Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The foreigners who say Ireland is freezing...

• 15-01-2013 5:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭

They're right!

I had always thought they were mental, as our weather is rarely below zero during the daytime, but as a returning expat (just for a wedding) I can see they are spot on.

I live in Beijing where the winters are often -10, -20, etc., but Ireland feels way colder.

I think it's the dampness. The cold really gets into your clothes and bones here, where in Beijing it's a dry sort of cold so as long as you put on a few layers you feel fine.

So what am I trying to say... yeah, the weather in Ireland really is ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Whats to discuss? We know the weather is sh*t...but godammit its our weather :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Cungi

Tell ya what OP, I'll tell the weather to stop bein damp. How's that for ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

Chucken wrote: »
    Whats to discuss? We know the weather is sh*t...but godammit its our weather :mad:

No doubt they'll discover you can generate power from ****ty weather, but part of our bailout deal we'll give the rights to France...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Are you mad? :)

As far as I'm concerned Ireland doesn't even have winters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Does anybody else think it's been far warmer than normal this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Dampness lol

What about the days when its not damp and its still cold, eh?

Cungi wrote: »
    Tell ya what OP, I'll tell the weather to stop bein damp. How's that for ya?

Throw in a massage and we have a deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I live in Beijing

How's the smog? :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Our winters are incredibly mild compared to some in the Northern US/Canada and the rest of Northern Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Emmigrant

I live in Nakhon Ratchasima central Thailand, if its below 18-20 my gf cannot function, shut down disaster mode. I'm here nearly 2 years now and to be honest it does feel colder than an 18 c beach day in ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I live in Beijing where the winters are often -10, -20, etc., but Ireland feels way colder.

That's because there's so many people in China that they huddle together like penguins in the cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Its true. It feels colder here because you get that icy chill in the air at +5. Anywhere else you get that only below zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

They're right!

I had always thought they were mental, as our weather is rarely below zero during the daytime, but as a returning expat (just for a wedding) I can see they are spot on.

I think it's the dampness. The cold really gets into your clothes and bones here, where in Beijing it's a dry sort of cold so as long as you put on a few layers you feel fine.

So what am I trying to say... yeah, the weather in Ireland really is ****.

so you're not even here and your giving out about the weather...quare Irish lad!

Zebra3 wrote: »
    How's the smog? :pac:

Ha! You get used to it actually (just like you get used to the crowds) but you'd want to be mad to live there long term. I can imagine getting lung cancer and the doctor saying what did I think was going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

They come over here, taking our cold..........

I used to have a Russian colleague who hated the weather here. It was far colder there, but it's the dampness here combined with wind-chill that makes it seem worse. Then again, look on the bright side; at least it's not Scotland. That place is cooooooold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

I like the cold weather, it allows me to wear my Ugg boots

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

who_me wrote: »
    They come over here, taking our cold..........

I used to have a Russian colleague who hated the weather here. It was far colder there, but it's the dampness here combined with wind-chill that makes it seem worse. Then again, look on the bright side; at least it's not Scotland. That place is cooooooold.
    I think it is probably the wind chill factor alright, the wind would cut you in half some days but its still >5 degrees

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Im Irish, live in Ireland, never been out of the country so I never saw proper weather and I find it cold.

Even in the summer. One of our hottest days last year was 25 and that was grand. But most days I find it cold. You think i'd be used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Im Irish, live in Ireland, never been out of the country so I never saw proper weather and I find it cold.

Eh? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Irish air is incredibly damp, makes the cool feel cold and the hot feel humid. Solution - move Ireland south and east.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Zebra3 wrote: »

Eh? :confused:

The sun. Never see it long enough in this country. A day or two of sunshine here and its three weeks rain after that.

I need a warmer climate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I find Ireland grand, the himalayas on the other hand i found freezing couldn't get the heat into me at all, wasn't made better that i spent nearly 2 months before in south India in 40 degree heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I have a Polish neighbour is giving out about the temperatures here, how cold it is and everything. She is now on holiday Germany to visit family there and is posting pictures of her daughter in the snow and saying how wonderful it is. A bit annoying really since it was about 5 degrees here today and Germany was 0. It baffles me, especially since Poland has colder winters than us too. I mean we ca all comment on the weather, but the fact is, some people exaggerate too much just for the sake of complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

You got to also take in to account the wind. It's -6 here at the moment, no wind and it's ok for walking around in. I was in Copenhagen at the weekend where it was slightly warmer at -4, but it would cut right through you because of the wind, was bitterly cold.

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    I have a Polish neighbour is giving out about the temperatures here, how cold it is and everything. She is now on holiday Germany to visit family there and is posting pictures of her daughter in the snow and saying how wonderful it is. A bit annoying really since it was about 5 degrees here today and Germany was 0. It baffles me, especially since Poland has colder winters than us too. I mean we ca all comment on the weather, but the fact is, some people exaggerate too much just for the sake of complaining.

But it really does feel colder in Ireland.

As I say, in Beijing I am used to -10, etc., but it feels a lot more comfortable than Ireland, even though it is +5 here or whatever.

