Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever been arrested or had dealings with the police away from home?

• 14-01-2013 7:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭

Just wondering.

I was over in England just after Christmas and was on a night out and ended up getting into a row with a security guy at a club and police were called. Reacted badly and argued with them and then didn't leave the place like they said and ended up getting cuffed and put in the cage in the back of the van. Was in the cells for the night - they had a massive cellblock there, not like the Garda stations here - and sobered up a bit. I was worried about what was going to happen. They did the rounds in the morning with tea and toast - don't think they were police but detention officers or something like that.

I got more worried when I had to go and get photographed, finger printed and they even took a DNA swab from my mouth but they said that was standard for everybody who was arrested. I got taken to speak with a Sergeant then and thought I was going to have to go to court or something but he said I was being released without charge.

Don't know if it was because I was a tourist over there but was delighted to hear that and got my stuff back and headed off. I was treated well despite being in the wrong on the night. Got into big trouble with my gf though!!

I have no mad stories or anything - but was thinking it must be bad if something happened and you ended up being arrested somewhere abroad - especially if is a country where the police are tougher or if you can't speak the language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I got given a warning from the undercover cycle police in Australia for not wearing a helmet :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭SmilingLurker

Yes, was stopped by a squad car for walking in the USA (less than twenty minutes down to the beach) They could not understand why anyone would walk anywhere - especially carrying swimming gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Conor84 wrote: »
    I have no mad stories or anything - but was thinking it must be bad if something happened and you ended up being arrested somewhere abroad - especially if is a country where the police are tougher or if you can't speak the language.
    The only thing I know about being arrested somewhere you don't speak the language is don't, under any circumstances sign anything, no matter how much they try to force you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Got searched for drugs outside a nightclub in Spain before by the police. I wouldn't mind but all I was trying to do was find my phone to send a text!

Must be the big drug dealing head on me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ran a few times from them in my youth when they tried to nab us for bushing.
    Got stopped in Oz for carrying an open beer while walking on the footpath and had to pour it out.
    That's about it really (all that I will tell you anyway).

Spent the night in a cell in Paris for being drunk in public at 4 am. The police gave me a blanket, pillow and water for the night. Was brought in for my own safety. Not unusual in France apparently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Yes, was stopped by a squad car for walking in the USA (less than twenty minutes down to the beach) They could not understand why anyone would walk anywhere - especially carrying swimming gear.

Same thing happened to me in North Carolina, except without the swimgear, think I had groceries at the time, the cop couldn't believe we would walk to the supermarket in the midday heat, he thought we'd broke down nearby, only when he'd gone we realised there were feck all paths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Police arrived to our houseparty in France. There was about 6 squad cars and we thought we were getting lifted so tried to do a runner. Turned out they came to warn us there was a hells angels gang in the area.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

i knew i seen you on road wars OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Shifted a police officer in Italy. He hadn't a word of English, best holiday romance I ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

Had it got something to do with your username?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

A mate of mine went bezerk on hols in the Canaries. He arrived back at the hotel the next day with a bandage on his head. He said he fell backwards through a glass bus shelter, was brought to the hospital by the cops, but seeing as he didnt know whether they'd be looking for money off him for his hospital treatment, he escaped from the hospital the next morning and ran cross-country back to the hotel. I'd believe him too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Had the same thing happen in Austin Texas.....

Out for a morning jog, got stopped to asked what I was doing. He looked at me like I was nuts to be out for a jog.

Then offered me a lift back to hotel....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭2rkehij30qtza5

Lived in America for a while and had 3 brushes with the law (didn't get arrested). First was for drinking beer on the street (I was sitting on the steps outside my house on a sunny afternoon drinking a bottle of beer...harmless) and other two were for traffic offences...first one, I did a u-turn where I shouldn't have and second was for speeding. Just got a ticket for the speeding. U-turn cop let me off and asked for my number at the same time, hah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Was pulled in Hungary and Romania a few times for having a dirty numberplate.

One thing I noticed is that the police in both those countries rarely wash their hands, always filthy for some reason.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Where To wrote: »

One thing I noticed is that the police in both those countries rarely wash their hands, always filthy for some reason.;)
    69 OY 8008135 ??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

The amount of Irish reg cars in Romania is unreal. Usually owned by gypsies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Got slapped around( bloody lips but just superficial) by the Greek tourist police many moons ago, they also relieved me of about 30 pounds. I was pretty drunk when arrested me but I got sober quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

I served 3 years in a Venezuelan prison called Caracas for cocaine smuggling.

newmug wrote: »
    The amount of Irish reg cars in Romania is unreal. Usually owned by gypsies.
    Wasn't too many when I was there, I was driving a LHD Dutch registered van with an Irish driving licence and a British passport, they had to work for their bribe money with me.:)

