Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overtaken car retaliated!!!

• 01-02-2013 1:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭

Nearly got taken out on the way to work this morning... :mad:

It's a long straight stretch on the Headford road approaching Galway. I was motoring along in clear air around 100kph with visibility hundreds of metres ahead. I saw a car appear at a side road up ahead and made a mental note to watch him in case he pulled out without realise how fast I was approaching. Which he then did! :rolleyes:

Anyway, I knew the road ahead was completely clear, so rather than stomping on the brakes, I just indicated, and pulled out to overtake. But after the car had pulled out and was already running straight, just before I got alongside, he suddenly veered to the right over the centreline :eek:

If not for my quick reactions, I'd have driven straight into him! There is no hard shoulder on the road, just a grassy verge then a ditch (which has often swallowed wandering cars along that stretch). I only just had enough room to squeeze past the idiot while just avoiding going off the road....

It got my pulse up, I can tell you! It's had to believe, but the way it happened, I can only assume the driver did it on purpose in retaliation to me overtaking him just after he'd pulled out. Twát... :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

I wonder was it the locals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Doom wrote: »

Didn't stop even slow down at a stop sign - would narrow it down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Gwynston

Doom wrote: »

Maybe. But the car was pulling out from the Carrowbrowne Landfill road, not the Halting site further down.

Whatever, I didn't hang around to remonstrate or take license numbers etc. Anyone driving in such an aggressive manner was likely to have baseball bats in the back.... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

This happened to me once, where I approached a safe bit to over take was coming up behind them and they actually blocked me.
    So I just backed off and chilled out behind them.
    Wondering god only knows what crazy move they'd pull if i did actually get by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

You should have slammed on the brakes and let him run into you once you got ahead OP. With a claim on his insurance for whiplash and damage its bound to teach people like him a lesson!!!

Didn't stop at a stop sign

I think he might have actually stopped. But having looked up the road, then decided it was alright to pull out without taking account of my closing speed. Which was probably a delta of 70 or 80 kph at the point he swerved towards me in an attempted block. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

You should have slowed down when spotting the car in the first place.

Vrrrrrrrrr.....brrrrrrrrrr...click click vrrrrrrrr..... DISENGAGE HIGHHORSE.... vrrrrrrooooop click.

Madman. If that had happened to me i probably would have jammed the brakes and slowed as much as i could (but keeping enough momentum) until i was nearly touching his bumper just to make a point of 'what the hell?!'

Consider yourself blessed as you could have been taken off the road :O

Taylor365 wrote: »
    You should have slowed down when spotting the car in the first place.

Vrrrrrrrrr.....brrrrrrrrrr...click click vrrrrrrrr..... DISENGAGE HIGHHORSE.... vrrrrrrooooop click.

Madman. If that had happened to me i probably would have jammed the brakes and slowed as much as i could (but keeping enough momentum) until i was nearly touching his bumper just to make a point of 'what the hell?!'

Consider yourself blessed as you could have been taken off the road :O

I usually do this when someone comes out in front of me too however its very dangerous. They could slam on the brakes and you wouldn't have a leg to stand on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

tcawley29 wrote: »
    You should have slammed on the brakes and let him run into you once you got ahead OP. With a claim on his insurance for whiplash and damage its bound to teach people like him a lesson!!!

Yes injure yourself permanently, just to teach *him* a lesson.

I'm guessing you've never been involved in a crash. Nothing prepares you for the energy involved in the shunt, even at very low speeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Yeah, that'd show him. :pac:

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    Yes injure yourself permanently, just to teach *him* a lesson.

I'm guessing you've never been involved in a crash. Nothing prepares you for the energy involved in the shunt, even at very low speeds.

Ah surely you wouldn't cause yourself any serious harm for something like that. Then again it depends on the car I suppose.
    As regards to crashing, yes I have. Wrote a car off last September. I got a fright from it but it passes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

You should have definitely injured/killed yourself and written your car off in the process just to teach thus guy a lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭MMAGirl

Pics or it didnt happen :D

I had a similar story that I was telling a friend. My husband interupted me. He was in the car with me at the time and told me I had been going too fast and had made my mind up to overtake and so didnt react properly to the situation. I should have adapted my driving style to suit the situation in a way that would make it safer.
    I asked him why didnt he say that at the time. He said i wouldnt have taken the comment well at the time.
    He was right of course, but in my memory of it I assumed I was in the right.
    People always think they are in the right when behind the wheel.

