Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2013 and 365 Days in The Saddle

• 06-01-2013 7:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭

Hi Guys
    Ive never thought of having any goals to achieve in Cycling so here goes

I only had 298 days in the saddle last year - This year its going to be 365 and no excuses whether it be commute, club spin, sportive or one of another clubs blood and thunder Thursday night races...

I have raced in a previous life and it never leaves you - I will probably get blown away but thats racing..... !

I intend to partake in the following events this year in the Connaught area

January: Clarinbridge Saturday 27th Jan Kilcornan 60k and 100k sign on at 08:30-09:45 Kilcornan Hall Start 10am Entry €25

February: WCW Open Race Sunday 24th Feb Woodford

March: Stephen Roche Atlantic Challenge 80km Lahinch
    Sunday 31st March www.stephenrocheac.com €25 entry

April: Roscahill 80km Cycle Sun 14th April 2013 Kinneveys Bar Rosscahill 9am Reg. 08:00 €20 entry ….?

May: Saturday 25th May 2013 – 140km or 80km
    Start Clifden - same routes as 2012

June: Croi Corrib 120km 9th June 2013 Start Dangan Sport Ground at 08:30 – Charity Donations http://www.croi.ie/events/lough-corrib-cycle-challenge
    An Post Tour De Burren, Clare – Saturday 22 June 2013 TBA

July: Ring Of Kerry 112 miles 6th July 2013 http://www.ringofkerrycycle.ie/

August: The Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford – Saturday 24 & Sunday 25 August 2013 TBA 200km

September: Galway to Killmacrennan 273kms in the one day. I am going to cycle from sun up to sun down and try and get the full distance in one day !

This is what I have on the cards for this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Sunday 30th Dec: Club Spin 30 easy miles with new starts

Monday 31st Dec: Galway to Glenamaddy for New Years eve with parents in law. Wife took offspring and gear in car 34miles

Tuesday 1 Jan: Glenamaddy to Galway - Headwind and half hung over 34 miles of torture

Wednesday 2nd Jan: Quick scoot to town in civies - Visit to LBS 11 miles total

Thursday 3rd Jan: Commute to work 14 miles all in for the day

Friday 4th Jan: Commute to work 14 miles all in for the day. Dunnes and back as well 4 miles

Saturday 5th Jan: Commute to work 14 miles all in for the day

Sunday 6th Jan: Commute to work 14 miles all in for the day . Intended to go to Club spin start but got tied up at work.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Good luck, but I do think you're feckin mad trying this. You need rest, particularly if you want to race. There's also illness, the weather and other unforseen circumstances that could get in your way

298 days last year was a lot already - why not target say 330 days - ie more than last year, while giving yourself some "headroom". It will probably feel nicer if you then manage to do better than your "target"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ryder

Beasty wrote: »
    Good luck, but I do think you're feckin mad trying this. You need rest, particularly if you want to race. There's also illness, the weather and other unforseen circumstances that could get in your way

298 days last year was a lot already - why not target say 330 days - ie more than last year, while giving yourself some "headroom". It will probably feel nicer if you then manage to do better than your "target"
    the best thing I ever did for my cycling (speed and endurance) was reducing frequency...

Thanks for the advice lads .. This week was a quiet enough one. I am going to fill it all in today as I wont get a chance at it tommorrow !

Monday 7th Postman delivered a set of mudguards so spent a few hours generally tinkering with the "Dogabout" commuter bike. Maiden voyage frought with issues. Needs a new chain and sprocket. Gears slipping - brakes catching, headset ratlles .. A short spin to Salthill about 4 miles .. List is now made of stuff to sort

Tuesday 8th Club nightspin - A lot of fun 2 laps of a 14milse circuit around the outside perimiter of Galway. Sommit different

Wednesday 9th Easy spin in civvies to town and back. Dunnes for bits for the tae. 16 miles but a lot of stop starts and easy pace

Thursday 10th Work commute and Club meeting 14 Miles

Friday 11th work Commute 14 miles - Wind was a different direction last night. Feeling good and totally webbed it home - Covered 7 miles in 18:22 beating my PB by almost 40 secs.

Saturday 12th Work Commute 14 miles - Struggled a wee bit - Headwind and after yesterdays rascality legs were like jelly but came good after about 2-3 miles. .. A visit to our LBS is on the cards this afternoon !

Sunday 13th Club spin about 40 miles max. Its my turn to take the reins tommorrow. If anybody is in the Galway area and fancys an easy spin out its NUIG Kingfisher Gym pulling out at 9am sharp - All Welcome Beginners and rusty chains alike !

Sunday 13 Jan A load of frost got boys a bit nervous ! The club made the call at 730 in the morning - I got ready and down to the NUIG to see if there were any folks turning up. We got 8 and I decided as things were not too bad to head to TG4 and back. approx 37 mile round trip at a good enough lick. Had to push a few newbies back on the group when they dropped.

Monday 14 Jan Back to "The Burgandy Dog" to try another run out after a bit of fettling. Better this time - in fact rode bloody well. 700x28 tyres make her like a magic carpet.. I done about 12 miles

Tuesday 15 Jan Went out on teh nightspin on my own.. No takers due to rain and wind. 2 laps of the town 28 miles and glad to get back in the heat!

Wednesday 16th Jan Took out bike as run to Dunnes to get a few bits ! Rain had washed all teh lube off the chain sqeak sqeak squeak:D Bike was really really dirty ! 4 miles and into the shed for a good clean and service !

Thursday 17th Jan Work commute 14 miles

Friday 18th Jan Work commute 14 miles Good tailwind but loads of red lights - bad day at work so perfect destresser - nice and handy home

Saturday 19th Jan Work commute 14 miles

Sunday 20th Jan Work commute 14 miles - Checked conditions of the roads at 5am.. Asked a Taximan - he said they were 100% so text the lads and told them the club spin was a goer. Group went to Craughwell with teh faster stronger lad going to Loughrea - Reportedly a nice run back was had by the lads - I had to stay at work :mad:

Today Perfect dry cold and calm day.. Vintage Vitus 979 Duralinox out of the shed. Tubulars up to 120psi - Old gear on and went Spiddle - Moycullen 28 miles and smiling all the way ...

