Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much are you willing to pay?

• 16-01-2013 5:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭

Every time I buy something, whatever it may be, I always think to myself, "That was expensive" or "That was a bargain". After reflecting on the price, I always think of a price I find suitable for the item, funny things to be thinking about really.

I'm asking you lot, what would you be willing to pay or what do you think is suitable for these items? (thought randomly in my head) I'll put my price in there as well.

1. Bag of Chips - E 2.00
    2. Standard Dublin Bus fare which is currently 2.40(joke) correct me if its different - E 1.50
    3. Haircut - a Fiver
    4. Cinema - 5-8 , not fussy tbh
    5. Fags - a fiver, currently around 8 quid, again a joke.
    6. Standard book - Tenner
    7. Mars Bar - 50 cent (was 1.10 in a shop i was in the other day, Christ.)
    8. Crate of beer, 10-20 bottles - between a tenner and 15 quid
    9. A big name concert - 50 quid

and last but not least, my personal fave

10. A pint - E 2.00...yes i want it that cheap, feckin ridiculously forking out a fiver for one drink :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭EDDIE WATERS

Mahogany wrote: »

Every time I buy something, whatever it may be, I always think to myself, "That was expensive" or "That was a bargain". After reflecting on the price, I always think of a price I find suitable for the item, funny things to be thinking about really.

I'm asking you lot, what would you be willing to pay or what do you think is suitable for these items? (thought randomly in my head) I'll put my price in there as well.

1. Bag of Chips - E 2.00
    2. Standard Dublin Bus fare which is currently 2.40(joke) correct me if its different - E 1.50
    3. Haircut - a Fiver

10. A pint - E 2.00...yes i want it that cheap, feckin ridiculously forking out a fiver for one drink :mad:
    Tree fiddy for everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

1. Hooker €50
    2. Hooker with a Dublin accent €5
    3. Hooker with Donegal accent €100
    4. Treatment for the clap. Priceless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭murraykil

1. Bag of Chips - Depends on size . . .
    2. Standard Dublin Bus fare which is currently 2.40(joke) correct me if its different - E 2.00
    3. Haircut - e12 + e3 tip!
    4. Cinema - e10 , but with reasonably priced treats
    5. Fags - e20.
    6. Standard book - Not sure what a standard book is
    7. Mars Bar - e1
    8. Crate of beer, 10-20 bottles - e0.5 (each) for tasteless stuff, e1 - e2 (each) for good stuff
    9. A big name concert - e20 - e80

10. A pint - e2.50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Mahogany

murraykil wrote: »
    1. Bag of Chips - Depends on size . . .

There all the same really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭murraykil

There all the same really.

Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

1. Bag of Chips - E 2.00
    3. Haircut - a Fiver

You can't be willing to pay less than the cost of everything, then you will have nothing!
    What you would like to pay and what you are willing to pay are two very distinct things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

If these things were lowered in price to suit you then would you be happy with low pay in your job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

1. Bag of Chips - E 2.00-
    3. Haircut - a Fiver

Chips I do pay 2:00 for maybe it's 2:10
    Dublin bus no idea but bus eireann is a rip off should be 2:50-3e for the trip i make not 5:50
    Haircut I do my own so 0
    Cinema 8-9
    Fags- 0
    Book depends if its hard or paper back Hard 20 paper 12
    Mars 70c
    Beer 15e tops
    Big Concert -90

Pint 3.00 currently paying 3.50

Eathrin wrote: »
    You can't be willing to pay less than the cost of everything, then you will have nothing!
    What you would like to pay and what you are willing to pay are two very distinct things.

I know, its just a game..

