Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monty for Captain?

• 14-01-2013 1:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭

Sky reckon that the Monty camp is confident that their man will get to captain the side in Gleneagles Scotland.
    Hope this isn't true, will be a crying shame if people start to miss out on the chance to captain Europe (like McGinley) just because lads like Monty want a second chance to be the centre of attention. I get that it is in his home country but with all the players that would make a great captain in the future there isn't time to have repeat captains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭me89

At least we wouldn't have to listen to him on commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

dvemail wrote: »
    Sky reckon that the Monty camp is confident that their man will get to captain the side in Gleneagles Scotland.
    Hope this isn't true, will be a crying shame if people start to miss out on the chance to captain Europe (like McGinley) just because lads like Monty want a second chance to be the centre of attention. I get that it is in his home country but with all the players that would make a great captain in the future there isn't time to have repeat captains.

But Monty won and did a great job.

I like Paul , but a winning captain of Monty's stature.

If it was Paul v Monty - Paul wouldn't have a chance (IMO).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭TRS30

Is a tough one. I don't personaly like him when commentating and the way he went on at the last RC. However he won in '10 to regain the cup, was that due to him or Europe having a better team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Seves Three Iron

Christy O'Connor has a bit of a rant in his book about an anti Irish bias when it comes to the Ryder Cup. It is quite amazing when you actually think about it; Christy Snr, Harry Bradshaw, Des Smyth, McGinley....there's plenty more but none of them ever got a shot. And when you think how closely aligned Ireland is to the very history of the game of golf. If McGinley is overlooked this time I have to say I would be inclined to agree with Christy.

On the issue of Monty, I agree with FDP that in terms of credentials he's a significantly better candidate than McGin. But I'd hate to have to listen to him for another entire Ryder Cup build up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

Twitter going nuts with chat about Monty. Looking like a real possibility that McGinley is going to miss out. Be surprised if he will get another chance at it if he doesn't get this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

If it is Monty it will obviously have been a reaction to the USA picking Watson. Would be gutted for McGinley but hopefully he'll get another chance, he'd almost certainly be a vice captain for Monty anyway.

It's all about keeping the cup at the end of the day.

Who do the players want to captain? I thought McGinley was more popular with the players. We saw in the last RC what can happen when the players really believe in their captain and want to him for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

Picking Monty would be a stupid step for the Europeans to make. It just sends out a message that we don't have anyone else of his calibre to face the Americans.

That message would also be incorrect. Paul McGinley is as qualified to lead the team as Monty was before he was made captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Christy O'Connor has a bit of a rant in his book about an anti Irish bias when it comes to the Ryder Cup. It is quite amazing when you actually think about it; Christy Snr, Harry Bradshaw, Des Smyth, McGinley....there's plenty more but none of them ever got a shot. And when you think how closely aligned Ireland is to the very history of the game of golf. If McGinley is overlooked this time I have to say I would be inclined to agree with Christy.

On the issue of Monty, I agree with FDP that in terms of credentials he's a significantly better candidate than McGin. But I'd hate to have to listen to him for another entire Ryder Cup build up.

Was a good point in the book - but Christy had a few rants , when he needed to look at himself a bit more too - which he did in the end.

I liked the book , a full chapter on a 2 iron :) , no, was a great piece on the match between him and Freddie.

No matter what you think of Monty , which we do - the week / year, he was captain , he was class, he was like a new man in that role. It helped, it was not about him at that time. I could not believe what he was like as captain. He even forgot all his own issues with Seve and used that to inspire all too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

RikkFlair wrote: »
    If it is Monty it will obviously have been a reaction to the USA picking Watson. Would be gutted for McGinley but hopefully he'll get another chance, he'd almost certainly be a vice captain for Monty anyway.

It's all about keeping the cup at the end of the day.

Id say McGinley would tell him where to stick his vice captaincy.

Monty is on the selection panel and should not be considered IMO. Not just because he is Irish but for me McGinley is the best option, he has been successful in Vivendi and as a vice captain and should be given the role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭abff

There was an interesting article about it in yesterday's Sunday Times. A strong case was made for McGinley being appointed captain. http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/sport/golf/article1192998.ece

The current betting odds indicate pretty much a 2 horse race, with McGinley a slight favourite (around 55/45).

