Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St Malachi: Prophecy of the Popes. Whose Next?

• 14-02-2013 8:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

This subject has cropped up in the media and various forums including Christianity I think that it certainly deserves a thread in CT. :)

In summary: According to a 10 century Irish monk, St Malachi the 268th successor of Peter the Apostle is supposed to be the last pope and is subsequently given the title. "Petrus Romanus".

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prophecy_of_the_Popes

This is something that has interested me for some time before Benedict's resignation. I often wonder was this all a hoax or could there be some actual truth behind it. Could the Church of Rome have planned their papal successors around these predictions down through the centuries and more so in recent times.

If the RC is to elect their 268th papal candidate around St Malachi's predictions we could well see the possibility of a shortlist of down to just a handful of contenders that contain the name "Peter".

Paddy Powers list as of 14th February
      Archbishop Angelo Scola (Italy) 11/4 Cardinal Raymond Burke (United States) 50/1 Cardinal Robert Sarah (French Guinea) 100/1
    Cardinal Peter Turkson (Ghana) 7/2
    Archbishop Vincent Nichols (England) 50/1
    Archbishop Diarmuid Martin 100/1
    Cardinal Marc Ouellet (Canada) 9/2
    Cardinal Albert Malcolm Ranjith (Sri Lanka) 50/1
    Cardinal Jaime Lucas Ortega y Alamino (Cuba) 100/1
    Cardinal Tarcisio Bertone (Italy) 7/1
    Cardinal Timothy Dolan (United States)50/1
    Cardinal Karl Lehmann (Germany) 100/1
    Cardinal Francis Arinze (Nigeria) 12/1
    Cardinal Joao Braz de Aviz (Brazil) 50/1
    Cardinal Crescenzio Sepe (Italy) 100/1
    Cardinal Leonardo Sandri (Argentina) 12/1
    Cardinal Andre Vingt-Trois (France) 66/1
    Cardinal Julian Herranz Casado (Spain)125/1
    Cardinal Odilo Scherer (Brazil) 14/1
    Cardinal Agnostino Vallini (Italy)66/1
    Cardinal Sean O'Malley (United States)125/1
    Cardinal Oscar Rodriguez Maradiaga (Honduras) 14/1
    Cardinal Antonio Canizares Llovera (Spain) 66/1
    Cardinal Donald Wuerl (United States) 125/1
    Cardinal Christoph Schonborn (Austria) 14/1
    Cardinal Philippe Barbarin (France)80/1
    Cardinal Giacomo Biffi (Italy)150/1
    Cardinal Gianfranco Ravasi (Italy) 16/1
    Cardinal Angelo Amato (Italy) 80/1
    Archbishop Gerhard Ludwig Muller (Germany)150/1
    Cardinal Angelo Bagnasco (Italy)16/1
    Cardinal Antonio Maria Rouco Varela (Spain) 80/1
    Cardinal Walter Kasper (Germany)150/1
    Cardinal Luis Antonio Tagle (Philippines)20/1
    Cardinal George Pell (Australia)80/1
    Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O'Connor (UK) 150/1
    Cardinal Peter Erdo (Hungary) 25/1
    Cardinal Attilio Nicora (Italy) 80/1
    Cardinal Geraldo Majella Agnelo (Brazil)150/1
    Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio (Argentina) 25/1
    Cardinal Wilfrid Napier (South Africa) 80/1
    Cardinal John Njue (Kenya) 150/1
    Archbishop Piero Marini (Italy) 33/1
    Cardinal Daniel DiNardo (USA) 100/1
    Archbishop Nicolas de Jesus Lopez Rodriguez (Dominican Republic) 150/1
    Cardinal Mauro Piacenza (Italy) 33/1
    Cardinal William Levada (United States) 100/1
    Cardinal Angelo Sodano (Italy) 200/1
    Cardinal Norberto Rivera Carrera (Mexico) 33/1
    Cardinal Jose Da Cruz Policarpo (Portugal) 100/1
    Cardinal Francis George (USA) 200/1
    Cardinal Claudio Hummes (Brazil) 40/1
    Cardinal Thomas Collins (Canada)100/1
    Richard Dawkins (UK) 666/1 :eek:
    Cardinal Juan Luis Cipriani Thorne (Peru) 50/1
    Cardinal Silvano Piovanelli (Italy) 100/1
    Bono (Ireland) 1000/1
    Cardinal Keith O'Brien (Scotland 50/1
    Cardinal Ivan Dias (India) 100/1
    Father Dougal Maguire (Craggy Island) 1000/1
    Cardinal Dionigi Tettamanzi (Italy) 50/1