Arawn wrote: »
    Dublin bus no idea but bus eireann is a rip off should be 2:50-3e for the trip i

Where ye hail from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

1. Bag of Chips - €1.50 and that's being generous. They're cut up spuds for crying out loud. How much is a bag of Roosters? €6.50? How many bags of chips would that get you? The fast food industry makes the biggest markup of any business, they could afford to sell chips at €1.00 and now they're telling us the burgers contain horse meat.
    2. Standard Dublin Bus fare which is currently 2.40(joke) correct me if its different - E 1.50. I agree
    3. Haircut - Barbers use trained staff not some soap working the weekends to fund college so the wage requirements are higher than your average shelf packer. I think €10-€12 is fair.
    4. Cinema - I don't mind what they charge for a film it's the ridiculous prices for the snacks that get me.
    5. Fags - In fairness a lot of that includes tax.
    6. Standard book - Yep 10 quid or 15 for a hard back.
    7. Mars Bar - They're always going to charge high prices for sweets, because who doesn't like sweets?
    8. Crate of beer, 10-20 bottles - Again a lot of tax involved.
    9. A big name concert - 50 cent ha ha I'm gas. No but really I'd say between 50 and 60

10. A pint -I don't even remember it when it was 2 pounds that's how long ago it was. I don't think you're going to get it for 2 euro. IMO you should be able to get three pints for your tenner. Although to be fair a lot of pubs are doing 3 euro nights.

11. Doctors - Sixty bones for a five minute chat and a prescription? Robbery! Just because they're health care professionals people give them a get out of jail free card. Not this guy!

What really get's me though are the services where you can't gauge the service to the cost. Like computer repair for example. You drop it in to yer man, you come back three days later and fork out €150. You have no idea what he's done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

I know, its just a game..

Well here's what I do pay:

Chips €2.50 seems to be the norm in Dublin
    Dublin Bus €3 per day on the rambler
    Haircut €0 I cut my own
    Cinema €4,5 depending on where I am
    Fags €0 Never will smoke
    Books €15 I only buy about one a year
    Mars Bar €0 or €1.20 for a multipack will never buy one individually
    Crate of beer €12.50 (2 for €25 you often see around)
    Concert €50, €20 for smaller name band
    Pint €4 I struggle to part myself with more money than that on a pint.

Chips isn't a bad deal considering it's quite filling. €2 would be more reasonable
    Dublin Bus prices are extortionate, rambler tickets are a lifesaver
    The price of a haircut €5-€10 isn't too bad but the cut can be awful so I do my own.
    Cinema prices shouldn't rise above €5. €10 is extortionate and common enough.
    Fags are expensive because the government can.
    Books provide hours of entertainment and knowledge and are worth the fee.
    Confectionery is ridiculously prices for individual items.
    Crate of Beer can be quite expensive and gets worse each year.
    Concerts are big money but are usually a good experience.
    Pints should drop to the €3-€4 range.

MyKeyG wrote: »

11. Doctors - Sixty bones for a five minute chat and a prescription? Robbery! Just because they're health care professionals people give them a get out of jail free card. Not this guy!

Ah but you don't have the wonderous little thing called a medical card ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Taytos will always be 12p in my eyes :)

Welcome to 1996

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭bop1977

1. Bag of Chips - E 2.00
    3. Haircut - a Fiver

round my way here things cost this:

1. E2.50
    2. scamming dublin bus its 2.85 to the city.
    3. E8 with a hot polish bird rubbing up against you. also comes with a free beer, tea or coffee.
    4. E5 lids with a discount from O2.
    5. dont smoke but they should be E20 to pay for the drain you smokers cause to the health service.
    6. free pdf's to the ipad from sources that would probably get me a little banned from here if i posted links.
    7. four pack for E2.5
    8. as above.

10. pints, feck the publicans drink in your own gaff. no hassle and no poxy bus/taxi home but no chipper after a feed of beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

1. Bag of Chips

Buy a bag of spuds and make your own.
    2. Standard Dublin Bus fare which is currently 2.40

Walk. Cycle. Share Taxi. Car pool.
    3. Haircut

Buy a hair clippers - €30 for a decent one should last several years.
    4. Cinema

Wait for it to come out on TV and close the curtains.
    5. Fags

E-cigs > Quit.
    6. Standard book.

