Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junkies

• 30-01-2013 12:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭

I'm fascinated by them but I ****ing hate them. They are the most horrible lifeform in this world. You know the type... They all look the same for some reason. Zombie like walk, pale and sickly complexion, sunken in cheekbones and eyes in the back of their head, the typical tracksuit and Columbia jacket combo, drawn out nasally accent "Have ye got €2 for a 'sandwich'/a speehhhr smoke buuud?'".... No, piss off you crack monkey.

Yesterday I had 3 of these walking infections came up to me and everyone else at my busstop in the space of 30 minutes and ask for change, then each of them tried to sell me a touch screen phone or something they probably just robbed for their fix. When I said I didn't want to buy it he yelled that he was "oooonly fuuuucckkkiin assskin yeee!!". Then as I got on the bus one sat behind me and touched the back of my head. Creepy bastards.

Have you ever been hassled by a junkie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭apache

Lol one touched the back of your head :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Its the children I feel sorry for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

In fairness, they're addicted. It's not like they're the average skanger coming up to you hassling you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

apache wrote: »
    Lol one touched the back of your head :)
    He's gonna die soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

St. Jimmy wrote: »
    I'm fascinated by them but I ****ing hate them. They are the most horrible lifeform in this world. You know the type... They all look the same for some reason. Zombie like walk, pale and sickly complexion, sunken in cheekbones and eyes in the back of their head, the typical tracksuit and Columbia jacket combo, drawn out nasally accent "Have ye got €2 for a 'sandwich'/a speehhhr smoke buuud?'".... No, piss off you crack monkey.

Yesterday I had 3 of these walking infections came up to me and everyone else at my busstop in the space of 30 minutes and ask for change, then each of them tried to sell me a touch screen phone or something they probably just robbed for their fix. When I said I didn't want to buy it he yelled that he was "oooonly fuuuucckkkiin assskin yeee!!". Then as I got on the bus one sat behind me and touched the back of my head. Creepy bastards.

Well aren't you just delightful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

"They all look the same for some reason" and that reason is Golden Brown. Horrible things they are! any time I have to go to Dublin I usually buy two boxes of cigs, one box for me and one box for the junkies. "Olrite bud, do ya have a smoke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

You're the first person I've ever heard of to have such a run in.

Normally they're such peaceful creatures. Maybe you disturbed one of their nests?

He's gonna die soon
    And a slow and horrible death at that. The first sign is the itch creeping in around about now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

HAve you got a spare smoke?

THey cost €9.20 a pack, oddly enough I don't carry f*cking spare ones!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

I feel so sorry for these people, they're helpless. I would never give them money though, there's only one place that'll go and that's to their dealer but if one of them asked me to buy food for them I'd do it in a heartbeat.

What exactly do you achieve by been rude to them?

AnonoBoy wrote: »

You're the first person I've ever heard of to have such a run in.

Normally they're such peaceful creatures. Maybe you disturbed one of their nests?
    Ha ha disturbed one of their nests. Yous are all on a roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'm 6 foot tall, wear all black, either wear a trenchcoat or denim jacket when in Dublin, so no, I don't get hassled by the people of Dublin junkies :pac:

And your boards username is Syco, which you obviously have name tagged to your trenchcoat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

If you have to travel on public transport you deserve no better.

whaa whaaaaaa....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Sauve wrote: »

Well aren't you just delightful?

Good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Most would be better of dead being honest and this is coming from a man that recently volunteered in a homeless shelter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Never had any hassle off any addict that ''no thanks'' or ''sorry no money'' didn't cover.Then again I don't think of them in such lovely terms like ''walking infections'' ''horrible lifeforms'' or ''crack monkeys''.

Think I'd be more bothered by somebody ignorant like the OP.

D1stant wrote: »
    Its the children I feel sorry for

Right on. It's an awful upbringing for a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Here follows a liberal bleeding heart announcement:

These people do not like being called junkies, they need help :pac:

Good one.

Your OP was about as ignorant as I've seen here in a long time. I held back from what I really think of your post but you know what? I don't care.

Addicts are people with a problem. Yes, they may be irritating, they may hassle you, they may bother you, but you know what? Get over it. They are suffering more than you will (hopefully) ever know about. They are someones' son. Somebodys' brother, maybe even somebodys' father. They made a mistake and now need help.
    Have a bit of bloody compassion and manners.

