Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bray Airshow 2013

• 19-01-2013 11:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭

I see on the Bray Airshow website, it's mentioned that an official invite has went out to the USAF and RAF......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭b757

Don't they do that every year?

Highly doubt something will show, even if they do confirm it.. (eg. Hawker Hunter, confirmed last year. Then removed and they claimed it was never coming in the first place.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

2012's show was rather tame, boring even.

smurfjed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭westdub

To call what happens at Bray a ''Airshow'' is bordering on false advertising....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭bombs away

And yet the event is free and alot of people gave up their spare time to try and organise it. No wonder this country is the way it is, full of moaners who aint happy no matter what they get :mad:

You want to look at a couple of fighter jets, head to Farnbourough.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

bombs away wrote: »
    And yet the event is free and alot of people gave up their spare time to try and organise it. No wonder this country is the way it is, full of moaners who aint happy no matter what they get :mad:

I agree here....while for the aviation heads it is not worth going to see, it is still a free, fun, family day out that exists through volunteers.

-Could it be a better airshow? Hell yes!
    -Could it be better organised? Hell yes!

A few ppl on boards claim to know the organiser. So what is the issue;
    -Is he overwhelmed?
    -Are there not enough volunteers?
    -Is there no/not enough sponsorship?
    -Is it just too small for the any airforce to consider in this era of reduced defense spending?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭b757

Yes you are right, alot of people do give up their time. But I don't see why we should be happy.. Ireland has not had a "proper" airshow in years, we need large a/c, fast military jets and some decent heli's. The best large aircraft Bray could offer is a a320 doing a flyby while it was probably on departure from RWY 16 @ DUB.
    Take the UK for example I]Yes we only have a fraction of the population and the size of the countries are completely different[/I, look at the amount of Airshows/Displays are organised each year. Eg, RIAT, Farnborough, etc etc - http://www.airshows.org.uk/2013/calendar/july.html (Click the different months to see more)

Plus, the Aer Corp pc9's could be thrown around a bit more instead of doing boring formation flying.

* not saying all the act's that were there the past number of years were poor; infact some were really impressive, but we need a change. We shouldn't have to go all the way over to look at some nice jets/heli's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭EI-DOR

With budget cuts in the UK forces and other Countries, not a hope will they send bigger hardware over for the show. Look at Salt-hill. The RAF Merlin HC1 incident (The door coming off) at the last Galway show didn't help matters. I believe the insurance sky rocketed after that. I will be eager to see what the Royal International Air Tattoo manage to line up. Even it has gone down hill a bit since I was over in 2010.

The Helicopter scene is ridiculous in this Country at the minute. You will be lucky to see Piston machines visiting small airfields for a flyin these days.

The only new machine Bray will see is the new Coast Guard S-92!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

Like I say every year, if you don't like it, don't go. Simple as that. I've never been to it as it's a bit of a trip and in any case I'm usually working on the day. My only hope (as in no hope at all) is to be invited to be part of the show. In which case I won't see it anyway and would probably be hammered on this forum for being boring unless I dive into the sea while trying something silly. :D

The history of airshows in this country is rather sad. Invariably the funding issue finishes them. That's what happened to Salthill and what killed the 'Air Spectaculars.'

Logically the obvious place for an annual airshow is Baldonnel. Don't hold your breath on that one.

The air spectaculars were the closest to what you'd see at a typical ordinary British airshow. The only missing element was the RAF which didn't attend for security reasons at the time.

Just treat Bray for what it is. A small seaside display, an annual outing for average punter. For the enthusiast, Britain is close enough.

bluecode wrote: »
    The history of airshows in this country is rather sad. Invariably the funding issue finishes them. That's what happened to Salthill and what killed the 'Air Spectaculars.'

It might have killed off Salthill, but it was the badly run 2000 show that killed of the Baldonnel shows, the visiting pilots and air crew couldn't believe how bad the security was for their aircraft with the ordinary public being allowed unrestricted access to the aircraft, some pilots had to remove litter from the air intakes and exhausts where the people used them as bins...:rolleyes:
    After that the show was blacklisted by many air forces and the Air Corps who had to clean up the mess left by the organizers and who could blame them...
    The air spectaculars were the closest to what you'd see at a typical ordinary British airshow. The only missing element was the RAF which didn't attend for security reasons at the time.