Library.
    7. Mars Bar

Save your teeth.
    8. Crate of beer

Quite cheap already?
    9. A big name concert

Hire a cherry picker and charge people to go up on it to see concert for free. Profit.
    10. A pint

Make a pub-shed down the back yard and sell beer to friends. Profit.

Ah but you don't have the wonderous little thing called a medical card ;)
    I do actually;) But that just goes to show my conviction:D

murraykil wrote: »
    Where?

In the chippers ...?

charge people to go up on it to see concert for free.
    You'd want to be one hell of a talented salesman to charge someone for something and convince them they're getting it for free :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

You'd want to be one hell of a talented salesman to charge someone for something and convince them they're getting it for free :D

Ssshhh! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

MY doctor is 20e. I'm amazed when people pay 60-80e

But sure what else are you going to do? If he charges 60 you pay 60. Never heard of a Doctor that charged anything less than 50. I'm sure there are plenty I've just never met one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭Hooked

Here is what I pay (and am happy to!)

1. Bag of Chips - E 1.50 in Rios

2. Standard Dublin Bus fare which is currently 2.40(joke) correct me if its different - I'm in limerick and I drive / cycle / walk

3. Haircut - I cut my own

4. Cinema - watch most stuff online. A treat with herself the odd time with my fake student card (I'm 34) and buy sweets in tesco. A tenner all in.

5. Fags - don't smoke. But I'd smoke roll ups or get cheap ones in from Spain. **** paying a tenner a pack.

6. Standard book - App or kindle, surely are cheaper? Library or second hand?

7. Mars Bar - 5 for 2 euro in my local E2 store - so 40 cent

8. Crate of beer, 10-20 bottles - between a tenner and 15 quid. Already that in places!

9. A big name concert - surely there are sections available for 50 or less.

10. A pint - E3 Guinness or E3.50 beers in my local. Grand for a few if I'm out.

Stuff is only expensive if you pay stupid prices. All of the above are a available for way less if you shop around. Take me fixing my GFs mini the weekend (and I'm not a mechanic). BMW part plus labour... 450 plus vat. Scrap yard part 50 quid plus a few online tutorials and YouTube vids... Priceless!!!

For a bag of Chips, €2 seems fair to me (they are rather filling). Local place in Drogheda (Giulio's) do a bag of chips and two sausages for €3, which I think is very reasonable.

I don't really travel with Dublin Bus. The only service I avail of are Matthews Coaches to Dublin. I've also used Bus Eireann's 'town' bus service in Drogheda here and there (but not often). Considering I use them rarely, and not every day, I can't argue with the pricing.

I pay, on average, €15 for a haircut. Which I think is a tad expensive (would prefer to be in/around €10). Last haircut I got wasn't up to much, so considering giving it a miss from now and DIYing it.

Cinema is, again, not a common one to me, so considering I'd rarely use it, it seems fairly priced. With a bit of Popcorn/Coke/etc. you'd probably pay, what, €20 for the 2 hours or so experience you get? Doesn't stand out as great value, but nothing too bad, either, I suppose.

Don't smoke.

I don't read a lot (usually autobiographies or such) but I'd be willing to pay more than the going rate for most books. Maybe I'm a slow reader, but I get a lot of time out of a book. Last book I picked up was a Mick Foley book that had me in tears laughing and kept me occupuied (on and off) for about a week. Was well worth the money.

For a Mars Bar I'd pay no more than 50c. Hence I haven't purchased one in about a decade.

Don't drink.

For a music gig I think €40-€50 is a reasonable rate. Especially ones where the act is a single person or small band. I attended WWE shows before, and the prices were up to about €80. Seemed a bit expensive, but taking into consideration the amount of people involved with the show (from a talent perspective) then I can understand it and find it reasonable enough in comparison to other events (music and the likes).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭fkt

Bag of Chips - Fiver with curry
    Bus - Monthly ticket = 86 p/m
    Haircut - Minimum forty quid for someone who knows hat they're doing
    Fags - I will pay whatever it takes for quality cigars/weed/coke. Fags = boring
    Standard book - 25

:shrugsshoulders:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Im guessing you have no plans to open a business and more importantly for it to survive anytime soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ericaa

Pints should be 90c like they are in Slovakia!