So far I have ridden everyday and it feels good ... some days admittly are play about and short spins but Id say it all counts !

Monday 21st Jan See Above

Tuesday 22nd Spin to town and Dunnes - LBS for general chit chat and hold the boys back from their duties 17 miles

Wednesday 23rd Jan Off on "The BurgandyDog" maiden voyage. Galway-Kilcolgan-Craughwell-Athenry-Carnmore Cross-Galway about 50 miles +
    Dog didnt do too bad but hate the flat bars. They act like a parachute in a headwind.:(

Thursday 24th Jan work Commute - Tailwind on the way home 14miles

Friday 25th Jan Work Commute 14 mile

Saturday 26th Jan Rode bike to bus and off to Donegal ! Rode from Kilmacrennan to homestead ! 6 miles ... Handy day :D

Sunday 27th Jan Errigal Cycle Club spin cancelled due to weather so rode on brothers turbo.... Absolutely hated it.. Cant seem to catch on to it at all 28 miles of pure torture

Still going well but taking it handy... Looks like every other cyclist in the country is in the big ring and interval training. I will leave off the intensity for a wee while yet...

Monday 28th Jan Not too bad today waether wise so off I went from Kilmacrennan - Milford - KerryKeel - Knockalla Mountain - Rathmullan - Ramelton - Kilmacrennan. 55 miles all in .. Wind was punishing up the mountan and some of the showers were tasty ... Felt really good after

Tuesday 29th Jan Local spin into Letterkenny - Churchill an dback again 17miles at an easy pace. Was busy in the evening.

Wednesday 30th Jan Another handy day - Rode to bus and then rode back to the house from the bus 6 miles laden with gear...

Thursday 1st Feb Work commute in the rain 14 miles

Friday 2nd Feb Work Commute - Downtube lever came loose and she woulnt hold the gear... 39x14 going up hill and I had to bite the bars and just bull into it. :p

Saturday 3rd Feb Work commute 14 miles and a most unpleasant incident with a Red 08 D A4 Audi. He cut me off overtaking then braked up hard. Only for the brakes I have I would have rammed him.. I havent a clue what that was about. He then waited in a side street for me then pulled straight out in front of me trying to knock me off....? I am totally confused as to what his plan was - I phoned the local Gardai and reported him... 14 miles

Sunday 4th Feb Club lads went on 50 miles spin today - Lucky gits.. I was stuck at work - Back now to get the commuter sorted

I had a mixed sort of week - A nice spin in Donegal. Id forgotton just how hilly it was .. I still cant work out why the Audiman decided to carry out road rage on me. I did nothing to provoke him at all.. Well its statistics really.. 99% of drivers I meet are courteous and give you a bit of room.. I was going to meet the 1% someday :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Brad768

Out of interest, what bike are you riding? Bound to run into you at least once this year :P

Brad768 wrote: »
    Out of interest, what bike are you riding? Bound to run into you at least once this year :P

Hi Brad - I am commuting on a 1988 Peugeot 501 in blue/white and I usually ride sportives on a 1983 Peugeot Vitus 979 Duralinox in silver/gold.

I have a thing for the lion :D

If you really want I am out with the West Coast Wheelers on a Sunday morning 9am at the NUIG Kingfisher - All welcome !

Mon 4th Feb Really rough and wet day.. Where better to be .. ! Rode to Craughwell to sort out brother in laws bike.. Simple flat tyre and lube up ! 36 miles all in

Tue 5th Feb Took it handy and just went to Dunnes and back. 4 miles

wed 6th Feb Went Spiddle/Moycullen loop - Done the 27 miles in 1:20 approx. Happy with that but well tired.. First bit of intensity this year !

Thur 7th Feb Nightmare at work resulting in 17 hours of hell ! Home very late - Just dead on the bike 14 miles

Fri 8th Feb Day off yay.. Ito the town for a visit to get stuff ! 10miles

Sat 9th Feb Bak to work commute 14miles

Sun 10th Feb Club spin Galway - Kilcolgan - Craughwell - Athenry - Carnmore - Galway. Good spin out with around 16 or so. Hard work going up and down the group like a sheepdog. Good training pushing other lads in danger of dropping off ! I let the lads go flat out the last 3 miles and I waited for the stragglers. 50 miles approx

This week was mixed enough. I am moving from weekend shift to days after next week which means - Weekends off - more commuting - no more midweek spins - Less cash so no more impulse buys on eBay. ;)
    Form wise I have reached a good enough level - Feeling not too bad. I found going out with pros and getting blown away is no fun. In fact it took away my liking of cycling... Going out with the group we have now is very enjoyable - good craic and a nice bunch of folk !

Mon 11th Feb its off on the dogabout for a run in the country ! 18 miles

Tue 12th Feb Town and a few bits 7 miles

Wed 13th Feb On to the dogabout for Valentines gift for Mrs.vanHire. Get absolutely drenched. Card and pressie get drenched ooops ! Still accepted !

Thurs 14th Feb Work commute 14miles

Fri 15th Feb Wotk Commute 14miles

Sat 16th Feb Work commute 14miles Headset slack yet again.. postie delvered eBay replacement - Fitted by galwayrower.. Top cup threads stripped so all replaced - Cheers laddie

Sun 17th Feb Club spin Galway - Craughwell - Loughrea - Galway 55miles
    Way hoem tail wind group averaged 52km/h which is a savage on paper but really easy on the road.

