Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€10k damages for getting thrown off the DART

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,561 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Mr Gray, he said, had been drinking on top of taking methadone

Seems like a perfectly good reason to force-ably boot him off the train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Next time I am stoned and pissed, I must remember to remind those around me that I am "vulnerable in relation to his my balance" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

and this needs a thread because?

IM0 wrote: »

and you need to comment because?

plenty of other threads thattaway ---> or thattaway ^^^

Try not to let the door hit your arse on the way out.

MadsL wrote: »
    and you need to comment because?

plenty of other threads thattaway ---> or thattaway ^^^

Try not to let the door hit your arse on the way out.

anyone can post any news story they find on the net, but this isnt a news forum and you havent actually added anything to it either plus you have dropped in a random point of why someone would spend 4 days in hospital fora broken wrist :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭hames

Why does the paper name Mr Gray, a methadone user against whom the greater wrong was committed, and not name the perpetrator of the wrongful and deleterious action?

OP Mr Gray did not just make this 'claim', it was upheld by the Court. Therefore, before the gaze of the law, fear not! It Happened.

Gray's hand was not just injured at the time of the confrontation, btw, he suffers an ongoing damage.

Neeldess to say, the damages were not awarded for 'being thrown off the Dart'; it was for this continuous damage.

The premise for the thread is misleading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

hames wrote: »
    Why does the paper name Mr Gray, a methadone user against whom the greater wrong was committed, and not name the perpetrator of the wrongful and deleterious action?

He didn't sue an individual security guard.

He sued the deep pockets of Irish Rail and STT.
    So the companies go to court
    Mr Gray (45), Mount Talbot Court, Dublin, had sued Iarnrod Eireann and STT Risk Management Ltd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I'll be the one to say it ... the guy who sued was a junkie. He worked the legal system to net himself a nice 10 grand.

But I am torn on the subject. For the record I am not an asshole, but if I was to slap (actually only slap a person) they would likely sue me. Claiming some sort of an injury. We live in some messed up world. In this case thanks to the legal system.

So one part of me is saying "scum" - the other is saying "was he actually wrong to sue?" - it's a messed up world we live in.

OP Mr Gray did not just make this 'claim', it was upheld by the Court. Therefore, before the gaze of the law, fear not! It Happened.

Gray's hand was not just injured at the time of the confrontation, btw, he suffers an ongoing damage.

Neeldess to say, the damages were not awarded for 'being thrown off the Dart'; it was for this continuous damage.

The premise for the thread is misleading.

and no doubt has an addenda ;)

mikemac1 wrote: »
    He didn't sue an individual security guard.

He sued the deep pockets of Irish Rail and STT.
    So the companies go to court
    Of course, but undoubtedly a defence was put forward by the man in question, which on account of Mr Gray having been named, is itself a matter of public record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

anyone can post any news story they find on the net, but this isnt a news forum and you havent actually added anything to it either plus you have dropped in a random point of why someone would spend 4 days in hospital fora broken wrist :confused:

Well what sort of forum is it then, so posters can comply with your criteria?

Security!! Throw this fecker off the train will ya! Thinks he's a mod or something.

Bruthal wrote: »
    Well what sort of forum is it then, so posters can comply with your criteria?

familiarise yourself with the notion of context ;)

Yes mr pretend mod.

I see, so like this "gentleman" and his cider, you are "jesting"...

How do you spend four days in hospital with a broken wrist?

I'd say that was an easily avoidable injury by doing as you were asked, but now Judge Kearn has just told every waster in Dublin how to get an nice earner.

May not end well.

Tasers set to stun methinks is the solution.

Yes mr pretend mod.

Banned

I'd say that was an easily avoidable injury by doing as you were asked, but now Judge Kearn has just told every waster in Dublin how to get an nice earner.

May not end well.

He had more than a broken wrist; the gentleman in question suffers ongoing damage to his wrist, i.e. a loss of sensation.

That would be a fairly serious repercussion for most human beings like us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

You know what...
    I hate when people say this on here. You DONT HAVE TO FUCKING REPLY TO A THREAD! :mad: Just read something else.

Seems like a perfectly good reason to force-ably boot him off the train.

Totally legit reason to remove him from the train for which he receives fcuk all compensation. No reason whatsoever to beat the guy up once he's off the train for which he receives 10K.

The rights or wrongs of the actual case aside for one minute, the courts may just as well have made a stone cold donation of that 10 grand to some local dealer, because nobody is going to tell me that every last penny of it isn't going to disappear up that clown's nose or back his throat. The do-gooders will whine about how I shouldn't dare make such assumptions but fcuk it, you all know I'm right.

He had more than a broken wrist; the gentleman in question suffers ongoing damage to his wrist, i.e. a loss of sensation.

That would be a fairly serious repercussion for most human beings like us.

Why would you need to be in-patient to be seen for that?

Banned

I wish to appeal this injustice

May not end well.

so is the thread a thinly veiled dig at the health service?

thought so.. your comment has no relevance otherwise

and it went to court a judge ruled in his favour, end of story.

/thread

/thread

In your opinion:pac:

exactly!

Why would you need to be in-patient to be seen for that?
    That would be a medical decision, presumably so that they could assess the level of nerve damage:confused:

I should doubt he was admitted so as to maximise his compensation potential. Medics are under plenty of pressure, I'm sure they don't need to admit messers for the laugh.

Maybe you do need this facility http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=83137822

Dig? Comment and discussion is a "dig" is it now? OK.

How do you end up having to say in hospital, in a bed, for four days because of a wrist injury? Was it in danger of falling off?

your comprehension skills are off, it was a 50/50 decision - he got half of what he was looking for.
    /thread
    Right. OK. Off you pop, we'll stay here and, err, tidy up and stuff.

