Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pro Bowl 2012(The annual lowest posted in weekly thread)

• 27-01-2013 6:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭

Not a game for marking performances but always some fun involved in it and good candid interviews!

It's on SS1&HD1, coverage starts at 23:30!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Justin10

I actually forgot this was even on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Gwan the AFC

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Might watch the first series just to see if they increase their effort after the crap of last year.

It's probably best that I get some sleep this sunday before next Sunday night though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Not started yet, just Train singing a few songs and a few lovely Ladies dancing :P

Wasn't terrible, but football time now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Haha and I got this Monday off and not next Monday. Vince Lombardi had a name for a game for the teams not in NFL/Superbowl game. It was called the ****bowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

JJ Watt, answer to the Texans' WR problems?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

Not a bad start so far.

First snap, AP fumbles the handoff, recovered by the AFC.

Payton throws 3 incomplete (including one on 3rd down to JJ Watt lining up at WR :P

Then they went for it on 4th down and hit AJ Green at the back of the endzone with a nice throw.

7-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Lucky this games doesn't matter with the loss of picture!

Even the feed from Hawaii doesn't give a **** about the probowl.

Wonder how much Watt has canvassed all week for that!

I miss that the hall of fame inductees are at the probowl after been elected to the hall. A question for the AF forum ? How long before the probowl is scraped ?

Good stuff so far, im enjoying seeing so many class players on the one field.

Decent pace, and a TD for my Buc, VJax!

7-7

Wouldnt be surprised if JJ did that on purpose haha

JJ has damaged his paw and makes sure RGI knows about it.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I miss that the hall of fame inductees are at the probowl after been elected to the hall. A question for the AF forum ? How long before the probowl is scraped ?
    After tonight if Godell has his way!

Looked f-ing nasty tho :P

Having Al and Chris doing this is def saving it a bit for me!

Gas to see top players playing ST :P

Doug Martin going for the punt block! :P

kmart6 wrote: »
    Having Al and Chris doing this is def saving it a bit for me!

I'm sure Al and chris would prefer to be NOLA this week though as nice as Hawaii is.

Great stuff, Jeff Saturday went over to the AFC team, and took one last career snap to Payton.

Really touching moment.

Nice touch with Manning and Saturday there!

Saturday to Manning for one last time was a pretty awesome touch in all honesty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Great stuff, Jeff Saturday went over to the AFC team, and took one last career snap to Payton.

Really touching moment.

Nice to see a few completions to Wayne too.

Awful first throw by Eli :P

Well short on a wide open VJax

INT Eli, Touchdown AFC. Derek Johnson.

17-14 AFC. Cruuuuuuuuuuz.

Hilarious by Ed!

"Yes there are Penalties in the ProBowl" :P

good man Ed :P

I think Eli forgot which team was in the NFC. This guy.

31-14 HT. Enjoyable, and great personally to see the Bucs players out there playing with the best.

AFC have had no ball though. 33 total yards in the 1st half to 330+ :P

38-14

Russell Wilson with some sweet moves out of the pocket and a TD for Doug Martin. Both Bucs on the board tonight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

nfc are kickin the tar outta these lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

This is worse than the railway cup in GAA. Biggest bit of excitement was the redskins dude getting bottled in the nightclub Friday night.

ah its a nice little mess around, i like it

The interviews while play is ongoing pisses me off something fierce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Forgot this game was on - did I miss much :p

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    Forgot this game was on - did I miss much :p

Nope. Not even remotely.

watt vs jpp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

I watched the Royal Rumble instead, as i always do. It was pretty crap. I stand by my decision regardless.

Says it all that the standout moment would probably have been Manning taking one last snap from Saturday as opposed to about one and a half thousand total points. God only knows what the over/under was in this match, 90 points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

I was reading this article about alternatives to the Pro Bowl:

http://nfl-ireland.com/nfl/4064-alternatives-to-the-pro-bowl

I like the idea of a "Rookie Bowl" or maybe a "Rising Stars Bowl" where the best 1st and 2nd year players play in an AFC vs NFC game. The NBA has something similar and it seems to work out well. You have a chance for new players who may be finding it difficult to get snaps to show coaches what they're worth. You can still have voting for a "Pro Bowl" but without the players actually playing the game. The only drawback to a "Rising Stars Bowl" is that you wouldn't have as many big names but you would have more competition and the players would take it more seriously.

This game was never and shouldn't be competitive, it's a reward, players don't want to be busting themselves. I jnow its not the best tv, but I watched the 1st quarter and that was competitive enough. Major problem is the pass rush, most of them don't want to touch the QB and who is to blame them.

If the players want it then it should be played, I would have a bigger problem with players pulling out.

Like Manning said the reward is seeing LT talking Peterson or Ray Lewis to Willis.
    If the problem bowl goes these discussions don't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

spiralism wrote: »
    I watched the Royal Rumble instead, as i always do. It was pretty crap. I stand by my decision regardless.

Never been the same since Stone Cold retired. :(

Back on topic, was working last night so will catch the Pro Bowl highlights later. Never ever bothered me that guys often take it easy. In fact, for me, that was often the most entertaining think about it. Seeing guys that would normally decapitate each other during the season, having a bit of craic during the Pro Bowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭Guffy

spiralism wrote: »
    I . God only knows what the over/under was in this match, 90 points?

80 and AFC were slight favourites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Just watched the highlights.

#His name is, Ruusssellllll

#Last name, Willllsoonnnnnn

Rochey18 wrote: »
    This game was never and shouldn't be competitive, it's a reward, players don't want to be busting themselves. I jnow its not the best tv, but I watched the 1st quarter and that was competitive enough. Major problem is the pass rush, most of them don't want to touch the QB and who is to blame them.
    Blitzing is illegal in the PB

Ye blitzing is, but I didn't say blitzing, I said pass rush.
    You are allowed to hit the QB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

A complete and utter waste of time that should be scrapped. What a load of **** this game is every year.

Paully D wrote: »
    A complete and utter waste of time that should be scrapped. What a load of **** this game is every year.
    Why is it a waste of time though if the players enjoy it? The game is for them

Paully D wrote: »

The baseball version is a legit competition though. For some reason that works. I think the timing of it doesn't help. Before the SB, after the playoffs, when nobody gives a sh!t. Maybe as a preseason game it would add some vim to the occasion?