Never had any hassle off any addict that ''no thanks'' or ''sorry no money'' didn't cover.Then again I don't think of them in such lovely terms like ''walking infections'' ''horrible lifeforms'' or ''crack monkeys''.

Think I'd be more bothered by somebody ignorant like the OP.

Man sometimes a simple no thank you doesn't cut it. they ask over and over again. Ignorant? They chose that disgusting life and now most of them are stuck in it. They'd sell any member of their family down the river for a score. I feel sorry for the ones who are good hearted people who realise they're in a rut and want to get clean. I have respect for the people that get clean and are now living full lives. What I don't have respect for is someone that would do absolutely anything for a fix, including robbery, that shoves that ****e into their body daily and hassles regular folk, then go back to a lane to get more stuff and pass out.

Your OP was about as ignorant as I've seen here in a long time. I held back from what I really think of your post but you know what? I don't care.

Addicts are people with a problem. Yes, they may be irritating, they may hassle you, they may bother you, but you know what? Get over it. They are suffering more than you will (hopefully) ever know about. They are someones' son. Somebodys' brother, maybe even somebodys' father. They made a mistake and now need help.

They may hassle you, they may bother you and they may bloody stab you if they can't get what they want. Stop been so bloody liberal! I have a brother and I have a father and I would worry if these scum were hassling any of my loved ones. Blight on society they are.

I see your point and agree. However alot, if not most of them refuse help when offered it. Have you ever been hassled or attacked by a hero on junkie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Never mind all the do gooders OP i think your cool :)

"I am Heroin" I destroy homes, tear families apart, take your children, and that's just the start. I'm more costly than diamonds, more costly than gold, the sorrow I bring is a sight to behold, and if you need me, I'm so easily found. I live all around you, and hang around town. I live with the rich, I live with the poor, I live down the street, and might be next door. My power is awesome; test me you'll see, But if you do, you may never break free! Just try me once and I might let you go, but try me twice, and I'll own your soul. When I possess you, youll steal and you'll lie. You'll do what you have to just to get high. The crimes you'll commit, for my narcotic name, to you it's worth the pleasure of me in your veins. You'll lie to your Mother; you'll steal from your Dad. When you see their tears, you should feel sad, But you'll forget your morals and how you were raised, I'll take over your conscience, and shorten your days. I take kids from parents, and parents from kids, I turn people from God, and separate from friends. I'll take everything from you, from your looks to your pride, I'll be with you always, right by your side. You'll give up everything-your family, your home, Your friends, your money, you'll be mine and mine alone!!!! I'll take and take, til you have nothing more to give, When I'm finished with you, you'll be lucky to live. If you try me be warned-this is no game, If given the chance, I'll drive you insane, I'll ravish your body; I'll control your mind, I'll own you completely; your soul will be mine! The nightmares I'll give you while lying in bed, The voices you'll hear from inside your head, The sweats, the shakes, the visions you'll see, I want you to know, these are all part of the poison of me. I'll strip you of faith and be your only love, you lose all hope, I'll be all you think of. You'll regret that you tried me, they always do, But you came to me, not I to you!!! You knew this would happen, Many times you were told, But you challenged my power, and chose to be bold. You could have said no, and just walked away, If you could live that day over, now what would you say? I'll be your master; you will be my slave, I'll even go with you, when you go to your grave. Now that you have met me, what will you do? Will you try me or not, Its all up to you. I will bring you more misery than words can tell, if you take my hand, I'll drag you to hell

Sorry for no paragraphs, on my phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

You should have throne your bottle of Evian over him.

