Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Job, please read!

• 22-01-2013 12:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭

Hi

I have a hard situation right now, I lost my job couple of days ago, my car was stolen on 14th January and my girlfriend boss reduced her working hours. Everything happened in few days......

That's why I'm asking you about help. I don't want any money! I just need a job.

I'm a car mechanic, but I have also small experience in working in a warehouse, picking and packing orders etc.

I don't have a car, and I can't afford to buy a car right now, so it will be great to get a job somewhere near Swords, Airport etc. or somewhere that I can get by bus.

If someone can help me, that will make me very happy.

Thank you very much!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Wicked131 wrote: »
    Hi

I have a hard situation right now, I lost my job couple of days ago, my car was stolen on 14th January and my girlfriend boss reduced her working hours. Everything happened in few days......

That's why I'm asking you about help. I don't want any money! I just need a job.

I'm a car mechanic, but I have also small experience in working in a warehouse, picking and packing orders etc.

I don't have a car, and I can't afford to buy a car right now, so it will be great to get a job somewhere near Swords, Airport etc. or somewhere that I can get by bus.

Thank you very much!

Their are loads of agencies in Swords who deal with all sorts of jobs, my advice would be to head in to them all asap with your c.v. For the most part they are all based on the same road as the Carnegie Court Hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Wicked131

Stheno wrote: »
    Their are loads of agencies in Swords who deal with all sorts of jobs, my advice would be to head in to them all asap with your c.v. For the most part they are all based on the same road as the Carnegie Court Hotel

I was in every single agency, they have nothing for me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Might be worth looking at this, not sure of the location

MarkMc wrote: »
    Might be worth looking at this, not sure of the location

Tried it, I have 2 years of experience as a car mechanic, but it's not enough for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Hi

Thank you very much!

Your car was stolen. Is the insurance company not in the works of paying out for the claim you made? You will shortly be able to buy a car if you had insurance, so agencies all over dublin can be looked at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

Could you print up some flyers and walk around the local housing estates saying you are a local mechanic and you'd be willing to give their car a quick service or a looking over for EUR X?

That's what I would do...

You can then continue looking for something more stable in your spare time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Could you print up some flyers and walk around the local housing estates saying you are a local mechanic and you'd be willing to give their car a quick service or a looking over for EUR X?

There are two problems with that, he probably doesn't have professional indemnity insurance so he would be in massive trouble if something went wrong. And number two, you need certain materials to give someone's car a service so he may not have the cashflow to do this.

OP, would you consider getting a bus into town and handing your CV into pubs, shops etc? I have noticed a lot more places have signs up looking for staff in town.

If everyone focussed on the negatives of starting a business, no one would ever start one...

CruelCoin wrote: »
    Your car was stolen. Is the insurance company not in the works of paying out for the claim you made? You will shortly be able to buy a car if you had insurance, so agencies all over dublin can be looked at.

My car was worth 400e. I paid over 2000e per year for insurance, in direct debit it was 175e per month. I have only paid 3 instalments, so they told me that if I want to get 400e from them for that car, firs I have to pay the rest of insurance, so over 1200e.... So I cancelled policy.
    Lux23 wrote: »
    There are two problems with that, he probably doesn't have professional indemnity insurance so he would be in massive trouble if something went wrong. And number two, you need certain materials to give someone's car a service so he may not have the cashflow to do this.

Yes, I don't have insurance, so I won't do this.

OP, would you consider getting a bus into town and handing your CV into pubs, shops etc? I have noticed a lot more places have signs up looking for staff in town.

That's good idea, I think I will do that on thursday. Thanks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

If everyone focussed on the negatives of starting a business, no one would ever start one...

I don't think its being overly negative to draw attention to the fact that the OP could get himself in serious trouble if he did the kind of work you suggest without any kind of licensed registration or insurance? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Op when you say your a mechanic with two years experience does that mean you are fully qualified with two years experience after your apprenticeship or did you just work in a garage for two years?

This would be a very important point when applying for jobs in garages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

Op when you say your a mechanic with two years experience does that mean you are fully qualified with two years experience after your apprenticeship or did you just work in a garage for two years?

