Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The perfect microwaved porridge ?

• 30-01-2013 10:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭

Ok so I have given in. I am looking how to create the perfect porridge with me microwave. I always mess it up. It spills over, gets too dry, is not dry enough etc etc. Looking to eat it without milk afterwards.

So I want to make it with water and milk as I can't deal with just water alone. My microwave is 800w. I am not interested in soaking overnight crap.

I will be doing this with a digital kitchen scales that measures to the gram. So what I am looking for is something like.

100 grams of porridge.
    80 mls of milk
    60 mls of water

2 mins 40 secs on full power. Basically I am looking for a medium sized bowl (1/2 full cereal bowl size)

Brewing beer is not as hard as this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Unfortunately microwaved porridge will never be perfect and will always be inferior to the overnight soakage and saucepan alternative!! The only solution to perfect porridge!!:D ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭wrstan

I went through lots of trial and error (no kidding!) before getting to:

2/3 cup porridge
    2 X 2/3 cups milk
    full power for 2min 20s

Lashings of brown sugar (the soft dark brown type that melts)

works everytime for me now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭endswell

1 mug porridge 1 mug + a drop water, add milk for texture n taste after. 3mins on full. why do u have to put the milk in before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 ac08400

stop it half way through, stir it, and continue. it will not spill over then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

wrstan wrote: »
    I went through lots of trial and error (no kidding!) before getting to:

2/3 cup porridge
    2 X 2/3 cups milk
    full power for 2min 20s

Lashings of brown sugar (the soft dark brown type that melts)

works everytime for me now!

Any chance could you get the gram weight of the milk and the porridge as all cups are not created equal :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭wrstan

rom wrote: »
    Any chance could you get the gram weight of the milk and the porridge as all cups are not created equal :)

Yeah but where's the challenge in that! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Everyone likes a certain texture. For me, it's 3/4 cup porridge to 1 cup water/milk. The cup can be as big or as small as you like as long as you measure the porridge and the water/milk in the same one.

Microwave 750w 2 mins 30 secs. Stir halfway through if you're bothered. No need if you make in a deepish bowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Rom you would make cement with that combination 100g/140mls . :eek:

40g porridge with 225ml water/milk (leave overnight for better results even for the microwaveable stuff)

2 mins full power (850W)
    Stir 15-20 Full power
    Sit for a min

Add Honey/sugar and a sprinkle of Cinnamon

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Rip open packet, tip into bowl, fill sachet with milk, poor into bowl, stir, full power for 2 minutes, eat. Simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

2 scoops porridge, 1 scoop milk, 1 scoop water, nuke for 2 minutes
    Stir, add milk, add sultanas/bananas/whatever, nuke for another minute
    As someone said above, stopping halfway through and stirring will stop it from bubbling over

murphd77 wrote: »
    Everyone likes a certain texture. For me, it's 3/4 cup porridge to 1 cup water/milk. The cup can be as big or as small as you like as long as you measure the porridge and the water/milk in the same one.

Microwave 750w 2 mins 30 secs. Stir halfway through if you're bothered. No need if you make in a deepish bowl.

I went for 3/4 mug of porridge and 3/4 mug of milk this morning. microwaved for 2mins 20 sec. in a deep bowl so no need to stir. Was a bit dry but didn't spill over.

Will go for a full cup of milk tomorrow and same time and see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

Perfect Porridge:-

1 Part porridge to 2 parts water.
    Microwave for 1m30s on full power, then stir.
    Microwave for a further 20/30s(as many times as required) to get required consistency.
    Add honey.

The variables here are the power of the microwave and the type of bowl used.
    Some bowls take more heat than the food, so in this case you sometimes have to zap it longer.
    Once you allow for this variation you should be able to produce perfect porridge every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭mak78

50g porridge
    250ml milk
    Handful of raisins
    Microwave for 3:10 @ 600W
    Add chopped banana/honey/cinnamon
    nom nom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

Some over-complication going on here.

1part porridge, 2 parts milk, soaked overnight.

Stir, one min max power, stir, one min max power, stir, 30sec max power, stir, (can get clumpy if not stirred enough) add your favourite toppings and devour. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

just use lumpy ready brek,..can be eaten cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

BTH wrote: »

Stir, one min max power, stir, one min max power, stir, 30sec max power, stir, (can get clumpy if not stirred enough) add your favourite toppings and devour. :D
    Jaysus, that's over-complicated. One part porridge, two parts low fat milk (mostly water anyway). Add 1 chopped banana. Nuke for 3 mins (750w oven), add honey and cinnamon, stir and eat.

