Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chain Reaction Cycles

• 22-01-2013 6:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭

This has probably been covered before but was just wondering if anyone had any experience of this crowd as regards purchasing bikes, seems like their prices are pretty good and they have a sale on at the moment.

Little wary about buying an expensive bike online so need some feedback before I commit :D

p.s. this is what I was thinking about http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=74799

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

they are probably the biggest online bike store in the world so no need to worry if they are legit or not, ive spent 1000's with them and never had any problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭mahoo

I've bought lots of bits and pieces from them and never had a problem. i also own a Pinarello FP1 and can highly recommend it! very smooth ride

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

top notch.worry not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

Biggest bike shop in the world. Legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

My credit card details were once stolen due to using their site, however, that has been the only problem over six or seven years of heavy use. They corrected the problem and I have used them since with no issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I got my bike cheaper in my local shop last January. Wasn't an old model or a sale price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Bought loads of stuff from them - never any problems. And exceptionally fast delivery times.

They also have a no quibble returns policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

Looks like OP is getting the message!

I will add my two cents and also add that they are a great bike shop and one of the best online retailers I;ve ever used... for any products! I believe their deliveries are dispatched from the north (Open to correction but almost certain I read it somewhere) so delivery is usually very quick for in stock items.

They also offer free delivery... something which I feel should be standard in the world of buying online! (But maybe that's just me being cheap!)

johnk123 wrote: »
    I believe their deliveries are dispatched from the north (Open to correction but almost certain I read it somewhere)
    Yup, Ballyclare, Co Antrim - a few miles outside Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

Yup, Ballyclare, Co Antrim - a few miles outside Belfast.

The warehouse/showrooms are actually in the middle of no-where,surrounded by farms,fields and countryside!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭bombs away

Thanks for the input guys, you've put my mind at ease. Just out of curiosity these would'nt be covered under the cycle to work scheme by any chance? Oh and one other thing the size for the FP1 is 58cm. I've been told that Pinarello's are usually quite large for the size and as I'm 6ft I was thinking 58cm would probably be ok, I'm not sure though. What do you guys think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

I don't think so, they're outside of the ROI.

bombs away wrote: »
    I'm 6ft I was thinking 58cm would probably be ok, I'm not sure though. What do you guys think?
    If you have a slightly shorter back and long legs, 58 might be a bit long.

I'm 6ft with a longer back and shorter legs (31 inside) and I usually go for a 56 or 57 if available.

The saddle adjustment will give you a cm or so to play with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Dexif

If you're buying from chain reaction go through fatcheese.ie. You get 4% cashback- not a huge amount on small purchases but it add up if u use them for a lot of online purchases!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

Be careful with Pinarello sizing, it's a bit odd! I'm 5'11" and ride a 54cm FP5 and a M/L Giant! I think a 58cm will be too big for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,174 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

If you have a slightly shorter back and long legs, 58 might be a bit long.

I'm 6ft with a longer back and shorter legs (31 inside) and I usually go for a 56 or 57 if available.

The saddle adjustment will give you a cm or so to play with.

True. It maybe the case that a shorter stem will be needed if a 58cm bike is purchased. I'm the same height and have a 57cm frame but had to replace the stem from 100mm to 90mm a marginal adjustment to make it more comfortable. Unfortuantely with online purchases you gamble on the fit but you can make the neccessary adjustments and modifications to make it right, Oh and I wouldn't think their covered under the btw scheme. Check with the employers first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,174 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

C3PO wrote: »
    Be careful with Pinarello sizing, it's a bit odd! I'm 5'11" and ride a 54cm FP5 and a M/L Giant! I think a 58cm will be too big for you!

Slightly off topic and apologies OP but what are Pinarellos like to ride? I would love to get one myself but don't have the space and may have to wait until next year when the 5 year BTW allowance is available again

hmmm yeah was a little worried about the size, is there any pinarello stockist's in Dublin where I could actually try out an FP1 before I order from the website?

billyhead wrote: »
    Slightly off topic and apologies OP but what are Pinarellos like to ride? I would love to get one myself but don't have the space and may have to wait until next year when the 5 year BTW allowance is available again

They used to be fairly exclusive but have recently gone very "main stream"! For Gods sake they're starting to sell through Halfords!! I think you either love or hate their styling! My FP5 is a lovely bike - fast and comfortable. I recently upgraded to 11 speed Record which is very nice!

hmmm yeah was a little worried about the size, is there any pinarello stockist's in Dublin where I could actually try out an FP1 before I order from the website?

Yes but that's hardly a very fair thing to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭dfdream

Ring them but Im nearly certain they can facilitate the BTW scheme.
    On their website it states.
    "A similar scheme operates in the Republic of Ireland, please contact us at email: rtw@chainreactioncycles.com to find out more details regarding this scheme."