MMAGirl - I don't think I should have adjusted my speed just because someone pulled up at a side junction.

Once he'd pulled out, I could have braked hard and sat in behind him, but it would have been almost an emergency stop. As it was , I already knew the road was clear and decided to overtake instead. I certainly didn't do anything wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭MMAGirl

Gwynston wrote: »
    MMAGirl - I don't think I should have adjusted my speed just because someone pulled up at a side junction.

Once he'd pulled out, I could have braked hard and sat in behind him, but it would have been almost an emergency stop. As it was , I already knew the road was clear and decided to overtake instead. I certainly didn't do anything wrong...

You say you saw him in advance and already suspected what he was going to do. And he had time to be fully pulled out and running straight before you overtook him, so you did have time to react properly.
    And if he was driving really slowly do you think you might have overtaken him too close to a junction?

You said you had already anticipated that he might be pulling out in front of you yet when he did you would have had to brake hard to sit in behind him. Or you could have started slowing down so you were in a position to brake normally if it happened.

Safest option from my reading of it would be to slow down and then assess the situation again, get in behind him and overtake properly.

No excuse though for someone veering across the line suddenly.
    I saw a car appear at a side road up ahead and made a mental note to watch him in case he pulled out without realise how fast I was approaching. Which he then did! :rolleyes:

Anyway, I knew the road ahead was completely clear, so rather than stomping on the brakes, I just indicated, and pulled out to overtake. But after the car had pulled out and was already running straight, just before I got alongside, he suddenly veered to the right over the centreline :eek:

MMAGirl wrote: »
    You said you had already anticipated that he might be pulling out in front of you
    That's just being aware of what's happening all around at all times, and anticipating the possibilities. It's the sort of thing they teach on advanced driving courses.
    MMAGirl wrote: »
    you could have started slowing down so you were in a position to brake normally if it happened.
    I have to disagree. It would be mayhem on the roads if every car driving down a major road slowed down every time they saw someone pull up to a minor side road junction just in case they pull out. That's what "Give Way" and "Stop" signs are for...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭iMyself

Nearly got taken out on the way to work this morning... :mad:

It's a long straight stretch on the Headford road approaching Galway. I was motoring along in clear air around 100kph with visibility hundreds of metres ahead. I saw a car appear at a side road up ahead and made a mental note to watch him in case he pulled out without realise how fast I was approaching. Which he then did! :rolleyes:

If not for my quick reactions, I'd have driven straight into him! There is no hard shoulder on the road, just a grassy verge then a ditch (which has often swallowed wandering cars along that stretch). I only just had enough room to squeeze past the idiot while just avoiding going off the road....

It got my pulse up, I can tell you! It's had to believe, but the way it happened, I can only assume the driver did it on purpose in retaliation to me overtaking him just after he'd pulled out. Twát... :mad:
    Not to condone the actions of the other driver, but surely you'll now think twice about driving with excessive speed particularly when you spot a hazard up ahead.

iMyself wrote: »
    Not to condone the actions of the other driver, but surely you'll now think twice about driving with excessive speed particularly when you spot a hazard up ahead.
    Driving at the speed limit on a 2km straight stretch of N-road in dry conditions and bright visibility with little other traffic is not "excessive".

A car waiting to pull out of a minor side road is not a hazard IMO.
    But it is something to be aware of - which I was. If traffic was coming the other way at the time, I agree it would have been prudent to ease off.

But as it turned out, in short time available, I made a split decision that it was safer to overtake rather than brake very hard just to avoid the eejit...

Of course, he had other ideas! :rolleyes:

Driving at the speed limit on a 2km straight stretch of N-road in dry conditions and bright visibility with little other traffic is not "excessive".
    you spotted a car pulling out up ahead and decided not to slow down, instead opting to blast it past him at 100km per hour, have I misread?

This is what I said:
    I made a split [second] decision that it was safer to overtake rather than brake very hard just to avoid the eejit...

I didn't have the option of just "slowing down".