There were lots of RAF aircraft at the shows over the years.. Nimrod, Jaguar, Harrier, Tornado to mention a few and I also remember the RAF's Falcon's parachute display team there too...

On the ''Its free so don't expect a lot'' front, the show up in Portrush is also free to attend and seems to be able to get some nice acts to attend, It's just a shame that it's so far to travel....

westdub wrote: »
    It might have killed off Salthill, but it was the badly run 2000 show that killed of the Baldonnel shows, the visiting pilots and air crew couldn't believe how bad the security was for their aircraft with the ordinary public being allowed unrestricted access to the aircraft, some pilots had to remove litter from the air intakes and exhausts where the people used them as bins...:rolleyes:
    After that the show was blacklisted by many air forces and the Air Corps who had to clean up the mess left by the organizers and who could blame them.......
    Missed that show, happened to be in the US. There were also significant financial issues too.
    There were lots of RAF aircraft at the shows over the years.. Nimrod, Jaguar, Harrier, Tornado to mention a few and I also remember the RAF's Falcon's parachute display team there too...

On the ''Its free so don't expect a lot'' front, the show up in Portrush is also free to attend and seems to be able to get some nice acts to attend, It's just a shame that it's so far to travel....
    Apart from the Shannon airshow and the the one above. I was all of the 'Air Spectaculars'. There was no RAF participation except for the Reds at Baldonnel in the mid eighties. They RAF/RN were certainly a mainstay at Salthill in recent years and at the invite only anniversary airshow in Baldonnel around '97. That was not open to the public. Like the rest of the taxpayers funding the airshow I stood outside. But the political landscape had changed by then. It was remarkable to see British servicemen in uniform walking the streets of Galway. A sight not seen since 1923 I'd say.

Maybe someone should organise an airshow at Galway airport. It's not as if they're busy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Maybe someone should organise an airshow at Galway airport. It's not as if they're busy!

:D;)

Abbeyshrule had some pretty decent airshows ...long before the Air Spectaculars. Everything from modern military aircraft to civilian airliners put on impressive displays (one of the most memorable to me was the Ryanair BAC 1-11 display in 1988 (?)...as I was standing mere feet away from the runway edge!). There was also the infamous Colonel Crackshot!:p

Edit: found a shot of the 1-11 display (might even be me in the pic!)

http://www.irishavsites.com/details.php?image_id=2023&sessionid=3ac402bcc7f62388cb9a92dc60834ffe

http://www.irishavsites.com/details.php?image_id=2022&sessionid=3ac402bcc7f62388cb9a92dc60834ffe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Hi all
    Westdub, the incident with the rubbish in the tailpipe happened at one of the airshows pre-95 because I was involved in that incident and I left the Don in 95. The aircraft was a French Mirage 2000. I helped take the rubbish out of the tailpipe.
    Also at the same event, an A10 and a Tornado were tampered with, in a very hazardous fashion and items were "souvenired" from other aircraft (an occurrence common at any air event in Ireland, sadly).........there have also been attempts to hold the equivalent of Bray and Salthill at other seaside towns but, as it happens, they were vetoed by the town council itself.

regards
    Stovepipe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Used to go to the RAF Valley shows near Holyhead back in the late 70s, Wow were they spectacular. With all types of ground shaking jets, from Vulcans, to Jaguars, to F16s, Hawker Hunters, Mirages, Harriers, Gnats + everything else in between, including the Red Arrows! truly brilliant shows, I have also been to Farnborough which was equally spectacular and ground shaking.

Started going to the Bray show about three years ago, which are not so spectacular, but it is a day out for all, and its free.

Would be great if the RAF chaps popped over from RAF Valley for an hour or two, after all its not that far away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

There was no RAF participation except for the Reds at Baldonnel in the mid eighties...

