Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playa Del Ingles

• 26-01-2013 12:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48

Anyone been there before? Going in the summer on lads holiday, does anyone know how far the Corona Aroja apartments are from the Guinea ones??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Have you tried AA routefinder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Google maps is an option too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

Wrong forum but fwiw i was about 12 years ago and didnt like the place. Hopefully its changed.....and with more than two toilets to approx 2000 people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Huh? English What? Guinea is in Africa somewhere i last heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭wazzer1

Went when i was alot younger, went a boy, came home a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Cornetto wrote: »
    does anyone know how far the Corona Aroja apartments are from the Guinea ones??

Yes, loads of people. Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

wazzer1 wrote: »

Really?

I went out a man & came home an Alcoholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Cornetto

I can't get Guinea apartamentas on route finder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Have you tried As The Crow Flies app on your phone?

Yeah I know!

Im feeling generous so Il tell ya what I did.

Open up 2 new tabs, in each seperate tab go to Google and put in either apartment.

Click on the map and compare distances.

Simple.

10 minute drive, 25 minute walk.

Yeah I know!

Im feeling generous so Il tell ya what I did.

Open up 2 new tabs, in each seperate tab go to Google and put in either apartment.

Click on the map and compare distances.

Simple.

10 minute drive, 25 minute walk.
    Thanks a million, very difficult to do on my phone which doesn't seem t like maps!

No problem horse!

Have a great holiday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Thanks a million, very difficult to do on my phone which doesn't seem t like maps!

But, Guinea is still in Africa?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Wow, how long did you go for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Fúck you must be loaded, I don't know anyone who can go on holidays and stay away for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

The Corona Roja is a kip.

I stayed there on my leaving cert holiday. It also featured in ITV Club Reps and on Sky's Brainiac, they conducted experiments to see how dirty the average holiday apartment was. It was dirty, mad stuff growing under the mattress and in the sinks.

hardCopy wrote: »

I stayed there on my leaving cert holiday. It also featured in ITV Club Reps and on Sky's Brainiac, they conducted experiments to see how dirty the average holiday apartment was. It was dirty, mad stuff growing under the mattress and in the sinks.
    Ah it'll do for 9 days, a place to leave my bags and sleep for a few hours, and its cheap enough that I'm hardly expecting anything great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Spindle

hardCopy wrote: »

Leaving cert holiday what the feck is that about??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭wishmaster200

was there b4 its kinda a ****hole head down to the nude beach(maspalmas) plenty of sexy naked chicks there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Have fun bring plenty off money very expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Can I come OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

If Billy's allowed go I should be allowed go. It isn't fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

We'll be good OP, promise.

I've a big rod, ill help with the chicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Spindle wrote: »

It's for posh rich kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Have been to tenerife and gran caneria, the resorts are nasty ****holes full of awful people

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Gauss

I hate Spain, much prefer Italy for a holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Kilmuckridge is nice, though a bit parky at this time of year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Have you considered just staying in your bedroom and cocooning yourself in duct tape?

Spindle wrote: »

The Leaving Cert is an exam taken by most Irish kids at the end of their second level education.

In Celtic Tiger times kids used to go to sunny shores, get ****faced and ruin our countries reputation for a week or two to celebrate storing the exam (the important thing was to go before your results so you wouldn't know if you had failed).

Good Times.

fullstop wrote: »

It's for posh rich kids.

Not in Playa De Finglés

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

It's a kip.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Gauss wrote: »
    I hate Spain, much prefer Italy for a holiday.

You're just going to the wrong parts of spain.

Pretend everything south of Madrid and east of Zaragoza doesn't exist and Spain is lovely.

The East coast is a ****ing **** hole though.

As are the resorts in the Islands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

Have been to tenerife and gran caneria, the resorts are nasty ****holes full of awful people

I been to tenerife too and yeah there can be some god awful spots especially the main strips where the kids drink but there are the adult areas where couples/families/older groups can go for bite to eat, drink, listen to music etc. and in general have a great time. Thinkn of heading to lanzarote this year and ill be avoiding the main strip like the plague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Non-AH answer: about 600 metres.

