Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ferret !

• 24-01-2013 10:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭

got this mad whore this evening from a friend who hunts and breeds them . he is 6 months old male. the bollox have my hands chewed to bits and escaped out the cage twice while i was driving . right anyway any tips on training the devil and handling etc etc .come on lads plenty of info needed and fast :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

charlie10 wrote: »
    got this mad whore this evening from a friend who hunts and breeds them . he is 6 months old male. the bollox have my hands chewed to bits and escaped out the cage twice while i was driving . right anyway any tips on training the devil and handling etc etc .come on lads plenty of info needed and fast :o

Constant handling, the more the better, use gloves to save biting also blowing on their face usually gets them to stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

gloves are needed alright !! i gave him chicken earlier . how much do the whores eat in a day:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

Feed him some dry cat food and some meat and fish its good for them.

they have a fair bite on them!! herself is in love with him but not when he locks on to her:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭flutered

bread mixed with plenty milk, i used to used when i had them, they always lapped it up, also it filled them.

are they less prone to bite when fed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭gripp

flutered wrote: »
    bread mixed with plenty milk, i used to used when i had them, they always lapped it up, also it filled them.
    Bread and milk is a big NO NO there digestive systems are designed to eat meat,bread and milk should be given only as an ocasional treat,at 6 months old it sounds like you may have taken on a ferret that has had little or no handling,regular handling is what is needed from here on in,forget about the gloves,u have to learn to handle your ferret with confidence,

ah it dont bother me that he bites now but if he keeps it up it could be a problem. i am confident with him and not afraid of him he is a nice thing actually and looking forward to doing a bit with him . any more tips or things i should know;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭gripp

ah it dont bother me that he bites now but if he keeps it up it could be a problem. i am confident with him and not afraid of him he is a nice thing actually and looking forward to doing a bit with him . any more tips or things i should know;)
    basics to get u started would be locater and colar,ferreting bar,spade, carrier box and a dozen purse nets,as time goes on you can add to your equipment with long nets gate nets ect,but best not to over complicate things when starting out,stick to the basics until you become acomplished with these

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

dont pull your hand away, loads of handling he sound like he was never picked up. we used to give em bread and milk to knock em back lose weight it runs the guts out of them.. i always gave em dog nuts dry food i mean not actual dogs nuts and cows liver... try put something he might not like to taste on yer hand might turn him off .. but hes only biting out of fear and as soon as he realises hes nothing to fear he'll stop

sound lads was looking at the nets and that on line. looking forward to going back to something i know little about like when i was starting off hunting. any goog place to look on line lads or where do ye buy yer nets and the likes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

i had ferrets for a good few years and then came along Lucifer . When he came out of the box and you were putting him into the hole, he would be all bristled up and making a satanic chattering noise. He killed that quick inside the burrow, that you would only have just about found him with the ferret finder, when he would have move on and killed again in seconds.For every rabbit that I retrived , I believe he killed another 5. I use to be able to put my bare hand down into the burrow and pull out a rabbit that a ferret had a hold of, but not with Lucifer. When he poked his head out of the hole, he never gave you any chance of picking him up, but he would be gone back into the burrow again, and another hour would be wasted. As for trying to get him out of him cage, when you missed him on the first swipe, well a cobra would not be as quick in drawing blood on the second pickup attempt. And got help any dog that was within eye sight when he came out of the burrow and his blood was up.

sound lads was looking at the nets and that on line. looking forward to going back to something i know little about like when i was starting off hunting. any goog place to look on line lads or where do ye buy yer nets and the likes
    paul o hallrohan in drangon tipperrary last time i was there was 90 euro for 90 metres great value for long nets then break em down into gap nets if your going to be ferreting burrows out in the open then a few purse nets will do but if your going to be doing mostly ditches the gap nets a much handier but by far the most important bit of kit is your locator followed by a good spade get a graff\drain shovel if ya can

when u say gap nets snipe? i know long nets and purse what are the other ones and how and where they used

welsummer wrote: »
    i had ferrets for a good few years and then came along Lucifer . When he came out of the box and you were putting him into the hole, he would be all bristled up and making a satanic chattering noise. He killed that quick inside the burrow, that you would only have just about found him with the ferret finder, when he would have move on and killed again in seconds.For every rabbit that I retrived , I believe he killed another 5. I use to be able to put my bare hand down into the burrow and pull out a rabbit that a ferret had a hold of, but not with Lucifer. When he poked his head out of the hole, he never gave you any chance of picking him up, but he would be gone back into the burrow again, and another hour would be wasted. As for trying to get him out of him cage, when you missed him on the first swipe, well a cobra would not be as quick in drawing blood on the second pickup attempt. And got help any dog that was within eye sight when he came out of the burrow and his blood was up.
    i have a very short sharp remedy for the likes of him meself and the uncle were out with one of those boys one day and he went up on his back legs chattering wanting to take on the uncle headcase of a thing he left em kickin think that was the last one we owned im getting a longin for it now talkin about it its some crack when ya get free rabbits