I suspect I know the answer...

Denerick wrote: »

I don't think its being overly negative to draw attention to the fact that the OP could get himself in serious trouble if he did the kind of work you suggest without any kind of licensed registration or insurance? :confused:

He can sort all that stuff out. No one is saying he should break the law. Personally I think it's a much better option than working in a shop.

It's OK to have ambition!

Those two years was during my apprenticeship, but I was normally employed in Honda car service! I was doing job as a normal car mechanic.

But have you completed your apprenticeship and received your qualification? Thats the important bit. Without those, you're still an apprentice

MarkMc wrote: »
    But have you completed your apprenticeship and received your qualification? Thats the important bit. Without those, you're still an apprentice

Sure. I'm fully qualified mechanic.

I'm not looking for a job strictly as a car mechanic. I can do everything.

then you are Not a mechanic.....

Grand, that's the clarification that was needed!

barney 20v wrote: »
    then you are Not a mechanic.....

Yes, I'am. Read my previous post.

Op my 6th sense is leading me to question your original post, were you sacked from your last job? Also I know mechanics are notoriously poor at looking after their own cars but I don't know ANY that drive a Car worth only 400 euro..... Mechanics are well paid generally so just another question mark for me...your op is very vague and I think we need more info tbh. Also the insurance situation seems very very dubious to me..
    Not trying to derail thread, just genuine questions !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭tenton

good suggestion, even if it was just repairing childrens bicycles would'nt that be better than doing nothing? or how about advertising to inspect s'hand cars for potential purchasers?

barney 20v wrote: »
    Op my 6th sense is leading me to question your original post, were you sacked from your last job? Also I know mechanics are notoriously poor at looking after their own cars but I don't know ANY that drive a Car worth only 400 euro..... Mechanics are well paid generally so just another question mark for me...your op is very vague and I think we need more info tbh. Also the insurance situation seems very very dubious to me..
    Not trying to derail thread, just genuine questions !

Sure.

I'm in Ireland from 11 July 2012. So it's not a long time.

My 2 years experience was gained in Honda Car Service in Poland.

I bought a car for 400e, because I'm only 20 years, so insurance per year was 2300e.

I have paid instalments for only two months, and Axa told me, that first I have to pay instalments for the rest of the year, so over 1000e, and then they will give me money for my stolen car, about 400e.

I have never worked as a car mechanic in Ireland. I have worked in Turbochargers service, and as a LPG in car systems fitter.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Sure.

I have never worked as a car mechanic in Ireland. I have worked in Turbochargers service, and as a LPG in car systems fitter.

I think you'll struggle to get a mechanics job here so, as you've no Irish qualifications tbh

Stheno wrote: »
    I think you'll struggle to get a mechanics job here so, as you've no Irish qualifications tbh

I think that too. That's the reason why nobody wants me as a car mechanic.

That's a pitty, cause I know that I'm good in repairing cars, and my english is also very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

Halfords might take you on as a 'fitter' or whatever they call the bulb changers. Its worth a shot.

Not sure how you can be a qualified mech with two years experience at 20 years of age? Maybe you should start an apprenticeship in Ireland if you intend to stay here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

If you have some lpg experience, there is polish(i think) lad running or working in the place in kilcullen - it is far from Dublin, but rents here are half the Dublin price. Lpg is in demand, so worth to have a look. Google lpg kilcullen, you should find phone numbers easily. Good luck.

Halfords might take you on as a 'fitter' or whatever they call the bulb changers. Its worth a shot.

Not sure how you can be a qualified mech with two years experience at 20 years of age? Maybe you should start an apprenticeship in Ireland if you intend to stay here

I have finished school when I was 18.
    wonski wrote: »
    If you have some lpg experience, there is polish(i think) lad running or working in the place in kilcullen - it is far from Dublin, but rents here are half the Dublin price. Lpg is in demand, so worth to have a look. Google lpg kilcullen, you should find phone numbers easily. Good luck.

Thanks for that, but unfortunately I can't move from Swords, my girlfriend is working at the airport.