Wonder who was flying the Nimrod at the 2000 show then? ;) Was also an RN Merlin that year iirc....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

Nforce wrote: »
    :D;)

Abbeyshrule had some pretty decent airshows ...long before the Air Spectaculars. Everything from modern military aircraft to civilian airliners put on impressive displays (one of the most memorable to me was the Ryanair BAC 1-11 display in 1988 (?)...as I was standing mere feet away from the runway edge!). There was also the infamous Colonel Crackshot!:p

Edit: found a shot of the 1-11 display (might even be me in the pic!)

http://www.irishavsites.com/details.php?image_id=2023&sessionid=3ac402bcc7f62388cb9a92dc60834ffe

http://www.irishavsites.com/details.php?image_id=2022&sessionid=3ac402bcc7f62388cb9a92dc60834ffe

There were great airshows in Abbeyshrule. Why did they stop?

As I said I wasn't at the 2000 show and in any case the RAF was well represented in Baldonnel for the 75th anniversary airshow. That was in 1997. Other than the Red Arrows who first displayed here in 1987. I don't recall any RAF participation prior to that and I was at them all. Including Abbeyshrule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

apologies, seems I need to brush up on my reading skills! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭television

Missed that show, happened to be in the US. There were also significant financial issues too.

Apart from the Shannon airshow and the the one above. I was all of the 'Air Spectaculars'. There was no RAF participation except for the Reds at Baldonnel in the mid eighties. They RAF/RN were certainly a mainstay at Salthill in recent years and at the invite only anniversary airshow in Baldonnel around '97. That was not open to the public. Like the rest of the taxpayers funding the airshow I stood outside. But the political landscape had changed by then. It was remarkable to see British servicemen in uniform walking the streets of Galway. A sight not seen since 1923 I'd say.

at the 2-day air spectacular at baldonell in 2000 there WAS major raf participation...tornado f3,tornado gr1,jaguar,nimrod,harrier and merlin all in the FLYING display [as well as static] and also a bae hawk in static display only

forgot to mention the canberra aswell...there is a short video on youtube from the first day of air spectacular 2000 showing both the nimrod and canberra flying

Tenger wrote: »
    I agree here....while for the aviation heads it is not worth going to see, it is still a free, fun, family day out that exists through volunteers.

-Could it be a better airshow? Hell yes!
    -Could it be better organised? Hell yes!

A few ppl on boards claim to know the organiser. So what is the issue;
    -Is he overwhelmed?
    -Are there not enough volunteers?
    -Is there no/not enough sponsorship?
    -Is it just too small for the any airforce to consider in this era of reduced defense spending?
    the head organiser is captain si [shay in irish] pardy of aerlingus and also part owner of simtech flight training....yes he could be overwhelmed with his "day job" [and im NOT knocking him,i know him and he is a sound lad] but if he hasnt got the time to organise a show with different aircraft he should just say to bray council that he doesnt have the time any more and let some one else who has the time and expierence of doing it to have a go.yes i know its free in which is great but its hihg time the list of aircraft turning up was different,mostly [95% to 99%] same every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Teddy Edward

Lads & Lassies... what hope does one have for RAF or USAF attendance @ Bray with RIAT on the same day!

thats an intresting question.....only time will tell i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭vulcan57

Lads & Lassies... what hope does one have for RAF or USAF attendance @ Bray with RIAT on the same day!

According to this page

http://www.whichfestival.com/#!festival:bray-air-display-ie

Bray Air Show is on Monday 22 July. That will be the RIAT departures day and secondly, Why a Monday? Its not even a bank holiday Monday meaning most people will be at work! Not sure what the organisers are at here.

having it on a monday sure doesnt make sense but sseing as its riat departures day that might be the only chance of getting jet aicraft to do a fly past along the bray sea front but as you say its not a bank holiday so it sure doesnt make sense...unless the link page you provided has the date wrong...sounds like there is something amiss with this date...as i say it will be intresting to find out why this is the date if its correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭phonypony

vulcan57 wrote: »
    According to this page

http://www.whichfestival.com/#!festival:bray-air-display-ie

Bray Air Show is on Monday 22 July.

It also says 'unconfirmed dates'. That's based on last year's date. The Bray Air Spectacular Facebook page shows 21st July.

best contact them just to be sure i suppose

phonypony wrote: »
    It also says 'unconfirmed dates'. That's based on last year's date. The Bray Air Spectacular Facebook page shows 21st July.

