Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What good is an Arts Degree?

• 05-02-2013 11:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Why do some employers diss Arts Degrees some and some don't? Why do others look down on it while others take it up as a degree? They can still do a postgrad in something more specific or in another discipline? Either branch out or do something different in the hope of a job.

Some people have no choice but to do further study or go into a different profession after Arts that is understandable. Going abroad for jobs is another option for the lack of jobs for Arts students.

Often or not people aren't sure what they want to do or know they want to engage with their favourite subject or teach. What's wrong with an Arts Degree compared to a more specified Bach of Science, business, engineering etc.

Does an Arts Degree not broaden the mind a bit and do subjects you like and figure out what subjects you like/don't like. You are more likely to decide on subject areas/job areas you can focus on after the degree by having touched on a variety of subjects.

Is variety not the spice of life and beneficial for making the right career choices or is it true what they say in the article from the Irish Times there are too many Arts Grads and not enough from science/computer disciplines leading to skills shortages and not enough qualified applicants? There are employers who would credit someone from Arts courses but why such harshness on those that have Arts not likely to get jobs unless they try something else and not likely to get jobs in traditional jobs any more. Which is a shame that traditional jobs are slowly going.

Then again there are jobs now that didn't exist 10 years ago and jobs that don't exist yet, can the education system prepare those for jobs that don't exist? Would it not be better to stick with traditional jobs for now until the recession lets up when ever that be or is science and technology really our future and traditional jobs be wiped out eventually which couldn't possibly happen surely, we will always need gardai, nurses, doctors and teachers.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/education/2013/0205/1224329650185.html?via=mr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

doovdela wrote: »
    Why do some employers diss Arts Degrees some and some don't? Why do others look down on it while others take it up as a degree? They can still do a postgrad in something more specific or in another discipline? Either branch out or do something different in the hope of a job.

Some people have no choice but to do further study or go into a different profession after Arts that is understandable.

Often or not people aren't sure what they want to do or know they want to engage with their favourite subject or teach. What's wrong with an Arts Degree compared to a more specified Bach of Science, business, engineering etc.

Does an Arts Degree not broaden the mind a bit and do subjects you like and figure out what subjects you like/don't like. You are more likely to decide on subject areas/job areas you can focus on after the degree by having touched on a variety of subjects.

Is variety not the spice of life and beneficial for making the right career choices or is it true what they say in the article from the Irish Times there are too many Arts Grads and not enough from science/computer disciplines leading to skills shortages and not enough qualified applicants? There are employers who would credit someone from Arts courses but why such harshness on those that have Arts not likely to get jobs unless they try something else and not likely to get jobs in traditional jobs any more. Which is a shame that traditional jobs are slowly going.

Then again there are jobs now that didn't exist 10 years ago and jobs that don't exist yet, can the education system prepare those for jobs that don't exist? Would it not be better to stick with traditional jobs for now until the recession lets up when ever that be or is science and technology really our future and traditional jobs be wiped out eventually which couldn't possibly happen surely, we will always need gardai, nurses, doctors and teachers.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/education/2013/0205/1224329650185.html?via=mr

Arts degree:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Boombastic wrote: »
    Arts degree:rolleyes:

Philistines :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

A person with a degree in business says, "How can I get paid when it works?"
    A person with a degree in science says, "How does it work?"
    A person with a degree in philosophy says, "Why does it work?"
    A person with a degree in mathematics says, "How many ways will it work?"
    A person with a degree in arts says, "Would you like fries with that?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

That's interesting based on the different type of degrees but don't agree with the arts one!? :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Arts degree?

You can go do loadsa drawing, graffiti and everything, become the new Banksie maybe

This might be the 576 time this thread had been on or it could be the 675 time this thread has been done.. I am not sure which.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It's good if you run out of bog roll!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Of course we have too many Arts graduates, well, Ireland had too many, now they are in Australia, Canada, etc etc.

Arts is a 3 year course, generally an honours degree (level 8). There are very, very few 3 year level 8 degrees, less so that have the variety of subjects like Arts. Arts is perfect for those who want to pursue what they like, or those who just want a degree and are not drawn to any particular field or for those who want to use it as a foundation for another qualification (ie: an LLB).

Employers don't "diss" arts degree, they simply want degrees relevant to the field of work they are recruiting for. Problem solving, analytical and critical jobs are most suited to those with degree in that field (English could well be regarded as being a suitable degree) so most employers want, for example, engineers, who have degrees in problem solving and design.

