Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'83- '98 orphans / Youngtimers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I like the two Beemers, but buying anything without an NCT is madness I think.

There's a reason it hasn't got a yellow sticker to make it more saleable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Great idea. even with the standard tax if you taxed for the three months of the summer a 2 litre is only €200.
    NCT is must though. If it failed and the seller showed you the failure sheet at least you'd know what you're facing.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

I know from personal experience that the NCT is hit and miss - I drove my yoke down to test centre, it passed, and I drove it home where it stayed until it's next NCT 2 years on - it failed on tyre ware :eek::eek: 40 more miles on odometer and it FAILED :eek::eek: How could my tyres have worn down so much in FORTY MILES :mad::mad:

Another reason for not doing an NCT is the possibility of the Gardai seizing it for no road tax .... :mad:

It would help to sell if it had an NCT but I have all the pass/fail dockets showing the mileage so the potential buyer knows it's done no mileage since it's last NCT, and at the price I'm selling at I couldn't give a XXXX nor am I going to fork out a possible €100 to get it NCT'd/fail/retest/...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Why did Bluebirds have those air vents at the back.

Anyway, I would think that nothing ages a car like it not being used. So laying it up most of the year and taxing it for three months, I have considered, but all told it was too much hassle, so I bite the bullet and pay horrendous amounts for annual road tax.

It pisses me off, but I know it also pisses off the so called 'greens' who want me to throw my motor away before the end of it's useful life.

Why did Bluebirds have those air vents at the back.

Anyway, I would think that nothing ages a car like it not being used. So laying it up most of the year and taxing it for three months, I have considered, but all told it was too much hassle, so I bite the bullet and pay horrendous amounts for annual road tax.

It pisses me off, but I know it also pisses off the so called 'greens' who want me to throw my motor away before the end of it's useful life.

The Greens are a spent force I think - reality and growing kids have hit them :p:p Their kids are probably into fast cars and the Green parents are worn out trying to convert them :P

WE are actually Greener by 'recycling' old cars that would have been rusting away in hedges stopping the blackberries from growing, and by not buying new cars then the car factories aren't polluting as much :)

Like Frank Carson used to say - "It's the way I tell 'em" ! ALL bodies from the Greens to FF/FG want to spin stories their way - but it's up to us to counter spin by saying that recycled cars create employment locally for autoshops, stop people wasting money borrowed from CU's/Finance ( a new car loses value, a recycled car holds it's value ), and it keep dangerous ol motorheads from going to the pub and being drunk in public :p:p:p

Capri wrote: »
    I know from personal experience that the NCT is hit and miss - I drove my yoke down to test centre, it passed, and I drove it home where it stayed until it's next NCT 2 years on - it failed on tyre ware :eek::eek: 40 more miles on odometer and it FAILED :eek::eek: How could my tyres have worn down so much in FORTY MILES :mad::mad:

Another reason for not doing an NCT is the possibility of the Gardai seizing it for no road tax .... :mad:

It would help to sell if it had an NCT but I have all the pass/fail dockets showing the mileage so the potential buyer knows it's done no mileage since it's last NCT, and at the price I'm selling at I couldn't give a XXXX nor am I going to fork out a possible €100 to get it NCT'd/fail/retest/...:rolleyes:

Re our garda 'vigilance' - Read in UK Practical Performance Car mag http://www.ppcmag.co.uk/ about the lads going off to collect a Saab for restoration. They drove a '73 Transit V8 with a trailer with Saab on it - stopped at UK police/transport agency checkpoint where inspector said ONE strap on trailer was missing as well as safety chain - then asked why one guy was towing another guys car, tried (unsuccessfully) to prove money changed hands - WHY - because if money changed hand THEN the '73 van needed a Tachograph and they could fine them over that as well. When AA was called to repair chain, THEY refused because it wasn't a BREAKDOWN. !!! :mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

great thread keep them coming

2 beauts - http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4550326

€5-5-0 for an S500 :eek::eek: Someone's got to give it a warm home (while they save to pay repairs/tax :p ) Nonetheless - it is still a lot of car for the money ;)

€900 for a 900 http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4534358

Don't like the XJ40 style but this is a bit of a rare machine ??
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Daimler/Majestic/4.0-L/201302211870344/advert?channel=CARS

Don't like the XJ40 style but this is a bit of a rare machine ??
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Daimler/Majestic/4.0-L/201302211870344/advert?channel=CARS

that car has every extra going and no NCT

kasper wrote: »
    that car has every extra going and no NCT

Oh man. I shouldn't but I think I'll have to have a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭tuborg_man

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4573527
    89 camry, if i had space i'd be buying this myself, bring back all the memories

1994 e200 €850 and it has an NCT!
    Only minus is that it's a manual....

