Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HC Connacht V Zebre, Sportsgrounds, Friday 18th January, 20:00,SS2 Red Button

• 17-01-2013 1:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭

Connacht: 15 Robbie Henshaw, 14 Tiernan O'Halloran, 13 Eoin Griffin, 12 Dave McSharry, 11 Fetu'u Vainikolo, 10 Dan Parks, 9 Kieran Marmion, 8 Andrew Browne, 7 Johnny O'Connor, 6 Mick Kearney, 5 Mike McCarthy, 4 Michael Swift, 3 Nathan White, 2 Jason Harris Wright,1 Brett Wilkinson.
    Replacements:16 Ethienne Reynecke, 17 JP Cooney, 18 Ronan Loughney, 19 Dave Gannon, 20 Eoghan Grace, 21 Paul O'Donohoe, 22 Miah Nikora, 23 Danie Poolman

Zebre: 15 Tito Tebaldi, 14 Giovanbattista Venditti, 13 Roberto Quartaroli, 12 Matteo Pratichetti, 11 Ruggero Trevisan, 10 Daniel Halangahu, 9 Alberto Chillon, 8 Filippo Ferrarini, 7 Mauro Bergamasco, 6 Emiliano Caffini, 5 Josh Sole, 4 Mike Van Vuren, 3 Luca Redolfini, 2 Davide Giazzon, 1 Salvatore Perugini.
    Replacements: 16 Carlo Festuccia, 17 Matias Aguero, 18 David Ryan, 19 Nicola Belardo, 20 Andrea Manici, 21 Luca Martinelli, 22 Alberto Chiesa, 23 Samuele Pace.

Referee: Pascal Gauzere (France)
    Assistant referees: Jean-Luc Rebollal (France), Cyril Lafon (France)
    Television match official: Daniel Irazoqui (France)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Great to see this televised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I don't think I've seen browne play 8 before, with himself and Kearney in the backrow thats one massive Connacht backrow

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

4 good options in the lineout with Browne and Kearney in the back row.

Van Schalkwyk is missing for Zebre, who's caused us problems in the past. Gendenhuys as well is a big loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

I don't think I've seen browne play 8 before, with himself and Kearney in the backrow thats one massive Connacht backrow

Lack of ball carriers though

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Forecast looks delightful; the holy trinity of wind, rain and cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Robbo wrote: »
    Forecast looks delightful; the holy trinity of wind, rain and cold.

Anyone know where I can get a pair of long johns in Galway? And a thermal vest? And a hip flask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Looking forward to this now, despite the weather i have a feeling it could be a good one to watch

oh and also
    Zzippy wrote: »
    Anyone know where I can get a pair of long johns in Galway? And a thermal vest? And a hip flask?

Man-Up-Nancy.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Great to see this televised.

Surprised to see this game covered live as nothing but pride riding on it.

I wonder will the weather hold? Hoping for a good match tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭tiger_cub

is there anyone at the gym that will take sympathy on me stuck in hospital and post regular up dates here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

tiger_cub wrote: »
    is there anyone at the gym that will take sympathy on me stuck in hospital and post regular up dates here?
    Yeah sure.

Connacht started strong. Still 0-0

Connacht mangle the Zebre scrum and win a penalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭clsmooth

3-0 Connacht. Nice break by Henshaw earlier

Connacht win a penalty 40 meters out.

Parks scores

3- 0

A great break by Henshaw from fielding a garryowen in his own 22. Perhaps a little green in his decision making. The scrum is well on top.

I believe this ref has a rep as being stark ****ing mad.

3-0 Connacht, Parks pen from Zebre pinged for going in from the side.

3-3

McSharry caught in oosession in the connacht 22

If you have a smartphone, get the Tuneit radio app and listen in to Galway Bay FM.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Well I just ran a solid 15 minutes on the treadmill and now its onto the erg*

*none of this is actually true. I'm drinking beer instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

Robbo wrote: »
    A great break by Henshaw from fielding a garryowen in his own 22. Perhaps a little green in his decision making. The scrum is well on top.

I believe this ref has a rep as being stark ****ing mad.

3-0 Connacht, Parks pen from Zebre pinged for going in from the side.
    Thank god Toulouse didn't get him

Another eevastating scrum from Connacht.

White is mashing Perugini to bits

Another eevastating scrum from Connacht.

White is mashing Perugini to bits
    The secondary shove as well is doing some damage.

I think a policy of willfully knocking on in their half should hasten the inevitable Zebre yellow.

Tidy DG by the Man with the Golden Sideburns.

Park drop goal

9-3

Perugini is going nuts, mostly out of embarrassment no doubt.

Ref telling Perguini to "calm down"

You're on a hiding to nothing there ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

O'Halloran having a very good game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Bushbleacher

so far so good..only a matter of time before Perugini is carded

Parks making a few errors

dont think the cross field was his fault, did look like O'Halloran jumped early

Excellent work by the Connacht backs to win the penalty in front of posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

12-3 now. Parks with all the point so far. 34 mins gone.

Watching on a poor stream and picture quality isn't the best. Whats the weather like there?

its_phil wrote: »

dont think the cross field was his fault, did look like O'Halloran jumped early
    Wasnt a great kick though. And he had one out on the full as well as that mad garryowen!

Its annoying how much of his game is dependent on kicking. Id love to see Madigan inserted into this back line.

Edit: He's taking the ball standing almost completely still as well.

Need a bit more imagination from 9-10-12 to make a breakthrough. Zebre can't keep that level of defence up in the second half and they by rights should be very close to a yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭blackhound

Id love to see Madigan inserted into this back line.

I'd take that madigan for macca. Sounds good to me.;)

blackhound wrote: »
    I'd take that madigan for macca. Sounds good to me.;)
    Macca has no contract and can go where he wills. Madigan is contracted by Leinster at the moment for another season. He is going nowhere at the moment.

If you want a Leinster player out of contract then look at Carr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭tiger_cub

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Well I just ran a solid 15 minutes on the treadmill and now its onto the erg*

*none of this is actually true. I'm drinking beer instead.

auto correct on my phone/ pain meds ;)

Thanks for the updates lads! I'll get ye all a pint at ospreys game.

Macca has no contract and can go where he wills. Madigan is contracted by Leinster at the moment for another season. He is going nowhere at the moment.

Someone is a bit touchy over Madigan.. ;)

Zebre hooker given the crook at half time. He had a shocking firs half so no surprise.

Connacht taking a 5 meter scrum!

Beauty of a kick by Parks for Connacht lineout at Zebre 5

Oooooooooooooooh
    handbags.jpg

Penalty try!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Was the ref playing a penalty try advantage there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Penalty try!

Thanks, you just spoiled it for me! :pac:
    Didn't realise my stream was about 2 mins slow!

19-6 now (unless someone else has scored in the 2 mins)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

He's just making the point. A lot could happen in 2 seasons, Sexton picks up a knee injury tomorrow that rules him out for the season, a Madigan-inspired Lenister thrash Exeter, we get through to the quarters, then semis and Madigan leads Leinster to a famous 4 in 5 in the Aviva, making the plane for the Lions as a result... ;)

He would be a good fit for Connacht though, could be the spark to really unleash the talent in that backline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Ridiculous call by ref there

Penalties are going to be a massive problem I fear.

damn straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭seanin4711

why do we make such hard workbout if these games? same with aironi before zebre.

This game is crying out for Jarvis' hands.

seanin4711 wrote: »
    why do we make such hard workbout if these games? same with aironi before zebre.

Because you can't deal with being hot favourites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭seanin4711

only one team out in second half and it ain't us