If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Any trolling tips?

• 16-02-2013 09:09PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭

Was thinking of doing some trolling in the midlands in March to kick the season off early but i've never done it before.
    I'll be using rap's, taz's and the like.
    Will they fish deep enough by themselves or should I add a weight up the line?
    Should the weight be on the mainline or on a dropper?

So many questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

The Rapala shad rap is a super trolling lure. How deep you fish it depends on the lenght the lure is behind the boat and the position of the rod ie: the further the lure is from the boat the deeper it will fish and the lower your rod is to the water will also help get the lure deeper. Obviously the speed you are trolling is a factor too.
    I wouldn't bother with the tazies. Shad raps or other large lures or if all else fails.. the copper spoon. In fact the copper spoon would be in my own opinion the most productive artificial lure in my box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭bayliner

all depends on what your fishing for? trout i'ld use minnows rapalas and tazzies, no need for weights at all, unless fishing the deep and want to get down, different rapalas fish at different depths ie;floating,countdown,sinking etc.... pike fishing lures will travel at diff depths too, use traces here or you'll loose many lures :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭JustRoss23

the king of ennel has to be the tazzie had 2 trout over 5lb on a tazie last season:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Username Exists.

Thanks for all the replies, will give the raps a go.
    Trout fishing, I forgot to mention that.

i,m a tazzies man too when it comes to trout, (on lough ree)or lane minnows early in the yr, now and again i'll use the rapala's, i got some new rapala's this yr so will be tryin them early too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Tazies work great on ree.....got a couple of all green ones from the cobbler a couple of years ago.....great for early in the season.

never seen the all green have to say, hard to get them to work early in yr with the water high i find!?

I don't know what it is tbh...
    I had no faith in tazzies for a lonng time and then suddenly started catching on them

I don't know what it is tbh...
    I had no faith in tazzies for a lonng time and then suddenly started catching on them
    i was exactly the same!! never got anything on them for a long time had no faith in them at all but got it right eventually and wouldnt go a day without usin them now!! most of the time i only use tazzies, tazzies account for 90% of my trout (trolling) catches now!!

bayliner wrote: »
    i was exactly the same!! never got anything on them for a long time had no faith in them at all but got it right eventually and wouldnt go a day without usin them now!! most of the time i only use tazzies, tazzies account for 90% of my trout (trolling) catches now!!

Grand job ..its always great when you find something that works...

Question , are you in one of the local clubs??
    I may have met you before , I used to be in Ballykeeran/Kileenmore anglers...
    I fished with my uncle Seamus Benson for a couple of years.

Aaah, assumed you ment pike, my bad.
    In that case id have about as information about it as the daily star has about factual events ;-)

Grand job ..its always great when you find something that works...

Question , are you in one of the local clubs??
    I may have met you before , I used to be in Ballykeeran/Kileenmore anglers...
    I fished with my uncle Seamus Benson for a couple of years.
    ah now i cant be giving away that sort of info on here :D

Just browsing tips on the web, agree or disagree?

Run the line through the lure, and place a bead between the lure and the hook. This allows the lure to move freely and gives a great action that trout can not resist!

In winter a slower action is often preferred when the fish are also slower in their movements due to the cold water. Too slow below 1.6km per hour will not be effective and too fast above 4.5 kph will result in line twist.
    The best speed is 2 to 3 kph.

The best winter colours for trout would be pinks or oranges. Over the summer months we like greens and gold colours.
    While it does take a lot of pressure you can actually tune the Tassie to rock very quickly by further bending the lure.
    Another interesting trick that works for high speed trolling is what Wigston calls the "high speed rig." All you need to do is turn the lure around so that it becomes even more arrow like, reducing resistance in the water.

Just browsing tips on the web, agree or disagree?

Run the line through the lure, and place a bead between the lure and the hook. This allows the lure to move freely and gives a great action that trout can not resist!
    yep thats how i fish them! trout season ends on the last day in sept so winter trout fishing is ILLEGAL in ireland

Roll on next Friday got a 5 lb trout on the first day last year:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭huntsman77

How many swivels ye use lads I get serious twist in line when trolling

i just use one the biggest one i can get and it seems to do the job:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Caribs

I'd normally use about three of the barrel swivels and they seem to work well

3? what?:o

bayliner wrote: »
    yep thats how i fish them! trout season ends on the last day in sept so winter trout fishing is ILLEGAL in ireland

Main line straight to a treble was on most sites I read, seems to be the way to go.
    Well aware of the rules re fishing seasons, have you seen the weather forecast? It's hardly summer :D

Caribs wrote: »
    I'd normally use about three of the barrel swivels and they seem to work well

For stactic spinning I'd use a snap swivel for quick changing spinners and another swivel two foot up the main line.
    Where would you put a third?

For trolling tazzies I don't use a swivel at all....I use a trolling vane about a meter up the line.
    Its got a swivel on it and the only line that can twist is the meter or so between the lure and the vane.

i use 2 barrell swivels, depending on the lenght of the rod where they are, as long as you can land a fish witout too much strain its fine,the quickest you land and release the fish the better

do you not keep the fish?:o

JustRoss23 wrote: »
    do you not keep the fish?:o
    very odd one for the dinner table

ohrite i dont that catch that many on ennel so i would mostly keep all:D

fished ennel once and caught nothing!!!so i feel your pain ha ha

very hard lake it is indeed maybe once out of every three times i might get a trout was lucky last year had 2 on the tazzie at 5lb 2oz on the first day of the season and one on the 12th of july at 5 9oz so i was chuffed with them:D

• Site Banned Posts: 4 wossie

The Rapala shad rap is a super trolling lure. How deep you fish it depends on the lenght the lure is behind the boat and the position of the rod ie: the further the lure is from the boat the deeper it will fish and the lower your rod is to the water will also help get the lure deeper. Obviously the speed you are trolling is a factor too.
    I wouldn't bother with the tazies. Shad raps or other large lures or if all else fails.. the copper spoon. In fact the copper spoon would be in my own opinion the most productive artificial lure in my box.

WTF is lenght?

Just in case you didnt cop the typo ;-)Length as in "length of line between rod and lure.