Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Terraclean Group Deal***

• 31-01-2013 3:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭

So, a lot of us have heard of the newest innovation in vehicle maintenance; Terraclean. For those who haven't:

I'm organising a group deal on this for the near future. No date or place set yet but that will be done once we have confirmed numbers.

We'll start a list anyway and stop at some stage. We will also have to take deposits in order to ensure that we all get the prices:

< / = 2.0 ltr - 120 + 13.5% VAT = €136.20 - 15% = €115.77

> 2.0 ltr - 140 + 13.5% VAT = €158.90 - 15% = €135.07

There is a 10% group buy discount and I asked about an offer he gave boards users ages ago which was 10% but he's not doing that any more but he very kindly gave an extra 5% instead.

I'll try and arrange it so that people arrive at a set time to get their car done as it takes 1 hour per car but by all means, arrive early to see other cars reaping the benefits and look forward to what yours will be like :) All this will be organised at a later date.

We'll do the list like the meet one.

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Alanstrainor
    3. Pred Racer
    4. Conzy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

I'll let you get numbers up first before I decide to come along in my mighty micra as I'd prefer to get my Laguna done but doubt I'll have it back on the road in time. If you need an extra to get to a certain number then count me in.

BTW will they have the emission meter machine with them? Also I presume we don't all come at the same time as it takes an hour for each car or will it be treated as a knees up too!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

they'll do it when theyre in your part of the country i imagine. they were in cork today and wont be here for another 4weeks he said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

they'll do it when theyre in your part of the country i imagine. they were in cork today and wont be here for another 4weeks he said

Yeah, that's what I'd be hoping if I was to do this.As having to drive to a location an hour or two away would surely negate the discount with petrol costs? :confused: In Limerick tomorrow by the looks of it actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

renofan wrote: »
    I'll let you get numbers up first before I decide to come along in my mighty micra as I'd prefer to get my Laguna done but doubt I'll have it back on the road in time. If you need an extra to get to a certain number then count me in.

BTW will they have the emission meter machine with them? Also I presume we don't all come at the same time as it takes an hour for each car or will it be treated as a knees up too!?

Won't add you to the list just yet so hah! I have updated the OP to include that bit about times.

He's in Kildare ya langer :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

This is SO last week...

terracleanst.jpg

But on that note, I would recommend it guys, car revs more freely, has a smoother sounding engine and for those interested seems to have somewhat of a positive effect on economy (still working that one out at present).

Good luck with the GB Dave. :)

Yeah, that's what I'd be hoping if I was to do this.As having to drive to a location an hour or two away would surely negate the discount with petrol costs? :confused: In Limerick tomorrow by the looks of it actually.

It's also a bit of craic to make a meet out of it too.

Won't add you to the list just yet so hah! I have updated the OP to include that bit about times.

I'm from Cork originally though :)

i just checked his email and theyre in cork tomorrow i stand corrected!
    if we have to travel to get this done i aint doing it, ill just wait to get it done as normal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Call me cynical, but that youtube clip looks a lot more like an ad than an independent assessment.

if we have to travel to get this done i aint doing it, ill just wait to get it done as normal

Well then there's absolutely no point in this group deal.

You're right :p

seriously though, i presumed the discount was the fact that he would be getting a large sum of money in easily from a group on boards, not because we'd be saving him diesel money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Why don't you ask him what he's up to on Sunday? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Another time maybe, my could probably do with it too. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Well if they applied it like a voucher where everyone didnt need to be in the one place it might be worthwhile. I'll hold off and see how this thread goes but I may be interested.

You're right :p

seriously though, i presumed the discount was the fact that he would be getting a large sum of money in easily from a group on boards, not because we'd be saving him diesel money
    dar83 wrote: »
    Why don't you ask him what he's up to on Sunday? :D
    Well if they applied it like a voucher where everyone didnt need to be in the one place it might be worthwhile. I'll hold off and see how this thread goes but I may be interested.

I was going at this from the angle of having it like a meet but with Terraclean so that was where sorting a day and location would have come in.

while I appreciate your efforts,the fact that we are all travelling to portlaoise from around the country this sunday, i dont exactly want to be doing it all again in a couple of weeks just for this. Ill have enough of ye for another year after sunday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭ongarite

Put me down for this too.
    I was going to get it done anyway but I'll wait if you can enough people for the group deal.

I sent them a mail to see if the offer is still valid if he would just call to us as he normally would.

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Alanstrainor
    3. Pred Racer
    4. Conzy
    5. ongarite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Anan1 wrote: »
    Call me cynical, but that youtube clip looks a lot more like an ad than an independent assessment.

Despite your opinion on this, you're cynical anyway but I agree..... It's fairly staged. :D

In saying that, a few heads here have had it done and noticed improvements in output straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

MugMugs wrote: »
    In saying that, a few heads here have had it done and noticed improvements in output straight away.

And on various other forums too, lots and lots of user feedback there. Had it done on my parents cars also (CX7 and 535d) and they are happy with it. I drove the CX7 since and the engine note has changed and its overall more responsive. It had a slight stumble at certain RPM before but I havent have a chance to test that since (motorway driving, I just did a backroad blast).

