Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Roundabout lanes changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Lawless2k12

Well the inevitable happened today! Had a wee tip at the roundabout. I was ahead of the guy to the left of me and I saw he didn't take the first exit. I indicated left to show I was taking the 2nd exit but instead of slowing down he accelerated up beside me. I braked but he didn't and the left front edge of my car skimmed of his. Half ripped my bumper off (Technically my sister's, was driving her car). The guy got out and started ranting at me and saying that he saw numerous d!ckheads like me everyday trying to save time by cutting down the right lane. Tried to tell him about the lanes were altered but he wouldn't let me get a word in at all. Luckily there was a few guards actually at the roundabout directing traffic because of the coursing and one of them came over and took control of the situation and we moved off to a lay-by type area. The man in his little toyota was not a happy chappy when he left to say the least. And while the guard took our details another tip happened behind us so he ended up directing them into the same area as ourselves. Had to call in backup so someone could deal with the roundabout traffic for him though because it was getting really hectic! Horns blowing every couple of seconds :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

I'm not surprised the council really need to make it clearer that they have changed the road layout for the less observant drivers using that roundabout.

I went through that roundabout on Saturday and the amount of people unaware of the change was nerve racking, and it was only a matter of time before there were accidents there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭solerina

Have to agree...the lane changes on the roundabout are rediculous...saw 3 near misses on Saturday alone, and in fairness the gardai were a disaster today...their attitude seemsed to be 'get the coursing lads out of town at the expense of everyone else'...evey road in the vacinity of the by-pass was gridlock from 4-5 pm