That's my view of it. People who "diss" arts degrees have no idea what they are talking about. A degree is only worth the job it can get you, and right now a lot of degree (previously somewhat prestigious degrees even) are worth nought.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Philistines :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Career options: End of the line for traditional routes?
    Teaching, journalism and the Civil Service are full of arts graduates.

I rest my case

An Arts Degree is one has mixture of subjects mixed into the course.

There is the other type of Degree in 'Art' that be drawing, visual stuff etc.

Banksie?

Ya I think this thread has be referred to it but I just took it out from the Irish Times article and thought was interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Better than no degree - and some people enjoy it. You can always do a postgrad/another course in something more practical.
    mariaalice wrote: »
    This might be the 576 time this thread had been on or it could be the 675 time this thread has been done.. I am not sure which.
    Yeh, and there were jokes about "fries with that" and "toilet paper" - fresh material or what?! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

TBH i've always thought of art degrees in the light of,going to college for the sake of saying that you've been to college.However,if somebody is genuinely talented in the arts and has potential in that field,then by all means fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

As far as I can see arts degrees are alright if ya go on to do a postgrad. Or if you want to teach or something. But it's crazy the amount of people I know that went into them because they didn't know what to do. In that case you're better off taking a couple years out to work and then go back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

People who roll their eyes at arts degrees are usually clueless as to what it involves, and have no idea of the work and independent study put in.

It's true there's lots of dossers in arts, but they're the ones dropping out after first year, and certainly aren't the ones getting firsts.

Some of the lecturers I had in arts were absolutely inspiring. So intelligent and passionate about their subject.

Some people feel the need to look down on others, even where it's not warranted. It's their problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

lighting the fire or wiping your arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

smash wrote: »
    It's good if you run out of bog roll!
    And when you're finished wiping you have a chemistry degree! Hoho.

Ah no arts is good, that B Ark isn't going to fill itself.

I repect anyone who had the wherewithal to finish an arts degree, and I'll have fries with that.

Sorry, sorry, I'm not a midweek person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Who wants their musical, or visual artists or whatever to have had it schooled into em :/ last thing I want is another gaggle of students like arcade fire giving us their pretentious modern 'indie' pap!

Plenty of heavy metal 'degenerates' who thought themselves better theory and I didn't need to go to school to have realized an appreciation of that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Artists are just as necessary as scientists and engineers.
    Be pretty **** society if there was no one making visualisations of abstract thoughts or beautiful stuff.
    Some people just don't get it it though.

somefeen wrote: »

meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Yes, what use is English, history, languages,philosophy to humans lets all do something practical so we can get a job easier.

Plenty of people with arts degrees have good jobs, plenty of people with technical or science degrees have dreadful jobs. But that is beside the point because education is not just corporate training you know, this is a silly and depressing question.

Dermighty wrote: »
    Of course we have too many Arts graduates, well, Ireland had too many, now they are in Australia, Canada, etc etc.

Arts is a 3 year course, generally an honours degree (level 8). There are very, very few 3 year level 8 degrees, less so that have the variety of subjects like Arts. Arts is perfect for those who want to pursue what they like, or those who just want a degree and are not drawn to any particular field or for those who want to use it as a foundation for another qualification (ie: an LLB).

Employers don't "diss" arts degree, they simply want degrees relevant to the field of work they are recruiting for. Problem solving, analytical and critical jobs are most suited to those with degree in that field (English could well be regarded as being a suitable degree) so most employers want, for example, engineers, who have degrees in problem solving and design.

That's my view of it. People who "diss" arts degrees have no idea what they are talking about. A degree is only worth the job it can get you, and right now a lot of degree (previously somewhat prestigious degrees even) are worth nought.

Ya I see that point of view if you have an arts degree with a background in technology or science employers still look for those with specified IT and science degrees in Bsc. So be best off to do a postgrad in something mores specific than something too broad?

That's true a lot of those in the civil service have Arts degrees some other types.

Doesn't make sense why people who have arts degrees have to be left with doing meaningless jobs or leave the country for work.

Sure if you are to go into the gardai you do a third level course before you can get into the gardai as backup in case you don't get in or doesn't work out or you have to wait to get in, does that still stand? But with the government embargo on recruitment in the civil and public service has been downfall despite temp work.

That's true if you have a degree it stand to you to some extent. A more practical or something you interested in and job prospects are good with a specified postgrad can help but some employers still look at the Arts over the postgrad making you not employable in a field you want to pursue even with work experience and transferable skills.

