Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry votes in favour of Drunk Driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

This is an interesting one. Let's imagine we raised the permissible BAC to say 1.0 with a maximum speed limit of 30km/h, would the risk of accident rise or fall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

Anan1 wrote: »
    This is an interesting one. Let's imagine we raised the permissible BAC to say 1.0 with a maximum speed limit of 30km/h, would the risk of accident rise or fall?

Good luck enforcing that. Experience of drink drivers is they wont stop when they get to a BA level of 1.0 either.

RedorDead wrote: »
    Good luck enforcing that. Experience of drink drivers is they wont stop when they get to a BA level of 1.0 either.
    Sure it wouldn't make a difference to anyone over 1.0 or 30km/h, their permit would be invalid anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

Well it was taking too long to get home on the horses. Someone had to make a stand

613x459.jpg?fit=scale&background=000000

Disgraceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

What a Kerryman! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Risk of accident could probably rise, but risk of anyone being killed or injured in accident would fall.

Anyway - I wouldn't vote for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

flanzer wrote: »
    Well it was taking too long to get home on the horses. Someone had to make a stand

Disgraceful

is it just me or has the horse on the right got too many legs?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

The motion from Councillor Danny Healy-Rae

Cllr Healy-Rae who is a publican

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

is it just me or has the horse on the right got too many legs?? :D

It's a post or something..

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I can imagine it a load of drunk Kerry men/women driving straight off the roads due to watching the dash so they don't go over 30km/h.
    1.0 was the legal limit for a long time, I don't know that it quite qualifies as 'drunk'.
    CiniO wrote: »
    Risk of accident could probably rise, but risk of anyone being killed or injured in accident would fall.
    I wouldn't be surprised if the risk of accident fell too, 30km/h is pretty slow even with three pints on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

You pathetic self interested twat of a so called man rae, im sure you would personally call round to the next victim of a drunk driver and tell them how it was all an accident and sure he only had a few.
    Prick.

You pathetic self interested twat of a so called man rae, im sure you would personally call round to the next victim of a drunk driver and tell them how it was all an accident and sure he only had a few.
    Prick.
    He is a self-interested twat, but what makes you think that this idea would cost (as opposed to saving) lives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

It's a post or something..

:rolleyes::rolleyes: yeah i can see its a bloke standing there holding the horse just like the other one.

now that's a post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

Why doesn't he supply a mini bus service to his clients instead of this if they are that desperate?

Know of too many people (incl. family) killed by drunk drivers and then to see someone coming out with this!

i dont get the saving lives bit at all, as it stands the limits are set very low.
    If you allow more drink how does that make it safer?
    who polices the speed?
    Is it a gps black box system or more of an honour system?

If you are the kind of person to push the limits now and have two or three this will just encourage you to have four or five and sure we all know our best decisions in life are made then
    it is the tiny minority of limit pushing consequences be damned people we fear here.

If you allow more drink how does that make it safer?
    The reduction in speed might more than outweigh the effects of the alcohol.
    who polices the speed?
    Is it a gps black box system or more of an honour system?
    Right now it's only an attention-seeking stunt. If it ever made it into law then it'd be the Gardaí.
    If you are the kind of person to push the limits now and have two or three this will just encourage you to have four or five and sure we all know our best decisions in life are made then
    it is the tiny minority of limit pushing consequences be damned people we fear here.
    Like I said before, if you're over the speed or BAC limit then the permit wouldn't apply - you'd get done for DD just like you would now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I'd vote in favor of this. Get to see Darwinism at it's finest.

the reduction in speed eh?
    So the lad crawling home after a few pimts who had a long day and was really tired strays into the middle and then the other side of the road at 20 kph suddenly meets the car coming in the opposite direction at 50kph around the bend.......
    sure i had a pass! i am sorry they died though.....

i know what you mean anan1 but honestly i do not think it workable with the amount of traffic on our roads now
    25 years ago people got away with a lot more because there simply wwas not the traffic.

the reduction in speed eh?
    So the lad crawling home after a few pimts who had a long day and was really tired strays into the middle and then the other side of the road at 20 kph suddenly meets the car coming in the opposite direction at 50kph around the bend.......
    sure i had a pass! i am sorry they died though.....
    Tiredness is a killer in its own right, but that's a separate issue.
    know what you mean anan1 but honestly i do not think it workable with the amount of traffic on our roads now
    25 years ago people got away with a lot more because there simply wwas not the traffic.
    This is true, but his proposal is to only allow it on little-used rural roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Its not a bad idea, I know a lot of older folk feel cut off because of the drink driving laws, and from what I've seen in regions of Mayo (where there are no street lights etc) they would be safer in a car, I could see this working.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

He is a self-interested twat, but what makes you think that this idea would cost (as opposed to saving) lives?