I certainly hope he gets it. I think he's earned the right and would be a great captain.

AGC wrote: »
    Id say McGinley would tell him where to stick his vice captaincy.

Monty is on the selection panel and should not be considered IMO. Not just because he is Irish but for me McGinley is the best option, he has been successful in Vivendi and as a vice captain and should be given the role.

He is? :confused: How can he select himself then...I know Bjorn is on the panel but I didn't know Monty was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

He is? :confused: How can he select himself then...I know Bjorn is on the panel but I didn't know Monty was.

Didn't know myself till I read an article I saw on Twitter. 15 person panel and he is one of them.

Also says a few heated discussion on the range in Abu Dhabi about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Monty would have to leave the room if he gets proposed, as McGinley would, so the others can discuss it. I was actually under the impression McGinley was favourite to take the job after Rory's most recent endorsement, certainly that's what most journalists stateside believe. I'd be fiercely disappointed for him if Monty got the job again, and I agree with earlier post, vice-captaincy probably won't interest him this time around.

If any candidate for the captaincy is on the selection panel that is a huge conflict of interest that could only be resolved by either resigning from the selection panel or making it clear that you are not available for selection.

Given the emphasis on honour that is such an important aspect of golf, how can Monty fail to realise this and not act upon it?

Jaysus, this could get messy. All will be revealed this week. Remember when the RC captain was a fairly low key announcement?

Actually, it looks as if McGinley is also a member of the selection committee, so I guess he's also conflicted. I found the following list of names on the Euopean Tour website.

Thomas Björn (Chairman)
    Felipe Aguilar
    Paul Casey
    Darren Clarke
    Gonzalo Fernandez-Castaño
    Joakim Haeggman
    David Howell
    Raphaël Jacquelin
    Miguel Angel Jiménez
    Robert Karlsson
    Peter Lawrie
    Paul McGinley
    Francesco Molinari
    Colin Montgomerie
    Henrik Stenson

Clarke is also on the committee, but he's now formally withdrawn (or has he?). At the very least, Paul and Colin should not be allowed to take part in the decision making process other than as candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Loire

Give it to Bernhard Langer on a permanent basis and the cup would never cross the Atlantic again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

It's not that big a deal.

They're both on the selection committee. They both leave the room for the discussion/decision which happens tomorrow in Dubai.

They both have their proponents on the committee - Stenson for Monty and Clarke for McGinley would be the most overt on either side, but there are others who have put up a flag already.

MA Jiminez will not be there (broken leg), and there's one or two other doubtfuls who may not attend.

So it's a private discussion between approx 10 guys, everyone having their favourites. They'll debate it and come to a decision. No drama.

I'd find it incredible if Monty got it. But you can see why he's in the mix - largely because Clarke pulled out (via a letter to McGinley stating his support for him). They were never going to go into that meeting with only one candidate.

Personally, I'm sick of reading about this. Tomorrow, McGinley will be confirmed and everyone can just chill the f*ck out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭lowelife

IMO
    I would like to see Mcginley get this ahead of Monty.

But my major concern is how much ****ing noise will Monty make in the run up which could hinder our chances.

Could work so negative against the Europeans.

i.e. IF/when I was captain (which we heard so many times already) I wouldnt have done it/would have done it like such and such

So the only way this would work is Mcginley gets the nod...and someone blows Montys brains all across the pavement.

Why do Sky keep him on as a commentator? I have yet to meet or hear anyone say that they enjoy listening to him or that he is a good commentator!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Monty did a great job at Celtic Manor but he has had his day in the sun and it is someone else's turn now. McIlroy is adamant it should be McGinley. Shane Lowry tweeted his support for him today too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Is it me or is the Captaincy over hyped?
    My view on it is that the major role a captain has to play is in the motivation of the players... most are self motivated as it is, but I do see the importance of a good captain here.
    From what I see they don't get involved in training, and the "tactics" side of things is a bit of a pot luck scenario.
    Has the media created this into a big deal when really it's not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

I think he did a good job at Celtic Manor but Monty never even had to make any hard choices (i.e. which players to leave out) as all 12 players pretty much on course at all times.

