Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

named driver-how does it work??

• 06-01-2013 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭

just wonderin how would i become a named driver under my mother r father?
    mother and father and both driver their own cars and im lookin to get my own car.can i become a named driver under one of them if they both have thir own cars?and can anyone explain it?
    im 18 with my provisional car licence about a year and a provisonal a bike licence and im on the road with an rs125 bike for a few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭GoodisonPark

As a named driver you can only drive the insured vehicle.
    If you are a learner permit holder then you will need to be accompanied by a Driving Licence holder at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭LK KID

so id have to drive my dad or mothers car?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

LK KID wrote: »

Yes as a named driver on their policy you would have to drive the car insured on the policy

thanks lads.understood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

or buy your car and if one of your parents insures it then put you down as a named driver on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

or buy your car and if one of your parents insures it then put you down as a named driver on that

Each of his parents already has a car, one of them can't take out insurance on a (for that parent) second car and claim that he's an 'occasional' driver.

He will need to be a named driver on either of the parent's cars.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Own policy. Build up your own NCB!

what I did was buy a car when I started out was get my dad to take out an insurance policy on a new car I had bought, I paid for the policy and my dad put me on as a named driver, This way I got to drive my own car, no fraud at all. It depends on if your parents have the flexibility to let you use their cars from time to time if so there is no issues.

I would do as ABajaninCork said, being on your own policy will be the fastest way to get you cheap insurace when your old enough for what ever car you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

awec wrote: »
    Huh?

Unless I'm missing something, that sounds exactly like fronting (i.e. fraud) ?

You were a named driver on your dads policy despite you being the main driver of the car?

Indeed, that's insurance fraud, his father didn't have insurable interest in the car. Actually it breaks the 'utmost good faith' principle as well.

Confab wrote: »
    Indeed, that's insurance fraud, his father didn't have insurable interest in the car. Actually it breaks the 'utmost good faith' principle as well.
    but is it hard for insurance companys to prove?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Then how are first time learner permit holders ment to get insurance on a car they go out and buy? I see no way around it other than fronting.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Then how are first time learner permit holders ment to get insurance on a car they go out and buy? I see no way around it other than fronting.

Why can't they just take out a policy?

See below.
    Own policy. Build up your own NCB!

If this proves to be a problem, then maybe a rethink might be in order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Stheno wrote: »
    Why can't they just take out a policy?

Because they need an experienced driver with them at all times while driving so it defeats the purpose.

That doesn't make any sense, they can take out their own policy and build up their NCB that way.

The experienced driver mightn't be a parent etc.

No. AFAIK, you can take out the policy in your own name as a provisional driver. After all, you'll be driving the car. But - the law says you must have an experienced driver with you when driving.

And as we know. Lots of people think the law doesn't apply to them for whatever reason, so they just ignore it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

As a named driver you can only drive the insured vehicle.
    If you are a learner permit holder then you will need to be accompanied by a Driving Licence holder at all times.

Wrong, if you are caught driving on your own its two penalty points. Two penalty points is not a big deal and won't affect your insurance. People get the same for using mobile phones and speeding. Its a 70 euro fine. Been driving a year now and never been caught

coylemj wrote: »
    Each of his parents already has a car, one of them can't take out insurance on a (for that parent) second car and claim that he's an 'occasional' driver.

Completely wrong. One of his parents can take out a second insurance and he can get insured on his own car as a named driver under his parents insurance. Everyone does and the insurance companies arn't stupid and know the named driver is the main driver. Who' to say who drives the car the most, it doesn't matter! Thousands of people are doing it and its not illegal.

These days companies such as insurance take been a named driver for a year the same as having one year no claims discount.

areyawell wrote: »
    Wrong, if you are caught driving on your own its two penalty points. Two penalty points is not a big deal and won't affect your insurance. People get the same for using mobile phones and speeding. Its a 70 euro fine.

Completely wrong. The parents can take out a second insurance and he can get insured on his own car as a named driver under his parents insurance. Everyone does and the insurance companies arn't stupid. Who' to say who drives the car the most, it doesn't matter!

The fine hasn't changed for driving unaccompanied, it's €1000

You are incorrect on the insurance. The main driver should be the policy holder, otherwise as has been stated it's called fronting and is insurance fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭mar1us

Wrong, if you are caught driving on your own its two penalty points. Two penalty points is not a big deal and won't affect your insurance. People get the same for using mobile phones and speeding. Its a 70 euro fine.