No you didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

No you didn't.
    He did.
    I was his cell mate and I bummed him for 3 solid years.
    He took it like a man though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Went out on a date with an English girl in Cyprus many years ago, got plastered, took my moped out for a spin. I stopped in a car park for a cig - as you do. Couple of undercover cops pull up along side me and searched me, thought I was smoking a joint. When they realised I wasn't up to badness or had no drugs, they told me to be very careful driving cause I was pissed 0.o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

One time I got broke out of prison in Russia and had to go on the hunt for some stolen nuclear launch codes from rouge terriosts, the trail led me to the kremlin:-0 anyway I broke in successfully but it turnes out it was a trap and I got implicated in a series of destructive explosions, after evading capture I found out that my government was invoking ghost protocol and it was up to me to find the people responsible, clear my name and find the launch codes. Anyway, with my get her bucked attatude and a bit of the old elbow greece I saved the world. Mint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

Arrested for drunk and disorderly,danger to myself and people around me and criminal damage. B@stards blamed me for pulling up a flower bed of plants when it wasnt me it was the fooker we met in the street and had just started following us around, but i was locked so the guard chose me to pick on :( luckily the criminal damage charges was dropped and got off with the rest with a warning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭V_Moth

A couple of brushes with "the man" while on holidays, nothing too serious:

-After dinner in a small town in Entre Rios in northern Argentina, got stopped by local cops who were looking for a bribe. My friend tried to argue with them, but I convinced him that it was probably better to pay the minuscule bride than stay the night in the prison (or worse).

-While birding in a remote forest in eastern Poland, managed to get the car stuck in a sandy area. One of our group had to walk to the nearest house (20km away) to get a tractor to pull the car out, while the rest of us had to spend the night in the car. Got woken up at 4am by two Polish Border Guards pointing their SMG's at us. It seems we ended up only a short distance away from the Belarussian border.

-Learn't not to confuse "Ralentir" and "Halte" at Moroccan police checkpoints. €150 worse off after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I have been hit with a Police water canon in Mexico (WTO riots) and was walloped by a police man in Tianamen square (Crowd control on chinese new years).
    I was held at an airport in the UK and questioned on terrorist suspicions (Manchester airport just after the bombs went off there).

After a night at a party in london years ago I was passing thru some train station and every drug dog in the place came and sat beside me.

At Frankfurt airport they decided that I did not need to go thru the normal passport control and took me to the internal police station where I was questioned before letting me thru.

I have no previous convictions - just unlucky!

All this before I turned 30. No trouble in the last 10 years though!

newmug wrote: »
    A mate of mine went bezerk on hols in the Canaries. He arrived back at the hotel the next day with a bandage on his head. He said he fell backwards through a glass bus shelter, was brought to the hospital by the cops, but seeing as he didnt know whether they'd be looking for money off him for his hospital treatment, he escaped from the hospital the next morning and ran cross-country back to the hotel. I'd believe him too.

I had a friend who did the same. He had minor surgery after a motorbike accident in Cyprus. No licence or insurance or money to pay the hospital or for the rented bike. He did a runner from the hospital and was due to go home the next day and had to hide an open wound to get on the plane.
    Ended up with embassies involved etc. and he's not welcome back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭mahonykid

I spent 4 years in the SHU in Pelicon bay prison california for smuggling babies across the border to mexico.
    I eventually escaped with the help of my heavily tatto'ed friend micheal. Turns out he had the prison blueprints tatoo'ed onto his body, go figure....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Got done by the police in Prague twice. Once for not validating my tram ticket (having the ticket isn't enough, you have to put it in a machine and get it stamped or it doesn't count) - fine: 800 CZK (32 euro). The other one was for taking a piss in public while drunk (turns out the alley I went down was right beside a police station) - fine: 100 CZK (4 euro).

Yup, 32 euro for no validated tram ticket, 4 euro for pissing against the wall of a police station. I love eastern europe :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Was in Thailand and got stopped by a cop for riding a motorbike with no helmet...He said the fine was 2000 baht roughly 40 euro so i paid up. Found out afterwards the fine for no helmet was 300 baht (6 euro) or something...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭6541

Stopped and searched and was found with some weed in the black area of the Bronx, put in the cop car, got told I was a stupid white so and so and that I could have got killed. Drove me back into the Irish bronx and told to cop on.

Throw into immigration detention in Sydney for a week, until deported.Overstayed visa.

Stopped and questioned under anti terror legislation when leaving Bristol after coming from Glastonbury. Detained for six hours.

Arrested for drunk and disorderly in Brussels, taken to police station,processed then put on a Train to Holland and told don’t come back.

