Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joyriding Scum In Limerick City

• 04-02-2013 6:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭

This toyota levin was stolen from the parkway round about in the early hours of saturday morning.

It spent all day saturday driven in the manner above around South hill before been burned in the middle of a road once it could drive no more.

No guards,no fire engine nothing..

I feel sorry for the decent hard working people of limerick city to be surrounded by this element of scum in our socity.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0t-3kaDbnQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Hedgemeister

'Just some kids expressing themselves' ...'lack of funding for facilities for children'...'let's give them the vote at 16'... 'Too young to prosecute,' etc.
    And the owner needed that car for work this morning.
    It's not just Limerick either.
    Hoodies rule the streets from Friday evening to Monday morning in my village.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

wouldn't you just love! it if he crashed into a few of the morons on the footpath.god i would ,that's for sure.

never heard of a Toyota Levin before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Hopefully they'll rob some a car belonging to one of the local RIRA/INLA/etc lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Hedgemeister

Or mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,411 ✭✭✭jonski

Always been of the opinion that calling it joyriding is a mistake , it seems to try and lessen it . I believe in America it is called grand theft auto which describes it better and might make people believe it should be punished the same instead of just been frowned upon .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Delphi91

I sure hope that the owner of the car doesn't see that video. I'd be gutted to watch those */?><*%$£'s do that to my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I've said it before, we need mass sterolization of these leaches of society so that they cannot bread like rabbits. They will amount to nothing in life except be a constant drain on public money that should be spent elsewhere where it is needed. All I listen to from the do gooders is that they have disadvantaged backgrounds, etc, etc while they continue to do what they like and get their entitlements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭DeWinterZero

Report their channel to Youtube for promoting illegal activity. It might get their "fun" removed from the net.

Youtube community guidelines
    http://www.youtube.com/t/community_guidelines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Just reported it there I have zero time for any scum like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Hooked

Delphi91 wrote: »
    I sure hope that the owner of the car doesn't see that video. I'd be gutted to watch those */?><*%$£'s do that to my car.

I was only reading a Facebook plea from the poor kid last night (he's friends with my first cousins kids) looking for his car. These kids work so hard to keep a car and insure it, only to have scum like this act the cnut! I feel mad watching it, having broke my arse at 17 to afford, insure and run my beloved Honda civic (yes, I was 'one' of those). I can't imagine how this poor kid must feel.

I'm glad I've no kids. The future of this city, country and generation scares me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

gambithh wrote: »
    This toyota levin was stolen from the parkway round about in the early hours of saturday morning.

It spent all day saturday driven in the manner above around South hill before been burned in the middle of a road once it could drive no more.

No guards,no fire engine nothing..

I feel sorry for the decent hard working people of limerick city to be surrounded by this element of scum in our socity.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0t-3kaDbnQ

These guys want to appear on websites and youtube, they should not be given publicity or notice. Just report them to the authorities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Thes little scumbags have no respect for God, Gardai nor themselves.

Limerick has been destroyed by successive generations of scumbags who have helped ruin the reputation of the place through the Media.

Millions spent on Government training programmes to help introduce them into a normal society has been wasted.

It is a shame that hardworking people cannot go about their daily lives without fear of these pests in society.

When they get a bit older they simply become a burden on the taxpayer as they qualify for all sorts of freebies .

It is apalling to think that a City which is so welcoming to outsiders through Arts, Sports and Theatre, can be dragged down by scumbags.

There is potential solution, why not invest in some plane tickets and send them to Australia and Canada. See it as a form of modern day deportation? If they don't leave they won't get any handouts!!!!
    Food for thought?;)

From all the **** I see the law is there to protect only one type of society and I will spell it out in case people think I am refering to the law abiding citizens.
    The dirty rotten scum(law breakers) are the ones that have the full protection and us ordinary hard working people have nothing to protect us.

