Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Preview 2013

• 08-01-2013 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭

Ok , so it's very early days but with only nine weeks to go to the beginning of THE festival it's time to get going on the preview nights.

The Waterford Cheltenham preview will be held this year on Thursday, February 28th at the Woodlands Hotel.

For any of you who have been there over the last six years you'll know what a great night it is...lots of craic and even a few winners....if you listen very carefully.

Panel to be confirmed but will be headed as always by John Francome.

Lovely pic of the great JF at last year's preview on the Facebook page, log on to like!!!!

More details as they become available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 killgaa

Great Night always in Waterford.

Kill GAA in Kildare are hosting one on weekend of Friday 1st or Sat 2nd Date to be confirmed this week,

Last years panel was Ted Walsh, Katie Walsh, Hayley O Connor - Ladbrokes, Paul Nolan Matt Chapman and Niall Cronin ( Evening Herald)

A great night was had by all.

There will be a 20 Euro Cover charge and 10 Top Class prizes to be won on the night.

1. Day Trip to Cheltenham on Tuesday 12th ( Flights and Tickets)
    2. Day Trip to Aintree Grand National ( Flights and Tickets)
    3. 4 Tickets Fairyhouse Grand National Meeting and Table for Dinner
    4. 4 Tickets to Punchestown

Will update this as the event gets more details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Will there be one in Westmanstown again this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

killgaa wrote: »
    Great Night always in Waterford.

Kill GAA in Kildare are hosting one on weekend of Friday 1st or Sat 2nd Date to be confirmed this week,

Last years panel was Ted Walsh, Katie Walsh, Hayley O Connor - Ladbrokes, Paul Nolan Matt Chapman and Niall Cronin ( Evening Herald)

A great night was had by all.

There will be a 20 Euro Cover charge and 10 Top Class prizes to be won on the night.

1. Day Trip to Cheltenham on Tuesday 12th ( Flights and Tickets)
    2. Day Trip to Aintree Grand National ( Flights and Tickets)
    3. 4 Tickets Fairyhouse Grand National Meeting and Table for Dinner
    4. 4 Tickets to Punchestown

Will update this as the event gets more details.
    Ill be there...
    Who's expected on This years panel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Get Ruby or Nicholls for Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Catherine Power

Panel has yet to be finalised.

Ruby does very few of these meetings but as this is the biggest one in the country ( attendance wise at any rate) maybe he could be persuaded!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Panel has yet to be finalised.

Ruby does very few of these meetings but as this is the biggest one in the country ( attendance wise at any rate) maybe he could be persuaded!!!!

Keep Francome and Nick Luck, I like Ted for humour. Am keep Davy, Ditch Cattermole and Mick Fitz and David Pipe, all insufferable. Shoot Noel O Brien or something.

Get Henderson or Geraghty or Ruby or Nicholls or Willie Mullins.

Nicholls is useless at these preview nights.
    I've seen clips of him at them over the years and all he does is give all his horses a chance. He'll go through all the excuses in his locker why a horse will be better this time round.

He rarely gives an angle on other races, particularly one's that he has no contender. Stuck up ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Slattsy wrote: »
    Nicholls is useless at these preview nights.
    I've seen clips of him at them over the years and all he does is give all his horses a chance. He'll go through all the excuses in his locker why a horse will be better this time round.

He rarely gives an angle on other races, particularly one's that he has no contender. Stuck up ****.

Nicholls is nearly always bullish about his Cheltenham horses. He will talk them up to the hilt beforehand and then if they disappoint he will come out with an excuse along the lines of: "oh we weren't happy with him in the weeks leading up to the race." I don't bother listening to any of his interviews or reading his Betfair column anymore.

None of the bigger trainers or jockeys (with the exception of Russell) give anything away at these preview nights. The likes of Tony Mullins and Paul Nolan might not have many Cheltenham horses but at least you'll get a bit of craic and entertainment out of them for a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 eoghan_85

To be honest I've been to a pile of preview nights at this stage and feel that if you're going to any of these expecting some silver bullet of some great tip that will make your festival you're wasting your time. That said, they're still thoroughly enjoyable and really kick start the Cheltenham vibe in the same way as putting up the Christmas tree starts the festive feeling! Can be interesting sometimes to get some of their views on varous horses once you know to treat everything they say with a pinch of salt. Either they have a vested interest in the horse or they have a mere opinion no different to anyone else.