(Yes I'm aware it'll never happen, leave me alone :P )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭fkt

IM0 wrote: »
    Im guessing you have no plans to open a business and more importantly for it to survive anytime soon

Me?

I'm a student but I have a business. I let myself go once I leave the office.

The food service industry are the biggest bunch of chancers. Think about it how much is a loaf of bread, a head of lettuce a box of tomatoes, a packet of cheese, a packet of ham and a box of tea bags? And that's from a supplier with bulk discount. Now think of how many sandwiches for €4.50 and cups of tea for €1.50 you make with that. It's a wonder food establishments even go out of business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

He's a vet, hadn't the heart to tell you before. Did you never wonder why you had to jump up on the table before he'd look at you?

Pottler wrote: »
    He's a vet, hadn't the heart to tell you before. Did you never wonder why you had to jump up on the table before he'd look at you?
    Well you're still doing well. My vet is 40-50 and that's no word of a lie.

This is what I've been paying in Hanoi and it's now what I think they're worth.

1. Bag of Chips - Only one place in town that does chipper style.. Rip off shop for expats. $2. $5-$6 for a full meal.
    2. Standard Bus fare.. $.14
    3. Haircut - $4
    4. Cinema - $4-$6
    5. Fags - $1
    6. Standard book - $5
    7. Mars Bar - Expensive here for Mars.. $.75
    8. Crate of beer, 24 bottles - $7.20
    9. A big name concert - Doesn't exist.. Apart from Westlife and K-Pop last year.
    10. A pint - $1.50 for draught. $1-$1.50 for a bottle. $.25 for fresh beer on the street.

Stuff like doctor is cheap if ya stick to the locals.. I got an x-ray and strap for $10. Or an std check for $6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Let's see now ...

1. Bag of Chips - not a big fan, so I can't really say.

2. Standard Dublin Bus fare which is currently 2.40(joke) correct me if its different - No idea... Bus Eireann do a good deal on monthly combines bus and rail tickets down here, at around €100. Can't complain there.

3. Haircut - around €30

4. Cinema - Anything under €10 I'm happy with

5. Fags - wouldn't know, I don't smoke.

6. Standard book - Depends on the author, between €10 and €20 are ok

7. Mars Bar - again, not a big fan, so I wouldn't know....

8. Crate of beer, 10-20 bottles - again, haven't the foggiest. I don't drink at home, so I'd only know the pub prices.

9. A big name concert - around €20 or €30 would sound right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Tree fiddy for everything

you have won the internet and all its glory.

Here, have a pony.

Rabies wrote: »
    Here, have a pony.
    Live or in a burger bun?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

1. Bag of Chips - E 2.00
    2. Standard Dublin Bus fare which is currently 2.40(joke) correct me if its different - E 1.50 min and 50c a stop after that, Dubs have to realise that they are very lucky to have public transport, trying living diwn the sticks and trying to get anywhere. The country has standard taxi fares, bus fares should be the same
    3. Haircut - a Fiver
    4. Cinema - 5-8
    5. Fags - €20, anyone caught smoking illegal fags to be fined €50.
    7. Mars Bar - Don't care
    8. Crate of beer - €1 a bottle minimum
    9. A big name concert - as much as they want to charge, your decision to go
    10. A pint - €3

Not entirely on topic but I read a great passage in a book recently about the lengths people will go to to save some money.

People from similar financial backgrounds who were travelling into city shops with the express intention of buying an item were studied.

The people who were going in to buy a low priced item would shop around. If they found the item for 20 in one shop and then in the next shop found it for 22, they would travel BACK to the first shop to save the 2.

