Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where only an Irish word will do...

• 07-02-2013 10:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

So AHers,

I arrive home last night, drunk as a wheelbarrow, and decide to finally put a bulb in that light. Needless to say, I topple forward off the chair I'm standing on and proceed to "hop" my head off the radiator.

If I was sober,less determined, or less belligerent, I probably just would have "bumped" my head. It's far less painful I believe.

So, as the thread title asks; are Irish verbs more painful than their English counterparts?

It would be a fairly narrow thread, so, I am opening it up to all Irish words that you'd use to describe something.

Choco

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

'Hop' isn't an Irish verb... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭BlueBaron

smash wrote: »
    'Hop' isn't an Irish verb... :P

Get no 'Hop' off you at all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

eejit.

frig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

shitehawk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

"Meas" doesn't really have an English equivalent that captures its meaning.

I arrive home last night, drunk as a wheelbarrow

Ah I do miss Ireland sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Amadhan (did I even spell that right, amadhan that I am)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

same with "fian", it means a kind of demented cow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Schadenfraude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

You're still drunk op aren't you, as drunk as a small cart with one wheel at the front, two handles at the back that's typically used for transporting small loads :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

'gowl'

as in 'christ she had a horrible gowl on her'

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Bigcheeze wrote: »

Google translate says "respect," how far off is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

eejit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Schadenfraude

aawww i dont get it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

My head is cat malojian after drinking 12 pints last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Zeitgeist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

Bigcheeze wrote: »

yes it does, it means respect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Flathiulach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

This may well be a pure local word (Kildare):

Boody or Boodyman: 'He's some boody-man.'

A strange fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Banjaxed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

that hop you took will put a bit of smacht on you, OP, ya pleidhc! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

To 'plámas' someone.

To make a 'hames' of something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

"Fagan" came up recently, used by my dad.

I've a pain in me Fagan. She pulled the Fagan off me. Aul Fagan was happy to see that. Don't forget to give Fagan a shake when you're done.

Jaxxy wrote: »
    "Fagan" came up recently, used by my dad.

I've a pain in me Fagan. She pulled the Fagan off me. Aul Fagan was happy to see that. Don't forget to give Fagan a shake when you're done.

I've only ever heard Fagan being used as a surname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

Used best with sarcasm: Well, a big Búladh Bos to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

smash wrote: »

I've only ever heard Fagan being used as a surname.

According to him it's an old Dublin saying, but he and his brothers and circle of friends use it a lot. I asked him where it came from, he had no idea.

All of the below according to some crackpot American researcher with a book to sell, a Celtic fire burning in his loins, and a faux Irish surname such as: MacKellymurphy or O' Marxy

Chagrin
    Intermezzo
    Haggis
    Schmuck
    Tiffin
    Boutrous Boutrous-Ghali
    Rock 'n' Roll
    Vindaloo
    Kamikaze
    Unicycle
    Duck Billed Platypus
    The Acropolis
    Bayern Munich etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

neil_hosey wrote: »
    yes it does, it means respect

For feck sake I know there's a translation. I'm saying the translation doesn't capture its meaning.

9959 wrote: »
    All of the below according to some crackpot American researcher with a book to sell, a Celtic fire burning in his loins, and a faux Irish surname such as: MacKellymurphy or O' Marxy

Chagrin
    Intermezzo
    Haggis
    Schmuck
    Tiffin
    Boutrous Boutrous-Ghali
    Rock 'n' Roll
    Vindaloo
    Kamikaze
    Unicycle
    Duck Billed Platypus
    The Acropolis
    Bayern Munich etc.

"...
    The Dative Case
    Silver
    The Speckled Fellow
    The Headache
    The Lively Boy
    The Gluttinous Rabbit
    The High Hat
    John of the Glen
    Yours Respectfully
    The Little Sweet Kiss"

(The Poor Mouth)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Ludraman

commons.wikipedia.org/wiki/User_talk:LudramanLudraman is a commonly used Irish Gaelic word meaning useless layabout, or foolish idiot. It is often used as a kind of "friendly" insult.

Not used as a friendly insult in our house....:D:D:D

lúdramán, leibide, latchico.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

How many After Hours' regulars does it take to change a lightbulb?

You were mouldy OP.

In all seriousness though, you were lucky - twasn't too dissimilar of a fall that killed Jonathan Philbin Bowman.

starlings wrote: »
    lúdramán, leibide, latchico.

latina, libido, calm-down, Lucifer, dehumidifier.