All u need as a L driver to get a "great" insurance is an exrta two penalty points :)

Stheno wrote: »
    The fine hasn't changed for driving unaccompanied, it's €1000

You are incorrect on the insurance. The main driver should be the policy holder, otherwise as has been stated it's called fronting and is insurance fraud.

Would a guard pull you over and ask what percentage of time have you drived the car compared to your parents? No they would not or the insurance companies wouldn't either.
    I told the insurance rep I would be the main person driving the car and they didn't care cause I was looking for the cheapest quote in my name and comparing my own insurance and going under my own name on my own car. Told me as well that if your under your parents name you can use the no claims discount when you eventually take out your own policy.

mar1us wrote: »
    All u need as a L driver to get a "great" insurance is an exrta two penalty points :)

Havn't been caught and went through multiple check points and nothing was said to me.

I don't argue with you but been lucky doesn't mean you are right,put it this way YOU NEVER KNOW !

mar1us wrote: »
    I don't argue with you but been lucky doesn't mean you are right,put it this way YOU NEVER KNOW !

You could meet a gaurd that would do you but the benefits outweigh the risk.

What defines the main driver of a car? Is there a ratio? Would it be okay if the parent used it 51% of the time and the learner 49% of time or what way does that work?

We all know what mean first car insurance,i had a car 0.6 engine for my first insurance and that thing help me alot,that is my advice for first time drivers ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

what I did was buy a car when I started out was get my dad to take out an insurance policy on a new car I had bought, I paid for the policy and my dad put me on as a named driver, This way I got to drive my own car, no fraud at all. It depends on if your parents have the flexibility to let you use their cars from time to time if so there is no issues.

OP do not take this idiocy as advice. This isn't even "fronting" but outright lying if the circumstances are as described by the poster.

One of the first questions on an insurance proposal form asks if the car is registered in the proposer's name. If the answer is "Yes" then the poster's Dad lied and the "utmost good faith" requirement is breached meaning there was no insurance on the car.

There are other questions later about full-time use of other cars, other insurances, etc that tend to weed out the fibbers; I can't understand how this proposal form went through.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Don't some insurance companies make noises about counting named driver insurance ?

What happens to a no claims bonus if a named driver cashes ?

mathepac wrote: »
    OP do not take this idiocy as advice. This isn't even "fronting" but outright lying if the circumstances are as described by the poster.

One of the first questions on an insurance proposal form asks if the car is registered in the proposer's name. If the answer is "Yes" then the poster's Dad lied and the "utmost good faith" requirement is breached meaning there was no insurance on the car.

There are other questions later about full-time use of other cars, other insurances, etc that tend to weed out the fibbers; I can't understand how this proposal form went through.

You put your own car in the parents name. Their the registered owners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

You could meet a gaurd that would do you but the benefits outweigh the risk.

Not havn a go or anthing because i dont care what you do but you said you are drivng for a year already and from your posts it seems pretty regularly too. You surely are confident enough now to sit and pass your test. Few lessons to iron out any bad habits and you'll fly it.

Its better than taking the risk and coming from someone who passed his only 3 months ago its a great weight off your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

coylemj wrote: »

Incorrect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

You put your own car in the parents name. Their the registered owners.
    The post I referred to made no mention of that, so you are making assumptions on behalf of the poster. I specifically wrote that if "the circumstances are as described by the poster", your post assumes that the circumstances are not as described by the poster.

Totaly agree with Furious_Geroge !

LK KID wrote: »

No you can get your own car, register the car in your parents name and get your parents to insure the car and put yourself as a named driver.

But make sure your parents are the main drivers of the car, make sure you keep the ratio of 51% your parents driving it and yourself 49%. Might want to get a log book or something and a stopwatch so you don't go over the 50%. This is called fronting and is illegal:). If you are pulled over by the gaurds they will ask you for this log book so make sure to have it handy;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

Named driving experience definitely isn't worth the same as the equivalent NCB. Also if a parent takes out a policy on a second car they can't use the NCB a second time and if little Mary or johnny has an accident then their NCB on the original policy is lost

guil wrote: »
    Named driving experience definitely isn't worth the same as the equivalent NCB. Also if a parent takes out a policy on a second car they can't use the NCB a second time and if little Mary or johnny has an accident then their NCB on the original policy is lost

Wrong

A lot of threads here showed here that named driving experience and having there own insurance gives the same no claims bonus. Who I am insured with do it as well. Don't know if I'm allowed to name the company here, look through old threads

You will not lose your no claims discount if you have two insurance policies with two different companies or even the same company. You build up the no claims bonus on the second insurance, it starts with zero no claims bonus. If the named driver crashes it will not affect the other insurance, only the second insurance.

awec wrote: »
    It has nothing to do with the guards pulling you over ffs.

