Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Day 1

• 08-01-2013 5:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭

Ok smoking nearly 20 years now and today is the day i'm gonna kick the habbit... (patches ready!)

I can't justify spending nearly €100 a week on this stupid habit anymore and before xmas a guy i know who smokes the same amount as me died from a heart attack at 39 that seems to been smoke related, i want to be there for my kids in 10 years time and with cancer a trait in my family i must be off my head to have continued for this long...

I put out my last smoke an hour ago only but i truly feel this time will be different, i know i wont fall into the trap of 'only smoking when i drink', i cant even remember how i ended up full time back on them again but i can remember having a smoke while drinking after a month of being off them and thinking i was sailing... so no more lying to myself, social smoking does not exsist for me.

Found a good program for the laptop called quitkeeper, which keeps milestones so here it is for anybody else who think it will help them, it lets you copy your milestones and post them so i'm planning on doing so in this thread :)

http://www.dedicateddesigns.com/qk/download.htm#

I found www.quit.ie also really helpful to get me motivated and the planner is great with solutions to your weakest times

Anyways I hope to continue posting here with updates of my progress success!

So wish me luck!! :)

Good luck mate hope all work out well giving them up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Cart

Good luck dave I smoked my last cig on Sunday evening still goin strong,touch wood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

whenever you feel the urge to have one drink a glass of water and keep plenty of chewing gum handy - its great when you get a pang. im 8 days in and going cold turkey but it hasnt been a fraction as bad as i thought it would because im focused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭CollardGreens

Hello, I wanted to say Congratulations on your decision to quit. My brother died @ 50 and smoking was one of the causes.

Dec. 27th was my 11th year free from smoking after smoking over a pack a day for 25 years. Yes it's hard to do, but if it were easy then nobody would smoke.

One of several things that helped me was what I was saying. When I said "I'm going to TRY to quit" it gave me an out, the words TRY, MAYBE, IF I CAN had to be dropped from what I was saying. A persons mind hears what comes out their mouth and when I was saying those words it made me doubt myself.

A crave never killed anybody no matter how much it seems like it will.

Again, I applaud your decision ~ You Rock! :)

Cart, sorry I missed your post ~ Congratulations to you too. You've been free since Sunday?! Awesome, your on your way to freedom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

whenever you feel the urge to have one drink a glass of water and keep plenty of chewing gum handy

i've taken that advice, my jaws are sore from chewing :pac:
    Hello, I wanted to say Congratulations on your decision to quit. My brother died @ 50 and smoking was one of the causes.

Dec. 27th was my 11th year free from smoking after smoking over a pack a day for 25 years. Yes it's hard to do, but if it were easy then nobody would smoke.

Thanks for this post, it really helps when you hear from other people that have beat the addiction, so you know it can be done. Sorry to hear about your brother btw

24 hours completed and i have to say its been pretty easy (due to patches maybe), i've only had a few instances so far of reaching for my smokes and realising they aren't there and getting a bit disappointed but it passes after 2 or 3 minutes. I'm sort of freaked its gone so well so far because feels like i'm waiting for worst to hit me but maybe it wont idk i'll have to wait and see

big thanks for the support posts, greatly appreciated :)

my quitkeeper stats...

I have been quit for 1 Day, 2 minutes and 28 seconds (1 days). I have saved €11.63 by not smoking 25 cigarettes. I have saved 2 hours and 5 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

Hi, keep it up as you are on your way!

I forgot to tell y'all, the saying "you will always want one" is a flat out lie.

I can't stand to even smell them. Each day/month got better. At first I remember watching the clock tick I craved so bad. I think it was about the 8th month (for me, everybody is different) to where I got to the place where I didn't ever crave again. I know that sounds like forever right now, but if you take into consideration how long you smoked feel blessed it doesn't take that many years to get over it.