Like so many people are trying to get into IT whether they have an IT background or not. While those in IT/business/Science and other areas specified seem to get interviews easier than others say or have a better chance of getting a job than those doing Arts is it that they not qualified enough despite work experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

A woman I used to work with asked me what I was doing in college. "Arts", said I. She asked me was I always good at art in school. :eek: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Of course, the sole and only purpose of education is to ready people to come off the assembly line and be robots. :rolleyes:

Seriously, do people honestly not see the point of doing anything that isn't simply about employment? There's more to life. The sole purpose of education is not simply to make you attractive to multinationals :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

A friend of mine has a masters in fine art, he has worked in galleries in both Paris and London. He sells his own works too, an A4-sized piece would go for about €1200 - €1500. I think he is lucky to make money from something he enjoys doing.

this is a silly and depressing question.

You could always dry your eyes with your arts degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Career options: End of the line for traditional routes?
    Teaching, journalism and the Civil Service are full of arts graduates.

I rest my case

My point wasn't that it was only of value if it could/couldn't get you job, my point was... you're a philistine.

I rest my case.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

In this thread: people confusing an arts degree with Fine arts degree

She a bit narrow minded to have said that. Had she any clue?

An arts course can be just as difficult as any other course. Just 'cause its perceived as an easy course and easy to get into doesn't mean its an easy course, depends which one though. Its one of those courses you could end up in any job which is a good thing no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Senna wrote: »
    You could always dry your eyes with your arts degree.

I have a Bsc and a post-grad in IT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

I like to see renegades, mavericks with a real desire > self learned ability and a disdain for a system that might corral their vision but I understand some aspects may need tutoring / sectors need certification. I just fear we may be overly reliant on this method now

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    My point wasn't that it was only of value if it could/couldn't get you job, my point was... you're a philistine.

I rest my case.

A philistine :eek:

Can I borrow you arts degree to wipe my tears? I believe they are good for that.......and no, I don't want fries with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

I think Arts degrees are great if you are passionate about the subjects, or know where you want to go with yours. I think the reason Arts degrees are much maligned is because for some reason they also seem to attract the highest percentages of "I'm not arsed about college, I just want to go for the craic" kinda students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

This joke is generally the last refuge of those unhappy with their own situation brought about by their own college choices. There is a massive misconception out there that an education and a qualification must be mutually inclusive. Really it is a sad indictment of the person as it is a sign that learning is only worthwhile if it is of immediate monetary benefit.

Lifelong learning should be sought by all but few partake in it.

somefeen wrote: »
    Be pretty **** society if there was no one making visualisations of abstract thoughts or beautiful stuff.
    Some people just don't get it it though.
    Psst... An arts degree is not a degree in art!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Senna wrote: »
    A person with a degree in business says, "How can I get paid when it works?"
    A person with a degree in science says, "How does it work?"
    A person with a degree in philosophy says, "Why does it work?"
    A person with a degree in mathematics says, "How many ways will it work?"
    A person with a degree in arts says, "Would you like fries with that?"
    Haha , they say those who fail teach ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Pherekydes wrote: »
    A woman I used to work with asked me what I was doing in college. "Arts", said I. She asked me was I always good at art in school. :eek: :rolleyes:

TBH, I only found out what an Arts degree was in fifth year, and thought the exact same thing as her!

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    This joke is generally the last refuge of those unhappy with their own situation brought about by their own college choices. There is a massive misconception out there that an education and a qualification must be mutually inclusive. Really it is a sad indictment of the person as it is a sign that learning is only worthwhile if it is of immediate monetary benefit.

Lifelong learning should be sought by all but few partake in it.

I think it's more about interest.For example,I have an M.Eng.Why?,because i love knowing how things work and why they work and with this comes it's monetary value which is a major plus.However now with my monetary value aspect sorted,if i want i can anything as much as I want and still fall back on a useful degree.

Not every arts course is like that some can be tough going - like teaching, business/IT/e-commerce/IS/Multimedia related ones. Anything in the humanities and social work/sciences/childcare aren't so straight forward and straight cut.

Some courses miss out on work placement as part of a course which I think work placement is vital as part of a course and its a plus if you work part time or done summer work or something in your spare time related to work/work skills when attending college. For those that didn't work while in college even if working in the summer I feel they have a disadvantage over those that had a part time job or had work placement while attending their course. Unless you got a job as soon as you left college could finding yourself on the job ladder be of any help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

ITT: Bitter people who studied something boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

from what have heard,its very difficult to get jobs in art unless have studied in a profesional art college/institute but with an art degree and awesome portfolio laid out one of those art colleges may be more likely to take on,aparently there as hard as fck with choosing students.

unless were a big fan of computer games,coud do whatever courses needed in that area- theres one lad on deviant art from dublin [?] doing design at a irish located computer game developer,not sure how many developers there are in ireland.
    people used to be able to get into the computer game design team some years ago via spending a few years as a lowly tester but not anymore,probably because theres so many of them.