On another note - anyone know if there's any preview night planned for Cork? Dont remember there being any here last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

eoghan_85 wrote: »
    To be honest I've been to a pile of preview nights at this stage and feel that if you're going to any of these expecting some silver bullet of some great tip that will make your festival you're wasting your time. That said, they're still thoroughly enjoyable and really kick start the Cheltenham vibe in the same way as putting up the Christmas tree starts the festive feeling! Can be interesting sometimes to get some of their views on varous horses once you know to treat everything they say with a pinch of salt. Either they have a vested interest in the horse or they have a mere opinion no different to anyone else.

On another note - anyone know if there's any preview night planned for Cork? Dont remember there being any here last year.

Silversprings don't seem to run a preview anymore although I never really learnt much from going along to them. Better off sticking with your own opinion.

Waterford Preview panel is as follows

John Francome, Nick Luck Channel 4, Davy Russell, Tom Segal-Mr Pricewise Racing Post, Noel O Brien Handicapper,Mick Fitzgerald Channel 4, Henry de Bromhead, Jessica Harrington, Hayley O Connor
    Special Surprise Guest.

MC BRIAN GLEESON RTE.

TICKETS AVAILABLE WOODLANDS HOTEL WATERFORD

As has already been mentioned you wouldn't want to be going to these preview nights hoping to come away with a load of winners but on the plus side it really is a very good night's entertainment, you'll usually get something you wouldn't have backed yourself , Davy Russell is very good and worth listening carefully to and over the last six years almost €90,000 has been raised for charity, so worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Too many panelists to be honest, you'll be there till all hours! Take out Luck and Mick Fitz, would help things along! Decent Line up though. Davy is worth listening to alright. He did about 45 preview nights last year though so his opinions will be well aired by that stage

Waterford Preview panel is as follows

John Francome, Nick Luck Channel 4, Davy Russell, Tom Segal-Mr Pricewise Racing Post, Noel O Brien Handicapper,Mick Fitzgerald Channel 4, Henry de Bromhead, Jessica Harrington, Hayley O Connor
    Special Surprise Guest.

MC BRIAN GLEESON RTE.

TICKETS AVAILABLE WOODLANDS HOTEL WATERFORD

As has already been mentioned you wouldn't want to be going to these preview nights hoping to come away with a load of winners but on the plus side it really is a very good night's entertainment, you'll usually get something you wouldn't have backed yourself , Davy Russell is very good and worth listening carefully to and over the last six years almost €90,000 has been raised for charity, so worth it

Same old panel, why not mix things up a bit.

Actually that is probably the worst panel I've seen down there so far.

Ill probably still go but meh.

Get rid of Noel O'Brien, De Bromhead and Harrington.

Ruby, Mullins, Geraghty, Henderson or Nicholls would make it much more interesting imo.

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Too many panelists to be honest, you'll be there till all hours! Take out Luck and Mick Fitz, would help things along! Decent Line up though. Davy is worth listening to alright. He did about 45 preview nights last year though so his opinions will be well aired by that stage

Get rid of Nick Luck? Are you mental. He's worth listening to on his own

I thought I was hard to please but I've seen it all now!! You wouldn't get a panel like that anywhere else in the country...you've been served fillet steak too long ..and now your getting chateaubriand (if thats how you spell it) and your complaining...I'm sure Catherine can hardly tell some of the panel to forget about it after booking them already

ste2010 wrote: »
    I thought I was hard to please but I've seen it all now!! You wouldn't get a panel like that anywhere else in the country...you've been served fillet steak too long ..and now your getting chateaubriand (if thats how you spell it) and your complaining...I'm sure Catherine can hardly tell some of the panel to forget about it after booking them already

Ah it's been the same panel now for years, yes great line up but a few duds especially De Bromhead and Jessie

But at least David Pipe isn't back, that's one saving grace

I suppose so..well at least catherine has feedback for next year! would love to go down to it just too far away, would nearly have to stay in the hotel!! I wouldn't listen to a word Jessie H says...steps to freedom was supposedly a banker or her last year...didnt fall for it until i met one of the owners on the flight, he told me about the steps to freedom hammering Oscar wells video...so I split my cinders and ashes stake with steps to freedom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 littleowl

Cheltenham Preview 2013 in aid of Pieta House, Suicide Prevention

Compere: Desie Scahill with guests Robbie Power, Andrew Lynch and more.

