Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kids and animals in apartments.

• 04-02-2013 5:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭

I was looking at a thread there in accomodation and property about someone whose kids was disturbing the resident downstairs and have commented on it but I suppose its better starting a new one.

I feel very strongly about this and have often got flak for airing my views. Some people have said to me I have no heart :D

The issue - kids and pets in apartments. I live in a huge apartment complex near a major busy road. Traffic, traffic and more traffic. There is a common area in the middle of the complex but when the kids play football there they are breaking peoples windows and being a general nuisance as the apartments are so close. Kids constantly are screaming and running up and down the corridors and I know neighbours have to put up with banging and screaming from the apartments upstairs as obviously the sound travels. As theres nowhere really to hang out the older kids sit right outside peoples apts and cause hassle but I'm sure go home and their parents think they are angels.
    Younger kids like tots have no secure place to play in so are stuck inside all day with no exercise.

As a huge animal lover I would love a dog but I'm responsible enough to know that an apt is not a healthy environment for a dog especially if you are working all day. They are left out on the balcony all day with no stimulation barking their heads off and annoying all the other residents. The DSPCA is constantly around as they know their basic needs are not being met.
    And those who have cats - they are kept in the confines of the apt 24/7 without ever seeing the light of day. I just think the whole scenario is so cruel. They proclaim they are animal lovers but the animals basic needs are not being met re fresh air and exercise and natural instincts.
    The owners are projecting their own selfish needs onto the animals and they call this "love".

I firmly believe having kids and animals is a lifestyle choice and those who decide not to have either should not have to put up with the stressers of noise pollution from others who choose to have them.

As I said I have got backlash for my views but I really think apts are not the place for kids or animals.

What do people think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

Maybe they have no choice but to live in Apartments for whatever reason? I genuinely don't see why its a big deal, then again I don't live in an apartment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I've no doubt that families could live in apartments without kids disturbing residents if there were more decently constructed apartments in this country and not shoddy pieces of shit built by cowboys.

Plus I know more than one person that grew up in flats without lasting psychological damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Some dog breeds are fine in apartments, for example greyhounds etc are lazy feckers :D they are happy out with their walks morning and evening, and would barely move during the day otherwise.

But i see what your getting at OP, a well designed apartment complex with good well though common areas can be grand, but there arent many in Ireland. Sure a lot of families on the continent are brought up in apartments and they turn out fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭apache

Maybe they have no choice but to live in Apartments for whatever reason?
    Is it a cost issue? I wouldn't be up on rent rates these days but I know a few years ago renting was roughly the same in houses and apts and a quick check in daft.ie shows not much cheaper renting apts than houses :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Two shall enter, only one shall leave.

anncoates wrote: »
    I've no doubt that families could live in apartments without kids disturbing residents if there were more decently constructed apartments in this country and not shoddy pieces of shit built by cowboys.

Plus I know more than one person that grew up in flats without lasting psychological damage.
    I've no doubt they could but the kids are left banging and screaming for hours with no discipline or checks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

apache wrote: »
    Is it a cost issue? I wouldn't be up on rent rates these days but I know a few years ago renting was roughly the same in houses and apts and a quick check in daft.ie shows not much cheaper renting apts than houses :confused:

That's what I would of thought:o , I agree that it would be more beneficial for kids to have their own garden etc, but I think in some cases apartments could be an easier option if they're closer to schools etc :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I wouldn't mind well trained and walked dogs, but goats would be a nightmare, they eat everything, the feckers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

It's not a cost issue - just a responsibility issue.

agree 100%. i can't see any stats saying its cheaper renting a 2/3 bed apt as opposed to a house. so i still don't understand the reason....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

agree 100%. i can't see any stats saying its cheaper renting a 2/3 bed apt as opposed to a house. so i still don't understand the reason....

I think that apartments are generally cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I think anyone who leaves a dog at home is abusing it. Dogs (it's not as bad with cats) are incredibly affectionate and need companionship. Leaving it alone all day is just cruel.

Zab wrote: »
    I think that apartments are generally cheaper.
    not really. i just had a look. coming out on average the same. i assume we are not talking about a 1 bed if there are kids.
    and lets not forget about the poor dog.

not really. i just had a look. coming out on average the same. i assume we are not talking about a 1 bed if there are kids.

Well, the times I've been in the rental market haven't agreed with that.