I really think it's the dampness and wind. Beijing is dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

In global terms, I quite like the Irish weather. When one thinks of the alternatives - having shutters on your home in Spain to protect you from the heat, for instance - Ireland's weather is quite good. Apologies for saying something good about Ireland.

I would, of course, like it to be sunnier so I could see fewer coats on Irish women, but alas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Dostoevsky wrote: »
    In global terms, I quite like the Irish weather. When one thinks of the alternatives - having shutters on your home in Spain to protect you from the heat, for instance - Ireland's weather is quite good. Apologies for saying something good about Ireland.

I would, of course, like it to be sunnier so I could see fewer coats on some Irish women, but alas.

hmmmm...:pac:

Oh and I shall edit that to include "and men" so that I don't be taken as one of the Irish women boards.ie haters.:pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Y'know, Irish women are actually pretty hot when they aren't wearing big jackets. Too bad they do so 95% of the time.

hmmmm...:pac:

Oh and I shall edit that to include "and men" so that I don't be taken as one of the Irish women boards.ie haters.:pac:

Ah here. How could anybody be seen as anti-women for wanting to see more of some of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

My first job after leaving college in the UK was with the British Antartic Survey. Spent 6 months at the Halley Research Station on the Brunt ice-shelf.

I was there during Summer/Autumn when the temperature would vary between -5 and -25. However, it was a dry cold, you know what I mean, a dry cold. A dry cold! DRY!

For training we had to spend a week camping on O'Connell Bridge in Dublin. Now that was real cold with savage weather conditions. Once, we spent 25 minutes cut off from civilisation when a rain shower caught us by surprise. Now that was real cold, wet cold!

Three brave men died trying to get to Londis on Westmoreland Street for supplies.

Yakult wrote: »
    Y'know, Irish women are actually pretty hot when they aren't wearing big jackets. Too bad they do so 95% of the time.

That's the weather, or more likely the "well, it could rain"/ "just in case" cautious world outlook. I brought a girl on a date to southern Europe once, and she brought her coat based on the latter logic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

mike65 wrote: »
    Solution - move Ireland south and east.

You paddle, I'll steer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Dostoevsky wrote: »

I would, of course, like it to be sunnier so I could see fewer coats on Irish women, but alas.

I'm actually finding where I'm living in Spain quite cold at the moment. I was home in Ireland for the Christmas and didn't find it quite as cold there as it is here right now. I'm freezing! The only thing with Ireland though is the gale force winds and rain in your face. It wouldn't be half as bad if it weren't for that. Spring time in Ireland is quite lovely though, most of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

We have the same weather all year round now except its just brighter in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

It's the atlantic wind that fúcks up the hole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Dampness lol

What about the days when its not damp and its still cold, eh?

Days when its not damp ??:confused: What crazyness are you talking man ?

I had to read that a few times.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Sea breezes are warming in Winter, cooling in Summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

The girlfriend was in Alaska for 3 months and she says that Ireland feels colder, i still find that odd but she seem to think its a different type of cold:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

It's a special type of cold we have here. A damp dank cold. Not a dry cold you get on the continent.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Sure theyve brought the roads in already for tonight. Theyre stored in a big warehouse on the west of the island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

I hate badgers, that's all I got to say about anything right now. I'd kick a dead badger I hate them so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It was about 12 degrees here a couple of weeks ago. I prefer winter to feel like winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The gulf stream has a lot to do with it ,when you sometimes see other parts of northern Europe basking in warmer cooler weather ,Ireland will probably have rain and it always does seem much colder, windy and damper in Ireland during autumn/winter,especially out near the mountains in co Dublin then further inland .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

woodoo wrote: »
    We have the same weather all year round now except its just brighter in the summer.

also the rain is a bit warmer in the summer....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭igorbiscan

Sure jaysus, what do we expect living on an island in the north atlantic? :p

And I don't think a nice sunny morning in Ireland with lovely fresh air can be beaten anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

mike65 wrote: »
    Solution - move Ireland south and east.

Yes a cataclysmic collision with the UK should take the cold right out of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Party Supply Van

igorbiscan wrote: »
    Sure jaysus, what do we expect living on an island in the north atlantic? :p

Lol, yeah is gas the way everyone always goes on like it's such a surprise that the weather's so crap here. It's a damp cold that can get right into your bones. I'd take the -15 dry cold over it any day...except in the summer that is :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I know what the OP means. I, unlike most Irish women it seems, am not a "constantly cold" person, but damp cold in the winter here, even though the temperature isn't particularly low, gets right under your skin. Dry cold doesn't have the same effect. Extreme dry cold is obviously not pleasant either, but it's still different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

BX 19 wrote: »
    It's a special type of cold we have here. A damp dank cold. Not a dry cold you get on the continent.

This is true.
    Lived in Sweden for years and it felt far more comfortable at -5/10 there than it did at +5 here when I'd come home to visit in the winter. There as long as you have enough layers on it's grand because it's a dry cold.
    It really is the dampness and driving winds you get here that make it feel so much colder.

Prefer a calm snowy winter's day at -10 over that.