Dunboyne Castle Hotel, Wed. 6th March 2013, 8pm. Admission €15, FREE €5 Bet courtesy of Boylesports

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cheltenham-Preview-Night-Dunboyne-6th-March-2013/191268384348294

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Agree with this. That is some lineup, even if the panelists are the same, the race lineups have changed. I saw the lineup and actually have half considered traversing the country to attend. Maybe they are not the best entertainers around? But you'll do well to better that panel anywhere IMO.

You are probably right, Russell, Francome, Pricewise and Nick Luck are worth the admission alone. But on the other side we should get refunded a few euro everytime Noel O Brien opens his mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

You are probably right, Russell, Francome, Pricewise and Nick Luck are worth the admission alone. But on the other side we should get refunded a few euro everytime Noel O Brien opens his mouth.

I've attended the NUIG preview the last 7yrs. It is always well supported & generously sponsored. However, I actually hadn't realised how dull the whole affair was & had become accustomed to it being very formal, until 2011 , from memory, when Russell & The Shark rocked up. That was the best yr of all, with a good deal of banter which, with the exception of the odd Barney C tale of his last betting coup, had been largely missing.

I expect these evenings to be as equally entertaining as informative. And if I was to sacrifice anything, it would be the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

How much are the tickets for the Waterford preview?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 littleowl

Cheltenham Preview 2013 in aid of Pieta House, Suicide Prevention

Compere: Desie Scahill with guests Robbie Power, Andrew Lynch and more.

Dunboyne Castle Hotel, Wed. 6th March 2013, 8pm. Admission €15, FREE €5 Bet courtesy of Boylesports

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cheltenham-Preview-Night/191268384348294

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Anyone head to the one in Cafe en Seine last year

Tickets for the Waterford preview are €20.

I agree with the comments above re: entertainment as much as information but in that regard John Francome is priceless.

He has been an ever present member of the Waterford panel since it started in 2007 and is the first name on the list every year when it comes to choosing
    the panel.

He's also has plenty of time for fans in the hotel on the night.

Henry De Bromhead is on the panel as the WATERFORD trainer of Sizing Europe who just happens to have won An Arkle and Queen Mother in the past three years and who was robbed of another Queen Mother last year IMO.

Where Sizing Europe intends to run will surely be one of the questions on the night!!!!!

Anyone head to the one in Cafe en Seine last year

Hate the pub.

But i'd be up for it if there were a few bodies going.

Hate the pub.

It was free, got a wee booklet with info on a load of the runners wasn't bad. Some good advice :rolleyes: everyone was told put all your money on Sprinter Sacre, go up and collect it and put it all on Hurricane Fly. The words were ''bombproof, they will not get beaten''.

I stopped taking any notice of Cheltenham Preview nights a few years back when Joe Cullen won the Bumper with his head in his chest, yet he was never mentioned by Willie Mullins in any interviews or previews beforehand.......

You'll always get that but on the reverse I backed Cheltenian for the bumper two years ago totally on the back of what Davy Russell said at the preview and he romped home at 14/1.

Would never have backed him if DR hadn't been so emphatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

anyone know is boylesports are running the big one in leopardstown racecourse again this year?

Hate the pub.

You obviously don't like good looking women so

Pints are about 15 quid in there

Oh i do, but they flock to me regardless where i go :D

The Guinness is awful and the patrons are stuck up *****.
    Not for me, especially when the Dawson lounge is only up the road, now there's a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

It was free, got a wee booklet with info on a load of the runners wasn't bad. Some good advice :rolleyes: everyone was told put all your money on Sprinter Sacre, go up and collect it and put it all on Hurricane Fly. The words were ''bombproof, they will not get beaten''.

It's interesting to get their views on the races. It doesn't mean you have to back what they say. In all fairness alot of people expected SS and Hurricane Fly to win not suprising they were bigging them up. It's also a good nights entertainment and a good laugh it's a worth going to get the buzz of Cheltenham started.

