Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiger Woods is Back

• 28-01-2013 10:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭

Tiger had a superb performance this weekend.
    So much better than the entire field.
    I expect he'll add to his 14 majors this year.
    2013 will be a big year for him.

Well done Tiger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Thanks for that. Ill pass that on to the lads in the tiger thread down stairs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭The Guardian

75th victory on the PGA tour.
    Impressive

Only 7 behind the great Sam Snead.
    The great Jack had 73 by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lol.

Back to the oven or trees or forest or your house or his car or Vegas ?

Only joking - will have to fix driving.

But first time , I see him winning one since - well we know when.

Cheers ill pass that on too

Will be super confident for Augusta now.
    May well rock up on day one in a red shirt.

Tiger - Future World No 1.

Will be super confident for Augusta now.
    May well rock up on day one in a red shirt.

Tiger - Future World No 1.

I wouldn't go that far - we will know week before if driving is right. If not he won't win it. Can't give up 2 shots a day to field.

He only got a little ragged at the end because of the slow play.
    Basically flawless up to then.
    Beautiful to watch.

He missed the cut last week don't forget.

His game is on a knife edge every game from what I can see. He won this tourney with an amazing short game the final 2 rounds. If that wasnt on song he was getting reeled in which is outrageous considering his lead.

Beautiful to watch.

But that was one of the big reason Tiger won Majors - he finished well - you WILL not win a major like that.

ForeRight wrote: »
    He missed the cut last week don't forget.

His game is on a knife edge every game from what I can see. He won this tourney with an amazing short game the final 2 rounds. If that wasnt on song he was getting reeled in which is outrageous considering his lead.

But ForerRight - you can't undermine his short game back - it was very, very good yesterday and part of today. Major like.

But that was one of the big reason Tiger won Majors - he finished well - you WILL not win a major like that.

Misses the cut last week.
    Wins in a small low key field this week and he is a shoe in to win the masters.

Get off the crack pipe guardian. Getting a little over excited IMO.

Torrey Pines is a tough course.
    You gotta be on song to win here.
    He was. He did.
    End of story.

Tiger - forget the haters. Block them out.

Anything but haters here. I'm a huge tiger fan.

I just wouldn't be making statements that he is definitely going to win the masters based on 1 week especially a week after he had a horror show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

He would win a major on a Monday if he was 7 shots clear and had 11 holes to play to cruise home.

People making a big deal out of him having a few bogeys on the run in is funny.

Jazzzman wrote: »
    He would win a major on a Monday if he was 7 shots clear anthan d had 11 holes to play to cruise home.

People making a big deal out of him having a few bogeys on the run in is funny.

Funny for you - I think Tiger would be way more worried about his driving than me. He would miss the Open cut, if he drove like that.

It was awfull - He can't and won't be that bad again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭onlyfinewine

Beautiful to watch.

Were you watching the same Eldrick Tiger Woods that missed 7 out of the last 9 fairways from the tee, except for a pop up 5 wood on 17 that I was?
    He could not even hit them using fairway woods, he is not back yet.

Don't get me wrong I like Tiger but am not going to say that his driving is back yet. He played some fabulous iron shots and was a pleasure to watch.
    As far as Majors are concerned I hope you are right I look forward to the competition between himself and Rory but will wait a while before I say he is definitely back.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I don't know what a guy has to do, three good victories last year, a good victory already this year, pulling away from world number 3 and reeling in world number one and only now do you think he's back?

Funny for you - I think Tiger would be way more worried about his driving than me. He would miss the Open cut, if he drove like that.

He strolled to victory by four shots.:)

People just love to fret over Tiger.

slave1 wrote: »
    I don't know what a guy has to do, three good victories last year, a good victory already this year, pulling away from world number 3 and reeling in world number one and only now do you think he's back?

You big silly billy!

Unless he's hitting every single shot flush and not winning every major by ten strokes he's not back.:rolleyes:

Woods should arrive at Augusta with sharapova or kournikova, or both.

First psychological win to Tiger.

Dont Nike sponsor both of these gals?
    Could be arranged relatively easily I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭IanPoulter

I wouldn't go that far - we will know week before if driving is right. If not he won't win it. Can't give up 2 shots a day to field.

Tiger employs the 3 wood around Augusta so the driver only makes a rare appearance

He certainly doesn't need a driver on a fast links course. I recall he won at Hoylake using the driver only 3 or 4 times that week and was then critisised by alot of Boardsies for winning majors and not being able to hit a driver :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

IanPoulter wrote: »
    Tiger employs the 3 wood around Augusta so the driver only makes a rare appearance

He certainly doesn't need a driver on a fast links course. I recall he won at Hoylake using the driver only 3 or 4 times that week and was then critisised by alot of Boardsies for winning majors and not being able to hit a driver :rolleyes:

But you weren't on boards back then...