Crashed a car onto the roundabout as you approach Derry from Letterkenny,locked may I add, managed to get car to Bogside. Following morning house got raided by RUC. Told us to get the fark out of the north and stop wasting there time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

6541 wrote: »

Stopped and searched and was found with some weed in the black area of the Bronx, put in the cop car, got told I was a stupid white so and so and that I could have got killed. Drove me back into the Irish bronx and told to cop on.

Throw into immigration detention in Sydney for a week, until deported.Overstayed visa.

Stopped and questioned under anti terror legislation when leaving Bristol after coming from Glastonbury. Detained for six hours.

Arrested for drunk and disorderly in Brussels, taken to police station,processed then put on a Train to Holland and told don’t come back.

Crashed a car onto the roundabout as you approach Derry from Letterkenny,locked may I add, managed to get car to Bogside. Following morning house got raided by RUC. Told us to get the fark out of the north and stop wasting there time.

But you've managed to avoid infractions on this site. Amateur!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Got fined 200 rubles for "loitering" in the metro in Moscow, was just strolling around the station with a camera in one hand and a guide book in the other like a proper tourist. Apparently they don't want tourists clogging up the metro or flash photography whatsoever.

That was a few years ago, apparently they are not so heavy handed on tourists visiting the metro as an attraction in itself.

keith16 wrote: »
    Got fined 200 rubles for "loitering" in the metro in Moscow, was just strolling around the station with a camera in one hand and a guide book in the other like a proper tourist. Apparently they don't want tourists clogging up the metro or flash photography whatsoever.

That was a few years ago, apparently they are not so heavy handed on tourists visiting the metro as an attraction in itself.
    You're a spy aren't you? You can't fool me Mr. Bond.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Pics or gtfo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Apparently they don't want tourists clogging up the metro or flash photography whatsoever.
    I think the police come down heavy on people using flash photography in the Underground in London as well, as it tends to blind the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I was back in Ireland over the Christmas and got stopped for using my phone. Was actually reconnecting the mp3 player in the glovebox as it froze. I was arguing that point with the garda but he wasn't believing a word. The car I was using was a rental but I had left the house without my Irish or American license so I couldn't show either when he asked. He asked if I had any identification. Only one I had was my law enforcement shield from back in the US. I've a slight Irish accent from living there in my teens so he looked at it strange. Think he thought it was fake. He took it out of my hand and walked off with it at which point I told him he can't go anywhere with that as it can't be out of my possession. I was then able to show him access cards, gym cards and other Govt id's that supported it. The guys attitude completely changed. Even asked if I wanted an escort back to my friends house through the traffic. The guy was being a smart prick until he began fawning over me.

the_syco wrote: »
    I think the police come down heavy on people using flash photography in the Underground in London as well, as it tends to blind the driver.
    It's not like it's going to put him off the road or anything. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Pottler wrote: »
    69 OY 8008135 ??

Took me a while to get that one. I was thinkin they hardly sold that many cars in Offaly in 1969 :pac:
    newmug wrote:
    The amount of Irish reg cars in Romania is unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

had a plastic round fired at me twice in the Basque Country, they both missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

My friend was arrested last year when we were in Edinburgh for a weekend. He spent the whole weekend locked up and myself and two of my other friends spent all of Monday in court and almost missed our flight home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭chuckliddell

Los Teques prison? was there myself for 2 nights
    its hell on Earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

In Morocco I was watching a protest that got baton charged by police/army. That was fun.

In Mali me and 2 others got stopped in a taxi on the way back from a night out. We had no ID on us. The cops put us in the back of their jeep for half the night then drove us about some back streets (was getting worried at that point) but eventually we arrived at the copshop, got given out to by the guy in charge, in French (which I don't speak) for about 30 mins whilst he tried to get money out of us. We wouldn't pay, they got bored and let us go.

That's about it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭jimmy180sx

Was in glasgow recently with 3 mates competing in a thaiboxing show. Myself and another were staying in a separate hotel from the other two. After the show we all got very merry and i didnt know the name of the hotel so we all bunked in the same room. Night portman got a little suspicious and we told him where to go after numerous times of telling us to get out. He called the cops i got arrested along with the other stragler and put in the cells for the night. Missed our flight home the next morning. To this day the wife doesnt know about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭doubleyoubee

V_Moth wrote: »
    I convinced him that it was probably better to pay the minuscule bride

You can't beat a good midget wedding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Los Teques prison? was there myself for 2 nights
    its hell on Earth
    You should try the Travelodge in Birmingham on a friday night. After that, anythings a doddle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

Got caught giving a guy head on the beach in Australia. That was fun. Two cops came along & shone their torch on us.

Figured it was better to go to the beach than the hostel!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Ah America, the land of freedom! The land where not immediately subduing when the police spring on top of you from out of nowhere will get you shot and killed with 10 bullets in your chest, because 1 isnt enough!

I think you win... But are you sure this happened?