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Help.aspx?HelpTopicID=13

I was looking at a bike with them last year but got my LBS to match it so you could try that...

Thanks for the input guys, you've put my mind at ease. Just out of curiosity these would'nt be covered under the cycle to work scheme by any chance? Oh and one other thing the size for the FP1 is 58cm. I've been told that Pinarello's are usually quite large for the size and as I'm 6ft I was thinking 58cm would probably be ok, I'm not sure though. What do you guys think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

Always try and price match people! Especially if it comes to a bike! I was with a friend who was buying a bike in an LBS... they pulled up CRC and matched the price on the spot. LBS wants your business, you should want to give them your business where possible. Now I'm a student myself so I know all about getting a deal when you can, but if your LBS can match a price of CRC then it would be great to give them the business. When with my friend buying her bike, the guy in her LBS said to us that he'd rather make a slightly smaller margin by matching the online price, than make no margin at all..

Either way, it's worth a try to see if you can get the bike that you know will fit you at the right price.

johnk123 wrote: »
    Always try and price match people! Especially if it comes to a bike! I was with a friend who was buying a bike in an LBS... they pulled up CRC and matched the price on the spot. LBS wants your business, you should want to give them your business where possible. Now I'm a student myself so I know all about getting a deal when you can, but if your LBS can match a price of CRC then it would be great to give them the business. When with my friend buying her bike, the guy in her LBS said to us that he'd rather make a slightly smaller margin by matching the online price, than make no margin at all..

Either way, it's worth a try to see if you can get the bike that you know will fit you at the right price.

I'd be happy to try and get it in a LBS here in Dublin if they were to match the price but I don't know of any that stock that particular model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

The warehouse/showrooms are actually in the middle of no-where,surrounded by farms,fields and countryside!

They have a large store in Boucher Rd Belfast
    Well worth a look if you ever get a chance.
    You can always visit Slane Cycles when you're up there too. :)

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

I'd be careful if I was you.

I bought something off them once, and they (very sneakily in my opinion) kept adding more shiney things to their site that I just simply had to have. :)

Its an addiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭dfdream

Was in the shop a few months back and TBH I was a bit disappointed with the store.
    But its hard to live up to the expectation when you see the online site.

For selection (not necessarily price) Ive seen better stocked shops.
    Like cyclesupertore or even some of the Evans Shops in the UK...
    furiousox wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Just out of curiosity these would'nt be covered under the cycle to work scheme by any chance?
    dfdream wrote: »
    Ring them but Im nearly certain they can facilitate the BTW scheme.
    On their website it states.
    "A similar scheme operates in the Republic of Ireland, please contact us at email: rtw@chainreactioncycles.com to find out more details regarding this scheme."

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Help.aspx?HelpTopicID=13

Bike To Work depends on your employer rather than the bike shop. If your employer is willing to deal direct (all they have to do is pay an invoice) then you're grand. OTOH, if they insist on using one of the Bike To Work 'broker' scams, you'll be limited to whichever shops the scam dictates and they'll take 10% 'commission'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭mahoo

Im 6'1" and got the 58. a guy in cyclesuperstore in tallaght was adamant the 56 was to small for me. think they still stock them if you want to get a fit. i had to put a shorter stem on it (130mm down to 100mm) as i have long leg / short back syndrome but i find it very comfortable now. Those onda forks and stays really take the bump out of the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭ugsparky

I called in there once and bought a pair of cycling shoes - got a good deal - but it is a bit of a let down after looking at the website. No stand out bargains on view ...

Having said that ... there was a gorgeous fit looking blond girl trying on an all in one triathlon suit ... now she was stand out ... even the assistant remarked how difficult his job was !!! That alone was worth the trip ... except the wife caught me looking at her ... sorry Mods ... had to share this ... lurvely ... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

furiousox wrote: »

I visited both on the same day just before xmas.CRC on Boucher is well laid out with a great selection,just not as good as the main shop/warehouse out in the countryside!! Slane cycles was not impressive at all.Bikes all crammed up against each other and boxes and boxes of parts/shoes/helmets just stacked up against the walls!A real pokie mess of a shop.Now Im sure they have lovely parts/bits/clothing etc,but none of it is really out on display. The bike's where hard to study,because they were all crammed together,plus none of the bikes had any prices/description,so unless you knew youre stuff you wont know if it was a £1000 or a £10000 bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Does anyone have an discount codes for chain reaction cycles? It's shocking how much money you'd spend. The 4% from fatcheese is great but I could do with a bit more off?

I have a €5 off discount for wiggle but really could do with a bit more than that!