Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sky Sports Golf

• 10-02-2013 7:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

I have to say - (only for the adds)

But Sky put on a good show now. I like the instructional stuff and examples.

You are seeing guys who have and are coaching at the highest level of the game. Even coaches of Major winners.

• Site Banned Posts: 56 ✭✭TheGolfer01

I have to say - (only for the adds)

But Sky put on a good show now. I like the instructional stuff and examples.

You are seeing guys who have and are coaching at the highest level of the game. Even coaches of Major winners.

Funny that, because I'd have to say the main reason I don't watch golf (bar the the Open and the Masters on BBC) is because of Sky's "one size fits all" approach and the same pundits regurgitating the same cliches week in week out, making all events blend blandly one into another, and not to mention the ads every 2 minutes.
    But hey horses for courses I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭The wonderfish

Generally like what Sky do with the coverage, like Dennis Pugh and Simon Holmes especially when they do drills with the simulator. Mark Roe is also getting better.

However the add breaks are a pain but thats the yanks and their "pause for a message from our sponsors" mullarkey, real shame but nothing sky can do with that i suppose.

This weeks AT&T has been probably the worst tournamen, usual amount of add breaks but throw in the constant showing and discussing of the "celebrity" golfer rather than real golfers and it has been a real struggle to keep watching it, cant wait for this comp to be over to be honest....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

The coaches are the best thing about their coverage. The current struggling pros that they offer airtime to dont usually offer much. Oliver Wilson i'm looking at you....
    Goes to show how hard it is to stay around the top in golf, as a ryder cup and worlds top 50 player in his 20's not many would have expected him to be without status and sitting in a tv studio at 32.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Funny that, because I'd have to say the main reason I don't watch golf (bar the the Open and the Masters on BBC) is because of Sky's "one size fits all" approach and the same pundits regurgitating the same cliches week in week out, making all events blend blandly one into another, and not to mention the ads every 2 minutes.
    But hey horses for courses I suppose.

I was like that before - but if you don't watch you don't know. Has improved and they change it around more now - testing out recent pros.

The technical stuff is excellent - like a free lesson.

I hate Sky but.

Generally like what Sky do with the coverage, like Dennis Pugh and Simon Holmes especially when they do drills with the simulator. Mark Roe is also getting better.

However the add breaks are a pain but thats the yanks and their "pause for a message from our sponsors" mullarkey, real shame but nothing sky can do with that i suppose.

This weeks AT&T has been probably the worst tournamen, usual amount of add breaks but throw in the constant showing and discussing of the "celebrity" golfer rather than real golfers and it has been a real struggle to keep watching it, cant wait for this comp to be over to be honest....

I hate celebrity and tax exile golf.

The coaches are the best thing about their coverage. The current struggling pros that they offer airtime to dont usually offer much. Oliver Wilson i'm looking at you....
    Goes to show how hard it is to stay around the top in golf, as a ryder cup and worlds top 50 player in his 20's not many would have expected him to be without status and sitting in a tv studio at 32.

Yes a bit sad when you see a young lad who should be out playing. But, it can give you a very modern, with it view, (ollie) is poor.

Was happy to see David Howell - back out going well.

Any hope Diana Dougherty will come back? Best presenter they had, knew her golf without trying to be too smart arsed.

Lee and Livingstone are typical of the sensationalism sky stuff. Also cant stand the cliches from Ewan Murray and poor old Bruce is past it.

I like Howard Clark, Tim Barter is your typical sky interviewer (Ignorant), Richard Boxall isn't bad and i cant believe O'Reily has grown on me, i think he toned down the nonsense a bit.

Sarah Stirk is a grower :)

I wish there was a sky golf channel with seperate subscribtion though, dont like paying over the odds just to cover premier league wages :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭saintastic

The current struggling pros that they offer airtime to dont usually offer much. Oliver Wilson i'm looking at you....

He has a wrist injury and is only on Sky while he's injured which I think is around a couple of months.

Also, on a separate note, I thought the comparison between the new equipment and the old equipment on the simulator was very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,578 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

I would love Sarah Stirk to check out the flex in my shaft !!

saintastic wrote: »
    He has a wrist injury and is only on Sky while he's injured which I think is around a couple of months.

