Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What words or phrases did you make up that people have started using?

• 27-01-2013 1:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭

What words or phrases did you make up that people have started using?

Isn't it a weird phenomenon?

Truth is, we prolly didn't make up these phrases. But did you ever get the feeling that it was YOU who first coined a phrase that caught on?

Obviously, when you post, some else will prolly say "rubbish, i heard that when I was 2".

But , thats not the issue. The issue is, when you heard somebody else use a phrase, and you have to scratch your head and ask yourself if YOU are responsible for its invention.

I definitely made up the phrase 'shamer', referring to an embarrassing situation. And, having read it elsewhere this evening, I was reminded that i made up 'ledgebag'. ....(apologies).

Are there any phrases you feel you made up? Does everyone feel this?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

"Ahhh heor leave it out!"

then some aul one went viral with it, feckin biddy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

Bint

Mixture between a bitch and a cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

I'm pretty sure a mate of mine invented "give it socks!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Also:

"In before the lock"

"Thinly veilled"

"Mod Edit"

"TL:DR"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭hedzball

Hersheys wrote: »
    Bint

Mixture between a bitch and a cnut

ah ya didn't thou...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

hedzball wrote: »

ah ya didn't thou...
    Well I don't recall hearing it anywhere before I started using it about 10 years ago & I was the first of my friends to ever use it so I'm claiming it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Leaving Cert Student

A prejack (sticky/awkward situation)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

A prejack (sticky/awkward situation)

Post-jack is more sticky and awkward, no?

Not me but my brother. Tried to say skanger and slag at the same time and said "skag" instead. Stuck with us, but it seems it is a proper word anyway. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Beaty chokey.

For a definition look up David Carradine and Michael Hutchence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

"cunt" It's basically just the word **** but with an italic "u".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

Well I don't recall hearing it anywhere before I started using it about 10 years ago & I was the first of my friends to ever use it so I'm claiming it :)

Did you ever see Monty Python and the Holy Grail? It was used in that. It's been used in Scotland for decades too.
    Beaty chokey.

For a definition look up David Carradine and Michael Hutchence.

I swear I came up with stranglewank to describe that sort of situation. Could be wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

"Denting me buzz", for when your buzz isn't wrecked but you feel that something is about to happen that, unless dealt with, would proceed to wreck ones buzz

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Tired of certain people using the terms "pc brigade", "bleeding heart liberals", "leftists" etc, etc I started to call them "right wits". I also, jokingly, used to call myself a "leftopian" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

I invented 'prolly' for probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

The

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭nua domhan

I invented Slove when telling the girlfriend Love wasn't enough.

Slove = Super Love.

there's at least 2 of us using it now.

I'm gonna go wrestle a bear to S-recover some man points now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Asphixiwank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Jacob T

I invented the smiley d: - D

Just there

Its a happy fella with a cap on (represented by the letter d) turn your phone or laptop 90 degrees clockwise for adequate viewing

One i'm fairly sure I came up with by chance is quite offensive. I know this is AH but I don't want to piss off an entire demographic with five letters. It's not racist or homophobic though, yes I'm aware that I'm virtually doing that 'I've a secret but I can't tell' thing and am therefore a cúnt:o So allow me to make it up to you with another one, one that is now legendary in the area of its origins. This is the story of 'Good man lads'.

In my hometown which is in the countryside, a common form of greeting amongst familiars is 'Well', as in 'Well Bob, your name is a palindrome!' A similar unorthodox greeting albeit from man to man is 'Good man', whether he is a good man or not is completely irrelevant, as in 'Good man Clive, are you off the sex offenders register yet?'

So, one day in the distant-enough past, me and my friend Andy were in his sitting room watching a football match on tv. Amongst us elders were Andy's younger brother and his friends. I got a call from a mate, let's call him Steve, to see where we were, he was doing the rounds and was going to call up. Now Steve is a bit of a character in the area and beyond, and not by choice. I am full sure there will be a book about him and his -isms some day, he has touched many peoples' lives!