Gears didnt just feel right this morning - Coulnt replicate problem on the stand. Out on the road outside work at the end of the spin chain snapped.. I only have it on the bike a year and the winter has been hard.
    Brad768 joined the group for the first time and was a complete natural ! Going really well and great bikeman ship

Mon 18th Feb Commute to Dunnes only 4 miles done Doggibike organised for Tuesday

Tue 19th Feb Start of new work shift - Doggibike out - Some little blackguards had put glass all over the cycle lane. Cut teh back tyre in bits ! Rode bike home punctured ! Got out the 531pro ! Went like blazes in to work - Still on time but legs like jelly ;) Had to get lights from Nigel

Wed 20 Feb Work Commute 14Miles

Thur 21Feb Work Commute 14 miles

Fri 22nd Feb Work Commute 14 miles

Sat 23 Feb Had to do a commute to Barna for a few bits to feed offspring 7miles

Sun 24th Feb Race Day - Rode bike to Loughrea and then spent day in lead car ! Great day out - I was for riding home but teh offer of a lift was too tempting 27 miles

Another strange week - weather was fab so no call for mudguards. I spent the week on the 531pro which was fab.. So responsive compared with the 501 ! The race was a great day - The boys in the race rode with a bit of savvy and although there was a bit of a spill on Derrybrien there was no big incidents ! I was starting to get the itch to race ! Satan please dont tempt me ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Come to the dark side, you know you want it... :)

Hmmzis wrote: »
    Come to the dark side, you know you want it... :)

Hmmmm Satan please dont tempt me :D

Monday 25th Feb 531pro still in Brians van so wjeeled out the 501 Triathalon .. I never spent much time on it as I intend restoring her. Work Commute 14 miles

Tuesday 26th Feb Work Commute 14 miles

Wednesday 27th Feb Work Commute 14 miles

Thursday 28th Feb Work Commute 14 miles (new PB 18:12 all green lights and tail wind - Rude not to try and crack it

Friday 1st Mar Work Commute 14 miles

Saturday 2nd Mar Rode to sportive in Carnmore for Jack & Jill - Got delayed by offspring - landed 3/4hr down so pushed like madman to Mountbellew to catch up and. Sportive was 56 miles and journey out and back 22miles so 78 miles all in. There was 2 sportives one from Roscommon to Mountbellew and the other Galway to Mountbellew - One poor git took a wrong turn and ended up in Galway.....

Sunday 3rd Mar Today woke up brave and sore ! Rode to Oughterard to do another sportive. Either 100k or 50k. Done 50k and felt ropey enough ! Miles are starting to take their toll. Maan valley was superb on the old 501 ! Felt totally planted on the road - handles superb but over geared ! 42/52 CW with 6 speed 21-13T block ouch ...! 58 miles

Beastie already forecast that I would start to suffer as the days in the saddle clock up. ATM I am doing at least 14 mile each time i step across the top tube... I am starting to feel the burn but if I just roll in to work on a nice easy gear for the next couple of days i should be grand.. Ive stuck it so far .. Next week will tell the story

The 1986 Peugeot Triathalon I used this week - Pedals are the only non original parts but they are era correct being LOOK Deltas ! Need to lose that bar tape as well ... Its just horrid
    8524118483_631c1e4593.jpg

And that 21-13T Helicomatic block
    8525234544_522fd4552d.jpg

Mon 4th Mar Work Commute - As a treat and as I was totally burned out I took out the Felt F.. Just rolled it 14 miles

Tue 5th Mar Starting to build relationship - Rides not as scooty as you get used to it 14 miles

Wed 6th Mar Work Commute 14 miles

Thur 7th Mar Well it had to happen Rain .. Left overshoes behind and got drenched.. 14 miles

Fri 8th Mar Work Commute 14 miles

Sat 9th Mar Body starting to recover - Was going to take a spin out but thought better of it. Went a short hop to shops for a box of firelogs. Balanced this between my arms and rested on the top tube .. A dodgey act 2 miles

Sun 10th Mar Good group out today. Galway - Monivea - Athenry - Loughrea - Galway. Group split in Athenry. * of us decided to head on to Loughrea. Absolutely webbed it home averaged 28mph on the way home. Worked all together and kept the speed up 56 miles

Legs were burned at the start of the week but just rolling the bike to work helped with the recovery. Feeling not too bad now and the good blast on Sunday helped me on a good bit ..

Mon 11th Mar Work Commute 14 miles. Had to hit a kerb to avoid wayward motorist. Backwheel like an egg now :D Had to disconnect back cantilever brake.. I really need to get back to the wheel builder !

Tue 12th Mar Work Commute 14 miles

wed 13th Mar Work Commute 14 miles Big load on the way home ! about 20kgs extra - so thats what the small chainring is for then !

Thurs 14th Mar Work Commute 14 miles

Fri 15th Mar Work Commute 14 miles

Sat 16th Mar No sleep so out on the Felt for a 27 mile bast around Moycullen Spiddle. Done it in 1hr 20 which isnt too bad for me. Might have been a PB perhaps

Sun 17th Paddys Day Out for the usual spin on sunday. 3 decided on the Feistin ouside Oughterard. Hadnt been on it in 2 years. Id forgot 1. how bloody rough it is and 2 how rough it is on you. One of the fellas managed to blow up and knock on it. Fig rolls and a wee rest and he wasnt too bad.. We came on a fella who was going to Westport to race on Monday... Again Satan is tempting me to race ... ! Too much bad chat is deffo playing with my head ...

Will I wont I .... This is playing with me big time :eek:

Jeez sounds like it was tough alright, well I'm glad I didn't choose this weekend to take the longer route then lol I could almost feel my energy levels going down after every km thanks to this crappy cold.
    Good work so far though! :)

Mon 18th Mar Bank holiday all ready to go and domestic duty took over. Got a small spin in the afternoon 13 miles

Tue 19th Mar Work ommute 14 miles

Wed 20th Mar Took day off and done the decent thing - went for a short spin to TG4 . 35 miles

Thurs 21st Mar Work commute 14 miles

Fri 22nd Mar Rode bike to bus and headed for Donegal 6 miles

Sat 23rd Mar Spin with Errigal Club cancelled so went for short spin out. It was cold enough in fairness 17 miles

Sun 24th Mar rode bike to bus then home again 6 miles

Had all good plans this week but gut scuppered. Planned to do the hills spin with the Errigal wheelers but due to the weather this got canned. Highlight was the Wed spin ! Its Lahinch this weekend ! I am plumping for the hard spin. Probably will get dropped but thats cycling !