People going for a high priced item however would find the item for say 1500 in one shop and would look in the next shop and find it for say 1525 and they would not bother traveling back to the first shop.

The conclusion was that even though the money saved is higher... 25 quid more in your pocket at the end of the day compared to 2 more.... the higher the item price the less willing people are to go to the effort of getting it cheaper.

So the higher the item price the more willing people are to waste their money. Strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

The food service industry are the biggest bunch of chancers. Think about it how much is a loaf of bread, a head of lettuce a box of tomatoes, a packet of cheese, a packet of ham and a box of tea bags? And that's from a supplier with bulk discount. Now think of how many sandwiches for €4.50 and cups of tea for €1.50 you make with that. It's a wonder food establishments even go out of business.

Now think of the cost of Staff, premises, electricity, insurance, fridges, cooking appliances.

I can't complain about the price of anything that I don't HAVE to buy.

A bag of chips? If I'm hard up I won't buy them, I'll buy a pack of roosters, you don't even have to peal them! Just slice rinse and cook. €6.50 - €7.50 for a 7.5 Kg Bag.

Bus Fare - I have a free travel pass, but it's 1.80 in Cork... Seems like a rip off and it is, National bus services shouldn't exist to profit (and Bus Eireann doesn't) but they should minimise losses.

Haircut - I've been going to the same barber for nearly 10 years. It's 10 euro every time, hair cut once a month. Worth it.

Cinema - There are thousands of movies in existance, don't go to the cinema, get netflix and wait for new ones to come out unless it's something you really really want to see straight away.

Fags - I don't smoke so I laugh at the price :)

Books - They cost about 10 euro if they aren't brand new. But a kindle or some such is cheaper.

Crate of beer - IF you're willing to lower your standards you'll get sh1t for cheap. I like good beers, they are more expensive but worth the cost.

Big name concerts - I wouldn't pay more than 30 euro in this country. Too much of the cost is paid on insurance alone for big events.

A Pint - Again, I'll pay whatever, I love drink too much to not. But I can always find a place selling decent pints for a decent price. Or just wait til after work and get a 3 euro pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I pay whatever the price is for whatever I want to buy if I can afford it.

1. Bag of Chips - Never, I always make my own.

2. Standard Dublin Bus fare which is currently 2.40 - Is it? I am a more car and bike man. Cant remember when I last took a bus.

3. Haircut - I get the girls to do this for me. So pay nothing.

4. Cinema - I built a home cinema :)

5. Fags - Never smoke.

6. Standard book - I tend to buy second hand off amazon so many books cost about 2 to 4 euro. Must look into a Kindle to compare costs some time though.

7. Mars Bar - Not much of a choccie person. Wouldnt pay anything.

8. Crate of beer, 10-20 bottles - The only time I drink these days is the monthly house party I throw. And people bring the beer to that. So I can not actually remember last time I paid for beer so no idea what it costs.

9. A big name concert - Most of the gigs I like tend to be in places like Whelans but that can cost anything from 2 quid to silly money depending on who it is.

Now think of the cost of Staff, premises, electricity, insurance, fridges, cooking appliances.
    I appreciate that but all businesses have overheads, equipment, premises etc. All businesses pay wages.

The point I'm making is that when you take those common denominators out of the equation the food service industry has a higher markup than say a grocery store because they get a couple of times more return for what they paid for their materials.

Not entirely on topic but I read a great passage in a book recently about the lengths people will go to to save some money.

People from similar financial backgrounds who were travelling into city shops with the express intention of buying an item were studied.

The people who were going in to buy a low priced item would shop around. If they found the item for 20 in one shop and then in the next shop found it for 22, they would travel BACK to the first shop to save the 2.

People going for a high priced item however would find the item for say 1500 in one shop and would look in the next shop and find it for say 1525 and they would not bother traveling back to the first shop.

The conclusion was that even though the money saved is higher... 25 quid more in your pocket at the end of the day compared to 2 more.... the higher the item price the less willing people are to go to the effort of getting it cheaper.

