Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Judge gives teen 30 days for flipping him the bird

• 06-02-2013 8:15pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭

Well done mate!....lol! :D

http://news.softpedia.com/news/Teen-Gives-Judge-the-Finger-in-Court-Is-Sentenced-to-30-Days-in-Jail-327243.shtml

Video embedded here....she hot actually, silly girl!

http://www.nbcmiami.com/news/Woman-Gives-Judge-Middle-Finger-Gets-30-Day-Sentence-for-Contempt-189691991.html

A teenager has been charged with being in criminal contempt of court proceedings for showing a judge the middle finger during a hearing.

Miami-Dade Circuit Judge Jorge Rodriguez-Chomat has sentenced 18-year-old Penelope Soto to 30 days in jail after her disrespectful gesture.

Soto appeared in court on drug-related charges on Monday, February 4, NBC Miami writes. Arrested for unlawful possession of regulated Xanax pills, she appeared to treat the trial in a joking manner.

The judge begins the session by trying to determine if she can afford a lawyer. During a series of questions about her assets, he asks the defendant about her jewelry. As she giggles, the teenager describes that it is worth a lot of money.

"It's not a joke, you know, we're not in a club now. [...] We are not in a club, be serious about it," Rodriguez-Chomat advises her.

"I'm serious about it, you just made me laugh. [...] You just made me laugh, I apologize. It's worth a lot of money,” she tells him.

He insists and demands for her to specify the value of said jewelry, to which Soto responds by using a Rick Ross reference.

"Like Rick Ross. It's worth money," she says.

Rodriguez-Chomat then asks the girl if she has consumed drugs recently, or the day of the trial to which she replies "Actually, no."

After he sets her bail to $5,000 (€3,690), Rodriguez-Chomat is willing to put the case to rest, but changes his mind as she says goodbye with an “adios.”

After he calls her back, he doubles her bail and she responds by flipping him the bird and cursing. It's her behavior at the end of the hearing that gets her 30 days in county jail.

"Are you serious," she asks.

"I am serious. Adios," the judge replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

'Merica Fuck Yeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I hope she doesn't get Sotomised in the clinker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Peetrik

What an impartial Judge. Glad to see he isn't abusing his position because he didn't feel like someone tugged their forelock at him enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

It would be great if Irish courts were televised!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Maybe it'll teach her that its not a joke and make her grow up a bit. She'll be in for a shock in prison.
    Fair play to the judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Fooking crows, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Why the hell isn't our court system like this? We need tough judges like him in Ireland!

Peetrik wrote: »
    What an impartial Judge. Glad to see he isn't abusing his position because he didn't feel like someone tugged their forelock at him enough

My local court has a sign saying "no pajamas", like a sign is fucking necessary!

Disrespect the court, go to jail and think about it.

No-one deserves the finger for doing their job, much less a judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

catallus wrote: »
    It would be great if Irish courts were televised!

"You listen here you scumbag...You're free to go"

MadsL wrote: »

Unless you're a pornstar.
    Then it's kinda part of the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

'Flipping the bird' never heard that expression before.

jeez im a filthy bast$£d

He gleefully shows as much disrespect by sarcastically saying 'adios' back to her, the thing he obviously thought was disrespectful enough to warrant doubling her fine for.

That's not being impartial, its lording his double standards over her. Mans an arséhole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

My local court has a sign saying "no pajamas", like a sign is fucking necessary!

The $5000 bail increase was for the Adios remark given before the finger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Maybe it'll teach her that its not a joke and make her grow up a bit. She'll be in for a shock in prison.
    Fair play to the judge.
    At least she is a You Tube sensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Think the girl was full of nerves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

patwicklow wrote: »
    Think the girl was full of nerves

Or stoned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Yeah,what Ireland needs is more egomaniacal vindictive judges!

That's sure to solve all of our criminal problems!

Stupid decision to bring her in front of a judge for such a minor offense in the first place,and now she's going to cost the state more money with the 30 days in jail.Justice system in the U.S. is ridiculous.

Madam wrote: »
    Or stoned?

Or just nervous, (full of the nervousness)that is all.

"Judges are too lenient"
    "Judges are too harsh"

People just love to complain.
    A judge gives a smart arse teen a harsh lesson in life and gives her time to think about where she is headed instead of out with her mates boasting about only getting a slap on the wrist, and people are crying about the judge being on a power trip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Interesting critique from a US criminal defense laywer here basically the Judge over stepped the mark and is obviously a bit of a dickhead.

Your going to get sent down, that is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

I think they do the same in Ireland, like if you are not respecting the court, or obeying a court's demands.
    Example the poor old Quinn family for one.

She is a moron. I'm not a fortune teller but I see lots of misery and bad lifestyle choices in her future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Or just nervous, (full of the nervousness)that is all.

She is off her chomp, Xanax, Valium or the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

He gleefully shows as much disrespect by sarcastically saying 'adios' back to her, the thing he obviously thought was disrespectful enough to warrant doubling her fine for.

That's not being impartial, its lording his double standards over her. Mans an arséhole.

No. She disrespected his court by taking a sly dig at his nationality (he's Mexican) by sarcastically saying Adios.