Mon Mar 25th Work Commute 14 Miles

Tue Mar 26th Work Commute 14 Miles

Wed 27th Mar Day off to look after a personal mess:( - Needed a good run after so done Moycullen Spiddkle loop 27 miles

Thur 28th Mar Work Commute 14 miles - came home and got the 979 Duralinox back in action

Fri 29th Mar As a bonus I took the 979 to work - didnt disappoint ! Went to get a few bits for the brakes and got a puncture. Feckin cycle lanes with glass! No tubulars to be found apart from a set of Gatorskin Sprints
    19 miles

Sat 30th Mar Nice easy spin on the Triathalon 12 miles and got tubs fitted to the 979.. Looking good

Sun 31 Mar First sportive this year in Lahinch. Rode out to Oranmore 11 miles then Atlantic Challenge 50 miles. Let the fancy boys off ! You cant delay them and woe betide if you did ! Pushed the Vitus hard over The Cliffs of Moher.... Felt really good ! Pulled in and waited at the top for the rest of our crew ! Black head and the wind was fearsome.. Led the group the whole way to provide shelter for them. Ballyvaughan was welcome break. Poor sod going up the Corkscrew siezed with a cramp and fell off in front of me... Got off and had to clip him out of the pedals ... Got him to the side of the road .. Attacked The Corkscrew and waited at the top for the others... All in all a good day out.. Time was slow but that didnt matter ... I enjoyed the days craic

Some Wooden Bikes - Well I never
    8609230757_2813030552.jpg

What cool gear ! Mr Bones at the start
    8609230649_a3a27933e2.jpg

Mass Start - Let the fancy boys off...!
    8609231055_f08652f31f.jpg

Sine and Cara just happy to be over The Corkscrew
    8610351360_0da65d6faf.jpg

Mon 1st Apr Day off work so out on teh Felt for a nice leisurely spin of Moycullen - Spiddle ! Thats what I thought .... :(Thought the girls were in front of me and I was pushing on for nothing.. Lad passed on an F4 Felt and I passed him on the climb - pushing hard and opened up a sizeable gap. Climber he wasnt.. Turned out he was a fellow Donegal man.. Kept together till Spiddle and then suffered "The Knock". This was compounded by me being a diabetic as well.. In the road at 6mph taking both sides of teh yellow line. Pulled in at a shop hardly able to string 2 words together ! Got a bail load of carbohydrate and after 30 mins aws ready for action. Legs were totally shot.. Should have let the F4 lad off.. but I cant pass up a shot at the title ! 27 miles

Tue 2nd Apr Work commute 14 miles - feeling totally dead

Wed 3rd Apr Work commute 14 miles - recovery and a nice easy pace

Thu 4th Apr Work commute 14 miles - Gave her holly !

Fri 5th Apr Work commute 14 miles - Easy pace in civvies

Sat 6th Apr A load of hosehold items all big of course - Nice practise carring a load in your back pack then a Dunnes bag over the bars. Called into LBS for summer mitts - own are wrecked. Went to Barna for a sponge cake. Carried on the handlebars again.. If I would have stopped I never would have gotton started again... 16 miles

Sun 7th Apr Ahh yes feckin joggers - I feckin hate the useless hoors ! Head down iPad blearing and running off the kerbs without looking...Our club was asked by teh Connemara Marathon organisers to provide 7 cycle outriders for the Lead man/Lead woman for the half marathon - full marathon and ultra marathon. Also a lad to outride for lead wheelchair athelete. We covered the half marathon. Steven had teh lead woman and I the lead man.. We rode from Maam Cross to Leenane at a right clip - had \breakfeast gave a load of chat then off. I lead Matthew Bigwell and he set a time of 1:17 or sommit .. He kept the one pace hill wind or flat ! 12mph all the way no matter... ! He just carved through the Maam Valley
    Do I still hate runners ....? :confused:

Lead Man - You better believe it !

8632729156_abd2181ef8.jpg

This week and a bad start - 42 years of age and still no sense. Had good intentions of a nice handy run but that went out the window and normal service resumed - Flat out once again ! Sunday was a handy day and gave me a reason to respect the top running men... but joggers I still hate !

Mon 8th Apr Work commute 14 miles

Tue 9th Apr Work commute 14 miles

Wed 10th Apr Work commute 14 miles and got drenced on the way home. ! Got the 501 Peugeot back out as it has mudguards..!

Thur 11th Apr Work commute 14 miles. Rain Rain and more rain

Fri 12th Apr Work commute and a trip to Moycullen to see the MBW lads who done a graet job on my loose back axle. Gave it welly up the climb to the Bearna golf Club ... Damn good it felt 25 miles

Sat 13th Apr Nice easy spin out to Oranmore and back wet and windy... 22miles

Sun 14th Apr Club spin out - Wind and rain were unbelievable - just came in torrents. We had all good intentions of going from Athenry to Loughrea by New Inn but we all collectively decided to go for Craughwell .. 45 Miles all in

The Galway League starts some of these thursdays .. I am getting the notion that I might have a go at it.. Even I get blew off the back I dont care .. I have no speedwork done at all so this is a good oppertunity to have a go at it and just see how bad I really am...:eek:

Mon 15th Apr Work Commute 14 Miles

Tue 16th Apr Work Commute 14 Miles

Wed 17th Apr Work Commute 14 Miles and it rained and rained :mad:

Thu 18th Apr Work Commute 14 Miles and its race day. built up on carbs all day.. A big feed of pasta. Riding home and the wind was very strong and the rain... Came back to the house. Sugars a bit low.. More pasta, bike ready, more rain. Decided to either go or stay at 18:10... Rain would not slacken so just chickened out:P....

Fri 19th Apr Work Commute and then off to Moycullen with 2 rims over my shoulder and a set of hubs in my back pocket ! Delivered off the stuff to a wheelbuilder and then off by Spiddle and then home 41 miles all in

Sat 20th Apr Domestic duty run to Dunnes 3 miles

Sun 21st Apr Club Spin time Ougterard - Maam Cross - Rosaveel - Spiddle and home... Run started off ruff. 10 of us ventured out. All worked really well. 10 is a nice size of a group. A couple of punctures and a stop at TG4. We had a tail wind all teh way for about 16 miles or more. Clocked steady speeds of 32mph + ... (54kms) Nice to get a good speed up and say hello to the big ring.....! 62 miles

Sundays blast was brilliant.. Nice day sun up, tail wind and good crowd who all worked together... There is another race on Thursday night to Loughrea and back on the old N6.. I am deffo going to do this one for the craic as I have no excuses this time.. I will get dropped for sure but how far I can hold it remains to be seen..... Watch this space ....