"I am Heroin" I destroy homes, tear families apart, take your children, and that's just the start. I'm more costly than diamonds, more costly than gold, the sorrow I bring is a sight to behold, and if you need me, I'm so easily found. I live all around you, and hang around town. I live with the rich, I live with the poor, I live down the street, and might be next door. My power is awesome; test me you'll see, But if you do, you may never break free! Just try me once and I might let you go, but try me twice, and I'll own your soul. When I possess you, youll steal and you'll lie. You'll do what you have to just to get high. The crimes you'll commit, for my narcotic name, to you it's worth the pleasure of me in your veins. You'll lie to your Mother; you'll steal from your Dad. When you see their tears, you should feel sad, But you'll forget your morals and how you were raised, I'll take over your conscience, and shorten your days. I take kids from parents, and parents from kids, I turn people from God, and separate from friends. I'll take everything from you, from your looks to your pride, I'll be with you always, right by your side. You'll give up everything-your family, your home, Your friends, your money, you'll be mine and mine alone!!!! I'll take and take, til you have nothing more to give, When I'm finished with you, you'll be lucky to live. If you try me be warned-this is no game, If given the chance, I'll drive you insane, I'll ravish your body; I'll control your mind, I'll own you completely; your soul will be mine! The nightmares I'll give you while lying in bed, The voices you'll hear from inside your head, The sweats, the shakes, the visions you'll see, I want you to know, these are all part of the poison of me. I'll strip you of faith and be your only love, you lose all hope, I'll be all you think of. You'll regret that you tried me, they always do, But you came to me, not I to you!!! You knew this would happen, Many times you were told, But you challenged my power, and chose to be bold. You could have said no, and just walked away, If you could live that day over, now what would you say? I'll be your master; you will be my slave, I'll even go with you, when you go to your grave. Now that you have met me, what will you do? Will you try me or not, Its all up to you. I will bring you more misery than words can tell, if you take my hand, I'll drag you to hell

Sorry for no paragraphs, on my phone.

Ya im not reading that......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I see your point and agree. However alot, if not most of them refuse help when offered it. Have you ever been hassled or attacked by a hero on junkie?

Does the hero ride him like a horse?:D

Hootanany wrote: »

You should have throne your bottle of Evian over him.

Evian? You must mean Tesco brand coka coola.

Boombastic wrote: »

Does the hero ride him like a horse?:D

Hahaha damn autocorrect.

I've been around heroin addicts before through my job. Not in Dublin but abroad. I'd be more worried about someone on cocaine stabbing me than someone on heroin, they're one of the least aggressive group of drug users I've come across.
    Obviously there are exceptions, but given the choice, I'd put myself in a room with 5 people on heroin before I would with 5 who are aggressive after a face full of cocaine.
    Yes, they commit crime, yes they hassle people. But the OP was just rude and intolerant and got my back up a bit. I guess its' different when you've met some addicts and seen the real person inside that's suffering.
    There is no easy solution, the addiction with this drug is so strong, and mostly compounded by personal problems, some of which are so severe and heartbreaking that I can fully understand why they turned to heroin in the first place.

Wonder could the junkies swap me a paragraph for a smoke? I could badly do with a paragraph or three after reading Ihatecuddles post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Anyone else find it ironic that the OP goes by the name St Jimmy which is the code name for heroin in Green Day's American Idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

what's the deal with being a Dublin junkie / scumbag and talking through your nose ? Do they put this on ? It's as if their vocal chords and larynx are behind the bridge of their noses.

Just an interesting poem I found a while back.

I don't know where I stand with addicts, had a lot of issues with them over the years. My ex was an addict and he was horrible to be with, he's clean now thank god. But he was violent and abusive, he'd steal and lie, so many opportunities to get clean but he didn't care.

I ran after a man who robbed a woman's purse, he wanted money for his next fix, she was left traumatised.

I feel sorry for them, but they made the deal with the devil and a lot of them refuse help, its very sad.

I've been around heroin addicts before through my job. Not in Dublin but abroad. I'd be more worried about someone on cocaine stabbing me than someone on heroin, they're one of the least aggressive group of drug users I've come across.
    Obviously there are exceptions, but given the choice, I'd put myself in a room with 5 people on heroin before I would with 5 who are aggressive after a face full of cocaine.
    Yes, they commit crime, yes they hassle people. But the OP was just rude and intolerant and got my back up a bit. I guess its' different when you've met some addicts and seen the real person inside that's suffering.
    There is no easy solution, the addiction with this drug is so strong, and mostly compounded by personal problems, some of which are so severe and heartbreaking that I can fully understand why they turned to heroin in the first place.

Why dont you take them all off the streets and let them stay with you so Mother Teresa of junkies ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭validusername1

I've been asked for bus change a few times but I just say ''sorry don't have any'' and they usually accept it

One day I was on the train, sat down and saw 2 junkies sitting in the seat next to me. They were talking pretty loudly, don't think they knew each other that well 'cause they were exchanging stories, they were on about how they have both tried stopping and one of them gave up for a few months until one day someone offered him some and he couldn't say no so now he's back on stuff, he said its wrecking him but he can't give up & all this, and the other one was on about going to some treatment centre soon, felt so bad for them the way they were talking about it. There have been other times on the train when I've seen junkies just bothering random people and you do judge them but hearing those 2 talk about it like that gives you a different perspective

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The vast majority of addicts in and around Dublin city center are too weak and sick to be of harm to anyone.

