Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gorey 3 day 2013

• 16-01-2013 8:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭

Entries for it are open.
    First time attending it so I might see and meet a few people there.

A link would be handy wouldn't it.
    Entry form here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

I believe entries are full already .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

Not bad going getting 180 riders so quick.
    Cheers for the info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭531

fondriest wrote: »

And you, Fondriest, are the bookies' early favourite, judging by your current form.

531 wrote: »

And you, Fondriest, are the bookies' early favourite, judging by your current form.
    The bookies will be safe enough .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭buffalo

o rly? How do I know if my entry's been accepted?

buffalo wrote: »

o rly? How do I know if my entry's been accepted?

Not sure , I think it's just a matter of waiting until the start list is released . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭wav1

Always sells out quicker than a Beatles concert.First stage is a little different and longer this year.Now 2 times over the Cranford hill before the finish.Sat stage now finishing where both Sun stages also finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭morana

wouldnt it be great if we could get a A4 2 day Sunday/Monday 2 rr and TT in NCD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,386 ✭✭✭lennymc

morana wrote: »
    wouldnt it be great if we could get a A4 2 day Sunday/Monday 2 rr and TT in NCD!

that most certainly would be great!!
    In fact, that would be the greatest thing ever*

*this may be a gross exaggeration but it would still be really super

morana wrote: »
    Making progress.An A4 race in the calender in Leinster on Easter Sunday and that didn't happen before.Also confirmed is the A4 only stage race at the Kanturk 3 day on the May bank holiday weekend.
    Lennymc I dont expect you to be looking at the A4 section of the calender for too long.No pressure so.

wav1 wrote: »
    Lennymc I dont expect you to be looking at the A4 section of the calender for too long.No pressure so.

haha. thanks wav1. No pressure at all. :)

http://www.irishroadclub.com/ says entries are now closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Anyone hear anything back on their entry?

I sent a cheque with the entry form, hasn't been lodged yet though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

Heard they are not taking funny money!

joker77 wrote: »
    Anyone hear anything back on their entry?

I sent a cheque with the entry form, hasn't been lodged yet though

My cheque's just come out of my account, and you were in before me, so should be grand.

http://www.irishroadclub.com/ says entries are now closed.
    Entries are now closed for Gorey 3 Day 2013. A start list will be published shortly.

Such an indefinite term isn't it - shortly.

joker77 wrote: »
    Such an indefinite term isn't it - shortly.

You must be pysched for this! :D It's two months away - focus on the training for now, the strategy will come later.

Though I do recall reading that Nico's new junior team will be competing. Sure what's the point of even trying for us old Freds, eh?

ha - probably more a symptom of the age we live in - everything has to be now, Now, NOW!

Cheque cleared so the entry has been accepted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,996 ✭✭✭Plastik

Start list on StickyBottle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Pablo Rubio

Looks like a big kit bag of winter gear needed for this weekend going by the Forecasts at the moment.....should be a fun weekends racing:o
    Although it could be worse Tour of the North is cancelled
    http://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/tour-of-the-north-cancelled-giant-snowdrifts-claim-ulsters-easter-weekend-showpiece/
    snow-tour-of-north-220x145.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

A few of us are heading down to help out a team mate for this, but none of us have done it before. I have the routes, times and locations from the Usher site, however, am wondering if there are any protocols we should be aware of? CI race numbers or specific numbers for the race etc? Anything that would be different from a regular weekend race I guess I'm asking.

You will be supplied with 2 back numbers and a frame number for the race . Also as far as I know you will have to sign on at the start of every stage except for the tt . But I'd check that out at the first stage sign on . Other than that its just the usual but with an extra 80 lunitics in the bunch .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭MichealD

Don't forget your licences. You will have to hand them in at the sign on in Blessington and get them back when you return race numbers on Monday. Also if you driving a teamcar you'll need to produce licence at sign on. If you haven't driven in the cavalcade before be prepared - it's more aggressive than the racing!! TT is in race number order so if your number 60 your off in 60th position (or 10am).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Well we got an absolute kicking on the snow front last night in Blessington so yeah, best of luck to all those doing the 3 day. Bloody sportives are going to be slow this year if this weather keeps up!