If you have to change the triggers. Drive a different way to work, eat in a different room, and for goodness sake, don't answer the phone if you see on caller ID it is someone that gets under your skin, you can talk with them at another date...even if it's a month away! Your quit needs to be #1. Not asking your faith, but for me I prayed away a lot of my cravings ~

48 hours in and once again (shockingly) it hasn't been too bad, still the odd moment of madness which passes quite quickly if you follow the steps and stay motivated...

one problem though, i've been reading the threads which have been in an inspiration to quit and that it can be done but i've come across alot of people who have quit for months still pining for them which worries me, i hope to god this feeling leaves cause as strong as i am now... well i may not be in this frame of mind always.

another thing is drinking, i've a night out with friends planned for febuary, they all smoke and its starting to worry me how to handle the drinking without smoking. any advice?

one crazy thought that keeps popping into my head, i know this sounds stupid, is why would i go on a sun holiday now that i cant smoke on a balcony anymore, how fcuked up is that....

anyways besides my worries for the future and my little bit of crazy thoughts i've been doing good and haven't had any major temptations :)

I have been quit for 2 Days, 7 minutes and 32 seconds (2 days). I have saved €23.29 by not smoking 50 cigarettes. I have saved 4 hours and 10 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

• Subscribers Posts: 126 ✭✭Camo22

Cart wrote: »
    Good luck dave I smoked my last cig on Sunday evening still goin strong,touch wood

Fair play to you. Day 4(yesterday) is actually the toughest I found. The last of the nicotine leaving the body. Get through that and it's been plain sailing today. So if it gets tough tomorrow just remember, it's only easier from there! I went to bed early...

Good luck!

3 Full days done (feels longer!), now for the weekend, feel confident enough going into it, planning trip to the cinema to avoid drinking (til i'm feeling ready) and bring the kids to the park to avoid usual smoking routine/haunts ect

I have been quit for 3 Days, 24 minutes and 7 seconds (3 days). I have saved €35.06 by not smoking 75 cigarettes. I have saved 6 hours and 15 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Allround Predator

Hi, Iv been off the smokes now for 11 days, I feel things are getting easier but have to keep my guard up, my mind keeps playing tricks with me, trying to get me to smoke. The worst trick my mind plays is when I think about the future without cigs, I get this feeling like its the worst thing in the world but its not, I know its just my mind playing a trick. So I try not to think about the future without cigs. Other than that Im still get the odd craving but their not as strong as they were a few days ago. My sense of smell and taste have improved dramatically in the last few days so Iv decided to reward myself with an Indian takeout later on tonight after a run. So keep it up cause things can only get better. Happy Days :):);):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭michael.dublin

even after years of them, you will still get the feeling, that ummm i would love one, but keep strong, and you will make it. i have done it and been of them for about 7 years now, so it is possible.
    the way i stoped was by counting how many hours and min i have been of, and lets say i had done 95 hours, i wanted to go to 100 hours of, and so fare this have worked for me.
    best of luck, and YOU WILL MAKE IT

my mind keeps playing tricks with me, trying to get me to smoke. The worst trick my mind plays is when I think about the future without cigs,
    even after years of them, you will still get the feeling, that ummm i would love one

them two statements really depress, well it did on saturday... i was doing great up until friday night and i started to get weak and it continued on into saturday, i was like the antichrist all i could think of was the good times me and the ciggys had together (i sound like a nutjob) and how i'm so bored without them...

what seems to be getting me down now is not the fact i'm missing smoking (i actually dont want one) its the void which the habbit has left is what has me struggling a bit, i never thought i'd say this but thank god i'm back in work today!!

I have been quit for 5 Days, 18 hours, 8 minutes and 3 seconds (5 days). I have saved €66.89 by not smoking 143 cigarettes. I have saved 11 hours and 55 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

Hi Davet82.

Then i gave them up, the first 6-7 days was hard, the mind just kept saying, just one, just take one, it was all i could think about, every hour of the day.
    BUT haveing said that, after day 7, it was getting better, not saying it was easy after day 7, but the smokes was not on my mind all the time, i could more or less say then, i would get the feeling i needed a smoke, and i think you will get that aswell, then you get to know them warrning sing, stop what you are doing and give youself a min or 2, to think of all the things that a good about NOT smoking. it worked for me, i sure hope it will work for you aswell.

then people ask me today if i smoke, my answer is a bit like what a alcoholic would say, i am a smoker that dont smoke anymore, for the feeling will and can always come back.