Hooked wrote: »
    I was only reading a Facebook plea from the poor kid last night (he's friends with my first cousins kids) looking for his car. These kids work so hard to keep a car and insure it, only to have scum like this act the cnut! I feel mad watching it, having broke my arse at 17 to afford, insure and run my beloved Honda civic (yes, I was 'one' of those). I can't imagine how this poor kid must feel.

I'm glad I've no kids. The future of this city, country and generation scares me.

I understand your sense of anguish and despair. It is of absolutely no consollation that I say Limerick is experiencing the same problems from scumbags as are Dublin , Cork, Galway, the UK and further afield.
    However it is heartbreaking for a kid who has been brought up to do things right, work hard, save for his car , insurance, tax etc. , yet today he probably had to walk to work because some scumbaggs,who may have been high on drugs, stole his car and burned it out.
    Where is this going to end? The fabric of society is simply breaking down more quickly than I could ever have expected.
    Zero tolerance is probably the answer, however I will probably come under fire from the dogooders and the human rights of the scumbags. What about the human rights of the young man whose car was stolen?
    It is truly frightening .

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

'tis a bleedin' disgrace, Joe, so it is.

Had a look at the video of the former show room condition vw beetle that these priks got hold of. I'm seriously pissed off after watching it. Wish I didn't now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Carazy

'tis a bleedin' disgrace, Joe, so it is.
    After Hours >>>>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Roosta

Delthedriver, keep ur scumbags there ta , we dont want 'em in Aus ( would imagine Canadians feel likewise) Send 'em to Dublin , London, Paris, New York , Cork, or Kerry , if ya must !
    ( from Limerick originally so I'm familar with this breed of low-life . Don't miss 'em either )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Split

Slap on the wrist due to their dysfunctional , addictive , lone parent who died , 12 siblings mental health background .
    ADHD , addiction , dyslexia , early school leaver, bullying , neglect , family systems is not and will never be an excuse for a little sh*t to steal , harrass and endanger other peoples lives .How many have the same background and turn out to be decent law abiding citizens - its up to the DPP and the court system to come down hard on these thugs .

Taxi driver 9 days ago hijacked for a joy ride never to be the same again after the ordeal he endured . Soccer pitch in Southill destroyed Saturday night by a joy rider who in turn drove to the golf club behind and burnt some poor unsuspecting persons car out . Another car stolen up the country joy rided to Limerick and thrashed . So sick of the attitude of the poor criminals!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

look im not condoning it by any means but i worked in southill for a long time and without fail every Monday morning there would be a burned out car/van/motorbike up there,so it is nothing new.
    so the fabric of society breaking down?nah it's not that bad.i wouldn't go that far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Nevermind deporting or jailing the fookers. Stop their social welfare payments! No dole. No disability (probably fraudulant claim). No childrens allowance or any other state benefit for these reprobates or their families until they have proven themselves to be worthy of the benefits of our social society.

If you cost the state money through anti social or any illegal activity you should not be allowed benefit from the state.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Dreadful carry on - but what were the residents doing? The Garda station is only minutes away.

Roosta wrote: »
    Delthedriver, keep ur scumbags there ta , we dont want 'em in Aus ( would imagine Canadians feel likewise) Send 'em to Dublin , London, Paris, New York , Cork, or Kerry , if ya must !
    ( from Limerick originally so I'm familar with this breed of low-life . Don't miss 'em either )

Tks. Thought the scumbags could be lost in The Outback. !:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

Tks. Thought the scumbags could be lost in The Outback. !:rolleyes:

Preferably in an area with a large population.......of alligators and those wonderful Aussie spiders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

europa11 wrote: »
    Preferably in an area with a large population.......of alligators and those wonderful Aussie spiders.

There are no wild gators in Oz. But head up to Northern Australia and you will find plenty of the largest living species of crocodile on the planet :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Wolf Creek...

