Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unbelievable driving skill (Giorgi Tevzadze)

• 15-02-2013 11:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭

Now I don't want to encourage or condone this type of driving, and obviously the guy is a complete nut-job for driving like this on a busy public road and endangering innocent peoples lives....

That said, you really cant help but be impressed by his skill. This guy can definitely drive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

He's good allright.
    However I don't think he would have any good time if he participated in any kind of rally with special stages.

Being able to drift is only a small bit of good driving skills. Perfect example is Ken Block which is not doing that good in WRC.

However fair play to that guy if he is able to avoid all other road users while doing drifting in public - that's very rare skills - but are we sure that he really can?/ Maybe except from this few minutes of videos, he causes plenty of crashes - we don't know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Yeah, maybe not rally special stages, but I dont know how he's not in some sort of official Drift championship or hasn't been employed as a hollywood stunt driver... or even been recruited as a criminal getaway driver :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭pcardin

He should have given an "bag" of internet "Likes" first and then shot dead for what he's doing on public roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Gifted asshole tbh

Go to 7:45 of the second video where he even answers his phone.

Also doesnt look like he's wearing a seatbelt either!

ION08 wrote: »
    Go to 7:45 of the second video where he even answers his phone.

Recaro seats have their own seatbelt system.

Looks like he trusts his skills.

Looked at the cars around in that video, first thought it has been filmed in early nineties. All sort of classics around. And e34 M5 he's driving looks exactly like mine that was stolen from me over ten years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

TBH, act the prick on the motorway section/mountain section, grand, go ****ing nuts.

But he was being a dangerous dickhead in a town, @ 0.49/0.50 there is a pedestrian running across the road, he forces his way past drivers, causes oncoming cars to brake hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

simply a criminal.

pcardin wrote: »
    And e34 M5 he's driving looks exactly like mine that was stolen from me over ten years ago.

Heh, maybe the one he's driving is yours :D

CiniO wrote: »
    Heh, maybe the one he's driving is yours :D

Who knows. Most stolen cars back then ended up in Russia, Georgia or Kazakhstan. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭shooter88

Iv seen young Irish lads at cruises do a lot better in car parks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

That's just stupid driving. Does he think he's immune to hitting someone with his "skills" or something. He should just **** right off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

It's all fun and games until a child comes out between two parked cars.

The road is a bit damp and his 518i has Goodrides or some other ditchfinders under it. He tries his best to stop but has to swerve around other cars as there is no grip, officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

typical vile slavic shaved ape.

pajo1981 wrote: »
    typical vile slavic shaved ape.

yes...ginger isn't common in Georgia. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

I can't for the life of me understand how anybody of driving age could find this cool.

Somebody needs to tell that dick that there are far easier ways to commit suicide that don't involve harming innocent people going about their daily lives.

Seriously uncool.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Peanut2011

Apart from idiotic driving that we have seen, we have also seen that the footage is sped up and that there is at least two cars involved... Sorry Op but not impressed one bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Sloppy and irresponsible, not cool IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

BMW driver in arsehole driving shocker!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Yeah, maybe not rally special stages, but I dont know how he's not in some sort of official Drift championship or hasn't been employed as a hollywood stunt driver... or even been recruited as a criminal getaway driver :D

Haven't seen the videos, but I doubt any of his "stunts" are cereographed going by the rest of the comments in this thread. He's just making reckless driving look exciting and stylish. None of it is planned through out. That's not skill. It's not something to be commended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Either we had a thread on this previously or it's already in the YouTube thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

He's a moron and so is anybody who condones this behaviour on a public road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Idiotic driving, on a track he would be a god, on a public road he is just a thoughtless thug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

ill call him skilled driver , if he will win WRC rally , otherwise he is just road criminal, nothing exiting to me. maybe he is skilled driver, but to prove it, no need drive old scrap on mad speed, and wait till somebody will die under his car....

this is what ill call skilled driver....

Mar4ix wrote: »
    ill call him skilled driver , if he will win WRC rally , otherwise he is just road criminal, nothing exiting to me. maybe he is skilled driver, but to prove it, no need drive old scrap on mad speed, and wait till somebody will die under his car....

this is what ill call skilled driver....

While I'll agree with first part of what you've written, then I completely disagree with second.

I must say that only difference between the guy from original video and Ken Block is that Ken Block has enough cash for better cars and to afford to rent big closed spaces, streets, professional camera teams, etc...
    If you provided that Russian fella with all that, he could be probably the same good as Ken Block after some training.

Also show me when Ken Block won any WRC rally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

The video is more about poor risk assessment skills imo. There's really nothing there you couldn't teach an average Joe to do, it's more the risks the guy takes (with other peoples well-being and lives) that set him apart and that's not something to be respected IMO. I'm all for heavily spirited driving, but you have to mindful of your surroundings.

Ken Block's stuff belongs in movies more than anything else. Never been that impressed with the driving, the shot composition and whatnot is top class though.

Since when was an E34 M5 Scrap metal? Talk about trying to make a point and shooting yourself in the foot LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Good driver? No.

Lucky fool? YES.

Heh the guy below has got probably similar or better skills, but he's using them during rallies - not in city traffic.