Hi Davet82

wonder how you are doing today ? still of them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

fair play for trying, i've been inspired to do the same

Hi Davet82

wonder how you are doing today ? still of them ?

Thanks for asking Michael, still off them, another 4 hours and its a full week! :)

I removed my last patch last night before going to bed so have about 3 days of nicotine leaving my system so should be interesting but today has been great so far, strangely i was dreaming about smoking last night but no major urge or panics today for them.

Sadderday wrote: »
    fair play for trying, i've been inspired to do the same

thanks, if i can do it anybody can, trust me! best of luck with it if you go for it, all you can do is try :)

I have been quit for 6 Days, 20 hours, 47 minutes and 1 second (6 days). I have saved €79.81 by not smoking 171 cigarettes. I have saved 14 hours and 15 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

gud stuff.... can i ask though... is it really true that you do put on alot of weight when you quit?

In all honesty, as a woman,,, that often puts me off trying

gud stuff.... can i ask though... is it really true that you do put on alot of weight when you quit?

In all honesty, as a woman,,, that often puts me off trying

well my OH has quit and she has lost all her appetite, she is using the eCig so maybe thats why.

i think its the individual, if you are replacing the smokes by eating nachos, you're gonne put on weight, one thing i do find is though i'm finishing my meals now, before i'd be in such a hurry to for the after meal smoke i'd leave food or i'd smoke through hungar...

I think some of the others here that have quit them longer could give you a better answer than i could, i'm only a noobie non-smoker :o

Ah yeah, thanks.. i had imagined that... but if i am peckish and i have a fag the hunger does subside... so i'd have to replace the fag with something. MY dad did it yrs ago, cold turkey... he ate packets and packets of chewing gum and was feeling too bloated all the time...so he had replaced any cravings with fruit, apples, pears.. the whole lot. He is great health and swears that he can taste food properly.

Its the way forward, its not social to smoke anymore... im the only smoker in the office, im sure i stink. gonna take a leave and give it a go one of these days! Thanks

Ah yeah, thanks.. i had imagined that... but if i am peckish and i have a fag the hunger does subside... so i'd have to replace the fag with something. MY dad did it yrs ago, cold turkey... he ate packets and packets of chewing gum and was feeling too bloated all the time...so he had replaced any cravings with fruit, apples, pears.. the whole lot. He is great health and swears that he can taste food properly.

Its the way forward, its not social to smoke anymore... im the only smoker in the office, im sure i stink. gonna take a leave and give it a go one of these days! Thanks

If its the habit and the hungar thing, i'd try the eCig, you buy disposables ones in any spar or centra, they're €7.99 and are the equivelant of 40 smokes (you buy re-usable one for €30 and refills are quite cheap)

give it a go, what have you got to loose plus its bloody freezing outside to be smoking anyways :D

I'm one of the last people to quit in my current office to too, when i first started work here very few didn't smoke and we all smoked at our desks! And thats only about 10 years ago. Crazy looking back on it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Allround Predator

2 Weeks and 1 day an none smoker and I feel great. Still getting the odd craving but nothing major. So happy a made it to the 2 week mark, if I can do it anybody can! Fair play to all who have kicked the habit! ;);)

glad to hear you are all doing so good, and davet82 one full week, WELL DONE, you are over the worst. please keep us posted.

bet you'r food is starting to tast better :-)

had a bottle of wine last to celebrate my week off the smokes (and to test my will power when combined with alcohol) and it wasn't too bad, i had a drink with two other reformed smokers which helped. Towards the end of the bottle i had a bit of a 'moment' where i could have been tempted but it felt ok not smoking and drinking. Now i'm not getting carried away either, add another bottle of wine and a room full of smokers i might not be so confident but its a step in the right direction i think.

I have been quit for 1 Week, 1 Day, 14 minutes and 35 seconds (8 days). I have saved €93.10 by not smoking 200 cigarettes. I have saved 16 hours and 40 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭brownacid

Congrats, I'm off them 3.5 months now, only smoked for about 10 years but was smoking roughly 20 a day, more often than not over the 20. I gave up cold turkey at the end of september, a combination of the girlfriend nagging me to do it and because I had caught pneumonia and couldn't physically smoke. It hurt like a mother bitch to breathe in and when I took a drag off a smoke it felt like my lungs were being stabbed. I decided I'd see if I could stop and it was surprisingly easy. I bought about ten packets of airwaves black chwing gum and would eat them two at a time and in hale as if I was smoking every time I got the urge. If I was at home I would pick up a dumbell and do a few arm curls just to do something while teh craving lasted. After a few days it got a bit easier and after a few weeks it got even easier, after 3 months it feels much better. I rarely get the urge any more except when Im annoyed or stressed.