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/novelty-betting/current-affairs/the-next-pope

I would see the 1st and most likely contender being Cardinal Tarcisio Bertone from Romano Italy. (Paddy Power 7/1).

As I mentioned Cardinal Bertone's full name contains Pietro (Something omitted from Paddy Powers list of contenders) He is also from Romano a provence in Canavese Turino (A Roman). You put two and two together and you have "Peter the Roman". "Petrus Romanus"

From the Italian version of Wikipedia:

"Tarcisio Pietro Evasio Bertone (Romano Canavese, 2 dicembre 1934) è un cardinale e arcivescovo cattolico italiano. È Segretario di Stato Vaticano dal 2006 e ricopre dal 2007 la carica di Camerlengo di Santa Romana Chiesa."

From the English version of Wikipedia

English = Peter The Roman!.
    Italian = Pietro Romano!
    Latin = Petrus Romanus!

An anagram of "Tarcisio" spells "Iscariot" (Judas Iscariot).

x5b0iv.jpg

Other less likely possible contenders would include:

Peter Kodwo Appiah Turkson from Ghana 7/2

a4o9yt.jpg

Cardinal Peter Erdo (Hungary) 25/1

2ed12r4.jpg

Archbishop Piero Marini (Italy) 33/1

qpscn5.jpg

Not sure about this, but I thought that any of them, could adopt a new name when chosen as Pope, so any of them could get the gig and choose the name Peter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Jake1 wrote: »
    Not sure about this, but I thought that any of them, could adopt a new name when chosen as Pope, so any of them could get the gig and choose the name Peter
    This is where I could see the "Roman" bit would come in.

I also believe that the RC has never in the past renamed a Pope to "Peter", after the Apostle Peter, (Alleged to be the first pope.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Daithi 1

This has got to be photo shopped !

x5b0iv.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭totus tuus

One of the reasons why I find 'Malachy's' list a fraud is that it contains the names of anti-popes, and they don't count!

List of Authentic Popes.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_popes

Daithi 1 wrote: »

x5b0iv.jpg

It is certainly something that you would not like to show to your kids at bedtime. :eek:

Apparently it is authentic.

x5b0iv.jpg

I thought so too, then I googled his image.... one evil looking dude, and I thought pappa ratzi couldnt be beaten on looking evil :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭weisses

x5b0iv.jpg

Our first Vulcan pope ??

x5b0iv.jpg

Yes it is :)

cardinaltarcisiobertone.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

I read somewhere that Cardinal Peter Turkson has a shoe in the door as he was made President of Pontifical Council(highest post after Pope) by Benedict in 2009 making him his right hand man and effectively his natural successor.

So I then put a few euro on him with Paddy Power.

I read somewhere that Cardinal Peter Turkson has a shoe in the door as he was made President of Pontifical Council(highest post after Pope) by Benedict in 2009 making him his right hand man and effectively his natural successor.

So I then put a few euro on him with Paddy Power.

Turkson, never likely for Pope, is now less so!

http://www.catholicculture.org/commentary/otn.cfm?id=964

Best ask for your money back! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

"Given the very accurate description of popes up to 1590 and lack of accuracy after that point, historians have generally concluded that the prophecies were written shortly before they were published."

I didnt check, but assuming lack of accuracy means very few being correct over the last 400 plus years, I dont see why anyone would entertain this notion. If there was a high success rate, I could see why, but it doesnt sound like there is.

We just got done with the Mayan's ending the world, can we not wait a while before coming up with another? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Torakx

Im slighly lost on this one.
    Your saying its possible the popes have been stepping down/dying or whatever, to coinside with prophecy?
    And to what end?

