Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show - 19/01/13 @ 9:50pm

• 19-01-2013 2:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

Brendan's guests this week are:

Donny Osmond (the Justin Bieber of the 70s :P) - will be on the show
    The former teen heartthrob with a career that has spanned decades will be in to tell us all about growing up in the limelight and how he's maintained his career. Donny and his sister, Marie will be performing in the O2 at the end of this month.

Terry O'Neill,
    one of the best photographers of all time who is most synonymous with London in the swinging 60's and the golden era of Hollywood, will be discussing some of his most famous photographs ahead of his exhibition in CIT Wandesford Quay Gallery, Cork.

The Operation Transformation leaders - Charlotte, Gavin, Deirdre, Greg and Monica will be in to tell us about their journey so far.

Former World Champion boxer Steve Collins will be talking about his upcoming grudge match against Roy Jones Junior. The 48 year old will tell us what he has been up to since retiring from boxing back in 1997.

Founder of Coder Dojo, James Whelton, will be telling his fellow Cork man all about the technological and sociological revolution that landed him in the Forbes 30 under 30.

Music on the night will be performed by Irish duo The Lost Brothers who will performing their single "Now That The Night Has Come".

http://www.rte.ie/tv/saturdaynightshow/thisweek.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Brendan's guests this week are:

Donny Osmond (the Justin Bieber of the 70s :P) - will be on the show
    The former teen heartthrob with a career that has spanned decades will be in to tell us all about growing up in the limelight and how he's maintained his career. Donny and his sister, Marie will be performing in the O2 at the end of this month.

I'll have you know that was reserved for his "little brother Jimmy".......

(How do I know these things?.............answers on a postcard...............:))

And why haven't they aged???.....;)

It's a Tír na NÓg thing isn't it???......:p

Brendan will have the answers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Steve Collins must be broke. There is no good reason for him to get back into the ring now. Jones is still a powerful fighter, Collins hasn't been active since 1997. It could be a huge mistake - I hope he doesn't get his licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Skid wrote: »
    Steve Collins must be broke. There is no good reason for him to get back into the ring now. Jones is still a powerful fighter, Collins hasn't been active since 1997. It could be a huge mistake - I hope he doesn't get his licence.

I don't think he will get a medical clearance Skid............He's too old......:rolleyes:

I heard him on "Off the ball" the other night......pure madness.....:o

No way Hóse!!............:rolleyes:

I don't think he will get a medical clearance Skid............He's too old......:rolleyes:

I heard him on "Off the ball" the other night......pure madness.....:o

No way Hóse!!............:rolleyes:

Ah, Off The Ball, the best show on the Radio by a mile. But yeah, hopefully he won't get a Licence from a dubious Country.

As you said, I think his time has past. It's not like he has any Osmond genes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,283 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Noswaith dda!

Nothing on TV yet, so I watched John Travolta's 'Battlefield Earth'. So bad, it's good!

Try to picture him as a 9ft Rasta with what looks like a shoelace under his nose, and you gets the drift!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Looks like they went looking for guests in the RTÉ Canteen again.

Where else would they find the Operation Transformation crowd. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Evening All, did you get much snow Walsh Megaman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Evening all.

Looking forward to seeing Terry O'Neill tonight. He should have a few interesting stories to tell.

ugh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Mrs. Woods, Please don't do it :(:(:(:(

cofy wrote: »
    Evening All, did you get much snow Walsh Megaman?

Hey cofy, finally got to put my £5 LIDL snowshovel to use, starting to thaw now though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Donny Osmond has ONE HELL of a plastic surgeon !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Evening All
    Crikey the jokes really are the low point of the show
    How can BOC not see it

But I did not hear earlier about tiger and Elin remarrying so it served a purpose I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

I doubt anyone in the audience knows who he is.

Fair play to Donny. I wish I look as young as he does when I reach 80 as well.