Ok, we'll take that as a mistake then. That makes it nearly impossible for RAF or USAF for the reasons stated by Teddy Edward.

have to agree with you there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭tenton

Duffer2010 wrote: »
    I see on the Bray Airshow website, it's mentioned that an official invite has went out to the USAF and RAF......
    It went from M. D. Higgins himself...he said there was a "gathering" this year and it was expected they would attend;)

joking aside, Bray is not bad, was there last time, hope it hapeens again + gets better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Bykovo Chernoye Monino

I know its very late in the day but any chance of invites going out France, Belgium, The Netherlands & a few more ?

Bykovo

that would be nice but going on previous years i cant see it happening as this show now seems to be nothing more than an after thought for the bray summerfest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Plane Jane

Just looking through previous comments. I dont understand why you would run with a date that clashes with Fairford in the UK. Of all events to clash with in the airshow scene in Europe this is probably the worst.

It would be like running the Paris Airshow the same weekend as Farnborough!

exactly spot on there my friend....and its for that very reason that farnborough and the paris air shows are held on alternative years so that they dont clash

Absolutely, Plane Jane !

Plane Jane wrote: »
    Just looking through previous comments. I dont understand why you would run with a date that clashes with Fairford in the UK. Of all events to clash with in the airshow scene in Europe this is probably the worst.

It would be like running the Paris Airshow the same weekend as Farnborough!

True, but I dont think that any of the acts that will be at RIAT would be appearing at Bray no matter what day they hold it...

also the US have a new policy regarding Air shows and fly by's...
    U.S. Air Force Looks To Trim Budget Ahead of Possible Sequestration
    Jan. 16, 2013 - 05:52PM | By AARON MEHTA | Comments

Driven by the dual threat of operating under a continuing resolution and a potential sequestration, the U.S. Air Force has issued guidance for immediate actions to cut its budget.

In a Jan. 14 memorandum to all major commands, Vice Chief of Staff Gen. Larry Spencer and Acting Undersecretary of the Air Force Jamie Morin laid out a series of “near-term actions” that the service will undertake to minimize the impact of budget stress on the Air Force, which is already operating under fiscal 2012 funding levels and faces larger cuts if no agreement is reached in Congress on a sequestration deal

“The combined impact of two sources of budgetary uncertainty necessitates that the Air Force take immediate action to reduce our expenditure rate, especially in our operations and maintenance account,” wrote Spencer and Morin.

Among the steps in the memo:

• Civilian hiring restrictions, including a hiring freeze, the “immediate” elimination of temporary employees and the non-renewal of term hire employees, with exceptions for mission-critical activities.

• A review of requirements for overseas contingency operations to identify potential reductions.

• The cancellation of non-mission critical events, such as training seminars and attendance at conferences, as well as studies that are not congressionally directed or mission critical.

• “Minor purchases,” such as furniture and IT equipment, should stop, and facility work, such as painting or remodeling, should be deferred.

Additionally, flying events, such as air shows and flyovers, should be curtailed — days before a long weekend that will feature two NFL playoff games and a number of Martin Luther King Jr. Day events.

The possibility of civilian furloughs of up to 22 workdays was also included in the memo. The Office of Management and Budget suggested furloughs and hiring freezes for all federal agencies in a Jan. 14 memo in the face of potential sequestration.

The memo notes that planning for budget cuts will continue in case Congress fails to reach an agreement on sequestration before the March deadline.

“These near-term actions only achieve a small portion of the funding decrement required in the event of sequestration or a significant topline reduction,” wrote Spencer and Morin. “Therefore, if we do not have resolution by March, immediate actions with serious negative impacts to core readiness programs will be required.”

The Air Force is not alone in recommending measures to reduce the budget. All four services have issued similar memos, following guidance from Defense Secretary Leon Panetta.

One day later, Air Force Secretary Michael Donley told reporters that the recommendations were necessary because of the “budget gymnastics” ongoing in Congress, which has not passed an appropriations bill for 2013, leaving spending frozen at 2012 budget levels. At the same time, sequestration, which calls for more than $500 billion in cuts over 10 years and between $45 billion and $48 billion in 2013, is scheduled to begin in March.

“We can no longer live under the uncertainty of sequestration and a continuing resolution without taking action now,” Donley said.

But while acknowledging that the service faces hard choices, Air Force Chief of Staff Gen. Mark Welsh denied seeking a specific dollar amount to cut.