On the Americans side they have had some good Captains in Tom Lehman and Davis Love III that seemed to do a good job (media-wise, trying to bond a team). Not sure what they could have done different that would have changed the match results?

Think ajcurry123 is spot on that it comes down to luck at this stage. The role is basically chief cheerleader.

Tin_Cup wrote: »
    Think ajcurry123 is spot on that it comes down to luck at this stage. The role is basically chief cheerleader.

Was also meant to say the I feel that the European captain is less important than the US.
    Purely because there seems to be a natural ability for the Europeans to bond together.
    The Americans seem to have to "work" on bonding and creating team spirit so their Captain would be tasked with a greater job imo.

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Is it me or is the Captaincy over hyped?
    Has the media created this into a big deal when really it's not?

Yes and yes. Still want McGinley to get it though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Poulter has added his support for Paul.

Ian Poulter ‏@IanJamesPoulter

"Darren has taken his name out of the running for Ryder cup captaincy. It would be fantastic to have Paul Mcginley as the 2014 captain."

Edit* Also Luke Donald

Luke Donald ‏@LukeDonald

"I hope Paul McGinley gets his chance, he's been an amazing Vice Captain and deserves an opportunity #2014RyderCup"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

They all want McGinley according to the twitter machine.

Monty is an uninspiring dull man with very little leadership qualities who's had his day. I really hope he doesn't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Big statement by 3 of the top players on the team to support McGinley. Shows who they want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

1/4 of the team don't want monty.

It could be hard for monty to take it if a few more come out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭PGF

Lot's of people saying how good Monty was last time... You'd think he won by 10 points the way he talks about it. In reality a heavily favoured home team barely scraped a home win. He's not universally liked among the players (especially Poulter). Mcginley on the other hand is very popular, diplomatic and has served his apprenticeship in the Seve trophy.

Of course if a crap captain like Woosnam can beat a good captain like Lehman it really goes to show that the captain makes bugger all difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

I'm not aware of Monty actually announcing his candidacy.

Imo this a Sky Sports led rumour building up the announcement process.

PMcG is favourite, and rightly so.

Roll on Gleneagles & bring on 'Old Tom' & his boys !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Peterdalkey

Monty is just showing up how much of a plonker he has become . He has prattled on since his captaincy how he would never even consider it again, untilsomeone throws his name in the ring. now he is in like a rat up a drain. His great career is washed up, he is less than useless as a TV panel pundit, and even worse as a commentator. The man has clearly no standards and no standing, toss him aside, he is only looking for a platform to keep him in dough to fund his unwise marital choices.
    His jumping in is a complete farce and does him no credit at all. I hope the rest of Europes top players join Rory, Luke and Ian to give him the less than subtle message, the TOP players dont want him!!

Monty is yesterdays man, he is no Tom Watson!

cheers

Peter

Overwhelming support for Paul. Sam Torrance the latest. Can't see the vote going any other way at this stage. The players have spoken

Seeing a plethora of tweets from players suggesting Monty should take his name out of the hat. Go on Monty, you had your day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

I'd be sickened if Monty got it again. So soon? C'mon.

• Site Banned Posts: 240 ✭✭Nervous Nigel

This has all the hallmarks of Sky bullsh1t hype. They're reporting Monty as favourite, yet when you look at the bookies (who are rarely wrong), McGinley's 8/13 and Monty's 2/1.

Having said that, I wouldn't put too much store on what the players think. The man who has dominate the game for 15 years (Woods) has beem lobbying for his buddy Mark O'Meara for years and it's had no effect.

For those saying that Monty is conflicted, both he and McGinley are on the committee and both will absent themselves from the vote.

Too much significance is attributed to Watson's status anyways. Look at Nicklaus in Muirfield Village - Beaten. And look at Seve - Yes he won but was he particularly good? My memory is of him annoying players (including Monty). McGinley's been a good Ryder Cupper, he's been VC on successful teams and he's got good experience from the Seve Trophy.

There are too many good candidates now to be giving it to guys for a second time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭paulos53

I think Monty is crazy to be chasing the captaincy.
    He turns 50 in June so should look to make his mark on the Champions tour. Having failed to win a major I would have expected him to set winning a seniors major as a priority.

paulos53 wrote: »
    I think Monty is crazy to be chasing the captaincy.
    He turns 50 in June so should look to make his mark on the Champions tour. Having failed to win a major I would have expected him to set winning a seniors major as a priority.