He is struggling though, hasn't finished top 120 in race to Dubai last 2 seasons. Still plenty young to come back though, what is it? 9 runner up finishes with out a win?

Yeah, he's definitely struggling on tour. I wasn't sure if you were suggesting that he is doing Sky because he is struggling and not because he is injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭nomunnnofun

Brilliant, love the way you got that in there. Stephen Fry would applaud you.:rolleyes:

I dont think he would be into her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

She plays off 7 I think.

Jamie Donaldson talking about his mindset before a drive the last day was good.

Roe and Oosterhuis can be hard going at times.

But I'd take Sky any day over Feherty and McCord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

If you love watching golf, you have to have Sky. Simples. No point even having the conversation, cos you are going to be sitting there glued at 11pm every Sunday night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

+1 on the advantage of Sky over CBS & The Golf Channel coverage.

Is Sarah Stirk the big guy in the skirt ?

Bring back Diana D.

Roe is particularly wearing and Oosty contributes feck all.

Lee can be a pain, but he's been out there (on tour) recently enough to still be able to pass on the Pro's view.

Always really happy to see Denis Pugh on the show. Seems like the perfect teaching pro, wonder how much he charges per lesson ? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

The guy that does the European tour (Australian)?? What an absolute wanker. I remember he said about a player that had just won a tournament (Soren Kjeldsen)" he was a terrible striker and wouldn't pay the entrance fee to watch him". Something along those lines. Without doubt, the biggest wanker there is. Then you have Wilson, stumbling through every sentence. John E. Morgan (think that's his name) looks like he's been on an absolute bender since the last time he was on.
    We can look forward to seeing that weasel faced turd on Thursday.

Don't get me started on the yanks.

Bring back Di!!!

Edit - his name isn't John E.Morgan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭basill

I actually think their golf coverage is very poor on the US tour.

For a company that has turnover of £6,791 million you would think that they could use their purchasing power to tell the US networks that they want unadulterated feed for the entire tournament. Its not like the US broadcasters turn off the cameras when they go to an advert break. Just get the feed direct to the UK and put on your own commentators. Problem solved. It will also keep the US PGA happy as they want as many viewers tuned into their "product" as well. They don't want us all switching off which is what happens at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

I chip balls off a shag pile onto the couch during the ads. It's also nice to have a club nearby to grip and swing during the Shot Centre bits.

Surely you can't mean Wayne 'Radar' Riley !

A Prince among on-course commentators, his quiet & reticent musings an inspiration to the enthralled viewer.

Bring back Di

and bring on Cara Robinson from Golfing World while you're at it !

For Paws wrote: »
    Surely you can't mean Wayne 'Radar' Riley !

A Prince among on-course commentators, his quiet & reticent musings an inspiration to the enthralled viewer.

+1 - I'm a big fan of Radar.

saintastic wrote: »
    +1 - I'm a big fan of Radar.

I was being (a little) sarcastic there. Radar can be a right old pain in the koalas sometimes, but as the saying goes 'He's so bad , he's good' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The guy that does the European tour (Australian)?? What an absolute wanker. I remember he said about a player that had just won a tournament (Soren Kjeldsen)" he was a terrible striker and wouldn't pay the entrance fee to watch him". Something along those lines. Without doubt, the biggest wanker there is. Then you have Wilson, stumbling through every sentence. John E. Morgan (think that's his name) looks like he's been on an absolute bender since the last time he was on.
    We can look forward to seeing that weasel faced turd on Thursday.

Don't get me started on the yanks.

Bring back Di!!!

Edit - his name isn't John E.Morgan

Lol. Healthy amount of bile in that post.

Radar is an unadulterated mong and Lee isn't far behind him. Bruce Critchley should be put out to pasture, just a bitter old man.

I like David Livingstone on presenting duties and Murray is a good journalist. Tim Barter is abrupt but a good interviewer and Howard Clark offers good analysis.

So in summary there is more good than bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭TGoodall

Like their coverage, good to get a break from the US commentators repeating the same old bull. At least they head back to the studio for every second ad break so that helps.

