Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pope Benedict Resigns!!!

• 11-02-2013 10:59am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭

Rumours abound that Benedict XVI is to quit at end February due to ill-health.
    Don-don-donnnnn!

More to follow soon, now over to Cathy for the sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,847 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

News breaking now.

He resigns on Feb. 28.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,798 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

28th February is the date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

29th I heard.

Something about to be revealed or he is just too old and frail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Good riddance. Now how do we get rid of the rest of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,871 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

End of Feb, and he announced it himself apparently. Unless someone got the Latin translation arseways :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Did Nostradamus predict this? What happens next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Threads merged. And I know this'll fall on deaf ears, but can we keep the religion bashing down to a minimum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

mike65 wrote: »
    29th I heard.

Something about to be revealed or he is just too old and frail?

converting to islam so i believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

So one old codger resigns to let a slightly younger codger in to continue spouting drivel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

He's been spending too much time on Twitter to do his job properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-21411304

omggggggggggggggggggggggggggg z\zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

I bags being the new pope :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Hopefully they appoint someone less evil looking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I liked him in the Tom Hanks movie, 'The Burbs'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

Whoop-de-wop!

Now for a clean out of the whole dirty organisation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Well that's unexpected. I wonder will there be a reason given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

mike65 wrote: »
    29th I heard.

I dunno if you're joking here or not!! :pac:

Anyway, can't say I'm sorry to hear this. Way too old and not any way forward thinking. Although at this stage I think most of the Catholic church's top brass are completely out of touch with reality anyway. But he really hasn't a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭joe316

Probably to spend more time with his family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Finally, it's my chance at the top job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Just in time for the filming of Star Wars 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Man he better do something awesome in the next 2 weeks or his legacy will be dominated by the paedophilia scandal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

iDave wrote: »
    I bags being the new pope :D

im sorry you got to this thread 4 minutes too late, we need a pope who's on the ball! :P

All hail our new pope Snubbleste!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

I'm calling it now. Simon Cowell is all over this ****.

New reality show called Popestar in the Summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭buyer95

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

Breaking News: It doesn't f*cking matter.

I'll hang onto my Vatican City Benny 16th 50 cent coin so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Reckless Abandonment

I'm sure he's leaving because of an ecumenical matter...

snubbleste wrote: »

Cardinals elect a new one. This is usually 15 days after the death of a pope, not sure what happens in a resignation.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I did nazi that coming.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

It's the end of the world
    Grab your bibles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I would like to nominate Morgan Freeman to the role.

An Irish pope would be interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I nominate Father Jack Hackett

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

hoodwinked wrote: »
    im sorry you got to this thread 4 minutes too late, we need a pope who's on the ball! :P

All hail our new pope Snubbleste!!!

I propse we nominate Fr Jack for the role.....but the Jesuits have it all tied up! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭RainMaker

snubbleste wrote: »

You need to look at the prophecies of St Malachy for this one!
    I think next pope (Peter the Roman) is supposed to be the the last one and will oversee the "Final judgement".

Wouldn't be surprised to see a pope named Peter as some sort of attempt at a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Or we can just wait until 2 more popes have been appointed and bask in the aftermath of another failed apocalypse prediction! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Hopefully they appoint someone less evil looking

Lord Vader so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Endless Nameless

Someone with a Vatican IP address posted on 4chan last night, maybe he's planning to join anonymous

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Anyone wrote: »
    Just in time for the filming of Star Wars 7.
    He sent me an e-mail this morning to say he is taking over the day to day operations of the Death Star on the 1/3/2013

I am a bit worried about my future employment.:eek:

I predict an American Pope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I didn't think a pope could resign. Thought he had to die.

Great news.

What has he done again? Oh yeah, not much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,401 ✭✭✭✭unkel

He preferred his old job in the Holy Inquisition Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Anyone know if he gets to keep that funny hat?

He must be mentally ill if he can't continue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

lazygal wrote: »
    Good riddance. Now how do we get rid of the rest of them?
    The popes? Most are already dead I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I am hearing it is not due to ill health, but that he wants to promote his hobby - 'shitting in the woods'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Breaking News: It doesn't f*cking matter.

He is the head of a religion that have a billion followers.

I don't know if you heard but I'm he's pretty big news around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Cardinals elect a new one. This is usually 15 days after the death of a pope, not sure what happens in a resignation.
    Just on this, I was under the impression that being the pope was a job for life, no retirement policy. Is there a precident for retiring from the job?

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

padd b1975 wrote: »
    I predict an American Pope.

Or the black pope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

MagicSean wrote: »
    I didn't think a pope could resign. Thought he had to die.

He's got 17 more days to work on that.