To make their Catholic predictions instill faith in the church?
    Or are these someone elses predictions?

I just added this one in.

An Anagram of "Tarcisio" spells "Iscariot" (Judas Iscariot). :eek:

LOL is he the 30th pope or 30th something too?
    Or the last of 12 or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Ah but St Malachy had feck all to do with this, he was dead a few hundred years before this 'prophecy' even surfaced.
    He visited Rome in 1139 to give the Pope at the time some guff, he wanted to be head-honcho in Ireland, so the Pope gave him the gig. While there he had 'visions'. However, the document he wrote them on didn't appear until 1590.
    So, that's fairly clear to see it wasn't Malachy. Some say it was Nostradamus and Malachy's name was put to it to give it 'legitimacy'.
    I doubt that.
    Nost. already had visions regarding the Church, why push more under a different name? Maybe in case his first ones were wrong.

Secondly look at the predictions.
    Flimsy at best.
    Eg. (I'm taking these at random)
    Pope 235, Lily & Rose, Maffeo Barberini was from Florence, the city's coat of arms is a red lilly. Wow!

Pope 251, Rapacious eagle, Barnaba Chiaramont, The Pope's pontificate was overshadowed by Napoleon, whose emblem was the eagle. Clutching at straws there lads

...edit....OK, I've look at them a bit now.

The one for the Polish pope is a hoot:
    Pope 264, From the labour of the sun, Karol Wojtyła,
    Born on the day of a solar eclipse and entombed on the day of a solar eclipse.........attempts to find a connection between 'from the labour of the sun' and John Paul II 'by pointing out that he came from Krakow, the birthplace of Copernicus, who first expounded the Earth's solar orbit, seem forced.' Very forced I'd say.

I love a good conspiracy theory but this is a non-runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,876 ✭✭✭✭bilston

x5b0iv.jpg

I think we've just discovered the Anti-Christ!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

bilston wrote: »

:eek::eek: you cant photoshop the anti-christ,its just not right!

bilston wrote: »

The false Prophet more like it.

The one that betrays. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Aiel

A few (local) conspiracy theories doing the rounds this week about his resignation.1 is of a prophecy or "Word" that the the leader of a local prayer group was saying a few years ago that-Very soon a Pope would flee Rome,driven out by The Freemason's who will install their own "Anti-Pope"(oh no,i mentioned the Freemason's,quick somebody discredit me).
    I personally dont put much stock in alot of these "prophecies" and neither does the Church either.Which is why its surprising to me that people i know around my area that i'd have alot of respect for are getting pulled in by a few of these C.T's.
    I personally just think the Pope realised he's way too old and sick to be trying to lead over 1 Billion people.Its almost Taboo anymore for a person in their 80's to admit to others let alone publicily that their tired,sick and old and therefore cannot do any longer what they use to be able to do.

The false Prophet more like it.

The one that betrays. :)

did you see this ?

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/lightning-bolt-hits-vatican-watch-1705195

Aiel wrote: »
    A few (local) conspiracy theories doing the rounds this week about his resignation.1 is of a prophecy or "Word" that the the leader of a local prayer group was saying a few years ago that-Very soon a Pope would flee Rome,driven out by The Freemason's who will install their own "Anti-Pope"(oh no,i mentioned the Freemason's,quick somebody discredit me).
    I personally dont put much stock in alot of these "prophecies" and neither does the Church either.Which is why its surprising to me that people i know around my area that i'd have alot of respect for are getting pulled in by a few of these C.T's.
    I personally just think the Pope realised he's way too old and sick to be trying to lead over 1 Billion people.Its almost Taboo anymore for a person in their 80's to admit to others let alone publicily that their tired,sick and old and therefore cannot do any longer what they use to be able to do.
    There are a lot of theories going about about Ratsingers resignation and I think it deserves a thread of its own.

I also believe that Ratsinger was blackmailed into resignation by the same individual that wants to take on his office ie Bertoni, an insider who also engineered the sacking of Gotti Tedeschi, who was head of the Vatican Bank last May.

