Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

January 2013: Two people in Dublin die of cold

• 15-01-2013 6:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭

Remember the two people who died in a house off Manor Street yesterday? It was initially said it was possibly carbon monoxide poisoning.

According to the Garda this afternoon, they died of hypothermia: they died of the cold. They may had been dead for up to a day and a half. In January 2013.

Hypothermia cause of Dublin house deaths

This reminds me of that 30-year-old mother, Rachel Peavoy, who froze to death in Ballymun in January 2011

Woman froze to death in Ballymun

It is beyond words how people can die of the cold in our country today. Beyond words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

Sadly, not beyond these words in the link you provided:

"It was also established that the two had not eaten much for the few days before they died, but had consumed large quantities of alcohol."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Did you read the article?

They had electric heaters that weren't turned on in days and had very little food in their system but large quantities of alcohol. They also had other health complications. RIP.

I don't think it's a problem with the wider Irish society as an isolated and avoidable tragedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Beyond words? Why? It's fairly easy to see what happened really:
    It was also established that the two had not eaten much for the few days before they died, but had consumed large quantities of alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Dostoevsky wrote: »
    Remember the two people who died in a house off Manor Street yesterday? It was initially said it was possibly carbon monoxide poisoning.

According to the Garda this afternoon, they died of hypothermia: they died of the cold. They may had been dead for up to a day and a half. In January 2013.

This reminds me of that 30-year-old mother, Rachel Peavoy, who froze to death in Ballymun in January 2011

It is beyond words how people can die of the cold in our country today. Beyond words.

Absolutley disgusting that the OP links the death of Rachel Peavoy with these two death, Rachel Peavoy didn't drink herself into a coma!
    :mad:
    It's beyond words how someone can link the two. Beyond words!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

They did not die from the cold, it was alcohol related with other health issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Has anyone mentioned the alcohol yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

token101 wrote: »

I'm sure plenty of people have done that, and did not died. What made this different?

I don't think so. Perhaps somebody could?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I blame cannabis.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

mikom wrote: »
    I blame cannabis.....

They should ban that, it's dangerous

HondaSami wrote: »
    They did not die from the cold, it was alcohol related with other health issues.

Ahem:

"A man and a woman found dead in a flat in Drumalee Court in Dublin yesterday afternoon died from the cold.
    Post-mortems carried out on the bodies of John Glennon, 67, and Debbie McEvoy, 63, found the cause of their deaths to be hypothermia along with ongoing health problems."

Causes:

1) Hypothermia

2) Other issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

If you drink yourself into a coma and forget to turn on the heating, you have only yourself to blame.

Has anyone got a link to conclusive proof this was what happened?

I'm sure plenty of people have done that, and did not died. What made this different?

They had health issues? I have no idea, what's your point? Is it going to involves some thinly veiled rant about how government cutbacks are at fault? Because if it is it's a bit of a stretch and just exploiting a tragedy really.

I think the word 'also' in your quote indicates they were subsidiary reasons for the death. You seem to have missed the principal, stated reason in the same report: hypothermia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Ahem:

"A man and a woman found dead in a flat in Drumalee Court in Dublin yesterday afternoon died from the cold.
    Post-mortems carried out on the bodies of John Glennon, 67, and Debbie McEvoy, 63, found the cause of their deaths to be hypothermia along with ongoing health problems."

Causes:

1) Hypothermia

2) Other issues

Yes but they had money for drink, had heaters and electricity, no need for them to die from the cold. Who's fault was it? ours? theirs?

They had health issues? I have no idea, what's your point? Is it going to involves some thinly veiled rant about how government cutbacks are at fault? Because if it is it's a bit of a stretch and just exploiting a tragedy really.

Forgetting already what you've quoted? Not good. Here it is:

"It was also established that the two had not eaten much for the few days before they died, but had consumed large quantities of alcohol."

My response: I'm sure plenty of people have done that, and did not die. What made this different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Weird as I always feel warm and fuzzy when I'm drunk!!

Forgetting already what you've quoted? Not good. Here it is:

My response: I'm sure plenty of people have done that, and did not die. What made this different?

You tell me then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Others put the heaters on first or the heaters were on timers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

It's funny they both died the same way though. No funny haha, the other funny. That's quite a combination of stuff to kill two people in the same place at the same time. No mention of drugs of any sort?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

No mention of drugs of any sort?

*smashes head off desk*

HondaSami wrote: »
    Yes but they had money for drink, had heaters and electricity, no need for them to die from the cold. Who's fault was it? ours? theirs?

What are you on about? You're making a hell of a lot of assumptions for someone that hasn't a clue.

Actually she has as much info as the Op, but for his own reasons he sought to misrepresent it and link to a tragic case that had nothing in common with it.

The principal cause of death in this case is hypothermia, according to that report. The principal cause of the Ballymun death was hypothermia. Anyway.... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭PapaQuebec

I didn't know Mr Glennon, but I was marginally acquainted with Ms McEvoy from when she was the partner of a long-time friend of mine over 20 years ago.