Anyway, up to the house he came. Football isn't his thing and besides that the room was a bit crowded and stuffy, so me and Andy said we'd go outside to meet him. But just as we were about to leave the room, there was a goal in the match. Between air-punching and watching the replay we forgot about Steve and into the room he came. Everyone looked in his direction, the young lads in the room knew him and all said 'Well Steve' and the like, he simply looked around a bit confused and said quite nobley 'Good man lads', I broke my shíte laughing, as did all in the room. When we left the young lads had tears rolling down their cheeks.

Me and Andy had to explain to him going up the road why everyone was laughing,which is part of the reason it is quite funny. The man doesn't set out to say these things and if he told a joke, it would not be funny and quite possibly mixed up with 5 other jokes. Within weeks I saw boyracers going around the town with a banner saying 'Good man lads' on the top of the windscreen where it would usually say 'no fear' or some other shíte. It has worked its way naturally into every day speech amongst at least 100 people. In fairness, it is quite a useful greeting. That's my way-too-long contribution.

TL:DR 'Good man lads' For those times when greeting everyone in a room individually is a) too much hassle and/or b) when you can't remember everyone's name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Snot-rag.

I was convinced for years I made this up when I was a young lad.

Pulling an Oates... when you walk home in rain/rough night/long distance.

derives from the famous captain Oates who walked into a blizzard accepting death, announcing to his colleagues "I'm just going outside and may be some time."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Have heard it used in a film from 1968, so there :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Making bits of her or sawing her in half.............

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

For a while (possibly still so in some enlightened circles)in late 80's castlebar, head bangers of that era, you know the ones with the mullet, pathetic tash, badge covered denim jacket with the cut off sleeves were referred to as "*Lemmies" thanks to me.

*Lemmy -Lead singer with Motorhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

out of curiosity did the "blast em with piss" phrase originate from AH and who
    was the first user to use it here ?

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭s8n

I coined the phrases shamer and ledgebag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Karsini wrote: »
    Not me but my brother. Tried to say skanger and slag at the same time and said "skag" instead. Stuck with us, but it seems it is a proper word anyway. :pac:

That's used in some parts of the west to describe the post-ecstasy comedown

Edit: Ecstasy the drug I mean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

My uncle used to claim he coined the phrase "Keep her lit"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I didn't invent/create them I'm sure, but I've (I feel) been influential in bringing them into popular use over the last 5 years.

1. Jessie.
    As in, don't be a Jessie, or your such a Jessie (wimp/whinge/moany-hole)

2. Shut your cakehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

Ston it.
    It means to bags the end of someting.
    Someone lites up a smoke. You shout 'ston the smoke' and they HAVE to leave you the end of it.
    Used to also work for cans and food!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

A traveller fellow I knew used to say 'i'll bate ya up and down in 5 minutes'. Meaning he'll beat you up.

He wasnt the brightest of lads.

Should one fail to disclose information of an obviously relevant and interesting nature, one is considered to be dextering. Derives from the hit tv show "Dexter" about a man who moonlights as a serial killer.

Eg. James, you never mentioned you got fingers up Stacy... Quit Dextering and tell us the whole story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

I salute you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The question mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Karsini wrote: »

Mel Gibson invented that word in Mad Max....cira 1979

Two more gems...

ThunderCunt: An absolute dickhead.
    and
    Fagsmith: One who's expertise is in the field of ******ness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Odats

When I was working in Haiti in 2011 we had a phrase for certain nympho expat NGO female workers. She's partial to a bit of Clonakilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭IdidIt

The word - tonze

Person without intelligence or social grace. They start talking and your eyes glaze over because everything they say is bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Jersey Crikes instead of Jesus Christ. I made it up so as not to offend holy joes and use it regularly. I've never heard anyone else use it but ya never know, it might catch on but probably not buy ya never know maybe but unlikely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

"Do a Christopher Reeve"

As in "you'd want to get off that horse before you do a Christopher Reeve "

as in; stop trying to claim the moral high ground and stop being a **** :D

Edit: It's entirely possible someone else has said this before me, but I never heard it.