Mon 22 Apr Work Commute 14 miles

Tue 23rd Apr Work Commute and I heard a wee rumour that a few of teh lads were meeting up for "Hill Intervals" 3 laps of steep Paille and I was in total bits - never pushed that hard in 20 years ... ! Coming in the road from Moycullen and carrying 30mph + doing bit and bit .. Real good speed. Touched off a wheel and off I went. Used my shoulder for a brake. Jersey in bits and me all road rash:( 40 miles

Wed 24 Apr Woke up stuck to the bed .. Rode 7 miles to work. Grit my teeth and had a shower. Loads of tarmac under my skin .. Nurse at work got me sorted. Hip swollen up - no walking .. One of the lads left me home ! 7 miles

Thu 25 Apr Work commute at a nice easy pace and easy gears. Fining it hard to swing over the top tube 14 miles

Fri 26 Apr Dogabout to Dunnes for holiday supplies 3 Miles

Sat 27 Apr Short spin to Sneem for a wee look around 3 miles

Sun 28 Apr Went Twords Kenmare and turned left up over a hill down onto the Sneem road again. Dirty wee pull back to Sneem again 22 miles

Yes we are on hols in Sneem Co.Kerry - Feeling rough after the fall I had. Recovery time is long in your 40s. Sneem is a lovely wee town and if you are going for a spin its a 29 miles job - no soft options here :P

Mon 29th Apr Off on a long day spin. Went to Caherciveen via Waterville. Wind was fearsome on the way. Waterville Climb is just class and the views are stunning. Nearly wrote off by Johnny Tourist in his Hertz Micra. Too interested in the scenery to notice me. 68 miles

Tues 30th Apr Short loop by Blackwater Bridge up the hill onto the Sneem road again 22miles easy pace

Wed 1st May Sneem - Kenmare - Molls Gap and back to Sneem 37miles

Thu 2nd May Short loop again 22 miles. Met a local who suggested Ivisit Louis Moriarty at the Sneem Hotel. Now thats a hardy boy and a real out and out cycling enthusiast. He rode the Ras a number of times in the late 60's Early 70's. Even now at 73 you will have bother dropping him. Glad I went in and asked for him now.

Fri 3rd May Came back from Kerry and went to Dunnes on the doggy bike 3 miles

Sat 4th May Went for a short loop over by Barna golf club and back in Bushypark 13miles

Sun 5th May Club spin and not going at all well dropped well off and got roared out the back. Went to TG4 and couldnt stick it and had to turn back ... One of them days ! 32 miles

Got over the fall but now feeling totally burnt out. I have mouth ulcers as well which dont help.. Have I done too much I wonder ! Meeting Louis was an unexpected bonus - What a carachter

Mon 6th May Work Commute 14 miles

Tue 7th May Work Commute 14 miles

Wed 8th May Work Commute 14 miles

Thu 9th May Work Commute 14 miles and had intended to get out with the club but that didnt happen ! Boys had a good run but one fell broke the derailler hanger off a brand spankin new Felt .. His missus bike ended up with gear bother .. both Felts and both brand new .. I have a Felt and its making me nervous !

Fri 10th May Work Commute 14 miles

Sat 11th May Dunnes shopping run 3 miles

Sun 12th May had intended to do Maam Cross and Screeb but weather was totally crap.. Wind and rain. Ened up just doing Maam cross and back ! 50 Miles

This week I was still burned out but had a bit of form on sun. All ideas of racing are out as the fellas that are racing have about 6 or 7 under them and theres no way id keep to them... I am finding it difficult now to balance family commitments with cycling.. To race you need to put in the time and training - I havent done either but as long as I get the odd spin with the club and teh odd sportive I should be grand...!

And I thought I had this posted ! Boy do I hate iPhones

Mon 13th May Work Commute 14 miles

Tue 14th May Work Commute 14 miles and smoked by a mountain biker who managed to catch me out on the climb to the Tuam road - Always be on your guard

Wed 15th May Work Commute 14 miles

Thu 16th May Work Commute 14 miles and no run with the boys due to babby sitting commitments - I will get there yet

Fri 17th May Doggibike day to work then off to MBW in Moycullen for a new chain and derailleur. Bike really working well now with new wheels A119 Mavics built on to Maillard Helicomatic hubs and black spokes ! Looking damn fine so thanks to this forum for that suggestion ! 24 Miles

sat 18th May Domestic duty to Dunnes 3 miles

Sun 19th May Club spin out Galway - Gort - Loughrea - Galway ! Decided to take the lads on a decent size spin to build up the miles ! We webbed it from Loughrea back. brad768 going really well and was able to get in and take the final prime at the Galway clinic. I just scraped up the stragglers and tipped on home 60 miles

Getting a bit of form back ! Felt really strong on sunday - All chances of racing this year are out the window as I have no time and also ive missed out on a few races. the racing lads are now 3 gears up - I am going to have to stick to the sportives and runs !

Cheers VB, really enjoyed Sunday's spin! Looking forward to the excess amount of time I will have in the summer to ride :)

Mon 20th May Work Commute 14 miles

Tue 21st May Work Commute 14 miles

Wed 22nd May Got my beloved 979 out an dtook the wheels off. Carried them over the bars to the LBS to get the tubulars gled on properly ! 15 miles

Thu 23 May Work Commute - collect teh GP4's from LBS and head home - Got Felt out and headed to club training spin. Galway Oughterard and back. 8 of us in teh group and webbed it home average speed 50km/h. Not my computer in fairness. Had a nice nast climb thrown it. Felt good ! 50 miles total

Fri 24th May work commute 14 miles

sat 25th May tour of Connemara. What a fantastic event apart from the weather. Old bike out and vintage gear. Felt really strong - met Bernard Hinault.. 92 Miles

Sun 26th May Went down to in laws on teh bike and got a lift home. Tail wind so recovery ride. ! Nice and handy on the Felt 32 miles

Felling not too bad at the minute - Fell in with the Westport CC who are racing heads and was able to hang in and even do a bit of work at the front. Group got blew apart in the hills but I kept to the man at the front and even gave him a draft when it was my turn. Legs are pretty burnt today on the doggy bike ! Have to take it easy now this week to get ready for The Croi Corrib cycle. They say its a cycle run but its a race and every hoor in Galway does it to gain bragging rights

Must put up pics of the weekend !