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

hoodie6029 wrote: »
    1994 e200 €850 and it has an NCT!
    Only minus is that it's a manual....

New W210 hubcaps / d-s rear lens and seat covers . Interesting spelling
    GOOD TYRES AND DRIVEN PERFECT ENGINE AND GER BOX 100% ONLY NEED NEW OWNER

RISING FOR FOR SALING IS I GOT NEW MERCEDES

PLEASE CALL FOR MORE INFORMATION

YOU CAN TEXT I WILL TEXT BACK NO PRIVATE NO. PLEASE

YOU CAN SEE TIS CAR ON BLANCARDSTOWN D.15

PRICE 850 ONO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Briskit

Oh man. I shouldn't but I think I'll have to have a look.

if you could bolt on a supercharger to bring her to xjR status she's be legend.. even as a field cruiser... or a beach buggy if u raised her up on massive jeep like tyres on a new suspension... if u lightened the load some... the price of that is exactly what the tax would have been for it a year or two ago IIRC

she be mad loaded... as the other fellas said.. no nct.. thing is, when all those extras start going wrong down the line around about now they can be awkward and tricky to sort and hence the no nct...

she'd do a nice stock car too.. for the sand dunes up around DL... if you removed the doors/boot/bonnet/glass... but be a shame to see her all bashed and shunted up.. beach buggy be my dream for a nice big wide (when the tides out DL beach)

and then keep her in her own garage or a hay barn if u have such luxuries.

i took a xjr out for a run around glasnevin from cameron motors few years back.. big boaty four point-O on a straight six... couldn't believe how tight the cabin was for a few big fellas... dave the owner came out and my bro to, even though it was the crappest car in his shed... he had driven up from lunch in a cls63amg and looked like he had had a good ol' time with the one who had rolled up with him and the smooth note...

anyway, we sailed her around a bit up toward finglas and the n2 bit that goes under took a roundabout back at the bit that goes under the m50 there and headed back down to glasneven coolock way.

I was nearly sea sick on getting back... was kinda nice though as I had always admired them since matchbox toy ownership times and was funny to drive one from an ear somewhat after said time...

what u call type the type of jag arthur daly was rolling in in the show?? always liked those too... and the fella, his partners.. was cool

nostalgia and a bitta booze on a night in by the fire and some chillin proper always be nice

entertaining read the odd threat around here... often not logged in, so can't leave thanks or comments when u try to!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Barry Barry

New W210 hubcaps / d-s rear lens and seat covers . Interesting spelling

Foreign seller, English isn't the sellers first language :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭w124man

New W210 hubcaps

Standard W124 Facelift hubcaps from late '93 onwards :rolleyes:

These cars are so underrated in manual form as are most W124's. If looked after they will last for years and years. I regularly see an '85 250D plodding up and down the N11. Its a manual and had 600k on the clock when I last looked.

w124man wrote: »
    Standard W124 Facelift hubcaps from late '93 onwards :rolleyes:

These cars are so underrated in manual form as are most W124's. If looked after they will last for years and years. I regularly see an '85 250D plodding up and down the N11. Its a manual and had 600k on the clock when I last looked.

Sweet looking motor

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4411036

Swop the wheels

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4583383

VERY sweet motor W114 - but ABS ??? and €6.5k ??
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4597919

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercedes-Benz_W114

Dropping - not the susp, but the prices :eek:

Bit off the age range but -
    01 €1400 :(:(:( http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4596245

Blue chip investment for the future ???

If you can hack the tax, W220s are great value. If it does go wrong, lots and lots to go wrong though.

Thats the ol equasion inn'it , a 2000 W220 for 1200 :o with tax of 1600/yr (1200 if you lay it up 3mths ) or a ........ http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4448209 :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Thats the ol equasion inn'it , a 2000 W220 for 1200 :o with tax of 1600/yr (1200 if you lay it up 3mths ) or a ........ http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4448209 :o

15K for a 1300 Escort..........:eek: Not a hope in hell,he's just taking the urine me thinks:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭oceanman

jca wrote: »
    15K for a 1300 Escort..........:eek: Not a hope in hell,he's just taking the urine me thinks:P
    has to be something they are putting in the water down there!