I have slipped up once or twice whilst drunk but only a few drags off other peoples smokes but never sober. I am glad to say I don't think Ill be going back to them.

I wish you the best of luck man.

Hi All you new non smokers :-) just wonder how you are doing now ?

well i've saved over €150 so far and will be two weeks off them tomorrow. Its been easy during the week but saturdays are just the pits for me and if there was a smoke in my house saturday night i think i would have lit it up which is annoying that i'm still in that cant trust myself phase

I have been quit for 1 Week, 5 Days, 21 hours, 59 minutes and 50 seconds (12 days). I have saved €150.14 by not smoking 322 cigarettes. I have saved 1 Day, 2 hours and 50 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

• Subscribers Posts: 126 ✭✭Camo22

Still of them since the 5th, course worked a treat. I'm heading away on a boozey weekend soon thoug, I'm hoping I can last that. Then i#ll be free FOREVER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

davet82 wrote: »
    well i've saved over €150 so far and will be two weeks off them tomorrow.

Brilliant. Well done. I hope you got through the weekend.

It Will get easier. especially now you're over the hump. From now on there will be an imperceptible improvement every day that will add up pretty quickly to noticeable improvement.

And the horrible feeling of Loss and Emptiness will go away too. Those feeling are the addiction trying to get you back, lil'fcukers.

well i've saved over €150 so far and will be two weeks off them tomorrow. Its been easy during the week but saturdays are just the pits for me and if there was a smoke in my house saturday night i think i would have lit it up which is annoying that i'm still in that cant trust myself phase

Alcohol is the worst. Chemically it compliments nicotine so the two go together really well.

And the prob is that you can chew nicotine gum and drink beer at the same time...

Be really careful.

last two weekends have been awful being a non smoker (during the week has been easy for some reason) i'm hoping for a better frame of mind this weekend, i should be due to find it easier shouldn't I?

what will make it easier is that i've saved €200 from not smoking so i will reward myself with something nice maybe to take my mind off it

I have been quit for 2 Weeks, 3 Days, 28 minutes and 3 seconds (17 days). I have saved €197.84 by not smoking 425 cigarettes. I have saved 1 Day, 11 hours and 25 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

last two weekends have been awful being a non smoker (during the week has been easy for some reason) i'm hoping for a better frame of mind this weekend, i should be due to find it easier shouldn't I?

Yes. absolutely. You're almost at three weeks so you're over the hump...

What I found was that the benefits were so small that it was hard to notice day to day but week to week was much more noticable.

I mean you're better now than you were on day one or two right?

You can probably see some improvement from this time last week too? SO it may not feel better than yesterday or the day before but it is getting better.

Those little incremental improvements will gather pace. Slowly though.

Saturday wasn't too bad, enjoyed a bottle of wine and had little thoughts of ciggys but nothing i couldn't handle so all went well. I have a night out in two weeks with a group of friends which should be the real test but i'm growing in cofidence...

three weeks tomorrow! can't believe it :)

I have been quit for 2 Weeks, 5 Days, 17 hours, 51 minutes and 35 seconds (19 days). I have saved €229.51 by not smoking 493 cigarettes. I have saved 1 Day, 17 hours and 5 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

hitting day 25 tomorrow, the last three nights i have been dreaming about smoking, somebody offers me a ciggarette and i smoke it reluctantly but enjoy it, weird, the OH fell off the wagon and is smoking again which isn't helping :(

bad day today for some reason, oh well march on :)

I have been quit for 3 Weeks, 2 Days, 23 hours, 45 minutes and 31 seconds (23 days). I have saved €278.87 by not smoking 599 cigarettes. I have saved 2 Days, 1 hour and 55 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

4 weeks today! Last few days I've been doing great and really starting to feel good about being a non smoker :)

I have been quit for 3 Weeks, 6 Days, 21 hours, 20 minutes and 32 seconds (27 days). I have saved €324.19 by not smoking 697 cigarettes. I have saved 2 Days, 10 hours and 5 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

hey,

good stuff - that's great for you... just to let you know you have inspired me... for the past 2 weeks i've been smoking 4 cigarettes a day (1 morning, 1 lunch, 2 evening)... i had been smoking 18-20 a day and you know yourself on the weekends more.