Mon 27th May Work Commute 14 miles

Tue 28th May Had a bit of "business" today and went for a good blast over Moycullen Spiddle to take away the stress.... ! Worked too 27 Miles

Wed 29th May Work Commute 14 miles

Thu 30th May Work Commute and tried to get out on the club spin. Got held up at the barbers. Text the boys telling them I was a non starter. Felt was punctured.. Changed tube and out to Spiddle to meet them. They were on a different route so met up with 2 GBCC lads and we absoulutely webbed it in from Spiddle. 30 mph + and even 27 mph on the draggs. That was a hairy run and showed me how far behind that I am as far as speed is concerned 36 miles

Fri 31st May Work Commute 14 miles and feeling burned after Thursday ! Just ambled along and recovered

Sat 1st Jun Dunnes and got the Vitus out for a spin around to make sure she was ok. 6 miles

Sun 2nd Jun The annual Croi cycle where all of Galway is on teh bike. Got a bit of a group orgainised and this stayed coherent till outside Cong. Went back to sort out another rider and we reached Maam. Met Sean Kelly and told him he was a proper man. I floored it up the hill and really pushed it hard (I like hills). Waited for the rest of the lads at the top and rode in nice and steady. Sprint at Bushypark Church - Got whipped but no matter a good day out ! Well organised, Nice weather and a 30year old bike .. Perfect

Felt really good this week but again Im well behind the racing lads now ! Time to just concentrate on the Intermediate group and get them up to scratch ! Next biggie is the An Post Burren Tour... Then the Ring of Kerry ! I deffo cant wait for that...!

Mon 3rd Jun Recovery ride to Oranmore and back 22miles

Tue 4th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles

Wed 5th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles & took out the Triathalon for a blat arount the estate - Going good

Thu 6th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles Took Triathalon to work and LH pedal siezed on teh bridge. Had to 1 pedal her to West Side Cycles. Boys told me pedal was shot but done a get you home job. Met another lad up by the Clybaun and recruited him for Sunday morning.. Things happen for a reason ?

Fri 7th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles and picture all over the paper for Jigsaw Galway "Work The Bike"23rd Jun got my name wrong ! Typical !
    http://www.jigsaw.ie/workthebike

Sat 8th Jun Dunnes for weekly shop 3 miles and some load on the doggi bike

Sun 9th Jun Sunday spin Co.Clare - Took out the Felt and it duly came apart at the seams = Broken spoke - Saddle went under a bus and headset bearings cried enough. Cut out broken spoke taped up the sadddle and blocked my ears to the bearings. We done about 80 miles and came across Seven Springs CC who let us tag along in their group. Done about 100 miles and got farmers tan.

At last the weather is fab. A few mechanical issues this week. Felt is just falling to bits.. This seems to happen any time I go along with the Galway Bay lads .. ! The Triathalon pedal has duly s**te itself as well.. Time for the resto I say.. Ive come across a lad in Moycullen who will powder coat the frame. I can get the forks rechromed as well !

Mon 10th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles and drop wheel into Nigels for a spoke. Forgot how dodgey it is with SPD's and carrying a wheel on the bars

Tue 11th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles punctured on the link down from the Tuam road. Met one of the Clare Crusaders

Wed 12th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles

Thu 13th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles. Got wheel back and its perfect. Fare play to galwayrower for sorting me a saddle lets just say it was "matesrates" ;)

Fri 14th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles

Sat 15th Jun Town for a few wee jobs - Weather fine and dry. Came home with about 25kgs on the carrier... 7 miles

Sun 16th Jun Club spin out - Done Sean the Feistin into Oughterard. Nice group Nice tight climb. 55 miles

Good week didnt push it to the max.. Punctured and sent a nice mail to Galway Cuty Council to get the sweeper into the cycle lanes. They are full of glass and thorns.. Will they do ough about it.....? Fare play to my LBS got me sorted for buttons. This Friday is Jigsaw Work the Bike at 7am which is a fun cycle .. I am going to give teh An Post Burren Tour a miss as Co.Clare is a bike wrecker and also it might be too much to ask her indoors !

Mon 17th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles

Tue 18th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles

Wed 19th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles and a nice dice along Seamus Quirke road with a Triathelete on his tribar equipped machine. Overtook and dropped him on the doggibike - Very Proud

Thu 20th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles and a quick trip to our LBS - No Club Spin either this eve

Fri 21st Jun Work the bike spin - Nice crowd out - about 22 people - Had Garda on a pushbike as well.! Chatted to the Galway City Council woman who is in charge of the cyclelanes.. Got a dig or 2 in ! 30 odd miles

Sat 22nd Jun A couple of errands ran in the town 7 miles

Sun 23rd Jun Changed the pedals out on the 501 Triathalon so took it out to the club spin. Ran out of gears on the climbs and had to horse it up them. Done 60 miles and bike was punctured when I went to leave it indoors.

Had a slack week and feeling really good at the minute. Work teh bike was a good escape from the norm. Trying now to stay out of bother for the ROK is fast approaching - Yes I must get out on Thursday.. Permission in but will I get going....?