Do you even understand what you are talking about?

Yes I was taking the mickey, but ye are going on about fronting? How can anyone prove this?

Would it not sound dodgy to an insurance company when a parent is say driving a 2008 5 series and then want a second insurance on a old Micra or Fiesta or something with their son/daughter as a named driver. Happens all the time!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

You will not lose your no claims discount if you have two insurance policies with two different companies or even the same company. You build up the no claims bonus on the second insurance, it starts with zero no claims bonus. If the named driver crashes it will not affect the other insurance, only the second insurance.

You might well do, depending on how the policy is set up. A lot of insurers offer NCB mirroring, which means that when you take out a second policy on another vehicle you can mirror your NCB from your original policy. The consequence of this however is that if you claim on either policy you may lose the NCB for both policies.

Considering how expensive it would most likely be to take out a second policy with no NCB and an inexperienced learner as a named driver, I would have thought most people would take up the option of NCB mirroring if it was available to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

Wrong

A lot of threads here showed here that named driving experience and having there own insurance gives the same no claims bonus. Who I am insured with do it as well. Don't know if I'm allowed to name the company here, look through old threads

Just tried a quote with 123. Policy in my own name is coming in at 444 and when I put down as named driver it jumped to 722 so clearly there is a difference. I know that's just one company but its nearly double the price as a named driver.

You might want to check your policy documents because I'm nearly sure any claim made against you regardless if what policy it was on I still a claim and you can be sure the insurance company will love to take your NCB

Its what I done at the time(dont see it as fraud myself maybe exploiting a rule and my dad did end up driving more than me as I started commuting on the train) but If I could go back in time I would get my own policy, it would make life so much easier and cheaper when you want to buy and insure your dream car.

guil wrote: »
    Just tried a quote with 123. Policy in my own name is coming in at 444 and when I put down as named driver it jumped to 722 so clearly there is a difference. I know that's just one company but its nearly double the price as a named driver.

You might want to check your policy documents because I'm nearly sure any claim made against you regardless if what policy it was on I still a claim and you can be sure the insurance company will love to take your NCB

Its not the same for every company, look at previous threads here about it. Ill find one shortly and post.You will need a full license and two years as a named driver for it too be the same. It is with the insurance company I use

When you take out a second insurance you have 0 no claims bonus and have to build it up on the second policy and if you crash you only will lose it on the second policy.

Its not the same for every company, look at previous threads here about it. Ill find one shortly and post.You will need a full license and two years as a named driver for it too be the same. It is with the insurance company I use

When you take out a second insurance you have 0 no claims bonus and have to build it up on the second policy and if you crash you only will lose it on the second policy.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056803412?page=1#post_81672561

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

But make sure your parents are the main drivers of the car, make sure you keep the ratio of 51% your parents driving it and yourself 49%. Might want to get a log book or something and a stopwatch so you don't go over the 50%. This is called fronting and is illegal:). If you are pulled over by the gaurds they will ask you for this log book so make sure to have it handy;)

I wouldn't be too worried about the Gardai, but if you were in a half decent smack where someone got injured, and your insurance company is staring down the barrel of a 6-figure sum, I wouldn't be at all surprised to see them looking for info and evidence that would suggest that you are the main driver instead of your parents.

Once they've proven that, you're in breach of your contract, guilty of insurance fraud, and suddenly the claim is going a very different direction...

AltAccount wrote: »

I wouldn't be too worried about the Gardai, but if you were in a half decent smack where someone got injured, and your insurance company is staring down the barrel of a 6-figure sum, I wouldn't be at all surprised to see them looking for info and evidence that would suggest that you are the main driver instead of your parents.

Once they've proven that, you're in breach of your contract, guilty of insurance fraud, and suddenly the claim is going a very different direction...

Wouldn't happen, What defines a main driver of the car? Insurance company wouldnt have any proof. I was obviously taking the mick with the stopwatch and log book

Of course they would! The main driver is named on the insurance docs...
    Yea well obviously, but how would they know who drives the car more? When I took out insurance I was discussing with the firm about my own insurance and under my parents. When they told me that their no claims bonus policy is the same for a named driver as it is for taking out your own policy I went under the parents insurance. They were glad for the money. Give me proof where it states the ratio of a named driver driving compared to the main driver! There is none!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056803412