Anyway, it seems like your argument could be summed up as you don't like it when people are dicks. That's fair enough, but I'm not seeing any general ordinance banning kids in apartments any time soon, and I wouldn't support one if it was proposed (even though I personally would benefit from it). Lots of rental properties already ban animals, though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Cats that live indoors live like twice as long as those that can go outside, so that's not too cruel as long as they have lots to entertain themselves. Kids are a nuisance., so loud, always knocking on windows, letting anybody into the block etc. Then everybody in the area knows the code, post gets stolen etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

If the rest of Europe can manage it then so can we.

Zab wrote: »
    Anyway, it seems like your argument could be summed up as you don't like it when people are dicks. That's fair enough, but I'm not seeing any general ordinance banning kids in apartments any time soon, and I wouldn't support one if it was proposed (even though I personally would benefit from it). Lots of rental properties already ban animals, though.
    if people were responsible for their kids and animals and step up to the plate i would have no problemo.

Cats that live indoors live like twice as long as those that can go outside, so that's not too cruel as long as they have lots to entertain themselves. Kids are a nuisance., so loud, always knocking on windows, letting anybody into the block etc. Then everybody in the area knows the code, post gets stolen etc
    i've heard that argument re the cats numerous times from pussy owners. its quality of life thats more important vs quantity.

lol for your other comment - do you live in my block? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

Move into a house you moan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Kids need gardens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

Yeah Op, I understand your pain. Screaming children and barking dogs just piss me off, because its unnecessary noise. Sure every child cries sometimes, but it's mainly the parents that let them do whatever they want.
    Same with dogs that are just left to bark as they please....I hate it.

I wouldn't dream of banning children or animals from apartments though, you cannot punish a whole group because some lazy and disinterested parents/ pet parents can't discipline their brood.

If I were you I'd just move somewhere else and hopefully enjoy the silence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I was looking at a thread there in accomodation and property about someone whose kids was disturbing the resident downstairs and have commented on it but I suppose its better starting a new one.

I feel very strongly about this and have often got flak for airing my views. Some people have said to me I have no heart :D

The issue - kids and pets in apartments. I live in a huge apartment complex near a major busy road. Traffic, traffic and more traffic. There is a common area in the middle of the complex but when the kids play football there they are breaking peoples windows and being a general nuisance as the apartments are so close. Kids constantly are screaming and running up and down the corridors and I know neighbours have to put up with banging and screaming from the apartments upstairs as obviously the sound travels. As theres nowhere really to hang out the older kids sit right outside peoples apts and cause hassle but I'm sure go home and their parents think they are angels.
    Younger kids like tots have no secure place to play in so are stuck inside all day with no exercise.

As a huge animal lover I would love a dog but I'm responsible enough to know that an apt is not a healthy environment for a dog especially if you are working all day. They are left out on the balcony all day with no stimulation barking their heads off and annoying all the other residents. The DSPCA is constantly around as they know their basic needs are not being met.
    And those who have cats - they are kept in the confines of the apt 24/7 without ever seeing the light of day. I just think the whole scenario is so cruel. They proclaim they are animal lovers but the animals basic needs are not being met re fresh air and exercise and natural instincts.
    The owners are projecting their own selfish needs onto the animals and they call this "love".

I firmly believe having kids and animals is a lifestyle choice and those who decide not to have either should not have to put up with the stressers of noise pollution from others who choose to have them.

As I said I have got backlash for my views but I really think apts are not the place for kids or animals.

What do people think?

My god, what riff-raff. Apartments? Poor peoples homes. Why don't they get better jobs and move to stately homes?!

Move into a house you moan!
    lol eh no! i bought here. i am perfectly happy if people respected house rules. if everybody respected everybody elses personal space life would be a lot better. this is communal living. people need to have a little respect for their neighbours and make a choice on where they live based on that.
    but no certain people think everybody else has to endure their offspring. i'm not talking about a once off. i'm talking about constant bad parenting and irresponsible pet ownership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I assume the OP lives in Ireland, a country where it is the norm to live in a house as opposed to an apartment. There are lots of countries where living in apartments is a regular occurrence.

Also, I live in an apartment block where there is a family that has both children and a big dog. The dog rarely makes any noise and the children are well-behaved.

Not everyone wants/is able to live in a house!

OneArt wrote: »
    I assume the OP lives in Ireland, a country where it is the norm to live in a house as opposed to an apartment. There are lots of countries where living in apartments is a regular occurrence.

Also, I live in an apartment block where there is a family that has both children and a big dog. The dog rarely makes any noise and the children are well-behaved.

