Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

El Generico confirmed as signed by WWE

• 09-01-2013 7:02pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭

WWE SIGNS TOP INDEPENDENT NAME AND MORE ON THE WAY
    by Mike Johnson @ 1:48 PM on 1/9/2013

WWE has signed El Generico to a deal, PWInsider.com confirmed this morning. As we noted several months back, the company has had interest in him and it's been Generico's goal since not signing with Ring of Honor to get into the company.
    One of the reasons WWE was so interested in Generico was that he speaks a number of different languages. The feeling was that would in handy as an asset for international markets.

Generico was removed from this weekend's Pro Wrestling Guerrilla event in California and it appears may already be done on the independent scene. He returned to Ring of Honor at Final Battle 2012 in what may prove to be his last-ever match with longtime partner/rival Kevin Steen.

Generico's signing is said to be part of a bigger WWE plan as the company has a number of names on their radar that they want to lock in for deals. I am told it's a Triple H move and that there will be a lot more signings to come, as long as those the company are interested in can pass the necessary medical exams.

So so happy. Up there with Daniel Bryan's signing in terms of his talent and my person gratification as a result of being a fan of his for years and years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Happy for him if that was his main goal. ROH must be getting worried if more signings are due to come(who is there left out there for them to sign btw?)
    Was hoping to see him on the X-Division special but that won't be happening. Pity :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Will hold out judgement till I see what they do with him.

If they let him keep the gimmick, and look towards using him as a merch seller in the way Cara never caught on, then yeay.

If they demask him and make him generic midcard talent #32414, then boo :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

Should be safe enough moveset wise too except maybe the brainbuster and top rope brainbuster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Fair play,never really saw much of his stuff,but his bonus podcast with Cabana was hillarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭BohsJohnny

Great news like others have said let him keep his mask and he could be a big star,deserves everything he gets great wrestler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Straight to TV working with Cesaro please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,828 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

So he's signed. How long until he appears on tv? I remember reading a comment elseswhere from someone who hates WWE but likes the indies. Think was about Tyler Black, saying he was going to FCW to unlearn everything he knows about wrestling. :)

But I think there was someone recently who appeared on WWE tv not long after being signed. Can't remember who. All they need to do is get him exposure right away by having him wrestle with Bryan or Cesaro. That way he's wrestling someone who's familiar with his style and getting him on tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,184 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Not familiar with him myself but I wonder will WWE keep him in the mask or give him a lame name and gimmick or just Sin Cara's mask :p

Sin Cara Dearg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

could easily see him doing something with Bryan straight away NO! Si! :D

Big fan of Generico so definitely looking forward to seeing how he gets on.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

The indies are a tough slog and its always great to see a guy get the exposure a wwe contract brings when they have worked so hard.

he can take things easier on WWEs standard house show circuit than at an indy show but appear on front of good crowds and have fun.

then when you get TV you get millions to watch you.

all with Guaranteed money for a while. Of course its still hard work but probably not as hard on the body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭MyBrokenKnees

What stupid WWE ring name will he get I wonder?

Something along the lines of Olé (which I think is what he went by when he did a couple of dark matches for TNA) wouldn't be horrible.

Ha! Have to laugh at this comment
    In news that sucks absolute BALLS, El Generico has signed with the E.

Essentially, another of the best wrestlers in the world has quit wrestling.

He isn't 6-5 and 250, so he'll waste a couple years of his life jobbing to jerk off roid clowns in Florida, then he'll be jobbing to even bigger jerk off roid clowns in the abysmal s#!t show called WWE.

I'm glad he'll make some money, but real wrestling will be the poorer for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

THERE'S HIS NEW NAME!

EL Jobber

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Absolutely delighted for the guy. So talented and has earned his spot a billion times over.

Seeing the likes of him and Hero work their balls off on the Indies and finally get their break gives me a legit buzz.

THERE'S HIS NEW NAME!

EL Jobber

Actually, it'd be El Jobberino with the gimmick inspired by The Dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭A Rogue Hobo

He's signed at the best time possible imo with the current roster in my opinion. I don't think there has ever been so much talent on the WWE roster that could have great matches with this man, especially considering the amount that are there now that have done the independent circuit with him. Great news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I do not get why fans of his are so happy that he is gone to WWE. Well, I can understand it on a personal level that ye are happy for him, but as a fan it sucks.

Will Generico really get to showcase himself in WWE? For every CM Punk, there are 2 Jimmy Wang Yang and Paul Londons.

I hope I am wrong (like I was with Danielson) but I reckon it will be comedy jobs for Generico for the next few years before he is back in the indies.

gimmick wrote: »
    I do not get why fans of his are so happy that he is gone to WWE. Well, I can understand it on a personal level that ye are happy for him, but as a fan it sucks.

Will Generico really get to showcase himself in WWE? For every CM Punk, there are 2 Jimmy Wang Yang and Paul Londons.

I hope I am wrong (like I was with Danielson) but I reckon it will be comedy jobs for Generico for the next few years before he is back in the indies.

And Scotty Goldman, don't forget Scotty Goldman. In fact, don't ever forget the name.... *whooosh* GOLDMAN!

All the names you have mentioned are from a pre-HHH talent relations era in fairness.

Clarifications have been posted. He isn't really signed he still has to pass WWE medicals. He has been through the mill so fingers crossed he does.