So the higher the item price the more willing people are to waste their money. Strange.
    Not strange at all.. The expensive item is a rare purchase and the customer usually gets attached to one particular model and is happy to get it for around what they think is an ok price. My motorbike for instance, I'd have been happy paying $500 more just because I know I wouldn't find another like it without a fair bit of looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Coming from another country - I have this problem a lot.

What I'm willing to pay for something is often very different from the actual price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Frankly, anyone who buys there sweets in cinema and not in a shop beforehand is a mug. You can't beat a cinema with a conveniently located tesco nearby to load up on a multipack of doughnuts to keep you going through the film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

A lot of times I care less about the actual price of something and more about whether or not I feel I'm being ripped off.

Paying an extra two euro on something that 'feels' like it should be 20 - is an extra 10% that the business is marking up. Paying an extra 25 on 1500 is less than 2%. That seems like a more reasonable difference.

Also, lower cost items tend to involve less 'thought'. I'm not going to care if the sales associate on staff can tell me the difference between Coke and Pepsi. But if I'm buying 1500 euro speakers, it might be nice if the staff is knowledgeable. So I'm willing to pay 2% more to shop someplace with better staff or a bigger selection.

But when I shop for Coke - I don't care about anything but the price. So I do shop around, find the best, and only buy it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 niamh92

1. bag of chips: 2.10
    2. Bus fare: 102 a month for a bus and train ticket
    3: haircut: 15-20
    4: cinema: work in one so get to go free
    5: fags: dont smoke
    6: standard book: 15-20 depending on how much i want it
    7: mars bar: dont like them, but paid 2.15 for a bag of malteasers... which killed me
    8: crate of beer: 15-20
    9: Concert: 40-80
    10: pint: 2-3 euro.... cheap and cheerful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

1. blah.
    2. blah
    3. blah
    4. blah
    5. Fags - €2.00, go tax somthing else ye cnuts.
    6. Standard book - depends on the book...
    7. blah
    8. Crate of beer - €1 a bottle - it's mass produced, should be very cheap, see (5)
    9. blah
    10. blah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

5. Fags

Depends if he's clean or not

Not strange at all.. The expensive item is a rare purchase and the customer usually gets attached to one particular model and is happy to get it for around what they think is an ok price.
    UCDVet wrote: »
    Paying an extra two euro on something that 'feels' like it should be 20 - is an extra 10% that the business is marking up. Paying an extra 25 on 1500 is less than 2%. That seems like a more reasonable difference.

I would see things like "It is a rare purchase" as just excuse making if I were to catch myself doing it. I think UCDVet has hit on the right word with the "Seems" mentality. I still think it strange.

At the end of the day it is 25 euro in your pocket that otherwise would not be in your pocket. So why not save it - especially given the lenghts people will go on lower price items to keep 2 euro in their pocket.

You either want 25 euro more in your pocket or you do not. If you do then it simply makes no sense to pay 25 more for the same item in the same area rather than traveling back to the first shop and saving that money.

It is just a shift in thinking I guess. When the money saved is a less significant % of the total cost it _seems_ less even when the actual quantity is more. 2 euro on a 20 euro item _seems_ less in the average human mind than 25 euro on a 2000 euro item. In % terms it _is_ less. At the end of the day - as I said - it is 25 euro in your pocket that otherwise would not be and throwing that money away because the % _seems_ less makes very little sense when you explore the numbers.

The caveat on the above of course is that it is "all other things being equal". UCDVet is entirely right that one is likely to want to pay more money if the more expensive shop has more knowledge, better customer service, better returns policy, more pleasant shopping experience, better delivery options or whatever. I am talking merely about people who know exactly what make/model they want and they look in two shops and find it for two different prices and "all other things being equal" whether or not they will travel BACK to the cheaper shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I saw a single muller corner yoghurt for €2.09 the other day in a petrol station near Donegal town last week.