The OH and I disagree on this whole topic of drink driving of any kind in rural areas, and OH bases his argument on suicide as a result of social isolation, versus allowing the rural dweller/farmer/single white male go to the pub for a couple of sociable pints and be able to drive home.

He argues (this is not an argument where we present facts and findings) that suicide as a result of social isolation is exacerbated as a result of the inability of those who live rurally to get out to the local (which may be the only social outlet), have a couple of pints as they were used to doing in times past, and that that risk may outweigh the disadvantages of a proposal such as that discussed and passed in Kerry Co. Co. today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Its not a bad idea, I know a lot of older folk feel cut off because of the drink driving laws, and from what I've seen in regions of Mayo (where there are no street lights etc) they would be safer in a car, I could see this working.

Or the lesser chosen option in Ireland - They could stop drinking

tiredness added to a few pints is tiredness squared, not entirely separate!!

Little used rural roads are no doubt in abundance in rural kerry, we have a few in kildare too
    I use a few on my way home from cork late at night after work at least once a month.

i really dont care for the arguement but we will agree to disagree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

it really annoys me that there isnt any mid strength beer, like there is with guiness, often the lads will want to meet for a pint, but as I can only have one driving, its not worth the effort. The alternative is E20 in taxis return for a pint or two or waiting god knows how long on public transport.

Stheno wrote: »
    The OH and I disagree on this whole topic of drink driving of any kind in rural areas, and OH bases his argument on suicide as a result of social isolation, versus allowing the rural dweller/farmer/single white male go to the pub for a couple of sociable pints and be able to drive home.

He argues (this is not an argument where we present facts and findings) that suicide as a result of social isolation is exacerbated as a result of the inability of those who live rurally to get out to the local (which may be the only social outlet), have a couple of pints as they were used to doing in times past, and that that risk may outweigh the disadvantages of a proposal such as that discussed and passed in Kerry Co. Co. today.
    That's another issue again, and TBH i'm not convinced that alcohol consumption is a necessary component of getting out and meeting people.

I'd be inclined to judge this proposal on the narrower (and more easily ascertained) issue of whether it improves or disimproves road safety.
    i really dont care for the arguement but we will agree to disagree
    I'm not convinced that it's a good idea myself, but I certainly think it's worthy of public debate. As I said earlier, for me it comes down to safety.

have to say if i were a kerry resident i would be disgusted with the 27 absent or abstaining councillors.
    Bit of an ostrich farm eh?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That's another issue again, and TBH i'm not convinced that alcohol consumption is a necessary component of getting out and meeting people.

That's my counter argument :)

Hard to see how it would be regulated/enforced in fairness. That said you've the system in the States where bar staff will take your keys off you if they feel you are unfit to drive.

absolutely Anan1, i often meet people for a few nonalcoholics, and believe me i love my guiness:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Or the lesser chosen option in Ireland - They could stop drinking

Its not just an Irish thing.

Stheno wrote: »
    Hard to see how it would be regulated/enforced in fairness. That said you've the system in the States where bar staff will take your keys off you if they feel you are unfit to drive.
    Same as the current rules I suppose, if you're over the BAC/speed limit and you get caught then you're done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Healy-Rae you say? Makes perfect sense to me now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ThreeLineWhip

Time to saw Kerry off from the rest of the island and let it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭pissednbroke

This will not solve anything, bunch of idiots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Big C

Is this the way to the Burger or Bulmer Factory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Sure theres no gardai in rural Kerry to enforce drink driving laws anyway so what difference does it make? And aren't numbers of gardai supposed to be decreasing?? I don't think they'll be taking to many out of Dublin or Limerick so where will the gardai presence drop most? Rural areas like the one where this gobsh!te is a councilor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

Has the RSA said anything about this proposal at all ?

It continues to stun me, the different media spin that's put on young male drivers on one hand and other road users on the other.

A lot of media outlets aren't casting scorn on this story the way they should be. On the other hand, young male drivers (who aren't the one's in big numbers who are drink driving), are the one's being consistently castigated.