“We’re not targeting particular dollar amounts, there’s nothing we can do in the next two months, or in the next nine months, the remainder of the fiscal year, to mitigate the impact of sequestration,” Welsh said. “So there are no particular targets. It is simply prudent management steps to start adjusting the way we spend dollars so we literally do not fall off our own cliff created by this sequestration problem.”.

West Dub,
    Interesting post regarding restrictions with USAF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Teddy Edward

I see the Vigo International Airshow ( Spain ) is on also on 21st July 2013 and always attracts other European Air Forces. Was on Hols last year and went along, Belgian F16, USAF F16's etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭airbusa320

Given that Bray has never really gotten military aircraft other than USAF transports RIAT should not make much of a difference but what it should mean is that they have there pick of the civilian acts out there and as the provisional display list for the Blades has been released and Bray is not on it we may get something different this year but I doubt any jets again this year.

i hope we get something different to the blades as,and i dont mean any disrespect to them ,but im getting bored seeing them,and the same old "acts".so i really do hope we get something different.i know its now organised by different bodies from the first year but its a kick in the arse to remember that there was royal netherlands air force particapation the first year [pc-7 and ab 219 heli,i think thats what the heli was but could be wrong] and a civilian owned ex-raf jet provost t.mk 5....and nothing like that since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭searescue

Was at the rose of tralee airshow this year - quiet enjoyed it - the GNAT jet was something else!

http://www.facebook.com/SkyFestAirshow

Link to an after video (more aircraft came than what was in the video):

cool video,seems like a great little display....so the gnat could make it to the rose of tralee but it couldnt make it to bray [according to the organiser the gnat team couldnt handle a bit of turbulence over the irish sea so thats why they couldnt attend]....more like more of the same bull**** from the organisers..telling us all that this or that is coming only for it not to turn up [aircraft not invited in the first place]...well i for 1 have realised what a JOKE and FARCE that the bray airshow is and i WONT be going again,its a waste of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭vintac34

television wrote: »
    cool video,seems like a great little display....so the gnat could make it to the rose of tralee but it couldnt make it to bray [according to the organiser the gnat team couldnt handle a bit of turbulence over the irish sea so thats why they couldnt attend]....more like more of the same bull**** from the organisers..telling us all that this or that is coming only for it not to turn up [aircraft not invited in the first place]...well i for 1 have realised what a JOKE and FARCE that the bray airshow is and i WONT be going again,its a waste of time

Thanks to the organizers for putting on a free show....could listen to whingers if they paid an entrance fee and attendance is of cource not compulsory.

Looking forward to kind weather and enjoy whatever comes on the day!!

I think the comments relate to the misleading information that has been given out by the Bray PR machine in the past!

Its very unprofessional & misleading to announce an act is booked and attending when it clearly is not!!

Could Bray not have been set to coinside (as per last year) with Rhyl Air Show 2013, Aug 31 & Sep 1st ?

If it had a window would have been open to invite acts to Bray as a joint venture reducing costs for both shows.

If you want visiting military you have to plan a year in advance.

Bray has gone very, very stale since early successful years & needs new ideas.

Fair play to the culchies getting the Gnat & showing the east coast how a small event can be made a great event.

BCM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭bombs away

I'm only guessing but I'd say they would'nt be appreciative of the term 'culchie' :p

Could be wrong though ;)

i seem to recall that the cliffden airshow managed to get the jet provost display team about 2 years ago so really no excuse for these and similar not turning up for bray unlessits bray council who,being behind the organisation of the summerfest,dont want this type of aircraft at bray.if thats the case fine,just dont let the show organisers say 1 thing when the other is true as its bad publicity for this show as it has happened now on more than enough occasions that persons,myself included,are getting pissed of withe the lack of variety at this show

Not much chance of any RAF even with the invite this year.
    The Tornado role demo is the latest to be pulled along with the king air, hawk and probaly the tutor.

I'm only guessing but I'd say they would'nt be appreciative of the term 'culchie' :p

Could be wrong though ;)

Meant in the best possible taste :D

No RAF Tucano for Bray this year. Provisional dates released today.

http://www.raf.mod.uk/tucanodisplayteam/displayinfo/displaycalendar.cfm