Of course, Ryder Cup captains get into the USPGA, so maybe that's Monty's agenda, to finally capture that elusive major ;P

Monty's adamant that he's not chasing it though.

There seem to be others pushing him.

Doubt that the bookies have it wrong (McGinley 8/13 and Monty 2/1).

A Welsh captain in Ireland 2006 - Woosnam
    A Scottish captain in Wales 2010 - Monty
    An Irish captain in Scotland 2014 to complete the pattern.

Makes sense!

Nuts to go back to Monty when there a load of candidates both now and for the forseeable future.

McGinley, Clarke, Jimenez, Bjorn, Harrington, Westwood, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Monty is just showing up how much of a plonker he has become . He has prattled on since his captaincy how he would never even consider it again, untilsomeone throws his name in the ring. now he is in like a rat up a drain. His great career is washed up, he is less than useless as a TV panel pundit, and even worse as a commentator. The man has clearly no standards and no standing, toss him aside, he is only looking for a platform to keep him in dough to fund his unwise marital choices.
    His jumping in is a complete farce and does him no credit at all. I hope the rest of Europes top players join Rory, Luke and Ian to give him the less than subtle message, the TOP players dont want him!!

Monty is yesterdays man, he is no Tom Watson!

cheers

Peter

Very well put, Peter. He told everyone he would never do the job again and he is losing all credibility by not now sticking with that. I don't think he was that great a captain - he had a very good team of players. I think Clarke started all of this by saying that Europe needed a big name to confront Tom Watson - I ama fan of Clarke, but I wish he had kept quiet. Monty is not that big name captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

What is the procedure with today? I know the committee is meeting to decide the captain but when is it being announced to the public? today also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

blockic wrote: »
    What is the procedure with today? I know the committee is meeting to decide the captain but when is it being announced to the public? today also?

RTE were talking about an announcement 'this evening', which I would say points to a meeting taking place this afternoon sometime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Seves Three Iron

Couple of things on the RC situation;

Firstly, how strange is it that Felipe Aguilar, a Chilean, is part of the selection process. He has never nor never will play in the competition. I know he's there by virtue of the fact he's on the Euro Tour players' committee but still and all. He probably hasn't even been at the tournament. You could make a similar point, to a lesser extent, about Peter Lawrie and Raphael Jacquelin.

Secondly, some interesting observations by Colin Byrne on Monty. Byrne was caddy to Edoardo Molinari at Celtic Manor (interviewed him last year).

Byrne: I think the most inspiring moment I saw of the Ryder Cup in Wales was when Ian Woosnam actually came into the team room and gave a bit of a rabble rousing speech after a defeat one afternoon. That was the most inspirational moment I saw and he was there as a past captain. It was lifting guys heads basically, giving them a bit of a ‘keep the head up’ speech, in maybe more flowery language. It was the only one I saw. I think Monty was like what Monty is – if he plays badly his head's down and if he plays well his head’s up. If his team played badly his head dropped, that’s not what you want to see in a captain. You need the smiling face when you’re down, not when you’re up.

vienne86 wrote: »
    RTE were talking about an announcement 'this evening', which I would say points to a meeting taking place this afternoon sometime.

I read that the meeting is starting at 3:30 p.m. I presume it's a single item agenda, so I guess the timing of the announcement will depend on how long it takes them to make their minds up.

I saw Clarke on the Late Late Show a while back when he was promoting his new book and I thought he handled the Ryder Cup captaincy question quite cleverly when he said that it didn't really matter if it was him or Paul - at least it was going to be an Irishman which was the important thing.

I guess he was just playing to the audience, because it's very hard to reconcile that statement with the spanner that he threw into the works with his subsequent comments that seem to have led to Monty throwing his hat into the ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

Can't believe Monty is in the running again.

Could we rename the thread to McGinley favourite for Captain?
    I hate Monty so much that seeing (his name in) the thread title getting refreshed so often is giving me a headache and sending my blood pressure sky high...

Could a mod change it....on medical grounds??? ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

Rory left it in no uncertain terms how he'd feel in McGinley got overlooked! Surprised he was that clear cut in his comments.