I have saved about €100 so far and i'm gearing to give them up altogether.

Thanks for the inspiration, needed it from somewhere!

hey,

good stuff - that's great for you... just to let you know you have inspired me... for the past 2 weeks i've been smoking 4 cigarettes a day (1 morning, 1 lunch, 2 evening)... i had been smoking 18-20 a day and you know yourself on the weekends more.

I have saved about €100 so far and i'm gearing to give them up altogether.

Thanks for the inspiration, needed it from somewhere!

I'm delighted you got something from this thread, that has really made my day, thanks for the post :)

I have been quit for 4 Weeks, 23 hours, 3 minutes and 40 seconds (28 days). I have saved €336.66 by not smoking 724 cigarettes. I have saved 2 Days, 12 hours and 20 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Dummy

Davet,

Well done to you.

I quit at 3pm yesterday and am nearly off my rocker already. This is very very tough for me.

Can I ask what are you using if anything? I think I need to get something but really no idea what - patches, spray or what ?

Keep going - I'd love to be where you are now. I have three very beautiful reasons at home to quit & I really want to quit for myself & them.

Good luck.

Dummy wrote: »
    Davet,

Well done to you.

I quit at 3pm yesterday and am nearly off my rocker already. This is very very tough for me.

Can I ask what are you using if anything? I think I need to get something but really no idea what - patches, spray or what ?

Keep going - I'd love to be where you are now. I have three very beautiful reasons at home to quit & I really want to quit for myself & them.

Good luck.

I can't actually believe i'm offering somebody advice on quitting as i never thought i'd get this far and feel this way about smoking!

I used the patches for a week to take the edge off the cravings just to get my head around the habit first. So you have the nicotine so your body is not craving them, its the habit you have to deal with first.

go on the website mention in my op, they were great...

and boards.ie, start your own thread maybe, its another reason to keep going and people to check in on you or just type your story, it really helped me funny enough...

keeping thinking of your kids anytime you get tempted, being healthy so you can live long enough to be there for them growing up was/is the most influential reason for me to keep going (plus the extra money in the pocket ain't bad either!)

best of luck and keep us posted on how you can are getting on, you can do it! :)

I have been quit for 4 Weeks, 1 Day, 1 hour, 24 minutes and 56 seconds (29 days). I have saved €337.80 by not smoking 726 cigarettes. I have saved 2 Days, 12 hours and 30 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

:) one month today! :)

I have been quit for 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 21 hours, 45 minutes and 51 seconds (30 days). I have saved €359.28 by not smoking 772 cigarettes. I have saved 2 Days, 16 hours and 20 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

Did you get the weird dreams from the patches? I had to take them off at night.

The Lozenges really helped me. The nicotine dose it gave you was most like a cig. You'd get the slight wallop of it. And I used two at a time for the first few weeks.

Its a battle. A weird psychological war with yourself. I think it was most certainly one of the hardest things I've ever done in my life.

:) one month today! :)

Amazing. Well done!

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Did you get the weird dreams from the patches? I had to take them off at night.

The Lozenges really helped me. The nicotine dose it gave you was most like a cig. You'd get the slight wallop of it. And I used two at a time for the first few weeks.