And I didn't blast past at 100kph, I had my foot off the gas, covering the brake for the second or so that I was making the decision about whether to brake hard or overtake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 faithfulfan

Involved in a similar situation a few years ago, driving on the then main Limerick to Dublin road passing Dunkerrin, I was passing the turnoff to the village at or close to the speed limit when a car drove straight out onto the road.

What made it particularly dangerous was the fact the the driver ignored the slip road for joining traffic and drove straight onto the road at perhaps 10 miles an hour forcing me to cross the island to avoid a crash.

If this works you can see where I started and where the person pulled out. The presence of the slip road made it even more difficult to predict as I assumed he was joining on the slip road which delayed my subsequent reactions.

https://maps.google.ie/maps?q=dunkerrin&ll=52.911982,-7.905693&spn=0.021946,0.06536&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&hnear=Dunkerrin,+County+Offaly&gl=ie&t=m&z=15&layer=c&cbll=52.912539,-7.910051&panoid=Q0GnYe-GUPVmvKsT6YOeEw&cbp=12,44.85,,0,7.74

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

A truck pulled out in front of me in a similar fashion when I was doing my driving test. I had just built up my speed from 60 to 80 as per speed limit when the truck pulled out far down the road. I knew I had to slow ultimately but I had been in the act of speeding up to the limit as the truck became visible, stopped at the junction far down the road.

The tester gave me a green warning for speed (didn't know this was possible), as I obeyed the speed limit too blindly instead of anticipating that the truck may pull out, far enough down the road as he was. The instructor explained to me afterwards that while it wasn't a major thing ultimately, he marked me down as it happens a lot and he wanted me to understand that I may not always have so much road to react, so I should be anticipating the move. I passed the test overall, regardless.

In my head, the truck would either not come out, or would do so at speed and build it up quickly, or I had plenty of road to brake if necessary. In the end gradual braking was enough but had the tester not visibly tensed I may have continued on with a plan to slow down later if needed.

The other driver, OP, was clearly an idiot in this case, but if I were you I'd chalk this down as a driving lesson. I can't think of any circumstances where I'd plan to overtake a joining/merging car, on a single-lane road, no matter how slow they were going or what was on the road around me.

In general, on N roads, I'd be inclined to ease off a bit going past these demented (and sometimes staggered left and right) blind t-junctions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Idiotic post. Since when is driving at the speed limit in clear weather with no traffic "excessive speed"??
    "blast" past him at 100kph :rolleyes: Are you one of those types that drives at 70kph everywhere, holding up as much traffic as possible?

fullstop wrote: »
    Idiotic post. Since when is driving at the speed limit in clear weather with no traffic "excessive speed"??

- When there's a big turn ahead
    - When there's a minor road joining that should be accounted for
    - When someone has aggressively pulled up to a junction in front of you and looks like moving

I know, by gut, when someone is going to pull out, do a stupid lane change, etc. I don't know why, but I profile cars around me and I'm very often right in what I expect them to do.
    "blast" past him at 100kph :rolleyes: Are you one of those types that drives at 70kph everywhere, holding up as much traffic as possible?

I have 4 points for speeding. I speed all the time. I can't think of one limit I obey generally.

But I generally practice what I call (you may laugh) responsible speeding. This means my:
    - 140km/h on the motorway becomes 120km/h passing a junction.
    - 140km/h on the motorway becomes 120-130km/h or lower passing a long line involving vehicles that may pull out if they've been boxed in by trucks
    - 55-60 in a 50 becomes 50 or lower passing a junction, or slower approaching a crossing of any sort where someone might absently step out
    - 110km/h on a good N road becomes 90-100 when I see a left junction sign, or 80-90 when I see a right junction sign (without a clear turning lane), or 80-85 when I see a left and right staggered junctions.

I profile the road for where I might need to be a bit lower than the limit.

It's all well and good being in the right when someone pulls a bonehead move and ye end up tangled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I cant see a problem with his driving.

-He approached the junction
    -Saw the risk of the car pulling out
    -Assessed that the road was clear on the far side
    -Accounted for the fact that he had more options then simply braking
    -He was then forced to take that action.
    -Then other guy does something crazy.