Not everyone wants/is able to live in a house!
    thats fine. as i said respect your neighbours. i'm talking about the people who are encroaching on other peoples personal space. ah no not my little johnny :rolleyes:
    what i'd do with little johnny :mad:

ps a big dog? the dog is so depressed that hes lost the will to live and can't be bothered making any noise. thats cruelty. pure and simple. cooped up with no garden.
    a big dog should be walked at least twice a day and have unlimited access to a garden. bottom line.
    anyway smaller breeds are naturally more vocal than larger ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

I lived in an apartment beneath a kid who was constantly running up and down the length of the hall. I nearly went spare, eventually I gave in and moved out. It put me off the idea of ever buying an apartment anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

anncoates wrote: »

This. It's not the children's fault they have no place to play without disturbing others. Whatever about animals, I think it's cruel to keep children indoors. :)

Bad design all round, by the sounds of it - poor soundproofing, beside a busy road, not enough room to kick a ball around in the common area, no normal social relationships with the neighbours. The Irish understanding of apartment living seems to be dormitories miles away from amenities and workplaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Grayson wrote: »
    I think anyone who leaves a dog at home is abusing it.

Bit exteme, nah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Grayson wrote: »
    I think anyone who leaves a dog at home is abusing it. Dogs (it's not as bad with cats) are incredibly affectionate and need companionship. Leaving it alone all day is just cruel.

get two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

A one bedroom if you have kids...?? Depends on how many, but the ids at the very least should have their own private space where they can play and make a bit of mess withotu disturbing.

Anyway. I've lived with kids and next door to kids and enver had a problem,. but the ****ign adults who throw spontaneouys parties at 2am on a Sunday night/Monday morning, or have screaming arguments at all hours - Jesus. Give me a family next door any day.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

smash wrote: »
    If the rest of Europe can manage it then so can we.

A valid point and one which we (The Irish) continually avoid as we express our demands for lebensraum at all costs....

Then again,the OP's problems with Apartments,Childer an Animals are quite effectively dealt with up round Donegal...

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/i-am-not-a-bigot-says-councillor-in-storm-over-230000-luxury-house-for-travellers-3356636.html

Somehow or other I struggle to see "The Rest Of Europe" managing to comprehend the thinking here.....:o

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

woodoo wrote: »

get two
    Why stop there? Get a zoo!

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

A one bedroom if you have kids...?? Depends on how many, but the ids at the very least should have their own private space where they can play and make a bit of mess withotu disturbing..
    huh? Thats why i said i ASSUME we are NOT talking about a one bed for obvious reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I was hoping to see this thread seriously dude - define bad parents seems your tarring us family apartment dweller's with a broad brush there ,kids make noise for various reasons and don't say oh run them around outside till there tired that's idiotic kids make noise if there tired bored happy sad excited that's what they do ,OK I agree on lack of child friendly facilities in Irish apartment complexes but what can we do ,as I said from the original thread millions of people and generations have lived and been raised in apartments without any hassle or damage to children or adults but here people have totally unrealistic and unreasonable idea's on what people can do in there own home

AlekSmart wrote: »

Somehow or other I struggle to see "The Rest Of Europe" managing to comprehend the thinking here.....:o
    I imagine "the rest of europe" would have a more cop on approach to communal living than the irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

huh? Thats why i said i ASSUME we are NOT talking about a one bed for obvious reasons.
    My apologies, misread it, chill :cool::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I imagine "the rest of europe" would have a more cop on approach to communal living than the irish.
    No they don't.

If you are bothered by noise in communal areas, you shouldn't buy an apartment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

There are more than a few people who bought an apartment in the boom times, who are stuck with it now. If they sold it wouldn't pay off the mortgage. If they rented it out, they would have to pay income tax on the rental income, but get no tax rebate on renting themselves.

Negative equity traps people in properties.

That being said, I have lived in buildings in amsterdam where people rent their whole lives, and pass their lease onto their children, who then continue the lease. The buildings are built for that purpose. There is no reason for every family to need their own private garden to maintain, if the communal space is good enough quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

meeeeh wrote: »
    No they don't.

I think that is an unfair statement to make.
    I've lived happily in an apt complex for over four years and I've had neighbours above me in all that time. However, in the last couple of weeks new tenants have moved in and I want to kill them from all the jumping, running, shrieking from upstairs. It's excessive and disturbing the enjoyment of my apt.

It's not always an unpleasant experience, but if the occupants are not used to apt living, they won't know that running around in heels will drive the person downstairs nuts, or they won't know that mounting their tv on the adjoining wall to their neighbour might cause the sound to travel through to someone else bedroom.