Its a battle. A weird psychological war with yourself. I think it was most certainly one of the hardest things I've ever done in my life.

no not from the patches but my OH fell off the wagon and i think i could smell the smoke off her at night and maybe that got me dreaming of them

definately one of the hardest things to do, the idea of going back on the smokes and to do it all over again is enough to stop you picking up a cigarette ever again :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Great read, inspiring stuff

nearly 5 weeks off them and €400 saved... :)

hit a bump on saturday though, jesus saturdays are just terrible for some reason, i hadn't thought about smoking once til saturday. the OH is back on the cigs and the hole day she was in and out the back door for a fag which started to get me irritated. So saturday night comes and i crack open a few cans of beer and after each can i get worst and worst and the more glasses of wine herself has the more regular her smoke breaks are becoming and the more and more i seem to want one until i took out her eCig she discarded a couple of weeks ago and used that...

why is this happening to me? i'm fine, better than fine the other 6 days of the week and saturday i'm going off my head. Funny thing is i dont want to smoke but i want the habit back or something i cant explain. Felt like i gave in and felt bad about using the eCig felt like i cheated or cracked...

sunday and today i feel fine, i only thought about smoking as somebody posted on this thread

this saturday is the big lads night out, everyone smokes except for one guy who gave them up in the new year but manages to have 2 or 3 smokes with a drink and returns to being a non smoker the rest of the time (i cant do this, i know i cant) i might bring an eCig with me, am i kidding myself doing this or should i just battle through the night (although i dont think i can trust myself with lads on a session) or should i just cancel until i'm off them longer?

advice more than welcome please!

I have been quit for 1 Month, 3 Days, 18 minutes and 55 seconds (34 days). I have saved €395.38 by not smoking 850 cigarettes. I have saved 2 Days, 22 hours and 50 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00

Hi davet82.

glat to here you are still going strong, and the same to all others out there. it's been nice to follow, as a ex smoker, it is like liveling it all again, and it just make me more happy that i dont smoke anymore.
    can i ask you davet82, how do you feel going out now ? and sitting with your old friends then they smoke, do you go outside with them or ?

keep up the quitting all of you :-)

michael

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

My father likes to reminisce about the his first few nights out off the cigs. Any time he felt like a smoke, he would get a drink. He got absolutely ****-faced apparently. Its a good idea in some ways, not a permanent solution but works towards the start of giving up. You need to give yourself something else to do when everyone is smoking. Maybe for this particularly big night coming up, this could work for you.

I remember when I was trying to cut back on drinking, I would drink pints of water instead (because staying in certainly wasn't an option, I had to go out). Having something to drink myself while everyone else was drinking took my mind off it completely. I'd end up drinking 20 pints of water and feel sick even from that! Its a similar idea to above, you need something to distract you every time you go for the smokes, you need something to do. Eventually you will internalise this habit and the cravings will die down. Well thats my 2c

the idea of going back on the smokes and to do it all over again is enough to stop you picking up a cigarette ever again :pac:

Actually I think you've touched on profound truth there.

Thats really the point that people talk about when the y refer to the point "when you're ready..."

If you know what I mean. Its the point when the chore and drudgery of having to quit again is more of a negative than the "positive" of having a cig.

...something like that. I'm thinking aloud...

why is this happening to me?

Its the booze. I had a chemist friend explain it once. They're the perfect compliment to each other. The chemicals in alcohol perfectly mirror and compliment the effects of the the cig.

They go together like bacon and eggs, like ham and cheese, like tea and milk...

And add to that the fact that alcohol breaks down your defenses as well.

Well done getting through it.

Hi davet82.

glat to here you are still going strong, and the same to all others out there. it's been nice to follow, as a ex smoker, it is like liveling it all again, and it just make me more happy that i dont smoke anymore.
    can i ask you davet82, how do you feel going out now ? and sitting with your old friends then they smoke, do you go outside with them or ?

keep up the quitting all of you :-)

michael

i haven't been out with my friends since i quit hence the apprehension of meeting up with them and consuming lots of alcohol. We meet up once a month for a piss up so its not something i have to deal with on a regular basis.

I've decided to bring the eCig with me just in case and to keep reminding myself how long i'm off them now and how much of a waste it would be if i broke that. I will also annouce that under no circumstances are people to encourage or offer me ciggarettes (they'll probably throw them at me the bastards :D )

anyways i'm not going to let smoking ruin my life, might aswell just get on with it :)

I have been quit for 1 Month, 3 Days, 17 hours, 49 minutes and 9 seconds (34 days). I have saved €403.87 by not smoking 868 cigarettes. I have saved 3 Days and 20 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 08/01/2013 16:00