Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dr Eva apologises

• 04-02-2013 12:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Operation Transformation's Dr Eva Orsmond has apologised to team leader Charlotte O'Connell after her heated comments on last week's show.

The two clashed over Charlotte's failure (by a half pound) to reach her goal weight loss for the week, with Dr Eva telling 23-year-old Charlotte to "cop on" and saying she was annoyed by her tears.

On The Saturday Night Show, host Brendan O'Connor asked Orsmond if she regretted the way she had spoken to O'Connell.

She replied: "I do. I think it was too harsh. But you need to remember I have a little bit different background as well...so I would say things more straight."

This morning Dr Eva admitted she had overreacted to Charlotte's failure to reach her goal weight loss and apologised for "the way and the tone (in which) I spoke to you last week".

Charlotte said she "really appreciated" the apology.

Having watched this, I though she was tough but it needed to be said. What do you reckon AH, was the love a bit too tough?

Was the Evil Dr Eva right to tell her "cop on"? 228 votes

Yes 100%, that girls needs to tough love to shed the pounds!
    0% 0 votes
    No it was not fair to tell her "cop on" she's an emotional girl.
    48% 111 votes
    Free Ice cream for everyone
    31% 71 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    20% 46 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

People still watch RTE now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

I thinik Eva should go somewhere else making her stay there

Who does she think she is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That bitch isn't exactly the picture of a healthy figure herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

A little over the top to berate someone like that on the TV - tough love must have a line.

Sure, tell her in no uncertain terms that she's got to change her ways but if she only missed the target by 8 ounces then she can't be doing nothing either. "Cop On" was hardly a reasonable phrase.

All the above under the caveat that them Europeans are much more direct in their attitude than we dawdlers here out west. They don't tend to pull punches and actually in the scheme of things I think that has its merits.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Same with yer one from "Biggest Loser USA," constantly up and down herself so she is. Not like she doesn't have access to quality trainers who've shown they get good results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I can't believe I watched the whole thing.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

And the show was previously presented by Gerry Ryan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Ava_e

She reminds me of a nasty bullying school teacher, who thinks the way to encourage children is to shout at them and berate them front of the class.

Absolutely no psychological insight

I mean come on " I'm annoyed by your tears"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭inmyday

Why is she a bitch, for telling the truth to a person who comes onto a television show, that is about losing weight????

And the doctor is kinda hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭granturismo

inmyday wrote: »
    Why is she a bitch, for telling the truth to a person who comes onto a television show, that is about losing weight????

A little bit of controversy and some eye candy. TV audiences and ratings thrive on it - and TV producers know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

23 and 15+stone, someone needed to tell her to cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Duberlin Chick

There's plenty of people who would love to be in that girls position... Own dietician, psychologist, trainer and if she's not taking it seriously she should be scolded IMO.

I know she said she did her best but the experts work out her calorie intake vs exercise and they do the math so they know if she sticks to it that it's not possible NOT to reach her target. That's why they set it as her target in the first place.

I agree with Dr. Eva. Molly coddling helps no one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

It was only half a pound. The girl had already been given a bit of a dressing down by the fitness specialist who had said it looked like she hadn't been putting in the effort and she acknowledged this.
    There was no need for Eva to throw that tantrum. I'm all for straight talking and not molly-coddling someone but she was just downright b1tchy to her to try and achieve the shock factor, nothing more.
    Maybe if the girl had missed her target by a few pounds, then fair enough ... but 1/2 a pound? Bit of an over-reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

30 seconds of playing that squeaky b1tch was more than enough. God help her husband if she has one! I think I'd rather die from morbid obesity than live with that witch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

aphex™ wrote: »
    People still watch RTE now?

So edgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's not difficult to be truthful and tactful at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

TV forum, for those who watch this type of reality-celeb-redemption waffle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

humberklog wrote: »
    The Irish version of common sense for ya

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

I hate this attitude of "Oh you're Irish, you must be soft and lazy. Out here in Scandinavia, we tell it like it is"

What a load of bollox. If that yoke ever came to my house, I'd let her know a thing or two. A rural Irish childhood is harder than most tough adult experiences in other European countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

nocoverart wrote: »
    30 seconds of playing that squeaky b1tch was more than enough. God help her husband if she has one! I think I'd rather die from morbid obesity than live with that witch.

I've never watched it, bit based on that clip, she signed up for something and is now whinging about it.

And the "Some people cry to deal with stuff"... So? get over it and do more exercise

(Note: I say that with a mouthful of breakfast roll)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

humberklog wrote: »
    Yeah but he wasnt a wanker over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Quick question, is this Dr. Eva an actual doctor?

I am alway suspicious of professionals who call themselves by their title and first name.

If my GP call himself Dr. Jim, i'd be fecking worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

newmug wrote: »
    I hate this attitude of "Oh you're Irish, you must be soft and lazy. Out here in Scandinavia, we tell it like it is"

What a load of bollox. If that yoke ever came to my house, I'd let her know a thing or two. A rural Irish childhood is harder than most tough adult experiences in other European countries.

Soft and lazy threat tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

I know she said she did her best but the experts work out her calorie intake vs exercise and they do the math so they know if she sticks to it that it's not possible NOT to reach her target. That's why they set it as her target in the first place.

The "experts" that organise those shows do so for entertainment value and nothing else.

When you use weight loss as a metric for success it is pretty much impossible to predict how much somebody will gain/lose even if you monitor their diet and activity 24 hours a day for the entire week. This is because body fat isn't the only thing that contributes to body weight. She could have put on muscle (which weights more than fat) from exercising, she could have drank lots of water, she could have drank very little water, she might have just gone to the bathroom, or is due a trip to the bathroom. Half a pound is not enough weight to tell if she is making slower progress than she should be.