Benedict is not too old, just look at Henry Kissinger who is almost 5 years his senior and look at the input that this bollix still has on global matters.
    youtube! wrote: »

The first verse that came into my mind when I saw it on the news was

"And he said unto them, I beheld Satan as lightning fall from heaven". Luke 10:18

The timing was uncanny.

I also believe that Ratsinger was blackmailed into resignation by the same individual that wants to take on his office ie Bertoni, an insider who also engineered the sacking of Gotti Tedeschi, who was head of the Vatican Bank last May.

Based on?

"And he said unto them, I beheld Satan as lightning fall from heaven". Luke 10:18

The timing was uncanny.
    Not really, it's just lightening hitting a pole.

Based on?

I will be starting another thread on this subject. :)

Not really, it's just lightening hitting a pole.
    A pole that just happens to be placed on top of perhaps the most vial and corrupt religious institutes on the face of this planet.

Read an article during the week regarding the POpe finally getting his seat in the Tomb in Jeruselem about a week before him saying he would retire.

my keyboard and internet service is fecked atm, so bear with me, Ill try to find it.

found it, interesting read

http://www.israelnationalnews.com/Articles/Article.aspx/12814#.URqzYmfuGRM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

The timing was uncanny.

It's called a coincidence. Lightning strikes are very common around the world, especially on buildings that basically have a lightning rod on top of it.

I the most vial and corrupt religious institutes on the face of this planet.
    I agree, but in fairness like, it was just a bolt of lightening.
    And lightening prob hits it loads of times because of where it is, just some photo hack got lucky that it happened on that day :)

anyways, lookin forward to the thread.

well its all just a bit too weird especially the anagram of Tarcisio= Iscariot , now we got meteors injuring people in Russia, wasnt one of the secrets of Fatima about the conversion of Russia or something like that? As I say very weird.

Jake1 wrote: »
    Read an article during the week regarding the POpe finally getting his seat in the Tomb in Jeruselem about a week before him saying he would retire.

my keyboard and internet service is fecked atm, so bear with me, Ill try to find it.

found it, interesting read

http://www.israelnationalnews.com/Articles/Article.aspx/12814#.URqzYmfuGRM

Objective journalism that is not. :pac:
    Very narrow-minded nationalistic writing.

The funniest bit is when he complains about a convent being built at Auschwitz! Pretty sure that Jewish people were about 50% of the people slaughtered there, not 100%
    Writer needs to be told about the catholic Poles, Romanian gypsies, German Homosexual and German disabled people etc.

well its all just a bit too weird especially the anagram of Tarcisio= Iscariot , now we got meteors injuring people in Russia, wasnt one of the secrets of Fatima about the conversion of Russia or something like that? As I say very weird.

It's also an anagram of:
    http://www.wordsmith.org/anagram/anagram.cgi?anagram=Tarcisio&t=1000&a=n
    Plus, I'm pretty sure that Iscariot is the English version of the name and that if Tarcisio were translated back into the language of Jesus' time it would not be an anagram of whatever Judas' name was in that language....it wasn't Hebrew, I forgot what is was called...Aramaic or something.

Re: Meteors, Meteors zip around the universe all the time. There's another falling tonight.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/across-the-universe/2013/feb/15/asteroid-2012-da14

Re: Russia, converted from what? Isn't Russia Orthodox?

Maybe the vatican hired a guy to take photos of that spot until lightning struck :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

Acoordingly Bertone is also a freemason. He can be seen doing the handshake on videos.

my spidey senses are tingling!
    That would be a Ct and a half!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

4710.jpg
    Looks suspicious alright...but who is the other guy who is initiating the masonic handshake?
    The priest is apparently to me, doing a regular handshake.
    It may be this is a sneaky trick to make people think he is a freemason.
    Wouldnt mind seeing one of the priest himself at it aswell.