9959 wrote: »
    latina, libido, calm-down, Lucifer, dehumidifier.

tá sé mahogany gaspipes. ar fad, like.

Smithereens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

The mental image of the op falling off the chair made me lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

You were 'Acting The Maggot' there alright Choco when ye 'Schkelp' your cranium off the rad, ye feckin 'Gombeen'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

"The bake (beak/nose) on her"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Don't mind that geebag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Sounds like ya got an awful schelp for yourself OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

Your some blaggard op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Hiberno-English Dictionary

Some of the most common instances of Hiberno-Englsih use are stated below:

Ye, plural form of 'you'.

'Tis, abbreviation of 'it is'.

'Tisn't, abbreviation of 'it isn't' (sometimes pronounced 'tidn't')

Shur, emphasises the obviousness of a statement ('shur you can get it yourself, can't you?')

Will, used in place of 'shall' almost without fail ('will I make us a cup of tea?')

Feck off, a softer, less offensive version of '**** off' (made famous by Father Ted)

Yoke, a thing.

To is often ommited from sentences ('I'm not allowed go out tonight' as opposed to 'I'm not allowed to go out tonight')

Beor, a woman (pronounced 'byeor')

Bold, naughty or badly-behaved.

A Boot, an ugly individual.

Cat/Catmalojin, terrible ('oh, the performance was cat!')

Craic, fun, a good time. If some one is 'good craic' they are fun to be around.

Sound, used to describe someone who is nice, perhaps good craic, and generally a good friend to have.

Culchie, someone from a rural area of Ireland.

Ma and Da, mother and father.

Deadly, terrific, fantastic.

Eejit, an idiot.

Feck (verb), to steal.

Footpath, a pavement.

Gas, funny, hilarious.

Grand, OK/of an acceptable standard ('How are you?' 'I'm grand')

Grinds, private tuition.

Guards (or Gards), refers to An Garda Siochána, the unarmed police force of the Republic of Ireland.

Handy, useful.

Legend, someone who is cool, is 'a Legend'.

Ludar (Looder), and idiot.

To Meet, to french kiss.

The Messages, the groceries or errands.

To Mind, to look after.

Minerals/Fizzy Drinks, soft drinks/soda/pop.

Queer, out of the ordinary. In 'culchie' areas it also means 'gay', and in areas in the East and outh East it means 'very'.

Savage, great.

Runners, sneakers.

A Sliced Pan, a loaf od sliced bread.

Sweet Cake, cake or pastry (comes from the Irish for Cake, Cáca Milis, lit. sweet cake)

Taytos, crisps.

Well, a greeting, like 'hello'.

---

There are many terms for having consumed a drop too much drink, many are used elsewhere, but the Irish tendency is to attempt to find the most descriptive adjective yet on each occasion.

---

Some examples:

"loaded"

"twisted"

"scuttered"

"locked"

"langered"

"mouldy"

"polluted"

"flootered"

"plastered"

"bolloxed"

"banjaxed"

"well out of it"

"wankered"

"****ed"

"paraplegic"

"ossified"

"rat-arsed”

"demented"

"langers altogether"

"off me head altogether"

"wasted"

"legless"

"hammered"

"mangled"

"jarred"

"off my tits"

"pissed"

"flamin'"

"sozzled"

"sloshed"

"destroyed"

"steamed"

Plenty more in Terry Dolans A Dictionary of Hirberno - English

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Flaker

"Goother". As in, I've a pain in me goother.

Also, gasun (boy) and gersha (girl).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

The mental image of the op falling off the chair made me lol.
    You were 'Acting The Maggot' there alright Choco when ye 'Schkelp' your cranium off the rad, ye feckin 'Gombeen'

If I have to come up those stairs now to either of you two smart-aleks and I swear there'll be wigs on the green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

If I have to come up those stairs now to either of you two smart-aleks and I swear there'll be wigs on the green

...And if ye fall and break both your legs, don't come runnin' to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Penny Dreadful

and skin and hair flying!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

under the influence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

spankysue wrote: »
    You're still drunk op aren't you, as drunk as a small cart with one wheel at the front, two handles at the back that's typically used for transporting small loads :p

Aah, c'mon now chief. Let's call a spade an earth-inverting garden implement.:pac::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

GOB****E - a simply perfect word.

"wrecking my buzz" and "doing my head in" are two great ways to describe the effect a Gob****e can have on you.

Can't think of any way to translate any of them.......