She won't last too long inside before some big young wan gets her to be her boyfriend. Lesson learned will be hard....keep the big mouth shut in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

She was being a smart-ass, but doubling the fine for saying "Adiós"?? That was a bit harsh.

Joe10000 wrote: »
    She is off her chomp, Xanax, Valium or the like.

So she is on the mend, trying to find her way back to the fooking piiss pool she was trying to leave, how do you finger this out, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

You just can't finger it out, just can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

You'd have to beat somebody within an inch of death to get 30 days here or 5k bail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

good man that judge , slap that skank

You'd have to beat somebody within an inch of death to get 30 days here or 5k bail.

Tis not easy, but I will keep beating, in the hope, just incase, just in case, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

"come back here Deputy Stag, come back".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Xanax lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

She was being a smart-ass, but doubling the fine for saying "Adiós"?? That was a bit harsh.

It was the bail not the fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Looks to me like she turned up off her face and showed no respect whatsoever to the court. Well played judge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Here is a longer video and the public defender says the judge didn't follow proper proceadure, then the judge appointed that guy to defend her: http://www.local10.com/news/Woman-flips-off-judge-gets-30-days-in-jail/-/1717324/18402242/-/vkk4f6z/-/index.html

Story is blowing up!....she could well make a mint out of this!!

Looks to me like she turned up off her face and showed no respect whatsoever to the court. Well played judge.

Looks can be deceiving, tis not all it is cracked up to be, that is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

30 days for 'adios' ? No wonder it has the highest incarceration rate in the world.

Fcukin 'Merica.:rolleyes:

MaxSteele wrote: »
    30 days for 'adios' ? No wonder it has the highest incarceration rate in the world.

Fcukin 'Merica.:rolleyes:
    No.
    Read it again. 30 days for sticking up her finger at him and trying to act hard.
    She was a smart arse and deserves a wake up call. Our judges could learn a thing or two from this.

No.
    She was a smart arse and deserves a wake up call. Our judges could learn a thing or two from this.

Totalitarianism?

No, teaching a smart arsed teen a lesson and hopefully making her cop on a bit before she turns into a total scumbag and a drain on society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

If this is totalitarianism then sign me up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

cruiser178 wrote: »
    'Flipping the bird' never heard that expression before.

jeez im a filthy bast$£d
    A-well-a don't you know about the bird?
    Well, everybody knows that the bird is the word!
    A-well-a bird, bird, b-bird's the word
    A-well-a...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

No.
    Read it again. 30 days for sticking up her finger at him and trying to act hard.

A judge is supposed to make fair decisions.

Bail is there to make sure that she comes back to court for the next occasion. It's not a punishment, nor should it ever be used as such. The judge isn't supposed to double her bail because he didn't like her attitude. That was totally inappropriate.

She reacted badly because what he did was totally unfair.

He could have given her a chance to apologise before jailing her. There's no need to come the heavy with 18 year old girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

The judge didn't take it seriously then punishes her for doing likewise. Total dickhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭roadrunner16

Why should the judge have to put up with that ? she was being rude and not taking the trial seriously, we need more judges like this in Ireland, where people gets ludicrously short trials for serious crimes I would be glad to see this happening in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

If it didn't show Miami in post 1 I'd be thinking this court case was in Cuba

Both of them have very strong accents

mikemac1 wrote: »
    If it didn't show Miami in post 1 I'd be thinking this court case was in Cuba

Both of them have very strong accents

And a sarcastic "Adios" means "see ya never", complete disrespect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I have pity for this girl, she is clearly immature and made poor choices and is being excessively punished for a very minor crime and the Judge was able to dish it out but couldn't take it.

There is absolutely no way she should be in jail, if the Judge had a real sense of humour and morals he'd have sentenced her to complete community work or do a college course. She did not deserve Jail and despite our Pathetic justice system it is things like this that makes me glad somethings are that way. She'd have a got a €200 - €500 donation to the court poor box to avoid a conviction here and most likely the Gardai would have confiscated the pills and sent her off with a bollocking to begin with.

I know a guy who was taken to Court here in Kerry for Drunk and Disorderly behavior and his phone rang in court and he answered it and told the Judge; "Hang on Judge" theres a man ringing me about a dog I've for sale! The Judge asked him would he give up the drink, he answered I'll do my best but couldn't promise you. The whole courtroom by now was in total hysterics including the Judge himself and he ordered him to make a €50 donation to the poorbox!

Stinicker wrote: »
    I know a guy who was taken to Court here in Kerry for Drunk and Disorderly behavior and his phone rang in court and he answered it and told the Judge; "Hang on Judge" theres a man ringing me about a dog I've for sale! The Judge asked him would he give up the drink, he answered I'll do my best but couldn't promise you. The whole courtroom by now was in total hysterics including the Judge himself and he ordered him to make a €50 donation to the poorbox!

Did he tell the Judge to go fuck himself?

What do you suppose the outcome would be?

Will you be paying this girl's bail out of interest if you have that much 'sympathy'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

That, ladies and gentlemen, is an example of a ****ing idiot.