Mon 24th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles

Tue 25th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles

Wed 26th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles and a nice dice with another commuter on a Lapierre .. Caught him and took the full of the Seamus Quirke to drop him

Thu 27th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles, Took it easy on teh way there and back. Allowed out on the club spin so took advantage. Pace was white hot from the start as some triathelete bird had me angered with owl stupid chat abut heart rates and VO2 max... Myself and Brad768 duly dropped her on the climb.. Brad flying it - Had me totally busted at the top of the hill. Fast pace on the way in the road had us all in bits but good for you in fairness 40 miles all in

Fri 28th Jun had to look after the offspring but got a run to Barna for a few bits 4 miles

Sat 29th Jun Work Commute 14 Miles

Sun 30th Jun Met the boys for sunday spin ! Only lasted to ouside Moycullen. Gears started to slip due to loose cassette. No tool to tighten so had to head home again.. 13 miles. Got casette sorted

What a Thursday night .. All the fustration of not getting out for 5-6 weeks and I let loose big time.. Talking about cycling now has me like a caged animal.. I intend to take it easy and all it takes is a look or a move and I let all hell breakl loose and the divil take the hindmost. Just found out that I wont get to do the ROK as missus is for hospital and I have to do Daddy daycare... I need a divorce now so that I can spend more time on teh bike.

Well its the halfway point and crazy as it sounded to do 365 days it worked out not too bad.... I still have my eye on a race or 2 but deffo dont hav ethe legs for it.. Wont stop me but! Heres to teh next 6 months

Mon 1st Jul Work Commute 14 miles

Tue 2nd Jul Work Commute 14 miles

Wed 3rd Jul Work Commute 14 miles and call to LBS for a few tubes and a chat...!

Thu 4th Jul Work Commute - Intended on going on club spin. Late out of work, big hurry on the doggibike.. Rushed the dinner wolfed it down then out on teh bike.. Busted it to Busypark.. Boys were just pulling out and I was fecked .. Really felt the dinner in the climb.. No power and starting to get stomach cramps.. Struggled to keep in.. Coming into Spiddle was a disaster.. Fast group caught the slow group and I sat in .... Brad768 well able to go and showed the rest the way home ... 40 miles

Fri 5th Jul Work Commute and a few wee domestic chores 14 miles

Sat 6th Jul Missed the Ring and feckin ragin so went for early morning spin with saturday crew Johnny and Bernie.. Had a good loop of Co.Clare. Good spin Good company and a bit of craic thrown in 57 miles

Sun 7th Jul Had a sunday off so just had a go a quick blat local for a few bits 5 miles

I done a very very bad thing this week and paid the price.. Rushed and busted then had the dinner then went out cycling.. I hate being late but id have been better just to not to bother on thursday rather than rake it and get cramps... I wasnt in the right frame of mind as well.. I like to go to an event/spin early and relax. Id would have been better to have a couple of jam sandwiches and then get the dinner later... Ive learned that one the hard way....!

Mon 8th Jul Work Commute 14 miles

Tue 9th Jul Work Commute 14 miles - Spent evening on the Grand Prix - Full cleandown and removed mudguards

Wed 10th Jul Work Commute 14 miles - More work on the Grand Prix. Dodgey gearlever changed along with siezed caliper

Thu 11th Jul Work Commute 14 miles - No cycle with club due to domestic commitments:mad:

Fri 12th Jul Work Commute 14 miles - And a quick spin out on the Grand Prix.. Going very well

Sat 13th Jul Went for proper hard spin - got hit with a bumbee in teh face.. They are solid ...! 22 miles

Sun 14th Jul Club spin out.. Had teh Grand Prix with me .. Chainwheel came loose which is a rare thing to happen.. Dropped into work and got it tightened and off liek th ehammers to catch the group... Busted it to Athenry and met the group going the other way.. Nice pace... 40 miles

Didnt get as much as I would have liked done this week... I have to try and build up a bit of rest now as I have a 190k spin from Loughrea to Ballina this weekend.. Strange thing for the chainwheel to come loose.. wear perhaps...?

Mon 15th Jul Work Commute 14 Miles

Tue 16th Jul Work Commute 14 Miles

Wed 17th Jul Blew the sh**e out of the tyres and had to get rescued by wife 7 miles

Thu 18th Jul Work Commute and Club spin out part of teh way with beginners to Roscahill.. Started to feel a bit shook due to low blood sugars so had to call it a day early 30 miles approx

Fri 19th Jul Cleaned down and sorted out the Vitus 979 ready for the big weekend. A short skip to Salthill and back and all working well 4 miles

Sat 20th Jul Luke and Chloe Cycle Challenge. Loughrea to Ballina. What a fantastic day - The best yet since I took up cycling again... ! Weather was fab 28 degC and tail wind. Average was 28.5 km/h (so I was told) A brillant event and craic was superb ! 122 miles

Sun 21st Jul Feeling rough after a scatter of pints and not in bed till 5am myself and Derrick headed out with Ballina Cycling Club. I went along in the slow group. Having a really nice run with a nice group of folk when one of the girls had one of the dirtiest spills I seen in 20+ years. Poor girl came off at about 45km/h in a decent.. ! She ended up in an ambulance but fortunately ended up bruised and a fractured wrist. After se was sorted I tipped it back to Ballina 40 miles

Had a super week.. learned not to over inflate tyres, keep a bit in the tank, dont monkey with your insulin dose and learned a bit of first aid. the run to Ballina was terrific. We got supported to Claregalway with Seven Springs Cycling Club and were met in Castlebar by Ballina Cycling Club who took us the final 30 or so miles.. Seeing that poor girl come off the bike sunday still has me shook... Lets be careful out there !

Mon 22nd Jul Work Commute 14 Miles

Tue 23rd Jul Work Commute 14 Miles took the 531 Pro as it hadnt been out for a while

Wed 24th Jul Work Commute 14 Miles

Thu 25th Jul Work Commute 14 Miles and no Thursday spin this week due to eve shift... I am like a demon thinking of all that good speed training the boys are getting

Fri 26th Jul Work Commute 14 Miles

Sat 27th Jul Went for a short spin to LBS for a few bits

Sun 28th Jul There was a spin out in Connemara for Oughterard Boxing Club 100k or so so rode the Vintage bike out and done the spin. Was playing holy f**k all day and totally burned myself out... 75 miles

You know theres another lesson for me in all this - Day was hot and I was pushing it hard and showing off in the hills and just being daft. After the spin I was a bit shook and sore - Went to get back on the bike after the spin and wallop I was cramped so bad that I couldnt turn the pedals .. That was from 1.Showing off 2. Riding outside my limits 3. not drinking enough fluids... I should really have a bit more sense but thats not me.. If I would have gotton teh thursday night I would hav eit out of my system !
    This is Tuesday and I am still sore.... Not 17 anymore ! :confused:

Mon 29th Jul Work Commute 14 miles and very shook and sore easy today !