Yep, they're horny

Donny is 55, he is looking well thanks to these ;) (allegedly)

IMAGE%2039.jpg

cosmetic-dermatologist-minnesota-for-men-botox.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

I hope Donnie sings :)

If he performs 'Crazy Horses', I'm there!

Donny reminds me of an American Daniel O'Donnell with his clean cut image.

Donny is a good interviewee - he keeps talking, tells a few stories, doesn't mind mocking himself a bit.

How long has it been since he split with the rest of the Bay City Rollers ?

Donny is 55, he is looking well thanks to these ;) (allegedly)

IMAGE%2039.jpg

cosmetic-dermatologist-minnesota-for-men-botox.jpg

Donny's neck is a bit of a giveaway though. He could do with some work on that ;)

To be honest Harry, I wasn't looking at him that closely as he is not really my type :D

Brendan and Donny have a nice little rapport going :) I hope Tubs is watching and taking notes.

To be honest Harry, I wasn't looking at him that closely as he is not really my type :D

I know what you mean MrsD. Marie is more my type as well. :D

Phillip Schofield, Jason Donovan and Donny Osmond.

They had some Entertainment Giants playing Joseph back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Good guest.

I know what you mean MrsD. Marie is more my type as well. :D
    She need's to get in touch with her brother's plastic surgeon, he does some great work ;)

r-MARIE-OSMOND-large570.jpg

amdublin wrote: »
    Good guest.

Good guest AAAND good cameraman :pac:

I enjoyed that interview.

Twas a bit of fun !

It's a shame my daughter is only six, this lad would be a great catch - brains and good looks :pac::pac::pac:

What the feck has happened to his Cork accent like??

"wiring keddles, and melding keddles"

Was he been serious just there?

About been dropped on the head a lot as a child. :eek:

I have visions of parents all over Ireland throwing their tots out of their cots right now.

Ah Brendan still has his ;)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CoderDojo

Amazing how fast it has spread. Fair play to him.

But what the heck is up with that accent :confused:

Fair play to him and all that, but could they bring Donny back out? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

is he from america or what?

Fair play to him and all that, but could they bring Donny back out? :o

Yep I liked Donny a lot :o

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CoderDojo

Amazing how fast it has spread. Fair play to him.

But what the heck is up with that accent :confused:
    There is a touch of the Jonathan Rhys Meyers about him (the posh accent).

I reckon Enda is still using an Amstrad.

Yep I liked Donny a lot :o

He is dreamy :o

Donny, that is!

There is a touch of the Jonathan Rhys Meyers about him (the posh accent).

Tis very strange.

"the maJORidy"

"most twenny year olds"

"I'm still the regular guy"

He still uses an ancient Nokia phone

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/06/24/seriously-how-old-is-endas-nokia/

I respect him for that. Smart phones are seriously overrated. If you can ring, text and play Snake on your phone, that's plenty.

I reckon .....

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ40fVFwCoP_Hxa1NkDVLbvbQ2ukemDVznqVEMMc58oa9Mxve4x4Q

There is a touch of the Jonathan Rhys Meyers Jonny O'Keefe about him (the posh accent).

FYP ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Tis very strange.

"the maJORidy"

"most twenny year olds"

"I'm still the regular guy"

Possibly he spends a huge amount of time skyeping Americans or else watch American tv
    (Nana reckons my kids have a slight English twang thanks to cbeebies )

Fair play to him though a hell of an achievement no matter what he sounds like
    Best of luck to him

Lisha wrote: »
    (Nana reckons my kids have a slight English twang thanks to cbeebies )

Apparently I had a distinct English accent which I was a child from watching too much PlaySchool on BBC :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

He still uses an ancient Nokia phone

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/06/24/seriously-how-old-is-endas-nokia/

I respect him for that. Smart phones are seriously overrated. If you can ring, text and play Snake on your phone, that's plenty.

It has to have a calculator for me, I tot up everything I put into my shopping trolley:o