Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The one that got away?

• 13-01-2013 8:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭

There's enough hate fueled bile on after hours (90% is mine but hey) so I thought we could have a nice rosemantic thread. Have you got a "one who got away"? It could be a girlfriend or just someone you never asked out? Mine was a raven haired stunner who I studied with years ago.

It was one of those great moments when you know when your both attracted to each other. Everytime we were in th room together there was a huge sexual tension to the point where people would ask if there was something going on between us. Anyway we were both seeing other people at the time and didnt act on it but If I saw her again I would act on it.

Anyone else have any lost loves that you were sorry to see go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Yes there was one girl.

I loved her but she didn't feel the same.She didn't agree with my religious beliefs and decided she wanted out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

None.

'The ones who were lucky they got away when they did?' Plenty of those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Joseph Fritzl's life was never the same again after the one that got away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

I refused a date with a nice guy many moons ago because I was semi seeing a twat. I often wonder what could have been

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Yes there was one girl.

I loved her but she didn't feel the same.She didn't agree with my religious beliefs and decided she wanted out.

The old scientology rearing it's ugly as again Tom eh?

I refused a date with a nice guy many moons ago because I was semi seeing a twat. I often wonder what could have been
    Laser eye surgery would have been a good start.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Ahh. Have you ever seen him around since?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IceFjoem

Ye I'd say we all have at least one anyway. I've never heard a girl talk about 'the one that got away' though, hmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

I was with a girl for over 2 years, both madly in love but I got so comfortable in the relationship that I forgot to put her first and she decided she'd had enough. If only I could go back...

nevermind...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

Yeah I messed up with a girl I was mad about about a year and a half ago, she was clever, beautiful, fun and she loved me.
    Loads of different reasons why it didn't work... Complicated as usual. We both young so you never know there might be still hope!

She made me a better person, and I still think of her regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Mine was some seriously hot Brazilian lad I got talking to and we hit it off great, he threw me his number and we were going to meet the next night. I got forced into other other plans and he was only around for the week end.

It would've been a "fuk, fill and feck off" situation but still, he was unreal! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Quite a few have gotten away on me.
    Damn you Aldi rope.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Ahh. Have you ever seen him around since?
    Harsh Steddyeddy, very harsh. . .

The_Gatsby wrote: »
    I was with a girl for over 2 years, both madly in love but I got so comfortable in the relationship that I forgot to put her first and she decided she'd had enough. If only I could go back...

I feel your pain man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Yeah, but the cops didn't believe her so it was grand.

The_Gatsby wrote: »

In fairness I may get stick for this but I dont believe in putting someone first all of the time. Maybe put the relationship first but I dont think it's attractive to lose yourself completley in a relationship and put on partner ahead of yourself.

Where To wrote: »
    Harsh Steddyeddy, very harsh. . .

Ah ha you got me there. There I go again slagging the semi sighted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

She did get away for a while but I just followed her, happy days ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I've sometimes come home from a night out saying to myself "I should have shifted her, should have shifted her, should have shifted her......." But then again I'm usually full of beer, and the beer goggles are firmly in place

In fairness I may get stick for this but I dont believe in putting someone first all of the time. Maybe put the relationship first but I dont think it's attractive to lose yourself completley in a relationship and put on partner ahead of yourself.

That's what makes a great relationship great IMO (unless of course you're obviously getting d*cked around).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

1ZRed wrote: »
    Mine was some seriously hot Brazilian lad I got talking to and we hit it off great, he threw me his number and we were going to meet the next night. I got forced into other other plans and he was only around for the week end.

It would've been a "fuk, fill and feck off" situation but still, he was unreal! :(

he'd have given you the ringstinger of a lifetime :pac:

Remember folks, the one you think of as "the one that got away" might actually have been a complete headbanger had you got into a relationship with them. So maybe it was more of a 'dodged bullet'

Jarrod wrote: »
    She did get away for a while but I just followed her, happy days ever since.

I get this is a bit of a joke :)

But its always said break contact completely after a split up. Which is what I did!

But what if they are the one who got away????