Seaneh wrote: »
    "Do a Christopher Reeves"

As in "you'd want to get off that horse before you do a Christopher Reeves "

as in; stop trying to claim the moral high ground and stop being a **** :D

Edit: It's entirely possible someone else has said this before me, but I never heard it.

When did christopher Reeves do that :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

stankratz wrote: »
    One i'm fairly sure I came up with by chance is quite offensive. I know this is AH but I don't want to piss off an entire demographic with five letters. It's not racist or homophobic though, yes I'm aware that I'm virtually doing that 'I've a secret but I can't tell' thing and am therefore a cúnt:o So allow me to make it up to you with another one, one that is now legendary in the area of its origins. This is the story of 'Good man lads'.

In my hometown which is in the countryside, a common form of greeting amongst familiars is 'Well', as in 'Well Bob, your name is a palindrome!' A similar unorthodox greeting albeit from man to man is 'Good man', whether he is a good man or not is completely irrelevant, as in 'Good man Clive, are you off the sex offenders register yet?'

So, one day in the distant-enough past, me and my friend Andy were in his sitting room watching a football match on tv. Amongst us elders were Andy's younger brother and his friends. I got a call from a mate, let's call him Steve, to see where we were, he was doing the rounds and was going to call up. Now Steve is a bit of a character in the area and beyond, and not by choice. I am full sure there will be a book about him and his -isms some day, he has touched many peoples' lives!

Anyway, up to the house he came. Football isn't his thing and besides that the room was a bit crowded and stuffy, so me and Andy said we'd go outside to meet him. But just as we were about to leave the room, there was a goal in the match. Between air-punching and watching the replay we forgot about Steve and into the room he came. Everyone looked in his direction, the young lads in the room knew him and all said 'Well Steve' and the like, he simply looked around a bit confused and said quite nobley 'Good man lads', I broke my shíte laughing, as did all in the room. When we left the young lads had tears rolling down their cheeks.

Me and Andy had to explain to him going up the road why everyone was laughing,which is part of the reason it is quite funny. The man doesn't set out to say these things and if he told a joke, it would not be funny and quite possibly mixed up with 5 other jokes. Within weeks I saw boyracers going around the town with a banner saying 'Good man lads' on the top of the windscreen where it would usually say 'no fear' or some other shíte. It has worked its way naturally into every day speech amongst at least 100 people. In fairness, it is quite a useful greeting. That's my way-too-long contribution.

TL:DR 'Good man lads' For those times when greeting everyone in a room individually is a) too much hassle and/or b) when you can't remember everyone's name.

Jaysus

Too Long DID READ
    BOR-FCUJKING

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

amdublin wrote: »

When did christopher Reeve do that :confused:

Reeve. Not reeves. No idea why i added the s.

May 27th 1995 btw.

Seaneh wrote: »
    Reeve. Not reeves. No idea why i added the s.

May 27th 1995 btw.

I mean when did he claim the higher moral ground and be a ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Larkin00

Red Hot

I didn't make it up but I got most people around me saying it on a daily basis.

It is generally used to describe a dodgey situation, place, person etc. In fact it has evolved to mean anything that isn't 100% ok.

Example:
    "This place is red hot, we should get out of here"
    "The head on your man", "I know, he's red hot"

And so on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

When, invisible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭PinkFly

Snicicles

For when it's Baltic out, so cold infact your snots have turned into icicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭To Alcohol

She'd get it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Tiddint.

Its the space between your balls and arse.

Tiddint your balls and tiddint your arse.

Oh yeah,i also coined the phrase "me tits are withered" (meaning one is rather fed up)