Unless someone knows he IS doing a masonic handshake or other sign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

Why do Freemasons keep doing their secret handshakes in front of recording video cameras all the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Conversion by meteor strike? That's a new one

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Conversion by meteor strike? That's a new one

might scare a few into it!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

might scare a few into it!:)

Unless it said the trail left by the metoer spelt out 'Convert to Roman Catholicism' in Cyrillic, it's probably unlikely

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭SoulandForm

There was a century when their were two sets of Pope- one in Rome and one in Avigion. The Roman Catholic Church has never decided which of the sets of Popes were the legitimate ones. This fact kind of makes St Malachy's prophecies almost useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Aquarius34

This was all planned hundreds of years ago. It's nothing new to me with what is going on.

Aquarius34 wrote: »
    This was all planned hundreds of years ago. It's nothing new to me with what is going on.

that would be my theory aswell.But more based on a general feeling about how the church works and secret societies.

The Illuminati work off a pre planned schedule, as you say everything is orchestrated and well planned well in advance.

They believe that their evil powers work better if they can give advanced clues leading up to their agenda.

I pointed out the uncanny Tarcisio / Iscariot anagram, Lady Gaga came out with this less than two years ago.

Lady Gaga’s “Judas” and the Age of Horus

At least things are getting a little interesting :D

I think most things with this reality, is way to apparent and predictable to me, So when something like this happens, it's like oh here's something, ah that was planned. Next. The interesting part, is I can see the powers of be really trying hard to hold firm grip on this "so called reality" so to speak and the cracks are starting to show.

Hmm possibly ye.
    I dont think she is famous because she uses conspiracy stuff and I dont think she uses conspiracy stuff cause she is famous.
    So that only leaves her interest in it and/or her job.

Since so many are using the same symbolism that the mainstream audiance have no clue about, I am steering more towards a conspiracy than an interest personally in CT's.

Torakx wrote: »
    Hmm possibly ye.
    I dont think she is famous because she uses conspiracy stuff and I dont think she uses conspiracy stuff cause she is famous.
    So that only leaves her interest in it and/or her job.

Since so many are using the same symbolism that the mainstream audiance have no clue about, I am steering more towards a conspiracy than an interest personally in CT's.

Shes famous because she sold her soul, and that's all. Shes involved in it from the start anyway. She bloodline linked, just like Madonna and Beyonce are and hence why they are used so much in "rituals"

Did you see the recent Mercedes Ad for the Superbowl?

It sums up all that is said about all these pop / rock stars that have sold out, very symbolic. (Deserves its own thread)

Did you see the recent Mercedes Ad for the Superbowl?

It sums up all that is said about all these pop / rock stars that have sold out, very symbolic. (Deserves its own thread)

I seen a clip on youtube, with Beyonce jumping around and singing but I didn't see the opening yet. I lose interest when I see these things because it's already apparent to me what it's for and what their message is before they start these things. Hence why it's called a ritual. These things only mind control the masses and not to those who are "self aware". So when you are aware, you will have no reason to watch them. It's really that obvious.

When I see these pawns jumping around, I can read the minds, of the mind controllers who control them. This means I can tell what the illusionists are thinking by what they present out.

Illusionists can take over their bodies.

Wouldnt mind finding out more tosee if the bloodlines thing is actually true

Torakx wrote: »
    Wouldnt mind finding out more tosee if the bloodlines thing is actually true

Eugenics is a very big deal to the elite, and for understandable reasons. It doesn't always be the case but it's only natural for eugenics to be involved when it comes to power, hierarchy and control. Why do you think, the red carpets rolls out for highly regarded people? Why does the red carpet get rolled out for the royals. Why does the red carpet get rolled out for the Pope. Power and blood goes hand in hand. To gain global power in this world you need to have blood in your hands. The blood in you plays a role in that because you pass everything on to your next generation.

It's really evident when you think about it from all sides and see how the world is run and has been run over the course of human history.

Yeah i think so too.
    But more specifily with Lady Gaa how do we know she is blood related to ..who?
    I ahd presume dher some orphan adopted and used for these means..not someone with "important" blood.

I could sweat im going dyslexic ^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

totus tuus wrote: »

Turkson, never likely for Pope, is now less so!

http://www.catholicculture.org/commentary/otn.cfm?id=964

Best ask for your money back! :)
    Spot on. A very good article that. Shades of Madariaga at the last election.