Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you wish were never invented

• 12-02-2013 1:38am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 329 ✭✭

For me social media such as facebook, and mobile phones are a close second, its so hard to get a moments peace these days,

NO I DONT WANT TO LOOK AT A PICTURE OF YOUR DINNER BAAAAHHHHHHH!!!

TLDR, Less instagram of your dinner, more summer bikini pics

So, which technologies or inventions would you rather have been not invented, if a device to make those things that were invented to stop the inventions being invented?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

The whole bastardin' internet tbh :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Religion.

Religion is the WORST thing that has ever happened to this world; Countless Billions of souls have been damned by false religion

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 329 ✭✭Cereal Number

Sauve wrote: »
    The whole bastardin' internet tbh :(

And lose resources such as wikipedia?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Mobile Phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

As an Everton fc fan, Ive got to say Liverpool fc. That and smallpox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Ryan Tubridy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

The atomic bomb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Mushrooms.

And lose resources such as wikipedia?

Of course I was joking. I couldn't function on a daily basis without that vast fountain of truth :p

Mushrooms.

Magic or otherwise?

The atomic bomb

Hmm hard to agree, the world is a lot lot safer due to the doctrine of mutually assured destruction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭TroutMask

Alcohol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

bus lanes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ThreeLineWhip

Drugs and those that use them.

Religion.

Religion is the WORST thing that has ever happened to this world; Countless Billions of souls have been damned by false religion

Amen brother

/irony

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Sauve wrote: »
    Magic or otherwise?

All of them - even the magical ones.

TroutMask wrote: »
    Alcohol

GTFO

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

Car diagnostics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

Excessive Credit. Honestly, if we could only live within our means, the world would be a much better place. Even for myself, I took out loans for things I didnt 100% need.

This malarkey of giving out mortgages and loans left, right and centre during "the boom" was insanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Gummy pandas and their rubbable bellies! :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Eggs

Ah_Yeah wrote: »
    Excessive Credit. Honestly, if we could only live within our means, the world would be a much better place. Even for myself, I took out loans for things I didnt 100% need.

This malarkey of giving out mortgages and loans left, right and centre during "the boom" was insanity.

How about the concept of possessions and attainment altogether?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

1. Alarms, ALL ALARMS.

2. Snooze button

1. Alarms, ALL ALARMS.

2. Snooze button

Mornings so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Taxes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Cigarettes.:(

****ing gasping for one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

common sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Touch screen phones

Where To wrote: »
    Cigarettes.:(

****ing gasping for one.

Maybe the thought of gasping for a single breath on your deathbed would put you off?

If youve quit fair play to ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭shantolog

:mad:Gravity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Garzard

Car clamps. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

3 pages in and not a mention of guns?

Mayonnaise.

Dave147 wrote: »
    3 pages in and not a mention of guns?

Mayonnaise.

Its not the guns that kill, its the people that use them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Maybe the thought of gasping for a single breath on your deathbed would put you off?

If youve quit fair play to ya
    I'm off them two years, and I still sometimes miss my breath at night at think I will choke to death, scary as ****. And I still miss the bastards.

If there are any kids reading this I offer this advice, don't smoke. If I find out you are smoking I will personally strangle you to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Its not the guns that kill, its the people that use them

No no, I'm pretty sure it's the bullets in the guns.

Foreskins, pointless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭managerman

2 day weekends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

I'm torn between the wheel and the sliced pan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Things you wish were never invented

I wish beer was never invented.

I wish i could make myself translucent and negative matter to melt through the concrete of an off-license and grab a big load of beer. All that beer locked away in the pubs and off-licenses all alone screaming for me to drink them makes me sad. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Dave147 wrote: »
    No no, I'm pretty sure it's the bullets in the guns.

Actually no, it's usually the bullets in the people.

Etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

Alarm clocks, feckin hate the sound of em in the mornings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Foreskins, pointless

Aside from keeping the ol bellend sensitive for fun time instead of having the feeling dulled from constant day to day friction, yeah useless.

zenno wrote: »
    I wish beer was never invented.

I wish i could make myself translucent and negative matter to melt through the concrete of an off-license and grab a big load of beer. All that beer locked away in the pubs and off-licenses all alone screaming for me to drink them makes me sad. :(

Beer beer beer

Im going for a beer

I like drinking beer

Lovely Lovely Beer

Currency; as a measure of contribution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭Simi

Credit, currency, the whole Idea of capitalism really. It's bonkers when you think about it. It's basically bluffing and no one ever calling you on it.

Saying that, I can't think of anything that'd work any better.

Simi wrote: »
    Credit, currency, the whole Idea of capitalism really. It's bonkers when you think about it. It's basically bluffing and no one ever calling you on it.

Saying that, I can't think of anything that'd work any better.

Barter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

Drugs and those that use them.

Damn right.

Stupid aspirin and paracetamol users, with their whinging; "Oww me headache" or "Oww me period". Man up and bite down on a piece of wood to blot out the pain, just like ThreeLineWhip probably does.

Or those whingers who'll tell you "But I'm having invasive surgery". Don't believe them, they're only in it for the drugs.

bus lanes.

Bus lanes are open to civil traffic 7pm to 7am. Some include 10am to 12am. Says so on the signs. Methinks you dislike rush (three) hour(s) and the paradigm that advocates it.

Bottlenecks....they suck. Analogous bottlenecks of missmanaged resources Actual bottlenecks not so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Depression, really hateful sarcasm and anything that makes a person feel small and horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

FanadMan wrote: »
    Depression, really hateful sarcasm and anything that makes a person feel small and horrible.

......or even the lack of the ability to get over all the above lol