I live not far from the flat in which they died and Debbie was a frequent sight in many of the local bars. She had a long-time "problem" with alcohol - indeed it cost her former partner his employment on more than one occasion when he'd take time off to look after her following week-long binges!

I last saw her about two months ago being asked to leave a local bar owing to her drunkenness.

Sad life.
    Sad death.

Jumping to conclusions and making assumptions of your own isn't a great way to deal with other people doing the same thing. Especially if you're going to chastise them about making assumptions at the same time!

Two people are dead.. why anybody feels the need to pin the blame on any one thing is beyond me. If it turned out that they deliberately ended their own lives I'd imagine the tone of the thread would be quite different.

The principal cause of death in this case is hypothermia, according to that report. The principal cause of the Ballymun death was hypothermia. Anyway.... :rolleyes:

I presume the medical cause of death!
    You make no account of context and lump these two deaths in waith a completley different case, obvious you have some agenda, just can't figure what it is.

frag420 wrote: »
    Alcohol makes the blood flow to the skin more so you don't feel the cold, but in doing so, it speeds up heat loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ahem:

Causes:

1) Hypothermia

2) Other issues

If I run around in my nip in -10C, I'm going to catch hypothermia and die. Doesn't mean it's society's fault.

I wouldn't mind, but it hasn't really been all that cold lately.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

No mention of drugs of any sort?

what do you think alcohol is? lol

Yes, its a drug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Yakult wrote: »

what do you think alcohol is? lol

Yes, its a drug.

I was thinking more of a dodgy batch of pills or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

frag420 wrote: »
    You only feel warm, when you are actually cold and you are unaware that you may be suffering from hypothermia or even frostbite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

What's beyond words to me is how people either willfully refuse to fully read an article and understand the context or simply lack the cop on to know they should do so.

It seems to me the OP's aim here was attribute these deaths to the ecomonic slump/useless uncaring government and society in general for the way the country has gone.

But if he/she had bothered to read article he/she would know that these poor people died due to having drunk large amounts of alcohol and not using their heating appliences or eating properly.

They clearly had the cash to keep a roof over their heads, buy heaters and drink so lets not go laying the blame where it doesn't belong. There's too much of that going at the moment in all levels of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

I really hate what this country has come too.A lot of people just use cases like this to jump on the government and blame them without even reading the full story.

Already there is these ridiculous facebook stories going up about how this is the governments fault in this day and age.

I probably will get flak for this but all of the people I know giving out are on the dole,too lazy to get a job,have a comfortable life,I know this personally with every one of them.

But this will suit their agenda to stay sponging for another few years.

It's just after being reported on this mornings news and not a mention of the alcohol....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

I really hate what this country has come too.A lot of people just use cases like this to jump on the government and blame them without even reading the full story.

Already there is these ridiculous facebook stories going up about how this is the governments fault in this day and age.

I probably will get flak for this but all of the people I know giving out are on the dole,too lazy to get a job,have a comfortable life,I know this personally with every one of them.

But this will suit their agenda to stay sponging for another few years.
    Really? An article about two people dying of hypothermia(whether alcohol related or whatever) and it somehow comes back to giving out about people on the dole?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

It's funny they both died the same way though. No funny haha, the other funny. That's quite a combination of stuff to kill two people in the same place at the same time. No mention of drugs of any sort?

aye, there's so many variable, other factors, drugs and alcohol which if both of them were consuming in large quantities wouldn't have helped them. to say they died of cold is too simplistic , i mean it would have been a factor in the cause of their deaths not the cause iykwim. can't see the comparison with rachel peavoy though ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Maybe the electricity was disconnected because they couldn't pay their bills.

Very sad story... :-/
    I know it was their responsibility to seek help (although you never know what horrendously ****ed up lives could lead to alcohol addiction) but I couldn't feel anything other than sympathy for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I blame tree fiddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Maybe the electricity was disconnected because they couldn't pay their bills.

Bit of a leap of logic.
    Very sad story... :-/
    I know it was their responsibility to seek help (although you never know what horrendously ****ed up lives could lead to alcohol addiction) but I couldn't feel anything other than sympathy for them.

It's a pity it'll be used for an agenda by a small amount of people.

Why a leap of logic? It could be why the heaters weren't on. It's not unlikely for a person in such circumstances to fall behind in their bill payments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Why a leap of logic? It could be why the heaters weren't on. It's not unlikely for a person in such circumstances to fall behind in their bill payments.

No, that was a bad choice of words on my part. Not a leap of logic, but it does interpret it in a certain way that puts the blame back on the government/business.

Not how I meant it. If a person gets disconnected because of not paying their bills (and it does take a long time for it to go that far) and not advising the service provider of their circumstances (because the company isn't psychic) it's the person's fault, not the company's.

I still have sympathy for these two people and I don't mean the above in a heartless way, but it's just how things are. Those who blame companies for disconnection are just lazy.

Was fuel allowance being collected for the property?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Madam_X wrote: »

They were found within a retirement complex owned by Dublin City Council. I strongly suspect if the ESB had cut their power we would have heard about it by now.

It is a terrible tragedy but I don't agree with the OP's suggestion that it's the fault of a worsening Irish society.