You can't account for crazy on the road. If you really did you would drive everywhere at 10kph.

And you made the right decision in driving off and leaving him there. If I was you I would have put the boot down to put as much distance between him and me. Nutters like that do not take the criticism of their ****e driving in good stead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

MrDerp wrote: »
    - When there's a big turn ahead
    - When there's a minor road joining that should be accounted for
    - When someone has aggressively pulled up to a junction in front of you and looks like moving

I know, by gut, when someone is going to pull out, do a stupid lane change, etc. I don't know why, but I profile cars around me and I'm very often right in what I expect them to do.

I have 4 points for speeding. I speed all the time. I can't think of one limit I obey generally.

But I generally practice what I call (you may laugh) responsible speeding. This means my:
    - 140km/h on the motorway becomes 120km/h passing a junction.
    - 140km/h on the motorway becomes 120-130km/h or lower passing a long line involving vehicles that may pull out if they've been boxed in by trucks
    - 55-60 in a 50 becomes 50 or lower passing a junction, or slower approaching a crossing of any sort where someone might absently step out
    - 110km/h on a good N road becomes 90-100 when I see a left junction sign, or 80-90 when I see a right junction sign (without a clear turning lane), or 80-85 when I see a left and right staggered junctions.

I profile the road for where I might need to be a bit lower than the limit.

It's all well and good being in the right when someone pulls a bonehead move and ye end up tangled.

Did you read the OP? "Visibility hundreds of metres ahead" He made a mental not to watch the lunatic, and when said lunatic did something stupid, he took evasive action. Where's the problem there? Are you against overtaking? And as you are, I'm always watching cars in other lanes etc. incase they do something like veering into the wrong lane, but the OP did nothing wrong here. He knew there was no oncoming traffic and overtook.

I can see a problem with his driving.

I presume you meant "can't" ? ;)
    (Bearing in mind the rest of your post was backing me up!

Did you read the OP? "Visibility hundreds of metres ahead" He made a mental not to watch the lunatic, and when said lunatic did something stupid, he took evasive action. Where's the problem there? Are you against overtaking? And as you are, I'm always watching cars in other lanes etc. incase they do something like veering into the wrong lane, but the OP did nothing wrong here. He knew there was no oncoming traffic and overtook.

As I said in an earlier post, I can't think of any situation where I'd plan to overtake a car joining the road from the left on a single-lane road. He might have a broken side repeater, and actually be turning right. Then where would I be.

Some drivers are nervous and do something stupid under pressure. We don't know that the driver was deliberately obnoxious. They may have misjudged the distance to the OP's car, been looking left when he pulled out, then freaked when he saw a car gaining so quickly in the rear view mirror and swung out right in a panic.

All I'm saying is that I allow for nervous and ignorant drivers in my own driving. I overtake and speed all the time, but not until I've assessed the conditions.

I don't see open, single-lane carriage-way, with not a lot of verge, car that looks like he might pull out as good overtaking conditions. I'd have been slowing down at the yellow sign for the junction (and assuming it to read "Caution: Idiots on road"), that's one of the reasons it's up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,389 ✭✭✭markpb

If one driver is doing 100kph and the other is just pulling off, the difference is speed is huge which would make for a nasty accident.

100kph isn't the problem - it's the fact that the OP failed to slow down once they noticed the hazard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

I had something strange happen to me one night driving home on the M1.

Motoring along steady on an empty stretch at 120kph and a car goes past. Nothing unusual, I dip the headlights and keep driving. Car pulls away, but not quite out of sight, couple of hundred metres. As I drive I notice that very slowly I'm getting nearer and nearer to the car that passed, check speed - still constant. Strange but I drop my speed down a bit, about 110kph and stay back. I'm in no mood for playing leapfrog. Still the car slows further until I can't keep behind at a reasonable speed. Indicate and pullout to overtake, as I do the car ahead does likewise and pulls out into my lane. Hit brakes, horn, and flash headlights and narrowly avoid slamming into him. Car reverts back into inside lane and I put my foot on the gas and get the fcuk out of there.