You can guarantee he was still getting criticised by people on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

not sure if you watched the first three days, but his driving was excellent....he was 8th in total driving over the tournament.

His driving stats last year were excellent and he has just carried that on.

Agreed that the field wasn't the very strongest, but, its a great start for Tiger to the year. As he said in interviews, its a continuation of the end of 2012 when he ran out of tournaments as he was playing well then.

The masters will be the big test, but before that doral could give us a better idea of where he is at.

I wouldnt be too worried about his driving though or the shots he dropped on the back nine....did you hear it took them three hours to play the back nine :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

not sure if you watched the first three days, but his driving was excellent....he was 8th in total driving over the tournament.

His driving stats last year were excellent and he has just carried that on.

Agreed that the field wasn't the very strongest, but, its a great start for Tiger to the year. As he said in interviews, its a continuation of the end of 2012 when he ran out of tournaments as he was playing well then.

The masters will be the big test, but before that doral could give us a better idea of where he is at.

I wouldnt be too worried about his driving though or the shots he dropped on the back nine....did you hear it took them three hours to play the back nine :eek:

Exactly, his driving stats were excellent.

For all Faldo's going on about how he needs to sort it out all they could show was 2 bad drives yesterday.

Sky are no better, just to have a go they showed his drive in round 1 and 3 on the 18th, but not the one he nailed in the second round.

the group playing in front of tiger were dreadfully slow

they were lining up putts on 17 as the group ahead of them were walking off 18

something seriously needs to be done about the slow play

AGC wrote: »

For all Faldo's going on about how he needs to sort it out all they could show was 2 bad drives yesterday.

Sky are no better, just to have a go they showed his drive in round 1 and 3 on the 18th, but not the one he nailed in the second round.

Lads we were watching his last round. We were just saying it is not a last round that Tiger would be happy with . But it was only 9 holes. But people should be able to say Tiger is driving poor if he is - no big deal.

Driving Distance292.0
    Driving Accuracy35.71%
    GIR50.00%
    Strokes Gained - Putting1.768
    Putting Average1.889
    Average Distance to Pin46' 7"

The stats show - you don't need to be that great off the tee to win a major - but you can't do that on a final day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Guys, for those of you who say it was an average field, I would greatly disagree with that, a lot of the big names didn't contend however. Fair enough you were missing the likes of Rory/Luke/Justin/Lee but you had Phil, Dustin Johnson, Nick Watney, Brandt Snedeker, Rickie Fowler.

If Tiger had that big a lead going into the final day in a major, he will not be hitting driver from the tee so I wouldn't worry about it too much. I am not an expert but when his tempo is honed then he seems to hit them perfect.

Something ominous from the weekend: his short game was immense!

I wish Tiger would just win on a new course for the first time just to prove his doubters wrong!! Last 4 wins have been all on courses he has won on previously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Woods is definitely back.
    3 wins last year.
    1 this year already.
    He clearly relishes the competition from McIlroy.
    Wouldn't be surprised if he wins at least a major this year.

The way people are going on about “Tiger Haters” is a bit mad – they are actually worse than real Tiger Haters.

I’m actually saying I think he is back and looks like he could win a major. First time I seen that in him. It was his short game and putting, bunker play, power when needed. Great stuff.

I think people who have basically grown up watching Tiger all their life– are allowed to make comparisons to the dominant Tiger that they loved watching. It is like Torres or Nadal – it is because of admiration of their past that they are compared to that. It is not realistic that they can be the same again. They will have the odd day or great week - but not their dominance.

Does anybody on here really think that Tiger can be the way he was in 2000-2001 or 2004 – 2005 . I don’t – too many golfers at a similar level or better than him now. I wouldn’t fancy taking on the South Africans alone over the next 5 or 6 years. They are all very young and amazing players. Not to mention the other batch or European players.

As for the hating – people loved Tiger – he made golf. Great to watch. Just the power alone. But, he has pissed many , many people off. They are entitled to dislike him.

So – I think Tiger will win another major. But, in my eyes Tiger will never be back.

Agreed.
    1 Major on the Cards.
    Altho if he wins Augusta I'm going to back him for the grand slam.

Agreed.
    1 Major on the Cards.
    Altho if he wins Augusta I'm going to back him for the grand slam.

lol :)

So – I think Tiger will win another major. But, in my eyes Tiger will never be back.

You sound emotional. Pull yourself together man.

Was crying when i wrote that :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Cairn

AGC wrote: »

Ah now they didn't show Round 2 as it was on a different course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

When he wins a major, then he'll be fully "back". He's on the biggest major drought of his career coming up on 5 years, I think he will win one soon but not sure if he's gonna get to 18, too many other great players around, unlike when he was steamrolling fields in years gone by.

Good to have him winning again and challenging for majors, but after his misdemeanors I'm glad he's not the dominant force he once was.