EDIT: If you could "follow" them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Ah ha you got me there. There I go again slagging the semi sighted!
    Yeah, typicallly shortsighted of you Steds, blind to the pain your words are causing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

First girl I loved was from Cavan,But I lived in Dublin, even then long distance relationships never worked out,She broke me heart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Yep, had one recently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

there was one girl who I loved but it just never happened and then she started seeing this guy and they eventually married and have a kid. More then a decade on we still hang out regularly, she introduced me to my now wife and our kids play together. I told her how I felt about her when they were together and it was always out in the open, he even knew full well and we're still good mates, so I guess Ive no regrets about giving it my best shot, but Damn, I would, in a heartbeat, if you know what I mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Yep, had one recently!
    "One" what? Do elaboratify. You can't just throw that out there and leave it dangling.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

there was one that almost got away

i had to kill her.

and paul allen ... i killed paul allen with an axe in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

kfallon wrote: »
    he'd have given you the ringstinger of a lifetime :pac:

Ahhh get those thoughts of deepheat firmly out of your head, it's getting kinky now :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

There was one girl I met on Erasmus and we hit it off then. It was just great. It didn't work out as she didn't want a LDR.

We didn't talk for two and a half years. Now I happen to be living relatively near (400km) to her so I went and saw before Christmas. All the feelings are still there on both sides but she just said she isn't ready for a relationship right now.

there was one girl who I loved but it just never happened and then she started seeing this guy and they eventually married and have a kid. More then a decade on we still hang out regularly, she introduced me to my now wife and our kids play together. I told her how I felt about her when they were together and it was always out in the open, he even knew full well and we're still good mates, so I guess Ive no regrets about giving it my best shot, but Damn, I would, in a heartbeat, if you know what I mean.

This is destined to end in a swinging/wife swap scenario!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

What about the one that almost got away but didn't because I could run faster, and for longer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Staff Infection

Yeah I've been there. There was this one in my course who was perfect to me, flawless, fit as they come, great personality and actually liked me which was a revelation to me. Anyway out one night full of drink I rang her to tell her how I felt.

Needless to say a drunken phone call from me at one in the morning didn't work wonder like I thought it would at the time. Was exceptionally awkward for a while, as in she'd leave a room when I'd walk in etc.

However, time is a great healer and we've since been getting a lot closer (and I got an app to stop me drunk dialing :) ) so hopefully presuming I don't féck it up again she won't be the one who got away

There was one girl I met on Erasmus and we hit it off then. It was just great. It didn't work out as she didn't want a LDR.

We didn't talk for two and a half years. Now I happen to be living relatively near (400km) to her so I went and saw before Christmas. All the feelings are still there on both sides but she just said she isn't ready for a relationship right now.

Limp Droopy Rod?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Pottler wrote: »
    "One" what? Do elaboratify. You can't just throw that out there and leave it dangling.:)

You! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

for anyone who hasn't seen this already on FB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

dorkacle wrote: »
    I get this is a bit of a joke :)

But its always said break contact completely after a split up. Which is what I did!

But what if they are the one who got away????

EDIT: If you could "follow" them.

It's actually not a joke. I met a girl who was studying in Dublin and we went out for a while, she moved back to the states, I was heartbroken. We kept in touch and I ended up staying with her whilst on holidays in America. Anywho, I laid it on the line before I went home and it all went to plan for me. I'm now living in the states and have never been happier. I'm not sure what would have happened had I not told her how I felt but I'd probably be miserable.

Moral of the story, don't let her/him get away folks, at least not without giving yourself a fighting chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

None for me, if it didn't happen or work out then forget about it and move on.

No romanticising here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

Look man, you dodged a bullet - any girl that doesn't want a light dependant resistor needs her head examined, they're great, I mean they can switch electrical circuits on or off depending on the intensity of light incident upon them ffs!