Nuke it straight for that length of time and its gets clumpy.

The banana keeps it from getting clumpy. It's all in the detail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭mak78

ultraman1 wrote: »
    just use lumpy ready brek,..can be eaten cold

nothin wrong with ready-brek , my 2yr old swears by it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

I have a scoop from one of the tubes of microwavable porridge (there’s feck all difference) So two scoops of that, four scoops milk. 2 mins in microwave, stopping to stir about 3 or 4 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    I have a scoop from one of the tubes of microwavable porridge (there’s feck all difference) So two scoops of that, four scoops milk. 2 mins in microwave, stopping to stir about 3 or 4 times.

Close but still too much stopping and stirring.

When I'm in a hurry I use Flahavans Microwaveable Quick Oats.
    Use 2 scoops of oats, 5 scoops of water (or 3 water, 2 milk).
    Use deep bowl with >1 inch room at top.
    Microwave for 2 mins on high 800W, no stopping or stirring until the end.
    Add toppings as desired.

The quick oats seem to be rolled thinner so do not clump as much.
    At weekends I make time for soaking, stopping and stirring etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Yeah, don't know what people are up to with their fancy scales and measurement. All you need is a cup and measure 1 to 2. Whack it in the microwave, wait for it to ding and stir a spoonful of honey through it. I don't even stir half way through.
    dna_leri wrote: »

Quick oats and the regular ones are identical though aren't they ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

ThisRegard wrote: »

Can't see that they are grown from a different oat plant or anything, you just pay the extra to get the handy container and measuring scoop thing.

The banana keeps it from getting clumpy. It's all in the detail.

Nuking fruit? Gotta be rules against that kind of carry on. ;)

That's one big bowl of porridge, dna_leri :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Birdie Num Num

Exactly, doesn't get any easier. 3 - 4 mins most to get the job done. Tastes better too. A little less milk maybe, seeds and honey and away you go. Forget microwaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭gOst

1. Add amount of porridge you want (captin obvious)
    2. Add water until it just covers porridge
    3 nuke, add cinnamon sugar and honey to taste.

You're welcome.

gOst wrote: »
    You're welcome.

Made purely with water, yuk.

Yeah, don't know what people are up to with their fancy scales and measurement. All you need is a cup and measure 1 to 2. Whack it in the microwave, wait for it to ding and stir a spoonful of honey through it. I don't even stir half way through.

Quick oats are thinner (I have measured them ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Tipsygypsy

I do 30g oats, 60 mls water, in microwave on high for 1min20, take out and stir, might need another 20 seconds sometimes. MUST be a tall bowl. Then I add a drop of lowfat milk (maybe 30mls), and 5g of honey... Done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭gOst

Made purely with water, yuk.

That's what I first thought but somehow the end product is delicious. If you find only water morally objectionable then I sometimes use a small drop of milk to cool and adds a bit more of creamy taste. The honey and cinnamon are the job though.

Don't knock it before you've tried it!

Anyone ever buy pinhead oatmeal by accident? Awful bloody stuff. First you have to soak them overnight, then you have to cook 'em on a stove for an hour. And they still taste like crap.. Still, they make a nice crunchy topping on lamb or fish fishes.

Never tried it but according to the Scots it the only way to make perfect porridge.

This thread needs pictures :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Would recommend ye stick to MarthaStew receipe brown soda bread with jam or marmalade - great fuel. Just cut, spread & eat. (can't stand porridge myself :rolleyes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

kit3 wrote: »
    Would recommend ye stick to MarthaStew receipe brown soda bread with jam or marmalade - great fuel. Just cut, spread & eat. (can't stand porridge myself :rolleyes:)

Actually, the pinhead oatmeal is a nice addition to brown soda bread, makes it a little more crunchy.
    Guinness bread with marmalade is my current favourite breakfast, might be because I'm off the grog.... I'm also very fond of Boeuf Bourguignon at the moment;)

I lost a lot of weight since stopping eating "healthy" breads. Just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭jfh

They take a bit of getting used to, but worth it, slow releasing, keeps u full longer, used them in healthy muffins as well. They do take a while to cook tho.
    Cant believe we take our porridge this seriously!