AH answer: you and your mates will probably be happier in the Yumbo Centre.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Been to Playa de Ingles loads of times. Its fairly kippy but grand for a lads holiday. You'll be sick of peach snaps when you get back though. Little tip: Dont buy water in clubs, even at buy one get one free. You would get about 10 bottles for the same price in a shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

bnt wrote: »

I went to the Yumbo centre, it is a kippy shopping centre / club area with many homosexuals performing sex acts on eachother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I went to the Yumbo centre, it is a kippy shopping centre / club area with many homosexuals performing sex acts on eachother.

Oh, Fabulous! ;)

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

bnt wrote: »

Good one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

Playa del Ingles is the worst hole Ive ever been in and Im from the midlands.

A lot of ye don't like Playa Del Ingles, it'll be grand for my leaving cert holiday, were not looking to go for a luxury sightseeing trip or anything!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

A lot of ye don't like Playa Del Ingles, it'll be grand for my leaving cert holiday, were not looking to go for a luxury sightseeing trip or anything!

Playa Del Ingles means "English beach" in spanish, and it lives up to it's name.

It's pretty much brighton off the coast of Africa.

It's full of pissed up British and Irish 18-30 year olds getting off their faces and puking everywhere/generally being dickheads.

If that's what you're after, you'll love it.

Don't expect it to be cheap though, the price of beer over there isn't much cheaper than over here, they know they can charge what they want and the pissed up paddies and poms will pay it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Playa Des Las Americas England Tenerife ?

"Owight mate you wanna go to twamps ?" "You Buy ! You Buy!" not to mention the west african prostitutes blending in with the night foliage. The resort should either ban english people and introduce apartheid or be blown out of existence. Kip.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Good place for a piss up,that's about it.Dont go with less than a grand though,fiercly expensive hole.Crazy golf at 5 in the morning dodging people having sex on the course is always a good laugh.

Also,if you're look as young as I think after doing your leaving cert,chances are you lot will be a target for getting the heads punched off you over there.The place doesn't attract the nicest people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

Ah, happy memories of four days there; which is strange considering we went for two weeks.

Is the randy Leprechaun pub still open in the Irish centre, some great nights spent there. Enjoy it OP, fill the room fridge with loads of beer and some water. Look after each other and...ah fcuk it....ride yourself stupid; you'll have some great stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Wow, how long did you go for?
    He was gone about 30 seconds.
    antodeco wrote: »
    Little tip: Dont buy water in clubs, even at buy one get one free. You would get about 10 bottles for the same price in a shop.
    Same could be said about any nightclub any where else in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

****hole,I believe only one bar is open in the Irish centre,rest all closed down,ghost town I believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 The king of bitches

It is just a place that skangers go on holidays to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

op i went to playa del inglés about 12 years ago after my leaving cert, was a good spot for young people, good craic an all.
    Went back to Gran Canaria last year to a much quieter spot at Meloneras with the girlfriend, we took a taxi trip over to Play Del Ingles and all i can say is the place has gone downhill! it's a complete dump now with lots of places closed and very little nightlife!
    If you didn't book anywhere yet i'd probably hit Ibiza instead, gorgeous Island that has the madness as well but still has class to the place.

It is just a place that skangers go on holidays to.
    Thanks, appreciate that

KilOit wrote: »
    op i went to playa del inglés about 12 years ago after my leaving cert, was a good spot for young people, good craic an all.
    Went back to Gran Canaria last year to a much quieter spot at Meloneras with the girlfriend, we took a taxi trip over to Play Del Ingles and all i can say is the place has gone downhill! it's a complete dump now with lots of places closed and very little nightlife!
    If you didn't book anywhere yet i'd probably hit Ibiza instead, gorgeous Island that has the madness as well but still has class to the place.
    I've heard Ibiza is too expensive though, compared to Playa Del Ingles? And I've heard of a place called Kasbah and Point that are meant to be good, It's only the Irish centre run down?