Most likely drunk or sleepy but strange nevertheless, could also have been trying to cause an accident, claim insurance etc but that sort of thing happens in slow moving traffic - not a 100kph deathwish on a motorway. In hindsight should probably have taken reg number and reported it to the Gardaí

MrDerp wrote: »
    I can't think of any situation where I'd plan to overtake a car joining the road from the left on a single-lane road. He might have a broken side repeater, and actually be turning right. Then where would I be.
    I hadn't planned to overtake - it was a last second decision rather than do an emergency stop.
    markpb wrote: »
    100kph isn't the problem - it's the fact that the OP failed to slow down once they noticed the hazard.
    No, I did slow down once I'd seen him pull out. But I decided then to overtake rather than having to brake very heavily.

And I maintain that it wouldn't be good for everyone driving along a major road to slow down every time they see someone waiting to pull out from a side road just in case they pull out. That would cause all sorts of issues for following cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

jeez will some of you get over yourselves...the OP did nothing wrong ...plenty of assholes on the road like the guy he came across...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Maruney

corktina wrote: »
    ...plenty of assholes on the road like the guy he came across...

I agree, a few of them are on this thread it seems.
    It seems we have to let these assholes do what they want and if you complain you're being aggressive.

I laugh when people double parked causing obstructions look at you like you're out of order when you give them a flash to move on. Amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Thank God I don't have to drive that stretch of road often. Any time I do I feel like my life is in the hands of other drivers. I think because it's such a long straight, and has such a volume of traffic that makes the drivers on it extra ordinarily impatient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

It's pretty depressing tbh to read some of the replies from (so called) motoring enthusiasts. Kind of confirms that many don't have a clue how to drive properly. One genius suggests to slam on the brakes in order to deliberately cause and accident. Some suggest that the OP should brake/slow down when driving on a major road and observes a car approaching a stop sign from a minor road.

Assuming no oncoming traffic the OP is perfectly correct in his actions. Overtaking is not a crime. Unnecessary braking is unnecessary and bad driving. First response of many drivers is to brake for everything. This is not always the correct action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Bottom line the other driver was an idiot full stop.Was h/she a young whipper snapper? What I do if I pull out onto a major road if I think I may be a bit too close for the oncoming car is to move along the hard shoulder to allow the passing car to proceed without having to brake, and then pull out onto the road when the car is past.But of course some A**H*** cant allow that because its a threat to his manhood:rolleyes:

When Lorries pull out its a little tricky to decide if to overtake because visibility is an issue and slowing down and braking is also an issue.I dont know OP even if you did slow down, you would still have to brake hard to avoid hitting the clown, so the other "driver" was wrong.

Thanks for the support jimmyw and veetwin!

I didn't really post to discuss my overtaking maneuver, but the fact that the other driver seemed to deliberately pull over the centre line to block me.

I maintain I did nothing wrong.
    Having already taken account of everything going on all around me, when the incident occurred I was in a good position to make the split-second decision that my safest option was to overtake, rather than attempt an emergency stop at 100kph. I was vindicated by that fact that I performed the move accurately and safely and there were no other cars within shouting distance.

It was the fact that the tw@t then took umbrage with me and attempted to drive me off the road that made me post. I've been driving for 26 years, and I thought I'd seen it all, but some of the replies on here are laughable!

As some posters have said - there's nothing wrong with overtaking, as long as it's safe. And given the choice, I'd rather have a nob-head who pulls out carelessly behind me rather than have to follow in his general vicinity. And especially one who then pulls the move he attempted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

There are some right idiots on that road in the morning, luckily i don't be on it till 9am or so and i miss most of the half asleep sheep and bumper riding audi drivers.

Alot easier to deal with them in the ST than it was in the Octavia though thank god. Also was a red speedvan there today in the afternoon, tore past him doing 55mph in 3rd gear, bet that woke him up :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,650 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Very common on Irish roads the overtaking jealousy thing.
    Best way to deal with it I find is just accelerate off out into the distance from these plonkers.

When there is a hazard up ahead. The OP nearly crashed, enough said.

No I'm one of those people that adjusts his speed and driving accordingly. Weather and visibility are not the only factors to consider.

A car pulls out up ahead and people are seriously arguing that the OP was perfectly correct not to slow down?? One of you lot is going to end up another statistic, I just hope you don't take an innocent driver out with you. The OP came very close and still refuses to take any responsibilty.