But the AT&T was a bit of a pain. Apart from watching rich American CEOs making double bogies while real golfers are ignored Sky seemed obsessed with the 18th. Every time they went back to the studio it was them in the shot centre hitting another tee shot on the 18th or another fly-by of the hole. Seemed like they bought the rights to just that hole on the simulator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

basill wrote: »
    For a company that has turnover of £6,791 million you would think that they could use their purchasing power to tell the US networks that they want unadulterated feed for the entire tournament. Its not like the US broadcasters turn off the cameras when they go to an advert break. Just get the feed direct to the UK and put on your own commentators. Problem solved. It will also keep the US PGA happy as they want as many viewers tuned into their "product" as well. They don't want us all switching off which is what happens at the moment.

Ye. Don't see why they can't be just fed the footage from the cameras and do their own editing. That way we'd get to see more coverage of
    European players in the tournaments too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Sky plus is the only way to watch it,cut straight to the golf,all the other sh1t is tedious

Set record for 8 and start watching 80 - 90 minutes later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

TGoodall wrote: »

But the AT&T was a bit of a pain....Sky seemed obsessed with the 18th. Every time they went back to the studio it was them in the shot centre hitting another tee shot on the 18th or another fly-by of the hole. Seemed like they bought the rights to just that hole on the simulator.

They cut to the shot centre as Snedeker finished on 17th.

"NOW... Lets have a look at what lies ahead of him on 18"

The 18th never changed once in the 20 times they had previously shown it on the shot centre... It's as if they were expecting a new tree to have popped up on the fairway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭IanPoulter

Amanda Balionis PGATOUR.COM anyone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

On a side issue anyone know if there is any deals etc for signing up to sky sports at present?

We have the basic package, I'm thinking of adding it in the run up to the masters

big_drive wrote: »
    On a side issue anyone know if there is any deals etc for signing up to sky sports at present?

We have the basic package, I'm thinking of adding it in the run up to the masters
    Do you know anyone that has sky sports? Just use their sky go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭stanley1

what happened to Di ?

stanley1 wrote: »
    what happened to Di ?

They booted her, I think for her hanging Tiger comment.

Do you know anyone that has sky sports? Just use their sky go

On my laptop I use an O2 dongle for broadband, has a download limit of something like 5g per month. Presume this wouldn't be great for using sky go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Ya stole my post - Wilson is just brutal. Boring face, boring voice, makes boring comments....

IanPoulter wrote: »
    Amanda Balionis PGATOUR.COM anyone ?

Is she the big guy in the skirt on PGATOUR.COM ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

big_drive wrote: »
    On my laptop I use an O2 dongle for broadband, has a download limit of something like 5g per month. Presume this wouldn't be great for using sky go?

Ya you're goosed. I watched the US Open all weekend last year using it and it blew my limit by about 30GB :eek:

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Ya you're goosed. I watched the US Open all weekend last year using it and it blew my limit by about 30GB :eek:

Was thinking as much. Might just have to see if I can come up with the cash to get sky sports. I'm not a big rugby or soccer fan so feel €35 a month extra is a lot when it's just for golf really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

I rang up and tried to order the sky sports for one month when the ryder cup was on, they offered me 6 months for €17 a month, cant be any harm to ring and ask

Will give it a go and see what they say

Can't you just get sky sports by the month now? As in, just pay for 1 month then say good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Can't you just get sky sports by the month now? As in, just pay for 1 month then say good luck.

I did just this for Celtic manor so if its the same then yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,578 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

They booted her, I think for her hanging Tiger comment.

Did she not go to Sky F1 ????

Ah ffs, now I'm gonna have to watch boring old car racing ! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭TRS30

I though she was preggers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

What the **** is John E Morgan wearing :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭who_ru

the wan hosting the show looks a bit funny, her hair looks suspiciously like a wig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Half expecting them to cut to John E Morgan sipping a White Russian! The lad is the dude of golf (Big labowski reference)

As he'd say himself "different gravy altogether"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭finchkerry

And he's moving to Holywood golf club, can't believe he came out with that!

Don't expect to see him out on tour anytime soon. Might pre-book a lesson with him for the craic!