It's a matter of mutual respect and tolerance but also consideration of those living around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Some dog breeds are fine in apartments, for example greyhounds etc are lazy feckers :D they are happy out with their walks morning and evening, and would barely move during the day otherwise.
    Please don't keep competitive racing animals in cramped apartments. Some dogs are deliberately bred to be urban pets, Pomeranians are a good example. Easy to housetrain, small, very affectionate and highly intelligent creatures, full of personality, originally lapdogs to the royalty of Europe. And fluffy, very fluffy. Brilliant guard dogs too.

It's true though, dogs shouldn't be kept in apartments unless there is someone able to look after them a lot of the day.

I think that is an unfair statement to make.
    I've lived happily in an apt complex for over four years and I've had neighbours above me in all that time. However, in the last couple of weeks new tenants have moved in and I want to kill them from all the jumping, running, shrieking from upstairs. It's excessive and disturbing the enjoyment of my apt.

It's not always an unpleasant experience, but if the occupants are not used to apt living, they won't know that running around in heels will drive the person downstairs nuts, or they won't know that mounting their tv on the adjoining wall to their neighbour might cause the sound to travel through to someone else bedroom.

It's a matter of mutual respect and tolerance but also consideration of those living around you.
    This x 1000.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Please don't keep competitive racing animals in cramped apartments. Some dogs are deliberately bred to be urban pets, Pomeranians are a good example. Easy to housetrain, small, very affectionate and highly intelligent creatures, full of personality, originally lapdogs to the royalty of Europe. And fluffy, very fluffy. Brilliant guard dogs too.

It's true though, dogs shouldn't be kept in apartments unless there is someone able to look after them a lot of the day.
    Competitive racing animals, that sprint for bursts and are incredibly docile the rest of the time. Have been around them long enough to know their temperment at this stage, and with the amount of them that " industry " abandons each year i nor many others could give a toss what they think. I think most would prefer ex racer greyhounds to end up in an apartment with a good family than dumped in the back arse of nowhere without a care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Yeah forced abortions for all who live in apartments, really is there anything that people will not complain about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭abbeyrock

Kids are fine in Apartments, Defo no to dogs, its cruel and against most apartment complex rules, I lived in an apartment block once and the guy above me had one of those wolf dogs, i know he walked it at night when he came in from work, but still those dogs need space. As do kids but at least they have tv to occupy them, not ideal I know.

abbeyrock wrote: »
    Kids are fine in Apartments, Defo no to dogs, its cruel and against most apartment complex rules, I lived in an apartment block once and the guy above me had one of those wolf dogs, i know he walked it at night when he came in from work, but still those dogs need space. As do kids but at least they have tv to occupy them, not ideal I know.
    Well i would be against most breeds being kept in apartments, a husky would be one dog i would be dead against being kept in an apartment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

abbeyrock wrote: »
    Kids are fine in Apartments, Defo no to dogs, its cruel and against most apartment complex rules
    Some breeds are meant for indoor living. My pom often sits beside me on a pillow on the desk here when I'm working, perfectly happy until we go for our run on the beach. They do need attention though, like all dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

What do people think?

I lol'ed, first ban childern from restaurants and now this....!

Why not ban people from having kids all together, it's not like any of us where kids and where always quiet 24/7.

While I can sympathise with you having to put up with the noise, lets face it, did you expect there to be no childern in the apartments before you bought one?

And believe me, little ****es running around screaming is not just confined to apartments. There is a load of little ****es running around making noise where I live to. I've had to go and tell them to feck off and go scream outside thier own houses when I'm trying to put my two to bed. Granted you don't have that option, and the noise is probably louder. But it's a fact of life in the big smoke, the alternative is to go live somewhere in a detached house where the population isn't so big (wish I could follow my own advice tbh, I hate Dublin, much prefer the quiet life).

meeeeh wrote: »
    No they don't.

A bit of both. In Germany, there are laws saying that you can expect noise at certain ties during the day, buit you have a responsiblity to keep your palce quiet after abotu 10pm. If you're havign a party, advise neighbours a week in advance.

Common sense, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,869 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Kids have been raised in apartments for decades. Irish people are just not familiar with it.
    The same applies to pets, dogs can be quite happy inside all day. My dogs do nothing unless it is sunny and then they are just sleeping in the garden instead of their kennels. I would say small dogs but the reality is a Jack Russel would go nuts and some big dogs would be very happy such as a greyhound