The people you want to watch are the crafty bastards along the quays who are not strung out but are on the lookout for an easy mugging.

The addicts, while unsightly are more to be pitied tbh.. And keep it in mind, most won't die of old age.. They'll die young, miserable and in the months and years before their death they'll be sick, weak and prayed upon by their own and looked down and spit upon by the likes of the OP.

Why dont you take them all off the streets and let them stay with you so Mother Teresa of junkies ......

What would that achieve?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

You should. It's very good. Here's the paragraphized version:
    I am Ben & Jerrys I am Heroin "I destroy homes, tear families apart, take your children, and that's just the start. I'm more costly than diamonds, more costly than gold, the sorrow I bring is a sight to behold, and if you need me, I'm so easily found. I live all around you, and hang around town.

I live with the rich, I live with the poor, I live down the street, and might be next door. My power is awesome; test me you'll see, But if you do, you may never break free! Just try me once and I might let you go, but try me twice, and I'll own your soul. When I possess you, youll steal and you'll lie. You'll do what you have to just to get high.

The crimes you'll commit, for my narcotic name, to you it's worth the pleasure of me in your veins. You'll lie to your Mother; you'll steal from your Dad. When you see their tears, you should feel sad, But you'll forget your morals and how you were raised, I'll take over your conscience, and shorten your days. I take kids from parents, and parents from kids, I turn people from God, and separate from friends. I'll take everything from you, from your looks to your pride, I'll be with you always, right by your side.

You'll give up everything-your family, your home, Your friends, your money, you'll be mine and mine alone!!!! I'll take and take, til you have nothing more to give, When I'm finished with you, you'll be lucky to live. If you try me be warned-this is no game, If given the chance, I'll drive you insane, I'll ravish your body; I'll control your mind, I'll own you completely; your soul will be mine!

The nightmares I'll give you while lying in bed, The voices you'll hear from inside your head, The sweats, the shakes, the visions you'll see, I want you to know, these are all part of the poison of me. I'll strip you of faith and be your only love, you lose all hope, I'll be all you think of. You'll regret that you tried me, they always do, But you came to me, not I to you!!! You knew this would happen, Many times you were told, But you challenged my power, and chose to be bold. You could have said no, and just walked away, If you could live that day over, now what would you say?

I'll be your master; you will be my slave, I'll even go with you, when you go to your grave. Now that you have met me, what will you do? Will you try me or not, Its all up to you. I will bring you more misery than words can tell, if you take my hand, I'll drag you to hell".

Listen dude/dudette. I completely understand what you mean. If I upset you I'm sorry. I'm not here to argue with you. I've seen former friends being taken by heroin, families ruined, innocent people killed. I dont like it anymore than the next guy. It is a sickness and they can't help their actions. It is very sad. But from my point of view, I don't think their sickness can pardon them from hassling the general public who just want to get on with their day.

What would that achieve?

You be doing your good deed to society and ''The walking dead'' would be gone. Now if you round up all the hipsters in Dublin and get rid of them to ill ****ing kiss u :pac:

Bad Santa wrote: »

You should. It's very good. Here's the paragraphized version:

Thanks bad Santa :)

Easy, guy. Suave is just voicing an opinion.

You be doing your good deed to society and ''The walking dead'' would be gone. Now if you round up all the hipsters in Dublin and get rid of them to ill ****ing kiss u :pac:

OP is a total hipster I reckon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

That was your first mistake OP.

Easy, guy. Suave is just voicing an opinion.

Just like myself...... See how that works ? ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Valdez

dd972 wrote: »
    what's the deal with being a Dublin junkie / scumbag and talking through your nose ? Do they put this on ? It's as if their vocal chords and larynx are behind the bridge of their noses.

Hi both my parents where Addicted to heroin. I don't think it's right to class all addicts as walking deceases. They both got there lives sorted out over 27 years ago. And ever since have been helping people get off drugs. Don't get me wrong we have had are fare share of addicts that didn't want help or even once one tried to stab my father with a syringe. But the majority are just hurting people. I don't know where I would be if someone didn't care enough to help my parents out. Because of people caring my family has been restored. So just because you have had a bad experience with one person don't class them all like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

You sound like a Sociopath, no empathy , compassion or humanity.

Just like myself...... See how that works ? ha

No.
    Having a go at me is not voicing an opinion.