ITT: Bitter people who studied something boring.

ITT: The definition of a depressing college.

pmcmahon wrote: »

ITT: The definition of a depressing college.
    They deffo should have called it TIT.

Scruffles wrote: »
    from what have heard,its very difficult to get jobs in art unless have studied in a profesional art college/institute but with an art degree and awesome portfolio laid out one of those art colleges may be more likely to take on,aparently there as hard as fck with choosing students.

unless were a big fan of computer games,coud do whatever courses needed in that area- theres one lad on deviant art from dublin [?] doing design at a irish located computer game developer,not sure how many developers there are in ireland.
    people used to be able to get into the computer game design team some years ago via spending a few years as a lowly tester but not anymore,probably because theres so many of them.

Game development has moved on so much that it's more heavily IT related than ever.I could see why a person with a degree in IT or design would be chosen over somebody with an arts degree.A solid art portfolio would never cut it for a job in game development unless the person had some kind of education in IT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

A philistine :eek:

Can I borrow you arts degree to wipe my tears? I believe they are good for that.......and no, I don't want fries with it

Your maturity is staggering.... Journalists, civil servants and teachers are extremely important for having a functional and informed society. Most historians started off with an arts degree, would you prefer that we no longer write or learn about the past? While many people who did arts degrees mightn't end up in a career relating to their subjects, you do learn skills in it.

I'm currently doing an arts degree and will be moving onward to post graduate studies next year, while you may think the degree itself is worthless. My critical faculties and research skills are constantly improving and that's an exceedingly useful skill that plenty lack. It's more useful than making jokes about working in McDonalds. :) Admittedly, many waste their years in it, but if a person puts work into an arts degree, it is worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

Think of the degree in the same way as someone buying a house, the value of your investment you made (time / money) when you buy/study doesn't mean that it will be valued in the same way by a potential purchaser/employer.

It doesn't matter if you spent 15 years studying if it was not in an area that is viewed as being of value by the potential employer, just like an box of a one bedroom apartment bought for 500k during the boom is of no value to a typical present day house hunter.

When I interview people I want to find out if they will fit in as a functional net contributor to my organisation with a minimum of time spent in getting them up to speed. So when I interview someone I try to judge that from their work experience and look to their degree to let me know that they have the basic industry knowledge and network of peers needed to be successful in their role. Relevant experience & a relevant degree or just relevant experience trumps a general degree and no relevant experience every time.

You have to select people that look like they can do the job, it is not fair either to the person or organisation to put someone into a for which they role are not equipped, there is little to no tolerance in there modern workplace for mistakes.

A degree or other qualification needs to be relevant to the role you expect to fill, the choice of degree is a gamble as the world can change significantly within three or four years.

Some people wish they made better degree choices others don't regret it they just keep going.

Self learning can be good help too not just going to college.

Mine is a BA but I do wonder if I could have chosen differently transferred into another course or done a different degree or something similar but slightly better even with similar subjects. Every college is different even with similar courses, modules can vary and to the degree being taught and what is taught can vary too.

I didn't regret doing the BA but sometimes wonder, I didn't realise till half way that did I make a mistake but always had it in the head to do further study and branch off then but not a clue in. It was IT I really wanted to get into but thought my course having business and IT/IS and multimedia help but maybe been better off with a more specified degree in B of Business/Science. I've a postgrad in IT but its broad but not specified enough can't decide what area of IT to go into or go back to something in between Business/IT/IS/Multimedia.
    Too much variety in my work experience might be hindering the fact i've not specified in any career path.

Arts...why? Thinking it a safe option to get a job...wrong! :(

I have a Bsc and a post-grad in IT.

One for each eye then:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

This is a stupid question that's brought up far too often, imo.

Arts, like so many other subjects, is not useless and can give a broad foundation to build more onto. People can go on to do many things with an arts degree and in many ways, it gives a back door into certain careers in psychology, teaching, etc. where the door would be firmly locked otherwise.

I'd say a degree in actual art, as in fine art, is much, much more niche in it's end result.

People only seem to look down on arts because so many have gone on to get a degree in it, the points are quite low for it atm, and many who do do it only do so because they are not sure what kind of degree they want.

There's nothing wrong with any of the above mentioned, though.

I guess it all comes down to,If I survived the apocalypse would i prefer to be with a historian and civil servant or a doctor and engineer.