Sadly I couldnt get the 560 SEC Terracleaned, the old mechanical injection system (CIS) wouldnt pump it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Bandito909

Count me in!
    1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Alanstrainor
    3. Pred Racer
    4. Conzy
    5. ongarite
    6. Bandito909

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭FridaysWell

Please no biting my head off but do ye think it be worth doing this to a little 1.0 litre engine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

I'm in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

will this be a all be done in wicklow ?

Please no biting my head off but do ye think it be worth doing this to a little 1.0 litre engine?

It's of help to every engine but since yours is a 1 ltr, you may or may not have a hugely noticeable difference. It's up to you really!

You could ask them directly here - www.terracleanireland.ie
    pa990 wrote: »
    will this be a all be done in wicklow ?

If you mean their own base then no as people don't even want to meet somewhere closer and have him come to us, let alone us go to him. I have asked if this deal is still good if he calls to us individually.

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Alanstrainor
    3. Pred Racer
    4. Conzy
    5. ongarite
    6. Bandito909
    7. TouchingVirus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I wonder how big this can actually get, before we run out of hours in the day...it takes an hour or so afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭ordinaryfella

I'd put my name down depending on time and date. Say the engine could do with a spring clean

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Alanstrainor
    3. Pred Racer
    4. Conzy
    5. ongarite
    6. Bandito909
    7. TouchingVirus
    9, ordinaryfella

I wonder how big this can actually get, before we run out of hours in the day...it takes an hour or so afaik.

I've heard back from them and they won't give 15% if they have to travel but they will give a 10% group discount so this will have to be done individually.

For clarity, price update:

< / = 2.0 ltr - 120 + 13.5% VAT = €136.20 - 10% = €122.58

> 2.0 ltr - 140 + 13.5% VAT = €158.90 - 10% = €143.01

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Do they have more than one machine? I don't see how this could be made into a meet, seeing as the only people you're likely to see is the person before and after you.

I'm a maybe so far, petrol cost and tolls outweighs the discount.

this is being changed so that terraclean come to you as normal voodoo I believe?

They have 2 machines - 1 for petrol and 1 for diesel so they can do 1 diesel and 1 petrol at a time but it's been changed so theat they come to you.

Also, just got off the phone with a friend who got it done today and he's very happy with the results in his Passat. MPG has increased and tick-over is much quieter even for a diesel.

Ah great stuff, count me in.

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Alanstrainor
    3. Pred Racer
    4. Conzy
    5. ongarite
    6. Bandito909
    7. TouchingVirus
    9. ordinaryfella
    10. Voodoomelon

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Alanstrainor
    3. Pred Racer
    4. Conzy
    5. ongarite
    6. Bandito909
    7. TouchingVirus
    8. ordinaryfella
    9. Voodoomelon
    10. Ardennes

Thanks for this MM

You're welcome bud :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

I wouldn't mind getting it done.
    Is there going to be a mini meet now or this just a come to you get it done?

coolisin wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind getting it done.
    Is there going to be a mini meet now or this just a come to you get it done?

Read the thread ya twat :pac:

Jaysus feckin Christ, they're gonna come to us now but for 10% discount as opposed to 15%

My mate will probably get his 525 done at the same time as mine so probable +1 for me too.

Ok unknot the knickers lads.
    I wanted to double check, if the mini meet was going ahead id of tried attend that if the date suited.

Yeah commit myself too it then, Thanks.

Sorry i needed it spelt out.

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Alanstrainor
    3. Pred Racer
    4. Conzy
    5. ongarite
    6. Bandito909
    7. TouchingVirus
    8. ordinaryfella
    9. Voodoomelon
    10. Ardennes
    11.coolisin

Only joking with ya coolio :D

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Alanstrainor
    3. Pred Racer
    4. Conzy
    5. ongarite
    6. Bandito909
    7. TouchingVirus
    8. ordinaryfella
    9. Voodoomelon
    10. Ardennes
    11. coolisin
    12. Voodoopineapple

Don't you drive a 330 coolisin?

I do indeed, yeah think ill be getting that terra cleaned.
    Ill let the 335 go through first see how the Bmw likes it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

When you planning on doing this ?

I am maybe depending

Oh sweet jesus hahaha

There's no need to set a date, once we have a good list and things are done here, you'll organise it with him for him to come to you.

coolisin wrote: »
    I do indeed

You're forgiven so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Oh sweet jesus hahaha

There's no need to set a date, once we have a good list and things are done here, you'll organise it with him for him to come to you.

I live in the middle of Galway :p

Behind that hill on most yank "Greetings from Ireland" postcards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I live in the middle of Galway :p

Behind that hill on most yank "Greetings from Ireland" postcards

Im just on the (correct) other side of portumna from you, and MM is in thurles so we're not exactly a million miles from each other!

Cool, if he comes to you I presume its your house and not meet him somewhere? If its to the house, put me down and I'll get the Laguna done. Will he have an emissions tester though? As I'd love to see the difference in an old high mileage car!

Fair play for taking the time to do this MM :cool:

They only have the tester on site, no portable one but you'll be able to judge it by the amount of sh!te that will come out of the exhaust!

No problem man!

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Alanstrainor
    3. Pred Racer
    4. Conzy
    5. ongarite
    6. Bandito909
    7. TouchingVirus
    8. ordinaryfella
    9. Voodoomelon
    10. Ardennes
    11. coolisin
    12. Voodoopineapple
    13. renofan
    14. Supergurrier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

Anan1 wrote: »

I would agree given that it looks like the same fella from the video on the side of that van that does the jobs.