Well then you just worked for two years. Go to Halfords in swords and ask for a job. Or go to dealerships or mechanics and ask for an apprenticeship.

I will try with Halfords tomorrow, maybe they will need someone. Thanks!

Believe me, I have asked every single dealership or mechanic in Swords and this area.

What about aircraft mechanic? Ryanair, Cityjet and Aer Arann take on apprentices once a year leading to a good qualification and prospects.

Dublin aerospace might take you on as a mechanic, i don't think they do the recognised fas apprenticeship but they might do some kind of inhouse traineeship that would get you started.

That way you could work in the airport with your Missus.

I will try with Halfords tomorrow, maybe they will need someone. Thanks!

Believe me, I have asked every single dealership or mechanic in Swords and this area.

Forgot to say, and Im sure you probably have done already but don't just walk into Halfords or anywhere else and ask the first person you see for a job.

Dress nice, type up a cv with all your mech experience and ask to see the manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 TamTaRam

It's a shame you can't work anywhere else than in Swords or Dublin as there are plenty of full-time jobs (40 hours per week) for motor mechanics in other locations (e.g. Cork, Midlands).

What I have experienced, Polish mechanics are much better qualified than Irish.

Good luck!

What about aircraft mechanic? Ryanair, Cityjet and Aer Arann take on apprentices once a year leading to a good qualification and prospects.

Dublin aerospace might take you on as a mechanic, i don't think they do the recognised fas apprenticeship but they might do some kind of inhouse traineeship that would get you started.

That way you could work in the airport with your Missus.

That's a good idea, but how can I apply? I need some kind of certificate/training before applying, am I wrong?
    TamTaRam wrote: »
    It's a shame you can't work anywhere else than in Swords or Dublin as there are plenty of full-time jobs (40 hours per week) for motor mechanics in other locations (e.g. Cork, Midlands).

What I have experienced, Polish mechanics are much better qualified than Irish.

Good luck!

You're right, it's a shame.

A lot of people say that Polish mechanics are better, so it's true, I think :D

The airlines look for apprentices every summer and you start in September. All these companies have websites, Google is your friend.

Don't rely on being Polish though, even though you've established ye are the best mechanics:o

Study and understand the principles of how aircraft fly. Study how they work, are maintained and are built. Even a few weeks of reading will put you in the top 5% before the selection process has even started.

The airlines look for apprentices every summer and you start in September. All these companies have websites, Google is your friend.

Don't rely on being Polish though, even though you've established ye are the best mechanics:o

Study and understand the principles of how aircraft fly. Study how they work, are maintained and are built. Even a few weeks of reading will put you in the top 5% before the selection process has even started.

Thanks man!

If I won't find any job for a couple of months, I will try that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

That's a good idea, but how can I apply? I need some kind of certificate/training before applying, am I wrong?

You're right, it's a shame.

A lot of people say that Polish mechanics are better, so it's true, I think :D

That's what they (you) want us to believe;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Sure.

I'm in Ireland from 11 July 2012. So it's not a long time.

My 2 years experience was gained in Honda Car Service in Poland.

I bought a car for 400e, because I'm only 20 years, so insurance per year was 2300e.

I have paid instalments for only two months, and Axa told me, that first I have to pay instalments for the rest of the year, so over 1000e, and then they will give me money for my stolen car, about 400e.

Without qualifications op I doubt you will get work in a garage.
    I would say your best option was posted earlier is too post into people's letter boxes
    Doing a basic service and put your prices on it.

I would only bother posting into letter boxes of people with older cars as well.No way is someone with a Merc or Bm worth 20k plus going to let an unqualified mechanic near their car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

If you put the effort in you will find some sort of manual labour job. In a factory, on a construction site etc
    Once you're working you'll then be able to put more time into finding out what exactly you need to do to get work as a mechanic i.e whether you'll need to do any further training here

Or you could just call to as many garages as possible asking for work. Even offer to work a one day trial so they can assess if you're up to the job.