He got very popular few years ago for showing off on rallies in his fiat 126 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Some very good driving there, by all those drivers that avoided an accident with that asshole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Good driving alright, but he's a tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭alfa beta

looks a bit staged to me:

1. no other driver appears to react
    2. no horn blowing or nothing
    3. city traffic is very nicely spaced - how often can you even think about weaving in and out like that in normal traffic - invariably end up stuck behind something
    4. And how about the shots taken from the front - there's one in particular wher he's weaving in and out of the lanes - which means the guy with the camera is doing exactly the same in front of him -
    5. Also - all the other traffic appears to be driving at a very consistent speed - leaving the right gaps for the guy
    To be honest it's like a bunch of lads said hey lets get up at 4 in the morning and block a road and do this stuff for youtube.

I dunno - might be completely wrong - but it's all bit clean and easy looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Lawless2k12

Right... that's it... I'm going to Russia and opening up a tyre garage! Seems like there's plenty of money to be made from the amount of rubber being left on the roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

A fat, bald, overcompensating ape.

He would have binned it, at 7 mins in behind that 7 series, had the oncoming driver not stopped.

A total and utter f*cking bellend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

CiniO wrote: »
    Also show me when Ken Block won any WRC rally?

This. Absolutely spot on. He makes drifting looking good. But its not really all that skilful. Bit of practise and you'll be just as good. Do the same thing on the tight upper sections of Monaco, and your a dead man. Theres a huge difference between what Ken Block does and the likes of Seb Loeb.

Having worked in TV and actually met Ken in LA last year, TV makes everything look awesome. Size, scale and speed are all magnified and glorified in post production. Don't believe everything you see on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

alfa beta wrote: »

3. city traffic is very nicely spaced - how often can you even think about weaving in and out like that in normal traffic - invariably end up stuck behind something
    4. And how about the shots taken from the front - there's one in particular wher he's weaving in and out of the lanes - which means the guy with the camera is doing exactly the same in front of him -
    5. Also - all the other traffic appears to be driving at a very consistent speed - leaving the right gaps for the guy
    To be honest it's like a bunch of lads said hey lets get up at 4 in the morning and block a road and do this stuff for youtube.

What I'm thinking.

alfa beta wrote: »

Because it's Russia.
    People don't react to such thing, firstly because it's common, and secondly because reacting is initiating road rage which might end up very bad in Russia (I assume this after looking at some road rage russian compilations)
    You can see roads are much wider and traffic is not that intensive as in Dublin.

True - surely he must have few supporters

I think you are wrong.
    No way all this traffic was staged.

Supposably the famous driver Giorgi Tevzadze which we could see on the videos in OP, has died in car accident.

1016042_139893112875051_697317387_n.jpg

auto-022.jpg
    Georgian ''Giorgi Tevzadze'' famous ///M5 driver (Need For Drive) died in a car accident today. God rest his soul :(
    YESTERDAY IN THE CITY BATUMI AT 3:00AM WAS A CAR ACCIDENT GIORGI TEVZADZE AND HIS FRIEND CRASHED ON A TREE, GIORGI'S FRIEND WAS DRIVING THE CAR, HIS FRIEND IS NOW OK, BUT GIORGI TEVZADZE DIED! REST IN PEACE GIO. WE ALL WILL MISS YOU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭5T3PH3N

Shame, that was a nice car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

That guy got killed over the weekend.

** Never mind **

Good riddance.Death got him before he got anybody else.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Good riddance.Death got him before he got anybody else.

Bit harsh.

He wasnt even the one driving.

Bit harsh.

He wasnt even the one driving.

He had more interest in publicising himself over the internet than respect for innocent peoples lives on the road by driving so recklessly.It's a blessing that he died before he could hurt anyone else due to his stupidity.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    He had more interest in publicising himself over the internet than respect for innocent peoples lives on the road by driving so recklessly.It's a blessing that he died before he could hurt anyone else due to his stupidity.

All im saying is that it's a bit harsh to be saying "good riddance" about a 26 year olds death - yes he was reckless (also extremely skilled) but as it stands he has never killed, hurt or injured anybody ... whether it was only a matter of time pr not is only speculation, so "good ridance" is a bit harsh imo. especially since he wasnt even driving (he probably wouldnt have crashed had he been)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Live by the Sword
    Die by the Sword

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

All im saying is that it's a bit harsh to be saying "good riddance" about a 26 year olds death - yes he was reckless (also extremely skilled fortunate) but as it stands he has never killed, hurt or injured anybody ... whether it was only a matter of time pr not is only speculation, so "good ridance" is a bit harsh imo. especially since he wasnt even driving (he probably wouldnt have crashed had he been)

fixed your post.

your doing your level best to condone his actions. he drove like an absolute tit in ridiculous circumstances. the line between extremely skilled and an extreme asshole is a very fine one in those circumstances.

obviously death is a very unfortunate thing, very sad and all the rest, but if there ever was a man shouldn't be on public roads it was quite possibly him. despite the unfortunate way he was removed from them, it is possibly for the greater good that he is no longer around to endanger lives with no regard whatsoever.

fixed your post.

your doing your level best to condone his actions. he drove like an absolute tit in ridiculous circumstances. the line between extremely skilled and an extreme asshole is a very fine one in those circumstances.

obviously death is a very unfortunate thing, very sad and all the rest, but if there ever was a man shouldn't be on public roads it was quite possibly him. despite the unfortunate way he was removed from them, it is possibly for the greater good that he is no longer around to endanger lives with no regard whatsoever.

Those two terms doesn't contradict each other.
    He could have been both - skilled and asshole.

IMO he was very well skilled when I look at it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

he was **** lucky not skilled.

if at any point he hit an oil slick and spun out, or a child ran out after a ball and was killed people on here would be damning him to the final degree for his insane actions but because he was fortunate enough to never mess up in what were inexcusably wreckless circumstances he is "skilled".

joke shop this is.