when u say gap nets snipe? i know long nets and purse what are the other ones and how and where they used
    about ten metres long to cross gaps or put then coming out into the field from the ditch the rabbits will break easier with no purse nets and hush em into the gap nets when they bolt there are other ways id say but thats how we used em

i get what ur saying are the nets hard to make ??:confused:

cut down the long net into sections but ya need to leave enough slack in the net for when they hit it put two pegs about 3 ft either side cut down broom handles pointed to go into the ground and a stick to hold up the centre ill text ya a pic of one ya will get the idea its easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,869 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

gripp wrote: »
    Bread and milk is a big NO NO there digestive systems are designed to eat meat,bread and milk should be given only as an ocasional treat,at 6 months old it sounds like you may have taken on a ferret that has had little or no handling,regular handling is what is needed from here on in,forget about the gloves,u have to learn to handle your ferret with confidence,

Thats interesting - they must be like hedgehogs so cos your advised to stay clear of bread and milk as it swells inside them and can block the gut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Ah the oul biters ha don't miss them days
    When I got mine as kits when they bit me I'd spray them with water does stop them also another method is when he locks on and let's go pinch back of his neck and drag him on the floor. The mother does this to her kits when they misbehave and it's proven to work
    He's only 6 months so still young also he is old enough to hunt aswell sometimes it'll come instinct but I'd get a rabbit or two and drag it on the ground nd put it in a hole or open ground then get put the ferret down and let him smell the ground and he'll follow the trail and when he bites the rabbit after finding it let him keep at it an pull it away to imitate it struggling prey
    All my ferrets went through this and are great hunters 1 is a killer though but will bolt big bucks
    Try it should be fine

Should've added as regards to nets that there is a fella on donedeal that sells long nets and purse nets
    Just tell him what you want and he'll make them
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/smallfuries/3964752

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

Ro stop him biting smear ur hands with vinegar r the likes and put it to him do ghis for a wile n it will soon stop biting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 5t3vie

To stop the biting scruff the back of there necks and give him a good shake that will stop him biting after a few times it will realise ur the boss if it gets a good hold make a spitting sound near em and it will let go works every time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 freem

I used to to offer the knuckle of my forefinger, "if", but more likely "when" the ferret latches on... push your knuckle into its mouth, normally doesn't need much pressure before it will try to spit you out. I used to find it worked fairly quickly even on stubborn brutes

I wouldn't try offensive scents or solutions on my hands either ... you want the ferret used to your scent - if you are reaching into a bury the last thing you want is your ferret taking a chunk out of you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭REBEL COUNTY1

Is releasing a ferret into the wild ( in an area overrun with rabbits) an acceptable way to cull the rabbit population or is it allowed/ would the ferret survive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭mauser77

Is releasing a ferret into the wild ( in an area overrun with rabbits) an acceptable way to cull the rabbit population or is it allowed/ would the ferret survive?

This is a big no no for one thing who's to tell the ferret to only kill rabbits he would reek havoc on everything he cud just don't go there. Found a ferret while out with our own one day netting up the holes an out he comes half starving covered in ticks an wud eat the hands off ya brought him home but he was a hoor for lying up underground prob why he git left behind had no collor on him

mauser77 wrote: »
    This is a big no no for one thing who's to tell the ferret to only kill rabbits he would reek havoc on everything he cud just don't go there. Found a ferret while out with our own one day netting up the holes an out he comes half starving covered in ticks an wud eat the hands off ya brought him home but he was a hoor for lying up underground prob why he git left behind had no collor on him

Thanks, thats a no go so. Out of interest though when you say they'd reek havoc on everything he could, what else would they go after bar rats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Thanks, thats a no go so. Out of interest though when you say they'd reek havoc on everything he could, what else would they go after bar rats?

Every ground nesting bird they saw..

garv123 wrote: »

Yup also local farmers wouldn't be too happy. Chickens and ducks would take a hit aswell.
    Doesn't look good on anyone else that does hunt with ferrets.
    This is main reason I don't hunt my ferrets till I get new collar. Can be too easy to lose a ferret and then your left with a loose ferret.

I am farming and rabbits are destroying new reseeds and hillside grazing. Only so many can shoot with the shotgun. Would the difference between a ferret eating rabbits not be the only difference between it and a cat for say (going after nesting birds, rats, mice) ?

I should say my only thinking was that surely a high rabbit population means theres not enough wildlife: fox mink etc in the area so leaving a ferrett loose would be somewhat natural. Having read the comments though in what condition a ferret was found in i presume domesticated bred ferrets are not suited for the wild.