No modern country would implement a rule such as this. No modern country would even consider it. Hell, no politician in a modern country would even devise it.

This whole story just shows how far we have matured as a nation. ie, not at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Fibreglass electric tiny cars, no airbags or impact protection, with a spike out of the steering wheel, flashing light on roof, speed limited but only allowed on road certain hours - drink away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

In france if your licence is taken away you can still drive a small enclosed 3 Wheeler that can only do 20-30 kph so technically you can drink drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Kxiii

Just heard Healy Rea on Ray Darcy show. Darcy had no time for his harebrained scheme. He asked Rea if we should issue permits for speeding as well and then just hung up on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

corkgsxr wrote: »
    In france if your licence is taken away you can still drive a small enclosed 3 Wheeler that can only do 20-30 kph so technically you can drink drive
    That was kinda my inspiration for my post - saw a tiny car on donedeal lately, 500cc Kubota minidigger diesel engine and gearbox, dont need car licence to drive in france.

Twould go down a storm in kilgarvan judging by the average speed between kenmare and the county bounds of a sunday evening...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Just aw this over on Breaking News now.

Not really surprised. This is from the same family that brought you the ridiculous 131/2 plate system after all :rolleyes:

Just goes to show how backward we really are as a country though that these ideas can actually get real traction/exposure rather than the idiots involved laughed at. No wonder the country is in a shambles with a former teacher playing teacher's pet for Europe while the country he's supposed to represent goes down the tubes.

People talk about "the Brits", but honestly - we shouldn't be let at the controls of a country if this is the type of person we elect to represent us (and he's not the only one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

Kxiii wrote: »
    Just heard Healy Rea on Ray Darcy show. Darcy had no time for his harebrained scheme. He asked Rea if we should issue permits for speeding as well and then just hung up on him.

Fcuking cheered me right up, that 'interview'. How these dopes constantly get into council and the dáil is an indictment to the people of Kerry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

CiniO wrote: »

Anyway - I wouldn't vote for.

if a drunk drives out of a side turn at 10km'h in front of someone sober doing 80 legally, the result will be death and injury....

how many of these councillors are also Publicans or related to them I wonder? Now whats the name of that Pub in Kilgarvan again?:mad:

http://mw2.google.com/mw-panoramio/photos/medium/6224313.jpg

A lot of media outlets aren't casting scorn on this story the way they should be. On the other hand, young male drivers (who aren't the one's in big numbers who are drink driving), are the one's being consistently castigated.

No modern country would implement a rule such as this. No modern country would even consider it. Hell, no politician in a modern country would even devise it.

This whole story just shows how far we have matured as a nation. ie, not at all.
    TBH there's not much point in scorn if nobody can put together an argument showing why this is such a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

Why is it just these Kerry/rural elites that get to drink and drive.
    I like to go out for dinner and share a bottle of wine. Why shouldn't I be allowed to drive home afterwards too. I'm sick of paying for taxis.

Drink driving for all, none of this discrimination lark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

TBH there's not much point in scorn if nobody can put together an argument showing why this is such a bad idea.

Im pretty sure you know its a bad idea.

Look at the stats on single vehicle road deaths in this country.

What makes you think that just because you are on a rural boreen makes it acceptable to have a few jars on you?

I think you are just playing the usual devils advocate with that comment TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

These drink driving claims are based on a false premise, that is there is some amount of alcohol that makes an appreciable difference to your social life but doesn't affect your driving. A small amount of alcohol might not greatly affect your driving, but it won't affect your evening either so there is no need to have any. Justifying it on the grounds of habit isn't very convincing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Gombeen Ireland is alive and well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

ardmacha wrote: »
    These drink driving claims are based on a false premise, that is there is some amount of alcohol that makes an appreciable difference to your social life but doesn't affect your driving. A small amount of alcohol might not greatly affect your driving, but it won't affect your evening either so there is no need to have any. Justifying it on the grounds of habit isn't very convincing.

Boom!

listermint wrote: »
    Im pretty sure you know its a bad idea.

Look at the stats on single vehicle road deaths in this country.

What makes you think that just because you are on a rural boreen makes it acceptable to have a few jars on you?
    Are you arguing that the proposal would be bad for road safety? If so, why?
    listermint wrote: »
    I think you are just playing the usual devils advocate with that comment TBH.
    And yet still no argument.