Bye...

Safe home...

That would be a medical decision, presumably so that they could assess the level of nerve damage:confused:

You need someone admitted and in a bed for that? Wow.
    I should doubt he was admitted so as to maximise his compensation potential. Medics are under plenty of pressure, I'm sure they don't need to admit messers for the laugh.

You don't know what was said to the staff.

"No, I'm homeless doc, keep me in, Jaysus me wrist"

You need someone admitted and in a bed for that? Wow.
    He was admitted for four days; if you are criticising the decision of the medics on the ward, I'd suggest you take that up with them.

Nobody here can reasonably criticise nor justify it.

If the case was for 20k why did it go to the High Court?

Circuit court can deal with up to 38k

Senior barristers ain't cheap and this was a fairly ordinary compo case, nothing complex

Nobody here can reasonably criticise nor justify it.

Nope, but I can legitimate question it on the assumption he could walk. No wonder the HSE is a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Nope, but I can legitimate question it on the assumption he could walk. No wonder the HSE is a mess.

Good point. The only people who should be in hospital are people who stubbed their toe on something.

If the case was for 20k why did it go to the High Court?

Circuit court can deal with up to 38k

Real winners here were the lawyers €€€
    Senior barristers ain't cheap and this was a fairly ordinary compo case, nothing complex

Presumably there was a claim for a higher award.

Not really, no. You have no access to his files or case history.

and there we go, I spotted your addenda right from the off. so which political party do you vote for usually? answers on a postcard!

Addenda. Think I have one on me desk, for me addressedas.

Which party would that be ya think? Go on, impress me.

Not really, no. You have no access to his files or case history.

Neither do you. Will you allow that he may have been swinging the lead a bit here?

Addenda. Think I have one on me desk, for me addressedas.

Which party would that be ya think? Go on, impress me.

well not any that are there now ;)

and I was going to go with adjenda, but spell check said no its addenda! :rolleyes:

Neither do you. Will you allow that he may have been swinging the lead a bit here?

There is a significant logical weight in his favour; in the absence of any reasonable expectation of a release of his medical history, there is no reason to presume a medical conspiracy.

well not any that are there now ;)

If you are going to accuse me of something - Spit it out man!!
    and I was going to go with adjenda, but spell check said no its addenda! :rolleyes:

The radial distance from the pitch circle of a cogwheel, worm wheel, etc., to the crests of the teeth or ridges???

Did you mean agenda? I guess you learnt something in this thread after all. No need to thank me.

So Tasers? Better idea ya think?

There is a significant logical weight in his favour; in the absence of any reasonable expectation of a release of his medical history, there is no reason to presume a medical conspiracy.

Given I know that wrist surgery is an out-patient procedure, I wonder what keeps an ambulatory patient in hospital for four days.

You can surely appreciate my incredulity. Some gunshot victims are out faster. In fact the average stay for non-operative stab wounds in the US is four days.

Given I know that wrist surgery is an out-patient procedure, I wonder what keeps an ambulatory patient in hospital for four days.
    You just don't know; you have no idea of what was entered into this patient's records nor have you any detailed information as to what his medical damages entailed which resulted in 4 days admission.

You can claim whatever you like and most of us will ignore it; it is not factually relevant.

You just don't know; you have no idea of what was entered into this patient's records nor have you any detailed information as to what his medical damages entailed which resulted in 4 days admission.

You can claim whatever you like and most of us will ignore it; it is not factually relevant.

Fair enough. I'll say that I wonder at a patient with wrist injuries being kept in a bed for four days when wrist surgery boots you out the same day and leave it at that.

Now - STT - Tasers? Yeah or Nay? What does AH think? ;)

Totally legit reason to remove him from the train for which he receives fcuk all compensation. No reason whatsoever to beat the guy up once he's off the train for which he receives 10K.

The rights or wrongs of the actual case aside for one minute, the courts may just as well have made a stone cold donation of that 10 grand to some local dealer, because nobody is going to tell me that every last penny of it isn't going to disappear up that clown's nose or back his throat. The do-gooders will whine about how I shouldn't dare make such assumptions but fcuk it, you all know I'm right.

If I were to dare to make another assumption for a moment... I imagine it didn't go down all pretty and that, like most scumbag junkies, Mr Gray was very abusive to the staff and screaming about rights and generally being an ass and probably deserved a swift kick of two for not co-operating. But sure that's not allowed any more, is it...

Now - STT - Tasers? Yeah or Nay? What does AH think? ;)
    Nope, a proper transport police is what's needed, covering both with the Traffic Corp does now combined with random bus and train patrols. (and yes arm them with Tasers)

Why is there an automatic presumption that because he did drugs he was a junkie? I've seen plenty of people who've had a few cans and done a few lines getting violent and they're not junkies at all.

Edit: Misread methadone as mephedrone.

Methadone program?

like most scumbag junkies...
    just to be clear... this guy was on methadone, which at least suggests some attempt to improve his position (of whatever relevance that point may be...)

Methadone program?

Ah, fair enough. I misread it as mephedrone.

just to be clear... this guy was on methadone, which at least suggests some attempt to improve his position (of whatever relevance that point may be...)

or he could just be abusing the system like so many others...
    If was actually serious making an effort he would not be drinking straight after I would have thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭sullydublin

Nope, a proper transport police is what's needed, covering both with the Traffic Corp does now combined with random bus and train patrols. (and yes arm them with Tasers)

Fully agree that we need a transport police considering we have trains, Light rail & buses. When i lived in Oz the fact they had transport please mad me feel at ease. I can't see this happening & Plus The security industry doesn't have proper training.