Nice honest motor - 190D 93 €875 :)http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4611232

NCT up at end of Mouth...... I'm cracking here :D:D:D:D.
    Other cars beside banger Mercs please..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Lovely seat covers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭unfit2006

Seweryn wrote: »
    Lovely seat covers.

They used to be all the rage at the markets in Clara and Fairyhouse.

Not too bad pricewise for an original Irish car -

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4622794

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4622794[/QUOTE]
    pity its not a couple of years older but looks an ok car for the money.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4622794

is it not a bit old to be in this thread ?

kasper wrote: »
    is it not a bit old to be in this thread ?

Sorry, just missed by 1 year - but they were the last, the Sierra came in 81 so it was an overlap :o

Wearing my anorak here but the sierra didn't launch until 83.

yeah i thought that too.

Sorry, was using Wiki
    The Ford Sierra is a large family car that was built by Ford Europe from 1981 until 1993. It was designed by Uwe Bahnsen, Robert Lutz and Patrick le Quément. The code used during development was "Project Toni".

First unveiled on 22 September 1982 and with sales beginning on 15 October 1982, it replaced the Ford Cortina. Its aerodynamic styling was ahead of its time and as such, many conservative buyers did not take fondly to the Ford Cortina's replacement

The 'Probe III' study, of the Frankfurt show in 81 was the Sierra shape disguised with extra panels:)

Nice wheels, good little runaround

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4592237

What's with all the mercs? Surely there are other cars out there, will get on done steal laterðŸ˜

Plenty of others I'm sure, just happens Mercs are better value ?? But I've seen Saabs, Volvos, VW/Audi ....... and this is a relatively new thread so others will surface ;)

Most reliable car on the planet ?
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4557320

Don't think it needs a test :confused:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4673062

Not exactly 'youngtimer' but Fair play to them for not destroying it - but will anybody save it ???
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4672342

ANOTHER W124 :rolleyes: who's going to save them ? http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4487716

Might be a good reason this isn't sold:p

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4564245
    STILL FOR SALE:rolleyes::rolleyes:

LEFT HAND DRIVE
    94 FORD PROBE SPORTS
    CAR KITTED WITH EXTRAS
    IDLE FOR 1 YEAR
    DRIVING PERFECT
    AS NEW 18 INCH WHEELS
    €520

1) It's UGLY :eek:
    2) It's LHD
    3) It's NOT imported

If it was Pavel or Andreas or Vladimir selling it I might understand, but MARK :eek: . Mark, you've been HAD Bud :p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Most reliable car on the planet ?
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4557320

Don't think it needs a test :confused:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4673062

Not exactly 'youngtimer' but Fair play to them for not destroying it - but will anybody save it ???
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4672342

ANOTHER W124 :rolleyes: who's going to save them ? http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4487716

2) It's LHD
    3) It's NOT imported

If it was Pavel or Andreas or Vladimir selling it I might understand, but MARK :eek: . Mark, you've been HAD Bud :p:p:p

Looking at the reg plate you can have Adolf if ya changed a few letters around... not a good look for a Polish registered car!!

Wouldn't stop the brits advertising that plate for sale - they love their reg. plate 'guessing games' :confused:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4593744

If you can stomach the tax (€1494!!) please save this. An Irish 300e that hasn't been a taxi, converted to diesel, run to a million miles etc.

Anyone know how to paste donedeal photos on here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

hoodie6029 wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4593744

If you can stomach the tax (€1494!!) please save this. An Irish 300e that hasn't been a taxi, converted to diesel, run to a million miles etc.

Anyone know how to paste donedeal photos on here?

View2-17649058.jpeg

invest4deepvalue.com

how'd you manage that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Right click on the photo on donedeal and copy or copy link, than go to boards post reply and click the yellow box with the mountain in it, wipe out the http// and paste in the photo link copy here.

You mean 230TE dont you ??

2) It's LHD
    3) It's NOT imported

Hahahahahaha ........ so true. Ugly to the max!

w124man wrote: »
    You mean 230TE dont you ??

:o:o:o