[/QUOTE]Does anybody on here really think that Tiger can be the way he was in 2000-2001 or 2004 – 2005 . I don’t – too many golfers at a similar level or better than him now. I wouldn’t fancy taking on the South Africans alone over the next 5 or 6 years. They are all very young and amazing players. Not to mention the other batch or European players.

So – I think Tiger will win another major. But, in my eyes Tiger will never be back. [/QUOTE]

Where are all these young golfers you speak of? Mcilroy is a total one off. Only manassero is in the top 50 with him whos under 25. probably only another 5 guys in the top 50 under 30.

This idea of the young generation coming through is pants....the top 20 is 90% 30 year olds or older....

I don’t – too many golfers at a similar level or better than him now. I wouldn’t fancy taking on the South Africans alone over the next 5 or 6 years. They are all very young and amazing players. Not to mention the other batch or European players.

Where are all these young golfers you speak of? Mcilroy is a total one off. Only manassero is in the top 50 with him whos under 25. probably only another 5 guys in the top 50 under 30.

This idea of the young generation coming through is pants....the top 20 is 90% 30 year olds or older....

He was talking about the South African's specifically:

Louise Oosthuizen
    Charl Schwartzel
    Branden Grace

All of whom are young in "Golf" Terms. The phenom of twenty somethings winning tournaments is a relatively new thing barring Tiger 10 years ago!

But they are all younger than Tiger - besides age, they are now as good as him - even the guys up to 37 are as good as him and some above his age. That is real problem.

Tiger is 37 too - he has about 6 years in him. There are 20 pros at his level. Tiger has 24 majors with that 20 pros growing and growing - nobody knew about Grace last year.

ssbob wrote: »
    He was talking about the South African's specifically:

Louise Oosthuizen
    Charl Schwartzel
    Branden Grace

All of whom are young in "Golf" Terms. The phenom of twenty somethings winning tournaments is a relatively new thing barring Tiger 10 years ago!

There is another 15 at that level.

But they are all younger than Tiger - besides age, they are now as good as him - even the guys up to 37 are as good as him and some above his age. That is real problem.

Tiger is 37 too - he has about 6 years in him. There are 20 pros at his level. Tiger has 24 majors with that 20 pros growing and growing - nobody knew about Grace last year.

While I agree with your point about Tiger being up against it more now, I disagree that you reckon he only has 6 years left in him. Tiger, like Vijay could still play into his late forties, because he is in physically great condition, there has been no limping(so far) this year that I have noticed and he has taken on some ripper shots.

I mean when you look at it, Tom Watson should have won the Open aged 59 or whatever he was at Turnberry, Tiger's imagination is "part" of what makes him great, you don't lose that with age!

While I agree with your point about Tiger being up against it more now, I disagree that you reckon he only has 6 years left in him. Tiger, like Vijay could still play into his late forties, because he is in physically great condition, there has been no limping(so far) this year that I have noticed and he has taken on some ripper shots.

I mean when you look at it, Tom Watson should have won the Open aged 59 or whatever he was at Turnberry, Tiger's imagination is "part" of what makes him great, you don't lose that with age!

I think he is still swing a bit hard sometimes. And a knee never goes away.
    Sometimes he looks like he is walking odd , I think.

I think he is still swing a bit hard sometimes. And a knee never goes away.
    Sometimes he looks like he is walking odd , I think.

Hopefully as he gets older, he'll get like the rest of us and start adding the 7 wood to the bag etc.......losing 10 yards!

The power shots he hits from rough, all that sort of stuff - can't do that forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I see what you're saying about him being in great shape at present, and he is, but I'd go the other way and doubt that he'll be someone that will continue into his late forties though.

The reasons I'd say that is that he's had a massive list of injuries to date, All these will catch up with him in later years.
    Aside from the injuries, I think he could burn out mentally too.
    He's an intense golfer, probably the most intense golfer ever, he's been like this as a kid, I'd fear this will eventually take a big toll on him.

And then there's the danger (seems to be rumoured) of the getting back with the missus, he slips up one more time and he'll be getting a stinger to the knee caps and face I'd say :D

There is another 15 at that level.

absolute pants, because if they were at that level, they would be 'at that level'.

Trust me, if these guys were good enough, they would be here....I think you might have been watching skys coverage of the sunshine tour last week....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭PGF

There are 20 pros at his level.

Who exactly are these 20 pros? Who won 3 times on tour last year? Who even won twice?

He's a fair bit ahead everyone in the world rankings bar Mcilroy. Lot's of over analysis when it comes to Tiger. His driving is constantly scrutinized despite his statistics being excellent last year.

Jaysus lads - do we need to list the 20 pros who are the major lads on a golf forum - :eek:

I'll start you finish

Donald
    Rose
    Duffner
    Rory :eek:
    Westwood
    Bradley
    Kaymer
    Snedeker
    --
    -

You finish.