Not entirely. Old saying breed like rabbits. Wild rabbit doe stars breeding at around 6 months and they breed for like 8 or 9 months of the year. So she could have 3 litters a year of 4-10 kits each litter. And then the kits mate at 6 months. Only so much a fox or buzzard etc can eat.
    If you knew of anyone around who hunts rabbits they could try trap a mixxy rabbit and then release it on your land. You should contact a local gun club and they'd only be too happy to help you out.
    And they wouldn't ask for money either so don't worry about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

I'm sure there are plenty of 'rebels' here with .22's or .17's or ferrets with collars and nets that would be delighted to hit the rabbit numbers for you.

<snip> telljng someone to release mixy into an area thats the not just stupid its cruel there are any amount of lads whod happilly help you reduce the rabbits in an appropriate manner

Mod edit: No terms of personal abuse please.

snipe02 wrote: »
    Are you a fuc,kin re,tard telljng someone to release mixy into an area thats the not just stupid its cruel there are any amount of lads whod happilly help you reduce the rabbits in an appropriate manner

He wants them gone. It's his land. Farmers have been doing it for years. I also suggested to ask a local gun club.
    I agree with you it is cruel but he is a farmer and they are wreaking havoc.

dicky82 wrote: »
    I'm sure there are plenty of 'rebels' here with .22's or .17's or ferrets with collars and nets that would be delighted to hit the rabbit numbers for you.

I have no problem local lads shooting pheasants or anything on my land but id be slow to give permission (worse again invite) a stranger onto my land esp with guns, i believe you could be inviting a trip to court and payouts

Op maybe you should start up a new thread asking for help. There are a few lads on this that are from your area ( assuming your a cork rebel) that would probably dedicate a day or two to helping you out. I'm sure they prob get a few lads with them to help. Everyone loves bunny bashing.

I have no problem local lads shooting pheasants or anything on my land but id be slow to give permission (worse again invite) a stranger onto my land esp with guns, i believe you could be inviting a trip to court and payouts

What about asking lads on this, meet up with them, cup of tea or whatever, check they have insurance and licence and walk out with them.
    No one acts the maggot nowadays with new hunting land as its getting harder to get nowadays.
    As I said op start new thread asking for help in cork area and your pm inbox will be full. :)

He wants them gone. It's his land. Farmers have been doing it for years. I also suggested to ask a local gun club.
    I agree with you it is cruel but he is a farmer and they are wreaking havoc.
    well your a hunter and should have more respect for your quarry than to be advocating the spreading of miximotosis its done but we dont need to be selling the idea on here apolagies forthe name calling childish on my part

Id gladly pick off a few bunnies for you rebel Im from cork and have insurance . And you won't be getting a trip to court like you said! Just an offer

Surprised by this reply. Most lads will have insurance and could supply references from other farms at which they shoot/ferret. Or better still ask other farmers if they have lads they could recommend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭mr lee

got a ferret meself last week,grand one,he put his teeth on me twice but never bit down,i had him out twice,down loads of burrows but no rabbits bolted,there is definetly rabbits there,when the ferret is in the burrow does it have to attack the rabbit before they bolt or will the presence of the ferret make them bolt.

HOw old is your ferret

he's young but the man i got him off said he's ready for hunting,maybe he's still a bit young

some buck rabbits will stand their ground against a ferret. some doe rabbits wont leave a nest of young. the other point worth mentioning is that some burrows/warrens are huge. and one lone ferret might have a job flushing rabbits. i would always send two in and sometimes four if its a big warren. this has its own inherent problems too though. the last thing worth a mention is that although there are signs that there are rabbits the might not actually be any rabbits there. i would be more concerned if your ferret was showning no interest in hunting.

He should bolt or kill them providing the warren is not too big otherwise the rabbits could run around all day and he might not catch them try smaller warrens maybe just too
    young....sorry just read above post

i'l get a rabbit and do a bit of training with him,give him a taste for it,i would say the warrens are fairly big alright,makes me think of a scooby doo cartoon with everyone running around after each other,goin around in circles

Has he been around rabbits or tasted it?
    I do put one on the ground and have them pull at it. Give a bit of a pull aswell.

no,he wouldnt have seen one,he's only startin off,i'd say a taste of the raw meat would make him mad for it

mr lee wrote: »
    no,he wouldnt have seen one,he's only startin off,i'd say a taste of the raw meat would make him mad for it

Definitely.
    Don't skin the rabbit either and try give it as fresh as you can when givin it to him. Nothing better than warm blood for a ferret to chomp on. As for bolting I've had ferrets that'll just bolt and i had one that just kill underground. He was really quick.