Riders who have pre entered arrive on the day.They sign on,hand in their licence,and receive a set of numbers [including frame number].The numbers are then returned at the end of the race and you will receive your licence back.
    As far as helping is concerned the following applies.If you are the designated support car for a club or rider you must sign on for the car draw also producing your licence.When the draw is made you will receive a cavalcade number for the car.Cars then proceed in that order behind the race.If you have never drove in a cavalcade before you must be careful and keep the eyes open all the time for riders coming up behind you from either side etc.There are normally about 30 cars or more in the Gorey race so you have to have your wits about you at all times

....and don't forget snow chains, blankets and a brandy flask......

MichealD wrote: »
    ....and don't forget snow chains, blankets and a brandy flask......

Trying to figure out how to keep the bidons of tea hot in the support car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Trying to figure out how to have keep the bidons of tea hot in the support car...

Most of those cold packs can also be used as hot packs, or you could keep it all in thermoses (thermosi?) and just have whoever is handing them out fill them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Not sure how often ill be online over the next couple of days, so just a quick note to say best of luck to everyone taking part in the gorey, (especially my team mates from drogheda wheelers) and to keep her safe!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭crf450

Lenny there is A4 race this weekend in Rathdowney seems like a flat enough course are you racing it ??

crf450 wrote: »
    Lenny there is A4 race this weekend in Rathdowney seems like a flat enough course are you racing it ??

should be allright.

How did you fair out with the bike did you get a replacement ???

crf450 wrote: »
    How did you fair out with the bike did you get a replacement ???

Not yet. Will be out on another bike. Still looking at replacements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭daragh_

Best of luck to all the Boardsies doing this. We expect great things :D

I'm starting my sandbagging now - been off work half the week with a sinus infection, and legs are empty after the efforts of the Des Hanlon. We'll see how it goes.

There's a fella guaranteed to be off the front on Saturday :pac:

And a fella guaranteedout the back :D

Race radio: "Rider 42 has gone off the front... Rider 42 has a five second gap... Rider 42 has rejoined the bunch... Watch for Rider 42 in the cars..."

did you bring a towel? 42 is my lucky number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

Good luck everyone riding ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

Best of luck all on here riding - id say there are a few.

Ye could well be looking at 3 bunch sprints, so if ye want my opinion (ye probably dont) - the key to a good TT and good GC position is to really attack that first downhill section of the timetrial - go full gas into it as aero as you can be - there is a service station at the bottom and its natural to be concerned about emerging traffic (theres usually not a marshal there) - but the test is so short that any easing up will cost many places.

Stay safe!

Sprint on stage 3 and 4 probably but stage 1 finishing with a lap of the Crannford circuit with make it a tough prospect. Probable headwind, an extra 20km and numerous jumping off points. And a little chilly. Should be a tough day in the saddle.

Good luck to all this weekend.Also it will be the first edition since the man who founded the whole thing,will be missing.Sam Darcy,dog,and motorbike will be missed.RIP Sam.

So when's sign-on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Beautiful day for it here in Blessington. Best of luck to those competing. Stay safe and enjoy. Me and the little man will be up for the start.

Yeah. Going to keep this short. Shelled after about 90km. Rough second lap of Cranford. Put paid to a lot of lads. There was people being lapped by the time the main group were coming through on the run to the line.

Worked in a small group for the lap of Cranford... And dropped the chain about 1.5km from the line. Gah. Rolled in on my own. No idea of the gaps yet.

Tough. That was tough. Tomorrow again, eh!?

I'm shattered. Stayed in the bunch all day, trying to keep near the front out of trouble. Missed the break, went away once, didn't get far. Saw an opportunity on the road into Gorey (before the line), bridged to the break. Attacked to grab a couple of KOH points, stayed with the group across the line. 1750W in there too, recognised the bike. o/

Don't know the guy who stayed away to win, but mein Gott, what a rider. Kept getting gaps, and although they were to someone in front, I thought there as just a bit of confusion, and the gap was to the bunch. He rode a hell of a race, chapeau!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭The Crunch

Savage ride buffalo. fair play. Anyone got a GC sheet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

The Crunch wrote: »
    Savage ride buffalo. fair play. Anyone got a GC sheet?

Sssshhhhhhhhh!!!!!

Don't ask for results here!!!