for my new club, on "home" ground (at least, I'm in Dundalk during the working week these days, back in Dublin most weekends). Should be pretty fast, and have no ambitions for this one other than finish upright. Anyone travelling from Dublin that wants a few quid for petrol in exchange for a passenger?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Looking forward to it. Debut race for my new club, on "home" ground (at least, I'm in Dundalk during the working week these days, back in Dublin most weekends). Should be pretty fast, and have no ambitions for this one other than finish upright. Anyone travelling from Dublin that wants a few quid for petrol in exchange for a passenger?!

Where in Dublin?

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    Where in Dublin?

Cabinteely... Basically the opposite of Lusk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭RO 06

Sure he will go over and collect you and drop you home. Very generous sort of bloke

RO 06 wrote: »
    Sure he will go over and collect you and drop you home. Very generous sort of bloke

Oh, the dropping me home won't be necessary. One way trip is all I need. Work up in Dundalk, you see, but back in Dublin for the weekends because... Well, many reason. Girlfriend, friends, general things to do, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭instinct

May give this a shot and see what this road racing lark is all about :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

It's not easy for new A4s - there was a separate A4 race last year which was a good early season opportunity to size yourself up against the opposition (and possibly score a few points) without worrying about the higher cats. I liked the course as well last year with a bit of a drag up the back but nothing major.

Anyway, best of luck to all the new lads and the organising club always run a good show. I would love to be back in the saddle for their Vets National Championship but that might be a bit ambitious.

RO 06 wrote: »

I forgot that I had nominated you to speak for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Only down the road from you. If I'm going I'll give you a lift.

daragh_ wrote: »
    Only down the road from you. If I'm going I'll give you a lift.

Great stuff! Let me know when you make your mind up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭CuchulainnCC

Just want to remind everybody of the changes ahead of Sunday's Race:

Racing Starts @ 10am
    New Sign On Venue
    New Out and Back Course

Full Details can be found here: http://www.cuchulainncc.com/open-eve...cup-road-race/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Picked up a cold earlier in the week (possibly at the Ned Flanagan) so won't be going. Overdosing on Strepsils since Wednesday.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

Shame there's not a separate A4 race this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Staro

Forecast does not look good is the course prone to freezing/frost?

I don't think ice will be an issue, as the roads are all dry with no rain forecast. Most of the event takes place along wide main roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭duffyshuffle

Is it ok to turn up and buy 1 day license at reg?

just home now. Thanks to cuchullainn for organising an enjoyable race, and great refreshments afterwards!!
    Also thanks to luskdoyle for sitting in front of me for quite a bit of the race (except for when he was sat behind me) :p
    Nice to meet david o brien, hmmmmmzzzziis, colm_gti and possibly a few others again.

Roll on next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭shaneward2004

First open race for me and missed the A4 start lol. So i wet off with the A3's felt fine with them - After half way i think our group was down to about 20 wit a mix of some A2's we were about a minute behind the A4 group when the lad in front swerved and i went straight into a pothole so punctured out :( - Bit of bad luck but was fun up until that, hope to be in the A4 bunch in navan next week wheelsucking Lenny :) Thanks to CCC for another great organised event as usual.

Also i did say hello to Colm in the A3 bunch (recognized his bike).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭decrrrrrr

Fast pace on a cold day.

Massive bunch sprint in the end with a clear winner.

Will post all my photos later on tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Well organised race today, good deal safer than last week mostly due to the numbers, good roads, mostly well mannered drivers, well marshaled, good refreshments afterwards. Thanks Cuchullainn CC!

Was good to meet a few more boardsies, we're taking over!

decrrrrrr wrote: »
    Fast pace on a cold day.

I think I can just about make out my right arm on the far left of that photo :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

colm_gti wrote: »
    I think I can just about make out my right arm on the far left of that photo :P

You did well so Colm?!

I went along to see yee in action. Hopefully first and last time spectating at a race this season! What sort of average speed yee do as a matter of interest?

Some lads obviously dont feel the cold much, wearing shorts in that temperature!

padjo5 wrote: »
    You did well so Colm?!

I went along to see yee in action. Hopefully first and last time spectating at a race this season! What sort of average speed yee do as a matter of interest?

Some lads obviously dont feel the cold much, wearing shorts in that temperature!

Ah, ok I guess, probably somewhere in the top 20, eased off when the sprint went, I'm not much of a sprinter :rolleyes:

Had a bit left in the tank and should have tried something with 500-1km to go for the sake of burning the last match, but ya know yourself, 20/20 vision in hindsight...

What did you all think about the 10am start?

Fantastic, roads were a bit quieter, and I made it home for Sunday lunch :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

Firstly thanks for a super event i for one enjoyed it good roads well marshaled it was grate haveing the motos and good spread after
    But 10am to early for me up at 7.30 to make it down to you for 9am,12 would be much better home for 3ish still a good bit of the day to do your bits

Perfect for me and I also made it back in time for lunch.

And a big thanks for all the organizing work and the coffee and food afterwards. Really enjoyed it and I'm even visible in the finish photo on stickybottle, happy days :).

10 am was fine, but i only live about 20 minutes away. Food was great afterrwards! Lots of coffee :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I'd be a fan of the earlier starts

I slept in until 8:20 but still had time to jump up, get dressed, get fuel in the car and make it up to the race. Coffee and a banana for brekkie only and I'm in the top 20 in the finish photo so 10am worked for me!

Well run event. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

How many racers today ?

180 maybe? 60 odd in the first group I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭RJM85

I'm a fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭dermabrasion

Thanks Cuchulainn for a great event. The road surface was great. Loved the rolling hills and well marshalled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Love the early starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭ryan_sherlock

Ended up not going due to the early start (the fact that I got snowed on for a few hours yesterday probably also had a part to play in it). Do people rather the new course? I like the one from last year.

I think the A1 lads missed you dearly today. They never made contact with the front. The handicaps were very generous, if not mistaken it was 5min for the A4-A3 gap and it could have been the same for the other gaps, too. The course was grand if you like pan flat courses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

How many racers today ?
    138 I believe.

wav1 wrote: »
    138 I believe.

Ah, I was close enough. There was a 1 and an 8 in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

RJM85 wrote: »
    I'm a fan

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Fast pace on a cold day.

It looks to me that only one of the riders you can see had his knees uncovered and by default was presumably the winner with everyone else disqualified ...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭decrrrrrr

The photos I took today can be seen here. I'm only an amateur so don't be expecting any thing spectacular..

http://s1268.beta.photobucket.com/user/dec_rafferty/library/Traders%20Cup%20Feb%202013

The finish line photos are still uploading.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Didn't race today but 10am start really appeals to me. Gives you the rest of the day to do other things. Ccc you should be well prod of yourselves. Respect
    Rob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭RJM85

The photos I took today can be seen here. I'm only an amateur so don't be expecting any thing spectacular..

http://s1268.beta.photobucket.com/user/dec_rafferty/library/Traders%20Cup%20Feb%202013

The finish line photos are still uploading.

Some great shots. Fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 pmurp141

a1 on the start tim, great way to keep the day free for other sport watching! well run especially liked the constant feedback on time gaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

+1 on early starts. Okay, it's not a lot of fun dragging myself out of bed without a lie-in, but much prefer having the rest of the day for other stuff.