Just checked youtube has blocked/ taken down the videos so anyone see's anymore of these thugs on the net report it if they have no audience maybe some day they may actually stop..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Roosta

Well now Del , thats actually not too bad an idea and could possibly be arranged . Have previous with these types , mates first car stolen and burnt , went to Henry st. with him and illustrious Gardai would not proceed any further , ' ur on your own there lad's ' or something to that effect was the reply we got ! Be happy to oblige , for revenge purposes !
    ( as well as Salt water crocs there's a fairly efficent Police force here whom I somehow doubt would tolerate this sort of bull**** , double whammy for the little lost darling's lol ! )
    Cheer's .

• Site Banned Posts: 78 ✭✭The Reamer

Hooked wrote: »

Sure if twas insured what would he have to complain about. Claim on the F&T and have a new car in the driveway next morning.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

The Reamer wrote: »
    Sure if twas insured what would he have to complain about. Claim on the F&T and have a new car in the driveway next morning.

Bualadh bos for completely missing the point. That was impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭gerarda

This man has the answer:

And who do you think the insurance companies will recoup the loss of them having to pay out on claims? You and me through higher premiums the following year.

It's bad enough that our taxes have to pay for these waster's free handouts without having to pay for their juvenile kicks too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭seaniefr

bazz26 wrote: »

And who do you think the insurance companies will recoup the loss of them having to pay out on claims? You and me through higher premiums the following year.

It's bad enough that our taxes have to pay for these waster's free handouts without having to pay for their juvenile kicks too.
    I feel sickened every time I read about lads like this I really feel that these scum should be made work for any money they get from the state it shuld be a last resort NOT a right! I had the misfortune to be on the dole for a whole month some time back before the last boom and in signing on I saw this piece of filth banging on the CWO's window going on about his rights and how he wanted his money and all the while his mate was grinning away like a Cheshire Cat and smiling at me. I really wished I had a gun that particular day...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Wilbert13

He will only get the book value of the car which means he will lose out on anything he has spent on it like wheels, spoilers, car kit etc. He would also have to cover the policy excess so he will be out of pocket for at least a few hundred euros as well as losing any no claims bonus he had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

I hope your car or home gets broken into one day, its not because I wish harm on you- I genuinely don't, but maybe you'd finally realise that being insured is of no comfort.

Some scumbags attempted to steal my car in Galway two years ago, they were unsuccessful as my neighbours caught them in the act and they ran away like the rats they are. They damaged the door to gain entry and they broke the steering column in their attempt to break the steering lock. They didn't get my car in the end, I was never comfortable in that car again, just knowing that those scumbags were sat inside my car made me feel very voilated.

This young man's car was actually stolen and destroyed, so he must feel a million times worse than I did when mine was broken into.

Do you not understand that, or does it have to happen to you before you get it?? Insurance compensation means nothing to someone who has to spend the rest of their life wondering will their next car be stolen too, or will their house be broken into again and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

^ that, both my neighbours car and housemates one were vandalised within a few nights of each other, the neighbour drives a passat and they nicked his wheels, obviously got a look at my housemates car and decided to come back, broken window looking for the locking nut for the wheel, so word of advice keep the locking nut out of the car unless you're going on trips and would need it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Newbie75

Really send em abroad??give em a free one way ticket to sun and sea,why not give the honest hard workin people a ticket overseas...do u not think we get enough bad publicity because of these people and u think we should send em on a holiday,im actually wonderin are you serious or just havin a laugh,none of this has to do with respect for god or the guards these people dont give a f*** bout anyone they wud love a ticket out of here and u want to completely disgrace the irish by sendin em abroad to do what they do cos they wont change just because their in a different country they will keep doin it,im shocked by ur opinion..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭john_cappa

krudler wrote: »
    ^ that, both my neighbours car and housemates one were vandalised within a few nights of each other, the neighbour drives a passat and they nicked his wheels, obviously got a look at my housemates car and decided to come back, broken window looking for the locking nut for the wheel, so word of advice keep the locking nut out of the car unless you're going on trips and would need it

You need your lock nut for any trip. If you get a puncture two miles from home then what are you going to do? Makes zero sense.