Incidentally.....my one that got a way was a lovely curly haired brunette.... I was way to shy to let her know how I feel and watched her go out with a number of boyfriends while i plodded my way awkwardly/nervously/bitterly and self-consciously through college

she is now married and living in the UK.......She was always very career focussed and i think he is now doing all the compromising (career wise) to follow her there so even though I would never have believed it at the time maybe it really was all for the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

When I was 18 I started going out with the most amazing guy. We were so in love and everything was perfect except for his parents strict religious views and this meant that he had to keep our relationship under wraps because they would never accept a Catholic. I ended it because I couldn't make him choose between me and his family.

Met him again when I was married and the spark was still very much there. Then when my marriage broke down found out he had gotten married so even if he could have gotten his family on side eventually it was too late.

Witchie wrote: »
    When I was 18 I started going out with the most amazing guy. We were so in love and everything was perfect except for his parents strict religious views and this meant that he had to keep our relationship under wraps because they would never accept a Catholic. I ended it because I couldn't make him choose between me and his family.

Met him again when I was married and the spark was still very much there. Then when my marriage broke down found out he had gotten married so even if he could have gotten his family on side eventually it was too late.

Did he marry a catholic?

No a nice wee protestant lass from Belfast. :-(

Ah well sorry to hear it. His parents sound like lovely people by the way :S

I wouldn't know coz never got to meet them! Well actually did meet his mum by accident once as she was a public health nurse calling to see my little sister.

Its all good I have a wonderful man I love dearly now but still sometimes I wonder what if....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

The one that got away eventually came back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

I should preface this with the fact that I am now happily engaged and looking forward to getting married. However, about ten years ago I was seeing this girl (briefly). I became quite close with her best friend who was asolutely stunning and had a fantastic personality to boot. I never understood what people meant when they talked about a spark but looking back I sure do now. Anyway after a few weeks her friend broke up with me. She was something of a shoulder to cry on but all I could do was wax lyrical about her friend! As you would expect this soon became tiresome for her and we drifted apart.

I only realised that she was interested in me from mutual friends afterwards. When I decided to act it was too late and I no longer had contact details for anyone that was in touch with her. I found out that she might be working in a place about a 30 minute walk from my house and walked there every day for about a month without seeing her. Anyway, that was the end of it, I never found her again and I guess it wasn't to be.

I wouldn't know coz never got to meet them! Well actually did meet his mum by accident once as she was a public health nurse calling to see my little sister.

Its all good I have a wonderful man I love dearly now but still sometimes I wonder what if....

To be honest I'm happier to wonder what if. Better to have a good memory of her than to have ruined it be a heated sexual encounter in the office.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

A couple. Kinda. One in my 20's. We were very close, but she got an opportunity that meant she had to travel and I couldn't let her miss out on that. Broke my heart, but it was better for her. Better for me too as if we had stayed together I think she would have come to resent me, even though knowing her it would have been in a small way but that would have broken my heart more, so... Fast forward and her opportunity worked out very well for her and she deserved it. :) Ten years on another one. Bad timing on a few levels, but again we were very clued into each other which made it hard. There you go, shíte happens et al. I've had a couple of "but for different circumstances we'd be pretty good", but it didn't go too far. In the sense of possible mutual hurt due to circumstances kinda thing.

Then again I"d plug into a lot of what tan11ie wrote; if it didn't work out there's a reason and whatever that reason may have been, in the end the result is the same, it didn't work out.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    A couple. Kinda. One in my 20's. We were very close, but she got an opportunity that meant she had to travel and I couldn't let her miss out on that. Broke my heart, but it was better for her. Better for me too as if we had stayed together I think she would have come to resent me, even though knowing her it would have been in a small way but that would have broken my heart more, so... Fast forward and her opportunity worked out very well for her and she deserved it. :) Ten years on another one. Bad timing on a few levels, but again we were very clued into each other which made it hard. There you go, shíte happens et al. I've had a couple of "but for different circumstances we'd be pretty good", but it didn't go too far. In the sense of possible mutual hurt due to circumstances kinda thing.

Then again I"d plug into a lot of what tan11ie wrote; if it didn't work out there's a reason and whatever that reason may have been, in the end the result is the same, it didn't work out.

Sometimes I think the "what if" romances are better left at "what ifs". A perfect memory is better than a flawed reality!