I lost a lot of weight since stopping eating "healthy" breads. Just saying.

Might depend on the quantity of the healthy bread I suppose. Just saying :rolleyes:

What ever works for you - I just can't stand porridge (or lumpy readybrek !) so the bread suits me

Might depend on the quantity of the healthy bread I suppose. Just saying :rolleyes:
    Two thin slices with jam not excessive. Bread is bad simple.

Fair enough. That's certainly not excessive. Guess I'm lucky it doesn't effect me that way.

Marthastew wrote: »
    I'm also very fond of Boeuf Bourguignon at the moment;)

It's a lot better than boeuf de cheval.

So I went with

3/4 mug Flahavan's: Organic Oats
    1 mug of skimmed milk

2:40 at full power in 800w microwave with a deep bowl and it's produces a great result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

I've made porridge bread a few times. An excellent quick breakfast as it lasts about 3 days.

I know it sounds weird but it tastes great and again is a cracking breakfast if you only have a minute or so plus you could bring it into work and have it with a cup of coffee.

500g porridge
    500ml natural yogurt (go fat free if you want)
    2 tea spoons of baking soda ( you'll already have this for trying to get the stink out of old gear!!)
    2 table spoons of olive oil.

mix it all up and plonk it in a baking tin 180 degrees in the oven untill it looks like a loaf of bread (half an hour usually).

the only thing i will say is you may need to vary the mix slightly depending on the type of oats. if its too dry just add some more yougurt or water.

It really does taste good. Its cheap and couldnt get any easier.

you can get fancy and add seeds or fruit etc and it all works well.
    Its worth a try if you're looking for something new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

2:40 at full power in 800w microwave with a deep bowl and it's produces a great result.

I make porridge most mornings using the microwave as well although I use Flahavan's oatbran rather than oats (other oat brans are available), 2:40 seems to be the magic time for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

who knew the subject of porridge would get people so exercised ? I might start a thread on Coco Pops

PaulieC wrote: »
    I might start a thread on Coco Pops

The burning issue is do you eat them as quickly as possible before they all go soggy, or let the milk turn brown, as the ad says.

BobMac104 wrote: »
    I've made porridge bread a few times. An excellent quick breakfast as it lasts about 3 days.
    Sounds great. We need pictures though. Please make it as soon as possible, and provide photos from several angles, complete with nutritional information and a suggested list of toppings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

RayCun wrote: »
    2 scoops porridge, 1 scoop milk, 1 scoop water, nuke for 2 minutes
    Stir, add milk, add sultanas/bananas/whatever, nuke for another minute
    As someone said above, stopping halfway through and stirring will stop it from bubbling over
    mak78 wrote: »
    50g porridge
    250ml milk
    Handful of raisins
    Microwave for 3:10 @ 600W
    Add chopped banana/honey/cinnamon
    nom nom
    Tipsygypsy wrote: »
    I do 30g oats, 60 mls water, in microwave on high for 1min20, take out and stir, might need another 20 seconds sometimes. MUST be a tall bowl. Then I add a drop of lowfat milk (maybe 30mls), and 5g of honey... Done.
    Close but still too much stopping and stirring.

When I'm in a hurry I use Flahavans Microwaveable Quick Oats.
    Microwave for 2 mins on high 800W, no stopping or stirring until the end.
    Add toppings as desired.

ger664 wrote: »
    Rom you would make cement with that combination 100g/140mls . :eek:

40g porridge with 225ml water/milk (leave overnight for better results even for the microwaveable stuff)

2 mins full power (850W)
    Stir 15-20 Full power
    Sit for a min

Add Honey/sugar and a sprinkle of Cinnamon

I'm blaming Masterchef for overcomplicating a simple breakfast. I'm off to enjoy my De-constructed Banana, Borage flower and nutmeg recovery shake with a trio of peanut butter on toast. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

All depends on how you like it. Some people like really watery stuff, almost like soup. I prefer it a very thick consistency, mashed potato like.

Perfect for me seem to be 3/4 mug of porridge (works out to about 70g), two teaspoons of brown sugar, full mug of water, 2:30 in the microwave. Pop a little milk on top. Spot on. Too little porridge (anything less than 2/3 mug) and it's far too runny.