Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unwritten rules of cycling etiquette

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

No mention of waving?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

They forgot the "cycle as many abreast as possible, instead of the logical, safe, single file" rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

newmug wrote: »
    They forgot the "cycle as many abreast as possible, instead of the logical, safe, single file" rule.

Well don't come running to me if you break both your legs in a terrible bicycle accident because you never bothered to google why cycling two abreast is often the safest option.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

It's safer to cycle 2-3 abreast as it forces cars to obey the ****ing law and not force you into a ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Seaneh wrote: »
    It's safer to cycle 2-3 abreast as it forces cars to obey the ****ing law and not force you into a ditch.

Aye, 3 abreast only when one cyclists is over-taking two (or vice-versa) though, thems the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

The rule of no shorts below 10 degrees is frequently ignored around Dublin. And thats not just commuters in GAA kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

"Unwritten" fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

Laughed a mental image of fella driving to a race in full kit, including helmet.

"If you are driving to the start and it is less than a 45 minute trip, it is ok to wear your bibs under a pair of regular shorts, but not your jersey or your gloves and especially not your helmet."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Amn't I a great fella? Able to read unwritten rules no less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

That'll be the illogical, unsafe, doesn't exist, single file rule.

You're welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Ah heee-orr!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Here's a random question for leg shavers (seeing as it's in the rules). Where exactly do you stop? I'm a pretty average fella hair wise and I thought about shaving the legs once but can't help feel I'll look ridiculous (when nekkid). You can't just stop at the shorts line so have do you all your legs but then that leaves you with a hairy arse etc so do you shave ever upwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

Here's a random question for leg shavers (seeing as it's in the rules). Where exactly do you stop? I'm a pretty average fella hair wise and I thought about shaving the legs once but can't help feel I'll look ridiculous (when nekkid). You can't just stop at the shorts line so have do you all your legs but then that leaves you with a hairy arse etc so do you shave ever upwards?

Ha ha can't help but think of father ted episode where his nickname of father ted fluffy bottom came out , he must of been a cyclist :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

Only shave the bits that get massaged :-o

Or none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

http://www.amazon.co.uk/product-reviews/B000KKNQBK

It's been posted before but in case you missed it, read this before you make a decision.

ashleey wrote: »
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/product-reviews/B000KKNQBK

It's been posted before but in case you missed it, read this before you make a decision.

The problem with the cream version is that by the time it's done its job at hair removal you have no skin left.

The aerosol version is much more effective. Almost disturbingly so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Lumen wrote: »

The problem with the cream version is that by the time it's done its job at hair removal you have no skin left.

The aerosol version is much more effective. Almost disturbingly so.

But it runs out too quickly!

Shave upwards on upper legs = itchy red spots when the hair starts to pierce the skin again. Shave downwards on the upper leg.

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    But it runs out too quickly!

You're doing it wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

You're doing it wrong.

either that or hes a very hairy man.

im never shaving my legs though. pile of pansies. do you lot borrow your birds gelitte venus? :-P

• Site Banned Posts: 8 Feedy

Cyclists need to remain within 12 inches of the kerb otherwise if a car hits them they are in the wrong

Seaneh wrote: »
    do you lot borrow your birds gelitte venus? :-P

Bird? Really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Rofo

Feedy wrote: »
    Cyclists need to remain within 12 inches of the kerb otherwise if a car hits them they are in the wrong

Actual LOL

What day is it again?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Troll this thread again and you'll be the one hitting the kerb.

• Site Banned Posts: 8 Feedy

Learn to obey the rules of the road and cycle with ONE foot if the kerb or you will be getting a tip off a car

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Learn to obey the rules of the road and cycle with ONE foot if the kerb or you will be getting a tip off a car

And so ends Feedy's brief presence on the cycling forum. Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭davidsatelle100

"But under no circumstances should a replica pro team kit or a national/world champion kit be worn unless you’ve earned it"

Lots of lads in BMC gear going to be breaking this one (me included)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

What's a century jersey?

Hungrycol wrote: »
    What's a century jersey?

The US equivalent to those jerseys you get for doing the Sean Kelly Tour.

Isn't threatening behaviour against the rules Vladimir? Even for mods? Even in jest?

You're doing it wrong.

I like a nice even , full coverage of the work area before I'm ready to raze!

@ the mods: Are posts like this reported to the Gardai? This person has made a direct threat of assault to cyclists. They should be identified if possible and details sent to the Gardai for follow up.

Isn't threatening behaviour against the rules Vladimir? Even for mods? Even in jest?

met·a·phor [met-uh-fawr, -fer]
    noun
    a figure of speech in which a term or phrase is applied to something to which it is not literally applicable in order to suggest a resemblance, as in “A mighty fortress is our God.” Compare mixed metaphor, simile ( def 1 ) .
    something used, or regarded as being used, to represent something else; emblem; symbol.

@Lusk Doyle

If you've questions/queries about moderation, could you PM the mods as per the charter and not clutter up the thread with off topic stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

While in the topic of smoothness, anyone ever waxed?

After a winter of growth I can't face into spending an evening shearing my pins of their fluff.
    Thinking of going down the wax route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

ROK ON wrote: »

After a winter of growth I can't face into spending an evening shearing my pins of their fluff.

If your going down the hairless route why not go the whole hog and get permanent laser treatment :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

I asked a lady friend if it was worth my while doing this. She grimaced. I think she was thinking of the cost though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

"But under no circumstances should a replica pro team kit or a national/world champion kit be worn unless you’ve earned it"

Older pro team jerseys are ok though. Especially the pink T-Mobile kit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

I'm intrigued by all this talk of Veet/Waxing etc. I'm a beardy chap but the rest of me is pretty much hairless. :rolleyes:

When I took up cycling I got slagged off right away for going native and shaving my legs, when in fact they had never been near a razor.

Maybe I need hormone therapy?

I got a wax before Christmas for the laugh. If you've got the full growth, it's a good way of dealing with it. Also lasts for ages. Don't gauge it by women's experience though. It took much longer and much more wax and strips to do me than it would the average lady.

I bet you cried instead of laughing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

I self waxed once. Nightmare, agony. As bad as women describe. Mainly because I got a wax strip stuck to my helmet.

Waxed properly too, didn't hurt at all but didn't last as long as I'd expected

tunney wrote: »
    didn't hurt at all but didn't last as long as I'd expected

It's sometimes that way the first time.

I bet you cried instead of laughing?

It wasn't half as painful as I was led to believe actually. Bit of a sting when its ripped off, that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

tunney wrote: »
    Mainly because I got a wax strip stuck to my helmet.
    You probably should have taken off all your cycling gear first :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Flandria

Didn't take long to turn into a helmet thread:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Flandria wrote: »

Except in this helmet conversation there is not two ways about it - a bloke is always better off with a helmet than without

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Flandria wrote: »
    YEA everybody is killing my funny link :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

Real women use epilators. :D

Think of the stinging of a thousand hornets infesting your legs.

Real women use epilators. :D

Think of the stinging of a thousand hornets infesting your legs.

I have one of those. Uncomfortable and takes ages!