Don't change what I said to suit your argument.

I said that I did slow down. I took my foot off the gas and covered the brake pedal. The car decelerated as a result. But then after a swift analysis, I decided it would actually be safer to overtake rather than doing an emergency stop at that speed.

I'm afraid that you're in no position to declare whether I made the right decision or not, because you weren't in my place making the split second judgement call. There was nothing unsafe about my resultant overtake, so my decision to do so was justified.

Right up to the point where he pulled over to try to block me.... :eek:

Don't change what I said to suit your argument.

I said that I did slow down. I took my foot off the gas and covered the brake pedal. The car decelerated as a result. But then after a swift analysis, I decided it would actually be safer to overtake rather than doing an emergency stop at that speed.

I'm afraid that you're in no position to declare whether I made the right decision or not, because you weren't in my place making the split second judgement call. There was nothing unsafe about my resultant overtake, so my decision to do so was justified.

Right up to the point where he pulled over to try to block me.... :eek:

My point is the fact that you found yourself in that position in the first place shows that you were not prepared and did in fact make an error in judgement.

I'm not changing anything to suit my argument. your comments are there for all to read. If you don't want criticism then maybe you shouldn't be posting naive comments on the internet.

OK, we'll just have to agree to disagree... ;)

I reacted the way I've described after he pulled out. And I had anticipated it.

But I maintain that it's not a good idea when driving on a straight N-road to slow down every time you see a side road that has a car waiting to pull out. That's what having the right of way is all about and is the purpose of the Give Way or Stop sign for the driver on the side road.

Right of way is a primary premiss of the Rules of The Road, and if everyone was constantly slowing down just in case some other car they've spotted might decide not to yield the right of way when they're supposed to, then there would be traffic chaos on every road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Would you also not adjust your speed if a child approached the road?

OK, we'll just have to agree to disagree... ;)

I reacted the way I've described after he pulled out. And I had anticipated it.

But I maintain that it's not a good idea when driving on a straight N-road to slow down every time you see a side road that has a car waiting to pull out. That's what having the right of way is all about and is the purpose of the Give Way or Stop sign for the driver on the side road.

Right of way is a primary premiss of the Rules of The Road, and if everyone was constantly slowing down just in case some other car they've spotted might decide not to yield the right of way when they're supposed to, then there would be traffic chaos on every road!

You anticipated it but didnt make any adjustments?

"I was right" will look amazing on your headstone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

I don't see what the problem is. The op overtook someone that pulled out in front if them. They then tried to block him as he overtook them.
    How is the op wrong for overtaking them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Because this is the boards motoring forum and you're always in the wrong.

GreeBo wrote: »

The road ahead was clear and he knew this, so he knew overtaking the person was a perfectly safe and viable option if he did in fact pull out. This was an adjustment.

This is a regular occurrence on the roads, car pulls out when he shouldn't, road clear ahead so fly passed the idiot. Why waste time and petrol slowing down to a crawl only to have to drop gears and speed up to over take the person who pulled out in front.

I know the road in question very well you have excellent visibility of the road ahead in good conditions. If every one came to a full stop for every car looking to pull out onto a main road the roads would be at a stand still.

The road ahead was clear and he knew this, so he knew overtaking the person was a perfectly safe and viable option if he did in fact pull out. This was an adjustment.

This is a regular occurrence on the roads, car pulls out when he shouldn't, road clear ahead so fly passed the idiot. Why waste time and petrol slowing down to a crawl only to have to drop gears and speed up to over take the person who pulled out in front.

I know the road in question very well you have excellent visibility of the road ahead in good conditions. If every one came to a full stop for every car looking to pull out onto a main road the roads would be at a stand still.

I'm not saying that, I'm saying that "being right" is useless to you when you are dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

GreeBo wrote: »

I think these kind of comments need to stop, a lot of posters come on here to tell their story of what has happened to them and we get other posters thinking they are private detectives trying to get to the bottom of the 'Truth', other treads have this in the bucket loads like the dashcam tread, nobody needs to judge the uploader, they are adding to the forum(right or wrong) and making it more interesting, Its like when women go to the police about being raped and they are treated like the criminals.