Tue 30th Jul Work Commute 14 miles on the 531pro

Wed 31st Jul Work commute 14 miles

Thu 1st Aug Work Commute 16 miles - Took the long way home through town just to get a laugh at 2:30 am ! Ladies day from teh Galway Races. Must get a helmet cam cause it was just mayhem.. Ladies my h**e

Fri 2nd Aug Work Commute 14 miles - Had a slight spill at the top of the street ! My fault too fast and slippy road = off. Got a nice dose of road rash on my leg and right arm.. !

Sat 3rd Aug Fixed up the doggibike after the fall but still not happy with it.. Rode it out to Moycullen for a nice upgrade.. Flat bars gone in favour of Cinelli Type 66 - 42 and Shimano 600 Aero levers 8 Miles

Sun 4th Aug In-Laws invited myself and other half down so rode the 501 Pug and got lift back - Hid the war wounds well ! 35 miles

After a sore start - wasnt right until Tuesday. recovery is slow now at my age. Then to have a silly spill off the bike in sight of the house.. Just shows framiliarity breeds contempt. The run through the town was a laugh ! Everyone was that trolleyed that they took no notice of me ! I have the commuter upgraded a bit and I must say it looks damn well.

Goal this week take it easy - I have the Way Out West spin on saturday and I neither want to be fecked up with roadrash or cramps.

Mon 5th Aug Work Commute 14 miles

Tue 6th Aug Work Commute 14 miles and another spill after a shower of rain :(

Wed 7th Aug Work Commute 14 miles

Thu 8th Aug Work Commute 14 miles & club meeting - No spin out tonight either

Fri 9th Aug Work Commute 14 miles taking it easy

Sat 10th Aug Great Spin Out West - A nice run now . Got dropped as I had to stop and fuel myself up. Starting to knock but caught it in time. Caught back the group in Letterfrack and stayed in the rest of the way. Had a good blast from Maam Cross in ! 75 Miles

Sun 11th Aug Lazy day just went to local petrol station for paper and stuff 2 miles only

Had a quiet enough week - the Great Spin Out West was a fab run. All the usual g*b****es were noted for their absence ! Gave the group a nice settled demenour. Wasnt too tired after the run which is a nice change for me.. Had a nast spill at teh top of the street again.. My thigh is covered in road rash and its not healing too well due to movement.. Bedsheets are in rag order again - Wief not best pleased :rolleyes:

Mon 12th Aug Work Commute 14 miles

Tue 13th Aug Work Commute 14 miles

Wed 14th Aug Work Commute 14 miles

Thu 15th Aug Work Commute 14 miles

Fri 16th Aug Work Commute 14 miles

Sat 17th Aug Moycullen spiddle loop on the commuter just for the hell of it - Really appreciate a race bike now.. Good workout 27 miles

Sun 18th Aug Supposed to do the Inisowen 100 (thats miles) but got let down by the rest of the lads who pussyed out - Had to do club spin which was hard enough going 45 miles

Had another quiet week - didnt push it on the commute ! Used teh commuting bike for the Moycullen - Spiddle loop ! The weight and responce difference has now been realised ! Olan this week is to get stuck in to intervals as I am loosing out badly missing the Thursday "Blood and Thunder" night

Mon 19th Aug Work Commute 14 miles

Tue 20th Aug Work Commute 14 miles

Wed 21st Aug Work Commute with intervals on the return leg 14 miles

Thu 22nd Aug Couldnt get to spin tonite so made up for it with intervals both ways 14 miles

fri 23rd Aug Work commute - Intervals on the way there - fecked so recovery run on the way home 14 miles

Sat 24th Aug Nice easy spin to Dunnes in civvies .. 3 miles

Sun 25th Aug Club spin Galway Athenry Craughwell Galway. Took teh Triathalon on its last run before stripdown/restoration. 12 of us out so interval time along the N6. 7 intervals of 500m each with 1.5k recovery. For a change took HRM (I know its against my principles) got up to 237 and thought I was going to bust... 40 miles

A bit of pushing hard this week. Intervals really bring your weaknesses out. I couldnt hold back and a heart rate of 237 showed me that the owl oil pump is ok at least.. The intervals during the week were hard and the ones on Sunday were b**lbusters. You push a hell of a lot harder when you are up against the rest of the lads each one vying for teh next telegraph pole or landmark.... ! I am still thinking of racing you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭paulgalway

You mentioned intervals, any recommendations on what I could do to improve speed and endurance?

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

...heart rate of 237...

Holy molly, that's some revs your engine can do!!! :eek:

Well Lads I have it completed and despite not updating this thread for a long while (apologies for that but I seemed to be caught in a rut and repeating myself) I kept the work spins and weekend spins up. I have about 5k miles under me now at this point.

High Points: Getting a chat and pictures with Bernard Hinault. Being able to drop a work colleague who was a right pain in 2012. The Doolin Weekend away. The Jack and Chloe Cycle to Ballina on the hottest day this year Carrying a 20kg bag of coal on the carrier of the doggibike.

Low points: Bending the forks of the Peugeot Triathalon and busting myself up. Not getting to do the Ring of Kerry, Not getting to do the Cycle Against Suicide,

The highs definitely outweighed the lows so I am happy with this year. I have been nominated again for chairman of the club so it shows me that the members have blind faith in my ability. We had a good 2013 on the bikes so whats in store for 2014...?

A bit of structure to our training is whats needed. We are all good enough long distance but its the power output and snap response we will be looking at. We have about 7-9 members interested in taking up a bit of racing so I will be putting together a plan for them..... ! mmmmm tempt me Satan

If you see a few lads with Orange/Blue jerseys give us a wave or say hello. We are only too happy to chat. We arent divas, dont bite and are only too happy to assist beginners until they find their legs. Fare enough we will give it socks but the group will wait further on and if 14 go out 14 come back at the same time !

365 days in the saddle wasnt as bad as I had thought

This is a great forum BTW lads keep it up... See you all at one of life's little roundabouts !