Body fat % is the only way to tell accurately how much she is losing. The layman doesn't usually use that as a metric for successful weight loss tho so for entertainment purposes they use a scales. It's stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

It's a TV show, but yeah, that's a little harsh and very school teacher-ish.

I wonder though is that what Enda's meetings with Mrs Merkel are like ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I think Eva was right to give her a telling off but she took it over the top. After all, the girl was only half apound off her target. I think Eva's point was that she lost 3.5lb with very little effort and had she tried harder she would have lost alot more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

People are talking as though she lost nothing - the girl lost 3.5lb in a week FFS, that's more than the recommended amount to lose per week :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Why are people still using the Imperial system?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Any weight loss television programme that isn't presented by someone that tells people to defecate in a lunch box and then says "your poo stinks" isn't worth watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

Could the big Minx presenter beside her not be tarting up so much. Feck sake making the contestants even more self conscious:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

I dont watch this show and have zero interest. I think its pathetic to be honest.

But this Dr Eva outburst thing, I have heard it repeated 3 times on RTE Radio this week.

They are obviously just using it to boost ratings.

Even more pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

OneArt wrote: »
    Why are people still using the Imperial system?

I gets two pigs to my cow and that's the ways I likes it. Feck off with your metric shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    I dont watch this show and have zero interest. I think its pathetic to be honest.

But this Dr Eva outburst thing, I have heard it repeated 3 times on RTE Radio this week.

They are obviously just using it to boost ratings.

Even more pathetic.

The fact that this gets national coverage is worrying to say the least.

It does play into the media current narrative on bullying though so I am not surprised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Next weeks show: The girl loses more weight than expected and is thanking Dr. Eva for her hard-line approach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

Charlotte doesn't have a great attitude. She clearly isn't trying with the exercises when she's on her own, as she was completely killed when Carl showed up and asked her to do a session.

I think Eva is frustrated with her, as she is the youngest person, and in Eva's mind, probably should have the most energy and enthusiam of the group, and she's showing none of that. She has a 'poor Charlotte' attitude and not an 'I can do this' attitude. Having a good attitude is so important as a leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Eva never recovered after being trapped in that Berlin bunker in 1945.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

What is it with the touchy feely be nice and sensitive thing. I hate that I have to be nice and "Professional" to everyone, including the morons.

More of this brutal honesty I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Got to feel sorry for aul Dr Eva.

These shows are predicated on subtle cruelty and humiliation and people watch them expecting same.

Then every so often the morons that watch the show suddenly take inexplicable and spontaneous mass offense (which is then stoked up all over Facebook and Twiiter with You Go Sister platitudes) at one particular piece of voyeuristic cruelty that transgresses some utterly nominal boundary and the presenter has to apologize for merely doing what she was hired to do: namely, make a show of overweight people on telly for the edification of watching audiences.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Operation Transformation's Dr Eva Orsmond has apologised to team leader Charlotte O'Connell after her heated comments on last week's show.

The two clashed over Charlotte's failure (by a half pound) to reach her goal weight loss for the week, with Dr Eva telling 23-year-old Charlotte to "cop on" and saying she was annoyed by her tears.

On The Saturday Night Show, host Brendan O'Connor asked Orsmond if she regretted the way she had spoken to O'Connell.

She replied: "I do. I think it was too harsh. But you need to remember I have a little bit different background as well...so I would say things more straight."

This morning Dr Eva admitted she had overreacted to Charlotte's failure to reach her goal weight loss and apologised for "the way and the tone (in which) I spoke to you last week".

INSERTED VIDEO

Having watched this, I though she was tough but it needed to be said. What do you reckon AH, was the love a bit too tough?

Who seriously watches this crap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Who gives a fuck? Do people actually care about this shit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Biggins wrote: »
    Who seriously watches this crap?
    Confab wrote: »
    Who gives a fuck? Do people actually care about this shit?

FFS lads, I only watched the 1.20 second youtube clip not the actual series, the OH won't let me watch it, I say the word fatty too much when she watches these types of programs.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I'm sure Dr Eva is devastated at the upset her comments have caused, or at least would be if her face could register movement...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

You'd swear the trainers and advisors on these shows were models of healthy living and inner wellbeing, the angsty female trainer on UK's Fattest Loser Camp (or whatever) fired herself off a very big cliff!!! It was a bit of an extreme thing to do to get the programme canned, but fair play to her, it worked.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Larbre34 wrote: »
    ) fired herself off a very big cliff!!!

Seemingly it was a fatty that reported the incident, I know this is AH not conspiracy theories BUT....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Stitch up their mouths and make them run around in circles...problem solved. Not so sure how to deal with the contestants though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

I think she went about it completely the wrong way, She's probably used to seeing people using the crying excuse and lost her temper, She should use a bit more tact next time. She's doing herself no favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

I don't agree with this crying business and moaning racket of your one who didn't reach her target weight loss. However in saying that the attitude of that 'Dr. Eva' is stinking. I agree that you have motivate people but when you have a poor attitude it doesn't help anyone and just came off as being a complete bitch. Given though that this is some piss poor RTÉ program I would imagine it's more for the supposed publicity than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Does anyone agree that Katherine Thomas should be weighed too just out of interest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I saw that episode last week and Dr Eva was a real cnut. I thought it was real nasty.

The girl lost 3 and half pounds in one week. Her goal was 4 pounds. Even at three and a half pounds, thats tough going.

I thought the healthy recommended amount to lose is 2 lbs per week ? And doctors should know that. Its Dr Eva who should cop the fck on.

Im trying to lose weight too and if someone told me to cop on, after losing 3 and a half pounds, I would slap them across the face.