Also they will break the window regardless of whether or not you have the nut in the car or not. The trick is to have the nut hidden properly in the car and not in the glove box or somewhere very obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭BobMc

Just checked youtube has blocked/ taken down the videos so anyone see's anymore of these thugs on the net report it if they have no audience maybe some day they may actually stop..
    Glad the vids are down, I hope I'm not the only one that contacted you tube regards the content so I'm glad they're down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

>SNIP<

Mod Post: Advocating violence or any illegal act is not allowed in this forum.

Also the event/tragedy that was linked to your idea was done in very poor taste.

john_cappa wrote: »
    You need your lock nut for any trip. If you get a puncture two miles from home then what are you going to do? Makes zero sense.

Also they will break the window regardless of whether or not you have the nut in the car or not. The trick is to have the nut hidden properly in the car and not in the glove box or somewhere very obvious.

They don't even need the lock nut these days, you can buy tools cheaply enough these days to forcibly remove them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭john_cappa

bazz26 wrote: »
    They don't even need the lock nut these days, you can buy tools cheaply enough these days to forcibly remove them.

Depending on the nut design a decent vice grip will do the trick!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

BobMc wrote: »
    Glad the vids are down, I hope I'm not the only one that contacted you tube regards the content so I'm glad they're down

Yes, that completely sorted the original problem, now that we can't see it anymore, the problem has obviously gone away...:rolleyes:

Why the attitude? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭BobMc

Nope the problem is far from gone away but I think giving them a public platform to display there illegal activities is not acceptable :rolleyes: back at ya

Why the attitude? :confused:
    BobMc wrote: »
    Nope the problem is far from gone away but I think giving them a public platform to display there illegal activities is not acceptable :rolleyes: back at ya

No problem with it being removed from Youtube as such.
    But what else is being done? Is anyone investigating? Will people be brought to justice? Anyone fined or sent to jail?
    Sadly I'd say no, because a lot of the time it seems that the Gardai are too under-resourced to tackle these guys and it seems they don't fancy a bloody nose.
    It's worrying to think that we live in a country where the state doesn't have the power to take on the criminal underworld. And if said underworld fancies it, they could even take on the state.
    And maybe I'm used to Germany, if there's a disturbance of the peace, a large crowd of police will arrive within a very short time, big guys, minimum 6 foot tall, dressed in black, riot gear, batons, pepper spray, tazers dogs, water canons (the water has a good dose of pepper spray in it) and of course some real firepower too.
    There the police will not make sure that they arrive long after the trouble has gone becaused they're scared of doing their job. Of course having the manpower, training and gear to do the job in the first place helps. I would not want to be one of three gards in a crappy ford mondeo armed with nothing more than bad breath, having to take on a whole housing estate of violent delinquints.

No problem with it being removed from Youtube as such.
    But what else is being done? Is anyone investigating? Will people be brought to justice? Anyone fined or sent to jail?
    Sadly I'd say no, because a lot of the time it seems that the Gardai are too under-resourced to tackle these guys and it seems they don't fancy a bloody nose.
    It's worrying to think that we live in a country where the state doesn't have the power to take on the criminal underworld. And if said underworld fancies it, they could even take on the state.
    And maybe I'm used to Germany, if there's a disturbance of the peace, a large crowd of police will arrive within a very short time, big guys, minimum 6 foot tall, dressed in black, riot gear, batons, pepper spray, tazers dogs, water canons (the water has a good dose of pepper spray in it) and of course some real firepower too.
    There the police will not make sure that they arrive long after the trouble has gone becaused they're scared of doing their job. Of course having the manpower, training and gear to do the job in the first place helps. I would not want to be one of three gards in a crappy ford mondeo armed with nothing more than bad breath, having to take on a whole housing estate of violent delinquints.

Have to agree about the German police. I lived about 40 km south of Stuttgart for a number of years, but worked and socialised in Stuttgart. One thing that always stood out was the policing and how quickly they could respond to anything.