Where does Low Ki fall into it? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

To be fair - Ki was released due to him being a dick (I think) as opposed to anything to do with talent .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I think Low Ki decided he wanted a release as they had no plan for him?

asking in Decmber was stupid to start with imo with Mania around the corner.

He won NXT 2 had an IC title match on one of the big 4 PPVs (survivor series) before deciding he wan't happy.

Thought the story was he asked for his release due to the writers having nothing for him. Though maybe they had nothing for him because he was being a dick

Was reading today that a big factor in his signing is because he can speak a few different languages therefore he's marketable in different markets

Also it's one of the first few signings they are expected to make....exciting times ahead some excellent talent on the roster and some excellent ones still out there...

Feel bad for guys that came through earlier like Tyson Kidd and dibiase though comin in at the wrong time. Reminds me of a story I read in jerichos book I believe when they wanted him to come in as an enhancement talent like Tracey smothers back in 95 or 96 and he rejected it

rovert wrote: »
    All the names you have mentioned are from a pre-HHH talent relations era in fairness.

Yeap. In fairness, over the last year, there's been far more hits than misses.

At the moment, you've got Dean Ambrose and Seth Rollins who debuted at the very top of the company. You've got Antonio Cesaro looking very impressive. You've got Daniel Bryan as one of the most over guys in WWE and, despite his losses, has been featured heavily over the last year at a top level.

I know you've got the likes of Tensai, but it strikes me that in the last 12 months, WWE has been treating the big name outsiders pretty well.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,457 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

I know you've got the likes of Tensai, but it strikes me that in the last 12 months, WWE has been treating the big name outsiders pretty well.
    And as popular he is to be bashed I think we can thank HHH for that (who unlike Vince don't appear to have a deep need to humiliate new talents because they dared wrestle outside WWE).

Yeap, agreed there.

Here's the thing about Hunter. He does what's in his own best interest.

As a wrestler, that meant getting the top spot and having a strangle hold on it. As a wrestler, that desire made him selfish.

As a promoter though, it will benefit the fans, because once he runs WWE, he's going to need to keep as many fans happy as he can. So bringing in good workers and pushing them correctly is in his best interest.

Imo, what made people hate him as a wrestler will be the characteristic that makes him phenomenal in his role backstage.

The thing is Generico has done everything he can do on the Indies and has faced everyone there is to face a few times over. There's really nothing left on the Indies and him vs/combining with Steen would eventually get old.

For me its the right time for him and WWE is at a place where guys that look and work like him have better opportunities than ever before.

Worst case scenario he'll be back in the Indies in a few years with a fresh set of guys to work with.

Also as you say on a personal level hes a good guy who has done some ridic stuff to his body to get his big break. He deserves this bigtime.

Worst case scenario he'll be back in the Indies in a few years with a fresh set of guys to work with..

With the valuable "WWE star" prefix in front of his name on the poster and TNA might hire him then. :P

rovert wrote: »
    With the valuable "WWE star" prefix in front of his name on the poster and TNA might hire him then. :P

He could be a member of Aces & 8`s so cause that storyline seems to be never ending.

GTR63 wrote: »
    He could be a member of Aces & 8`s so cause that storyline seems to be never ending.

It'd be funny if they pulled a mask off one of the Aces and 8s guys only to reveal a masked man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Toshi101

Rami the Ram

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Balls.

Nah, Balls is already being used by another guy. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I'm looking forward to seeing this guy. I'd like it if he locked up with Daniel Bryan again for starters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

hopefully they sign this commentator too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,238 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

I can't quite believe this but so far it looks like wwe has let him keep the mask here is a pic from a nxt house show tonight

BDB1hPOCMAEew6r.jpg

COMMON SENSE PREVAILS

kCCg89Qh.jpg

El Generico and a diva Anya were essentially funkadactyls

It strikes me that the gimmick is why he was signed anyway. Thrilled for him. Hope he keeps it when he crosses over to the big time as well :D

Do you think Punk and the other indie guys suggested they keep his gimmick, since they do seem to listen to him these days?

It strikes me that the gimmick is why he was signed anyway.

Well it is the most crowd tested indy gimmick probably ever. From Japan to the US to the UK from smarts in your ROHs to casual fans and families at holiday camps in England.
    CastorTroy wrote: »
    Do you think Punk and the other indie guys suggested they keep his gimmick, since they do seem to listen to him these days?

I don't think it is from that high down. Things in NXT are petty well delegated to those inside that entity. Rob Naylor (a well known message board poster/podcast guest prior to WWE) is a part of the NXT Creative team. From what I know Rob was behind pushing Adrian Neville immediately and putting the tag title on him.

Back in the Florida Championship Wrestling or Ohio Valley Wrestling days indy stars would be told that what they did before meant nothing and then WWE would go about completely deconstructing them to their very core as Wrestlers and even people. It is a total culture change now. WWE in general is a lot more positive and open minded these days.

Naylor. <3.

Not sure if Id even still be watching wrestling if it wasn't for guys like him and his infectious enthusiasm. WWE can't go far wrong with guys like him involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

THATS a house show now? Hard times. Theres more people in my sitting room right now.

bombidol wrote: »
    THATS a house show now? Hard times. Theres more people in my sitting room right now.
    nxt house show they just run small bulidings.

I guess that last pic was to good to be true :(

BEzG7-ZCQAEnl-l.jpg