Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda fatally wounded near Dundalk

• 25-01-2013 10:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭

Sky news reporting that a Garda has been fatally wounded tonight http://news.sky.com/story/1043114/irish-police-detective-shot-dead-in-dundalk

RIP. Thoughts with the family & colleagues

Certain news outlets naming the garda already which is pretty unacceptable at this stage. Let his family & colleagues find out not through twitter ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

RIP.

Just goes to show the dangers faced by all Gardai. My thoughts are with his family and his colleagues.

This is absolutely despicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

R.I.P.

thoughts with family, friends and colleagues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭RangeR

RIP

The country is a little less safe tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Shoutcast Ireland

RIP Terrible thing to happen while some one is working.

breaking news report
    A Garda detective has been shot dead tonight during a botched hold-up in Dundalk, Co Louth.

The Garda officer in his 40s was among colleagues who were escorting a cash delivery to a credit union in Dundalk, Co Louth.

Several shots were fired during the incident at the Lordship Credit Union, on the Cooley Road in the town at around 9.30pm.

It is believed the force is now hunting four men in a grey Volkswagen Passat which fled the scene.

The officer, who was based at Dundalk Garda station, was fatally injured in the shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Trhiggy83

RIP

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Shocking news, RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

RIP, there's another family destroyed tonight. this man was just doing his job which is not one i envy. And these SCUM just snuff him out as if it were nothing. Is it me or has the level of crime and violence really escalated. old people are being beaten up and robbed in their homes, gardai being killed, sorry murdered on duty.
    Its time to end the soft ride criminals and multiple repeat offenders get in this country. Enough of the hand wringing and broken home PC crap. Its time to punish criminals and I mean really punish. :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Something that all Gardai can genuinely fear each time they go to work. And just another statistic to the Government.

RIP

Somebody killed a Garda today and
    A part of Ireland died
    A piece of our country he swore to protect
    Will be buried with him at his side

The suspect who shot him will stand up in court,
    With counsel demanding his rights
    While a young widowed mother must work for her kids,
    and spend many long, lonely nights

The beat that he walked was a battlefield too
    Just as if he'd gone off to war
    Though the flag of our nation won't fly at half mast,
    To his name they will add a gold star

Yes, somebody killed a Garda today,
    In your town or mine
    While we slept in comfort behind our locked doors,
    A Garda put his life on the line

Now his ghost walks a beat on a dark city street,
    And he stands at each new rookies side
    He answered the call, of himself gave his all
    And a part of Ireland died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

The sad thing is, I have already heard people saying, "See, if he didn't have a gun he wouldn't have got shot."

A serious look needs to be taken at what we are facing. We don't live in 50s Ireland anymore.
    He was doing a thankless job. I would like to say this is the last we will see of this, but it just wouldn't be true.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing."

I just hope those f**kers are caught. :mad:

R.I.P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

RIP.
    Condolences to any family he may have had and to those who worked with him or knew him.

Senseless, pointless and stupid. I hope they catch the people responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Topper7

Shocking! R.I.P.

swiftblade wrote: »
    The sad thing is, I have already heard people saying, "See, if he didn't have a gun he wouldn't have got shot."

A serious look needs to be taken at what we are facing. We don't live in 50s Ireland anymore.
    He was doing a thankless job. I would like to say this is the last we will see of this, but it just wouldn't be true.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing."

I just hope those f**kers are caught. :mad:

R.I.P
    Reports are that two of them were caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

RIP words cannot express my deepest sympathy to his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

RangeR wrote: »

Was this online?

Good news if true.

RangeR wrote: »
    And may they rot in the deepest hole that the members can find. ****ing scum **** wanker ****s!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

I would like to say that it's good news, but once again we will be let down and insulted by the courts.

foxinsox wrote: »

Was this online?

Good news if true.
    Twitter. Everything is unofficial until tomorrow, I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

"If you strike me down I will become more powerful than you can possibly imagine"

Police-legacy-ribbon4.jpg

RIP Brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

ThinBlueLine.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭jsd1004

swiftblade wrote: »
    I would like to say that it's good news, but once again we will be let down and insulted by the courts.

Like a confessed rapist walking out of court and a guy who whacks a girl on the arse getting 8 months jail this shows how this fine country works, we laugh at the autonomous people in Dubai for jailing people for having sex in a taxi. They must have a right laugh at us

Terrible news. The judicial system needs to come crushing down on these four men.

I'm livid having heard this news. Utter dirtbags of the lowest order. Scum.

I sincerely hope that the family of the Garda will see justice served, swiftly and heftily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

RIP.

And i hope the scum who did this are caught and given life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

My sincerest and deepest condolances to his family and friends.

May he rest in peace

"The Final Inspection"

The policeman stood and faced his God,
    Which must always come to pass.
    He hoped his shoes were shining.
    ... Just as brightly as his brass.

"Step forward now, policeman.
    How shall I deal with you?
    Have you always turned the other cheek?
    To My church have you been true?"

The policeman squared his shoulders and said,
    "No, Lord, I guess I ain't,
    Because those of us who carry badges
    can't always be a saint.

I've had to work most Sundays,
    and at times my talk was rough,
    and sometimes I've been violent,
    Because the streets are awfully tough.