One thing that has stuck in my memory was an incident that happened after I had been there for about two months. I was sitting down having a drink near one of the entrances to the Schlossplatz when two guys started acting up about 100 yards away. They were drunk and out for a fight. A woman near me got onto her phone and rang the police. I gave a wry smile as I was expecting a response time similar to what I was used to back in Liverpool.

In what felt like two or three minutes there were policemen entering the square from a number of entrances along with a few police vehicles. One of the two trouble makers spotted them coming and dropped to his kness straight away. His mate decided to start shouting abuse at the police and gesturing like he had a weapon. In a flash the police drew their sidearms and the guy pretty much lacked himself. The police converged on him and he and his buddy were taken without ceremony to the awaiting green and white police van.

As the years went by I got to see the green and white brigade ( of course nowadays those colours don't exist) going about their business in a manner that always impressed me.

Agree as well with your description of how the police look. Generally tall and fit looking whilst carrying enough visible tools/weapons to let you know they mean business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,910 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Kess73 wrote: »
    Agree as well with your description of how the police look. Generally tall and fit looking whilst carrying enough visible tools/weapons to let you know they mean business.

As to our beleaguered Garda force on the street ..... I wish :)

The Germans still do a lot of things a lot better than we do here.

tippman1 wrote: »
    As to our beleaguered Garda force on the street ..... I wish :)

The Germans still do a lot of things a lot better than we do here.

You won't see too many pot bellied German police or small scrawny looking ones that's for sure.

Of course the funding and training they receive is a massive factor in that, and one would imagine if the Irish police received similar funding and training along with having to meet similar set standards of fitness etc., that the Irish force could achieve similar levels. Certain legislation would need to be changed in this country also I imagine to set up a Germanic style police force here, although one could argue that the same thing or proper use of current legislation is already badly needed to allow our current police force to be able to do their job properly as I suspect many good Gardai see great work go up in smoke thanks to our seemingly lenient legal system.

The German state police are not perfect by any means, far from it, but they do inspire a certain confidence so that one is fairly sure that if something kicks off or you are in danger that once they are called some very effective help is on the way quickly.

Another thing that is done well over there is the manner in which the police force for each state manages to, for the most part, maintain similar standards and procedures, whereas over here you can go to one city and see lots of street patrols etc daily and go to another and hardly see any on a regular basis.

As I said already, they are not a perfect force, but they would not be a bad one to copy aspects of.

Kess73 wrote: »
    You won't see too many pot bellied German police or small scrawny looking ones that's for sure.

Of course the funding and training they receive is a massive factor in that, and one would imagine if the Irish police received similar funding and training along with having to meet similar set standards of fitness etc., that the Irish force could achieve similar levels. Certain legislation would need to be changed in this country also I imagine to set up a Germanic style police force here, although one could argue that the same thing or proper use of current legislation is already badly needed to allow our current police force to be able to do their job properly as I suspect many good Gardai see great work go up in smoke thanks to our seemingly lenient legal system.

The German state police are not perfect by any means, far from it, but they do inspire a certain confidence so that one is fairly sure that if something kicks off or you are in danger that once they are called some very effective help is on the way quickly.

Another thing that is done well over there is the manner in which the police force for each state manages to, for the most part, maintain similar standards and procedures, whereas over here you can go to one city and see lots of street patrols etc daily and go to another and hardly see any on a regular basis.

As I said already, they are not a perfect force, but they would not be a bad one to copy aspects of.

I'd say the best country to get rd of someone you don't like is Ireland.
    If you are caught at all, you will then have to be convicted and it does happen a lot that you get off scott free even though you shot someone in the head in a crowded pub in front of hundreds of witnesses. You then get to walk out of court and give the entire country the finger through the assembled press.
    Even if you are convicted, with the right solicitor (paid for by the state, of course) you might get 10 years, 5 if you're lucky or even a suspended sentence.
    So everytime I think "I could KILL that guy!", a little voice in my head says "and why not? With the soft system here, you might not even do any time"