Don't restrict yourself to working in Swords - you can easily get the bus to all other parts of the city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Meeoow

"I'm a car mechanic, but I have also small experience in working in a warehouse, picking and packing orders etc."

you left school at 18, so how can you be a mechanic and a warehouse operative at 20?
    I would not like you working on my car to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

Meeoow wrote: »
    "I'm a car mechanic, but I have also small experience in working in a warehouse, picking and packing orders etc."

you left school at 18, so how can you be a mechanic and a warehouse operative at 20?

Give the guy a break. I worked as a car valet for 5 years, in a shop for 4 years, as a barman for 5 years, and as a teacher for the past 4 years. I'm 25 but that equates to 18 years work. It's not unusual for people to work 2 jobs at a time or start working when they are in their early teens.
    I'm guessing a man who comes on here posting to the world that he needs a job is a man who is a worker and someone who wants to work more than be on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

wonski wrote: »
    That's what they (you) want us to believe;)

I'm so confused as to who "you" "they" and "us" are!

Best of luck OP. Hopefully someone will take you on. Mechanic apprentices with no experience struggle to get work but your experience will help you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I'm 22 and have 5 jobs plus one self employed role on my CV. I have never been out of full time education since I was 5.

I was working as a warehouse operative on weekends, before I was 18, and here in Ireland for just couple of weeks.

Why you would not me to take care of your car? You don't know nothing about me, I know my worth, I know that even in my age, I'm good in that what I'm doing, I love cars, that's my passion. Don't judge me.
    ian87 wrote: »
    Give the guy a break. I worked as a car valet for 5 years, in a shop for 4 years, as a barman for 5 years, and as a teacher for the past 4 years. I'm 25 but that equates to 18 years work. It's not unusual for people to work 2 jobs at a time or start working when they are in their early teens.
    I'm guessing a man who comes on here posting to the world that he needs a job is a man who is a worker and someone who wants to work more than be on the dole.

Thanks for good words.

I'm doing best I can to find any job. I tried almost everywhere! I hope I will find it, I need money.
    I'm so confused as to who "you" "they" and "us" are!

Best of luck OP. Hopefully someone will take you on. Mechanic apprentices with no experience struggle to get work but your experience will help you.

Thanks for good words!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

I'd put up a post in the motors forum.
    You may get some leads from there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 514 ✭✭✭RUSTEDCORE

There are 2 shops in Artane that sell car parts both about 1 minute walk from each other with bus stops near them.. here is 1 on google maps.

The shop in the link is called Artane auto centre

There is also a place which either sells or fixes motorbikes beside the place in the above link.
    and the other shop is past the motorbike place and across the round beside a pub and it is called Consort Mobil motor accessories.

Also around the corner from there if you walk five minutes past a park towards the mcdonalds there is a polish food shop and past that a place called speedy tyres and auto services and beside that is a MAXOL petrol station with a place called Artane tyre company beside it

RUSTEDCORE wrote: »
    There are 2 shops in Artane that sell car parts both about 1 minute walk from each other with bus stops near them.. here is 1 on google maps.

The shop in the link is called Artane auto centre

There is also a place which either sells or fixes motorbikes beside the place in the above link.
    and the other shop is past the motorbike place and across the round beside a pub and it is called Consort Mobil motor accessories.

Also around the corner from there if you walk five minutes past a park towards the mcdonalds there is a polish food shop and past that a place called speedy tyres and auto services and beside that is a MAXOL petrol station with a place called Artane tyre company beside it

Thanks for that! Are they looking for worker?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 514 ✭✭✭RUSTEDCORE

Thanks for that! Are they looking for worker?

I dont know but with your experience they would be good places near you to leave in a CV

RUSTEDCORE wrote: »
    I dont know but with your experience they would be good places near you to leave in a CV

Have been there today with CV's, nothing currently for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Selfheal

Hi

On jobs.ie today under Education and Training Fast Fit are looking for a motor mechanic in their branch on the Nangor Road.

Selfheal wrote: »
    Hi

On jobs.ie today under Education and Training Fast Fit are looking for a motor mechanic in their branch on the Nangor Road.

Thanks for that!

Today I have interview with LN Motors!