But I never took a penny,
    That wasn't mine to keep....
    Though I worked a lot of overtime
    When the bills got just too steep.

And I never passed a cry for help,
    Though at times I shook with fear.
    And sometimes, God forgive me,
    I've wept unmanly tears.

I know I don't deserve a place
    Among the people here.
    They never wanted me around
    Except to calm their fear.

If you've a place for me here,
    Lord, It needn't be so grand.
    I never expected or had too much,
    But if you don't.....I'll understand.

There was silence all around the throne
    Where the saints had often trod.
    As the policeman waited quietly,
    For the judgment of his God.

"Step forward now, policeman,
    You've borne your burdens well.
    Come walk a beat on Heaven's streets,
    You've done your time in hell."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

i cant think what to say to convey the sadness and anger i feel at this.
    Time for reevaluation, if we dont protect those who protect us what then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Fcuking scumbags.

R.I.P Detective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭cork2

R.I.P to a real life modern day hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

Just heard the news as I came in the door tonight, incredibly saddened to hear of his murder. Another name to be added to the wall down in Templemore and sadly it won't be the last.

I look forward to life sentences being handed down.

God be with his family and friends, may he rest in peace.

Go ndéana Dia trócaire orthu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

The problem with the wall, is not enough Ministers have visited it recently.

R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Duberlin Chick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Bosh

Knew the man, know his wife.

Died practically within sight of his house.

I don't think I've ever been so angry in my life.

Utter, utter scum.

And the best is yet to come.... just waiting on Shatter and his mealy mouth comments in the morning.

No doubt 'The Gardai have all the necessary resources' and 'no stone left unturned' will feature.

I know it's not the time or place but am just so so angry.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mcko

Bosh wrote: »
    Knew the man, know his wife.

Died practically within sight of his house.

I don't think I've ever been so angry in my life.

Utter, utter scum.

And the best is yet to come.... just waiting on Shatter and his mealy mouth comments in the morning.

No doubt 'The Gardai have all the necessary resources' and 'no stone left unturned' will feature.

I know it's not the time or place but am just so so angry.

RIP.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭pingu2008

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Fuh Q

Very sad... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

RIP to the poor guard & i hope life sentences with no remission for the cowardly lowlife killer/s ..

I tried to post this on AH thread but it got locked..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 adam500

A family destroyed at a simple pull of a trigger. His wife, kids, life time ahead of them, gone in an instant. Doing a job most wouldn't, and to be murdered for it, things must change in Ireland, gangs are growing out of control, Gardai are getting cut left right and centre, our streets are not safe, there is a heighten hostility in the city and the government are not taking things seriously. Ireland is on a bumpy ride and things look to be declining, so sad.

RIP to Garda Adrian O'Donohue, god bless his family, let justice be served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Hill St Blue

RIP. Another good man gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

RIP. Another good man gone.

Rip, I didn't know him but my sympathy to his family and collegues, I'm shocked to hear it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

As a member of the defence forces I know the pain you guys are feeling at the tragic loss of a comrade, and to many a friend.

Thank you all for your service to the community, I hope your friend rests in peace and may God give strength to his family, friends and colleagues.

R.I.P.

Sadly with all the cuts to manpower and resource more and more gardai will be exposed to such situations.

penny pinching and poor government decisions and the predictable statements from our leaders won't bring this good man back to us.

our representative bodies aren't acting swiftly enough for my liking.

ACTON IS OVERDUE

WE NEED TO ACT NOW to protect ourselves and the people of this county.

come on GRA & AGSI
    NO MORE SITTING ON THE FENCE,
    GET PROACTIVE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Rip hero protecting people who take it for granted

fµcking scumbags

unfortunately the surviving garda will be left to account for every second of every action he took, while the shîtbags if brought to justice will have free legal aid and every legal benefit afforded to them, and will no doubt claim that they didn't know he was a Garda.

and knowing our judges, bail will be given and eventually either an acquittal or a lenient sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

When I first heard the news it said 'critically injured' I held some hope. Then the feeds came in that he had lost his life. Then after the last two days in Templemore and looking at the role call, the ultimate price was paid. What everyone aims to keep from happening at any rank and the training provided to deal with it, in them split few seconds, the unthinkable has happened. One has paid there life to the state in the protection of it.

We only talked about our fears , one which we all shared was returning home safely.

I and anyone on the forum could ramble on all night, but its not the time to do so.

Rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

A newly registered troll, perhaps the mods could just delete this irrelevant meaningless post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

And still to this very sad day you have no respect.

You should be ashamed of yourself to mention things like 'karma' in conjuction with a tragedy like this.

Get off this site.

Don't give him what he wants, obvious troll is obvious.

Report the post and lets not feed the troll, fighting with this idiot would be an insult to a good man who gave his life in the service of the state.

RIP, another good man lost to senseless gun violence. The a$sholes responsible for this need to be locked up in solitary confinement for the rest of their lives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

RIP, thoughts are with his family, friends and colleagues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Paddywiggum

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

RIP to a good man who put himself in harms way to protect the more vunerable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Truly saddening news, my condolences to his family and colleagues. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

My deepest sympathies to his family and friends. R.I.P.

• Moderators Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Wise Old Elf

Very upset and angry hearing about this tragedy
    RIP to the garda and condolences to his famiy, friends and colleagues.