Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Witcher 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,373 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

L'prof wrote: »
    I've just started Blood & Wine myself, have you collected all the Smuggler's Caches in Skellige? Full of coins and weapons and armour for selling

A bit but just couldn't be bothered with most of the question marks in skellige out in the water.
    GodlessM wrote: »
    I had no issues with money since the expansion dropped. People in Toussant just throw money at me...

Yeah, I took a load of weapons/armour out of my stash and made 10k within a few shops of selling. Fully upgraded the house and still have a lot of things to sell so will keep doing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Just look up PowerPyx on youtube who has video showing how to do it.

Just did. Its mad.

Quick question if you did this, it says a save file before the patch. Does it mean I need to go back to a save file I made before downloading the patch, or just a gamefile that has been around since before the patch.

If you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,508 ✭✭✭EoinMcLovin

allibastor wrote: »
    Just did. Its mad.

Quick question if you did this, it says a save file before the patch. Does it mean I need to go back to a save file I made before downloading the patch, or just a gamefile that has been around since before the patch.

If you know.

if you had a game file that had the previous patch and then you updated it should work. It doesn't work if you created a new game file on this patch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,943 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

any idea about where that document you can pick up that tells you where to go for all the cards you are missing in Gwent?

Skerries wrote: »
    any idea about where that document you can pick up that tells you where to go for all the cards you are missing in Gwent?

This is guy in Novigrad, red circle around him, just a small bit south from the fast travel post by the bridge.

2015-05-24_00020.jpg

Skerries wrote: »

^ Map is spot on

To add though it's actually the same guy you could buy the potion of clearance from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GodlessM

Finished the armor, just need a little bit more gold to make the two swords.

I always have to laugh when the guy goes on about proving to the world that Skellige is a powerful deck at this rate, because I have found it kind of ****e. No spies.

Hmmm seems witcher sets aren't the only ones in the game.

Found a pretty sweet Tesham Mutna one during the quest where you
    your pal to the vampire torture chamber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

This paperchase mission is one hell of an annoying romp :D

Reminds me to go back I
    gave the dwarf a week to get my riches in order
    I've a feeling I'm going to be leaving empty handed :D

EDIT: I was wrong got some nice swag :D

Some nice pop culture references I noticed so far in names,
    Basil Foulty and Gregor of Mount Gorgon which I took as a nod to Gregor Clegane from Game Of Thrones.

I don't know if that's actually the greatest or the worst mission of all time :pac: Bravo CDPR

Nearly every quest name is some kind of pop culture reference, even hearing popular phrases spouted randomly by npc's.

The Skellige deck quest is basically like a discussion on a forum on whether a 5th deck should be introduced.

As for the deck. I kinda like it. Gwent just became one big game of spies with the 1st round almost being forfitted just to put down spies. Being forced to use Skellige in the tourney brought it back to the challenging game it once was. I don't use any mutation cards (berzerkers into bears) as they're a bit shyte but Cerys card bringing the the 3 other lads into combat is a sweet card.

The writing for the side quests is unreal , reminds me how great they were in the main game too but it's even better in this. Doing the one for the tourney and I got there expecting to help the guy get the girl and do some events. Yeah there's that and then there's excellent story to go along with it.
    The results of the curse on Vivenne seriously cool

I'm still on one of the first main quests, have to meet some chap in a cemetery, but way too busy with the side quests, they are just quality.

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    I'm still on one of the first main quests, have to meet some chap in a cemetery, but way too busy with the side quests, they are just quality.

It's unreal, I'm sickened I gave Bethesda 25 quid for a season pass for Fallout 4 . For all their talk of Far Harbor being their biggest expansion to date etc etc what I got was more of the same and dialogue I skipped and side quests I wasn't arsed with. CDPR deliver this and its a revelation.An honest and genuine expansion and then some. It's the same game , same quest structure as the main game but still feels 100% fresh I'm not annoyed with yet another quest added to the list of 20 I already have. It's like getting 2 dollops of ice-cream with your pie instead of one :D

Agree with all that, but the best bit in the whole thing is the games self commentaries on its full run. Cut scene of Geralt falling down one rung of the stairs and hurting himself, when bandits attack him he often comments on why a few mortal men think they can beat a guy who kills monsters for a living, etc. Looking forward to seeing how the main arc ends, as I am nearly done with all side stuff. The whole thing really goes back to Hearts of Stone where they took a seemingly meaningless random character from the main game and make him the most powerful protagonist the series has seen. That's good writing.

Manticore armor seems pants in comparison to the older four though. Unless you do a super hardcore potions build. Freezing Aard is bent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Some nice pop culture references I noticed so far in names,
    Basil Foulty and Gregor of Mount Gorgon which I took as a nod to Gregor Clegane from Game Of Thrones.

The quests 'A Knight's Tale' (like the film) and 'Turn and Face the Strange' (lyric from Bowie-Changes) too.

Turn and Face the Strange
    During this quest when you have to find your way through some portals you can get to a room with a cake placed on a cube a la Portal, the game.

Plenty of other references too..
    Dark Souls, Monkey Island, Star Trek, ASOIAF/GOT, Leeroy Jenkins

I found the Leeroy and Picard ones, and I think every noticed Faulty Towers. Winnie the Pooh takes the cake though (no Portal related pun intended).

Speaking of in game commentaries on itself, just came across another big one that was hinted at awhile back, regarding Roach's mechanics in the game. Also implies that Roach is somewhat of a witcher herself. Equine Phantoms; best quest in the game.

Was chatting with a pal earlier who let the old guy keep the
    balls
    in the goodness gracious quest for 7 days
    He's dead when you go back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,943 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

good to know as I was feeling guilty about that one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I let him have it for a day.
    He was alive but exhausted. Not surprised he died after having it for 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭arcticmonkeys

Found a nice Beatles reference to one of their most underrated tunes Norwegian Wood at the cemetery. "Warning: Spoiler though if you haven't completed the game yet". https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlPjOR2meYE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭markfla

I've a bug where I can't repair my sarrim sword. It's down to 50% and won't let me repair it with either a blacksmith or master weapon repair kit. All other items can be repaired. When at the blacksmith it's redded out. Anyone have this problem?

As far as I know that's a known bug.

Nearly done Blood and Wine now. Bad thing about the DLCs; had to be sad that the game is over 3 times now. Even if they move on and make a new game down the line about Ciri, hey will never recapture what they did with Geralt in this story. Such a masterpiece.

Finished the main story of Blood and Wine. Really liked the ending.
    Those last few quests were a slog, coming one after another, though I really enjoyed the fairy tale land.
    Just a couple of side quests and treasure hunts left.

Kind of sad its all over though. No more Geralt and no more Witcher games for a few years at least.:(

Finished the main story of Blood and Wine. Really liked the ending.
    Those last few quests were a slog, coming one after another, though I really enjoyed the fairy tale land.
    Just a couple of side quests and treasure hunts left.

Kind of sad its all over though. No more Geralt and no more Witcher games for a few years at least.:(

Theres a movie in the works though isn't there?

There is? If thats true I really hope they carry over the brilliance of the game to the movie. It'll be depressing if they dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭OptimusTractor

There is? If thats true I really hope they carry over the brilliance of the game to the movie. It'll be depressing if they dont.

Hmmmm. Thor guy as Geralt. Jeff Bridges as Uncle Vesemir. I wouldn't mind seeing that.