Oh i do, but they flock to me regardless where i go :D

The Guinness is awful and the patrons are stuck up *****.
    Not for me, especially when the Dawson lounge is only up the road, now there's a pub.

Is full of foreigners now :D an wannabe stuck ups if I'm to believe..last time I was there was last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Get rid of Nick Luck? Are you mental. He's worth listening to on his own

I like him as a presenter, but a bit on the fence do you not think when it comes to opinions? A well educated and informed person but I don't think you'll learn anything new from him. You want someone rash and bold at a preview night. Granted you won't get that from Jessie or De Bromhead either so on second thought i'd take those out first

Tickets for the Waterford preview are €20.

I agree with the comments above re: entertainment as much as information but in that regard John Francome is priceless.

He has been an ever present member of the Waterford panel since it started in 2007 and is the first name on the list every year when it comes to choosing
    the panel.

He's also has plenty of time for fans in the hotel on the night.

Henry De Bromhead is on the panel as the WATERFORD trainer of Sizing Europe who just happens to have won An Arkle and Queen Mother in the past three years and who was robbed of another Queen Mother last year IMO.

Where Sizing Europe intends to run will surely be one of the questions on the night!!!!!

Nick Luck, Tom Segal, Francome and Russell are all excellent and interest me hugely.

It just annoys me when trainers like Jessie and Henry are there when they might have what, two runners each. Just because he is from Waterford shouldn't be a reason should it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Is anyone else mixing up Urban Sea & RichieLawless?

Please someone change their Avatar!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭woodlands

Subject: donaghmore ashbourne cheltenham preview night

Donaghmore Ashbourne GAA are hosting another of their popular CHELTENHAM PREVIEW NIGHTs on FRI.1st march.The event is kindly sponsored by BAMBURY BOOKMAKERS and the panel will be finalised at a later date.Tickets are on sale now @ €20 (INCL. €5 FREE BET @BAMBURYS BOOKMAKERS and finger food).

thanks

Regards,
    peter molloy

Is anyone else mixing up Urban Sea & RichieLawless?

Please someone change their Avatar!!

No, it's very straight forward :D

YEAH COLONEL

I've lost all the smiley faces on the side when i reply to a post.
    And i also see everyones posts under this as i type.

What the **** is going on ??????

I've lost all the smiley faces on the side when i reply to a post.
    And i also see everyones posts under this as i type.

What the **** is going on ??????

Have you been eating burgers from Tesco?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

No, it's very straight forward :D

Right I've just noticed RichieLawlessness

My head hurts.....

Have you been eating burgers from Tesco?

Neigh.

Yes I do think Henry should be on the panel just because he's from Waterford.

If any other county had the trainer of the winner of an Arkle and Champion Chase in the last few years, they would definitely be on the panel.

Henry usually only gives an opinion on the race his horse is in anyway....

If any other county had the trainer of the winner of an Arkle and Champion Chase in the last few years, they would definitely be on the panel.

He probably won't even tell us what race SE will run in. Something along the lines of 'if it came up very soft we might take on Sprinter Sacre' an 'if the ground is good we will run in the Ryanair' and 'we haven't completely ruled out the Gold Cup'

Seems stupid.

For the rest of their lives, the horse is past his best, move on.

Even more of a reason not to have him then.

To everyone intending to get to any of the previews around the country please remember most are held in aid of very worthwhile charities.

SVP has benefitted from the Waterford Preview for the past few years and is one of the charities to benefit again this year.

€90,000 has been raised in Waterford since this particular preview began in 2007 and obviously again this year we're hoping to raise a significant amount for charity.

So thanks to everyone who came in the past and hopeing to see you all again in waterford on Feb 28th

To everyone intending to get to any of the previews around the country please remember most are held in aid of very worthwhile charities.

SVP has benefitted from the Waterford Preview for the past few years and is one of the charities to benefit again this year.

€90,000 has been raised in Waterford since this particular preview began in 2007 and obviously again this year we're hoping to raise a significant amount for charity.

So thanks to everyone who came in the past and hopeing to see you all again in waterford on Feb 28th

Fair enough. If the proceeds go to charity, then it can only be a good thing, even if one or two trainers try to put us away ;):D