Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this viewpoint racist...or understandable?

• 06-01-2013 4:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

(Disclaimer - I use the term 'black' as only a descriptive term as I do not know who comes from what country in the below scenario. I use it as affectionately as I do the term 'white'. Mods please feel free to close if this thread gets out of hand or incites bad taste)

Long story short, I get a lift home from work with one of my work colleagues from Dublin City Centre every night we are both in work together. Tonight, we were on the way home when a taxi driver pulled out and nearly smashed into our car. My mate got out of the car and shouted 'What the hell are you thinking?' at the driver before receiving a loud 'F*** off' from the occupant of the taxi. Upon returning to our car, he stated 'those black taxi drivers....it's always them'. This surprised me.

Upon asking him his opinion of them, he described the time when his car was scratched (twice) and crashed into (once), all by black taxi drivers. I have been present in two of these occasion. If you are to stand in the main drag in the Dublin 2 area, you will witness some atrocious driving from taxi drivers who are black.

We are both extremely friendly with different black guys who come into the place where we work, so he doesn't seem racist, also he works alongside African, Asian and South American colleagues too.

He basically does not like black taxi drivers at all (due to past experiences, and interactions with) - is he racist in saying so?

I am on the fence as to whether he has a point, I am giving it deeper thought before subscribing to an opinion.

TL;DR - Work colleague has bad experiences with black taxi drivers (as opposed to black work colleagues), therefore has low opinion of them (the taxi drivers) - is this racist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I wouldn't worry about it. Alot of people on boards hate taxi drivers full stop, regardless of colour.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Yeah it's pretty racist alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

You'd think in this day and age we'd of moved past this sort of bigoted thinking. Your friend is doing nothing but projecting prejudiced views and quiet frankly I'd begin to look for a new friend.

It's the bloody 21st century, in a western country that should be tolerant to these people as other countries were tolerant to the people of this country throughout the years.

Makes me sick. Taxi drivers are people too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I would say so as that sort of driving may be perfectly normal where they come from,plus it's probably the same handful of drivers in that area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Personally I hate black runners, all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

This won't end well I'd imagine. I think your mate probably has a problem with Nigerian/African taxi drivers instead of just 'black' taxi drivers. He can't 100% say they're Nigerian beacause he doesn't know for sure so he just uses 'black'. I doubt if he got a taxi in New York and the driver was black he'd have a problem with it. The problem then goes towards is he prejudiced against Nigerian taxi drivers? Quite possibly so. I personally have no problem with them but I have friends who don't hold any racist views but would prefer not to get in a black guys car due to their poor experience with them in the past. Do these problems stem from the colour of the driver's skin? Absolutely not. Do they stem from a culture in Nigeria? Possibly. Do these problems stem from Nigerians been possibly inexperienced on Irish roads. More than likely. I can't help but think if the population of Nigeria was predominantly white, would people speak out about what they feel more. So in short, your friend is lazily labelling poor taxi drivers as black. I'm sure he's not racist (ask him if he'd accept a black taxi driver in London or NYC) but he could do better with the generalisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

I happen to be up and reading this, for some reason, so, kinda against my better judgement, i'll respond.

Taken at face value, just as i take this thread, your friend, you say, had some bad experiences with some taxi-drivers who happened to be black.

Are you asking if that means that all black taxi-drivers are bad taxi-drivers/people?

If so, then clearly not.

Just like many people may have had bad experiences with taxi-drivers who weren't black and it wouldn't reflect on other taxi-drivers or people who you could link to them, in some way.

Glad to be of service.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Yes OP, that is very much racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

There's only two things I hate in this world. People who are intolerant of other people's cultures and the Dutch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Not to stereotype or anything but don't a lot of Dublin taximen have a problem with black drivers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Black driver = bad.
    Mixed race driver = average.
    White drivers = excellent.

That's how it works doesn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

Thanks for the replies people - AND FOR KEEPING IT (somewhat) MATURE! I can see the general consensus being that he is fairly racist for the views that he holds.

To give my reasons for posing the conundrum was that he has had bad experiences with black taxi drivers. He has black friends in work and shows no sign of being a bigot or racist but does have the viewpoint that black taxi drivers are generally ruder, worse drivers and have caused him all sorts of grief.(Unfortunately, I was present in two of the occasions of car damaging).

If he has had all of this grief, is he not entitled to a CERTAIN amount of disgruntlement? Saying if Roma gypsy people or Unionists in the North, or those 'crazy goshdarn Yanks' gave you grief and you held an opinion regarding them, would you not be understood in holding a certain amount of disgruntlement?

Thanks for the maturity :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Not to stereotype or anything but don't a lot of Dublin taximen have a problem with black drivers?

Yes. One of my classmates wrote their dissertation on this. If I remember correctly, I believe some of the unions or associations would not accept black drivers at one time (not sure if that has changed). Black drivers would be blocked from getting in line at the Taxi Stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

In my opinion, yes, yes they do. However are they all racist against black taxi drivers or black people? Perhaps they would have a problem against a load of lads from England, or Germany or Derry or wherever an identifiable group of people came from?

Does it mean they are intolerant of black people full stop, or are they intolerant against a people they are unaccustomed to taking their business? If the latter - are their attitudes racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

In my opinion, yes, yes they do. However are they all racist against black taxi drivers or black people? Perhaps they would have a problem against a load of lads from England, or Germany or Derry or wherever an identifiable group of people came from?

Does it mean they are intolerant of black people full stop, or are they intolerant against a people they are unaccustomed to taking their business? If the latter - are their attitudes racist?

I think you got it there in this post. As well of course the deregulation of the industry has born many ill feelings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

syklops wrote: »
    I wouldn't worry about it. Alot of people on boards hate taxi drivers full stop, regardless of colour.

Yep. Its the safest option.

If you hate them all equally, you can't be accused of discrimination between one taxi driver and another. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

there is a difference between making generalisations and being racist. if he was racist he would be treating work colleagues with similar racist ****, but he not so its NOT racism just sterotyping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

(Disclaimer - I use the term 'black' as only a descriptive term as I do not know who comes from what country in the below scenario. I use it as affectionately as I do the term 'white'. Mods please feel free to close if this thread gets out of hand or incites bad taste)

Long story short, I get a lift home from work with one of my work colleagues from Dublin City Centre every night we are both in work together. Tonight, we were on the way home when a taxi driver pulled out and nearly smashed into our car. My mate got out of the car and shouted 'What the hell are you thinking?' at the driver before receiving a loud 'F*** off' from the occupant of the taxi. Upon returning to our car, he stated 'those black taxi drivers....it's always them'. This surprised me.

Upon asking him his opinion of them, he described the time when his car was scratched (twice) and crashed into (once), all by black taxi drivers. I have been present in two of these occasion. If you are to stand in the main drag in the Dublin 2 area, you will witness some atrocious driving from taxi drivers who are black.

We are both extremely friendly with different black guys who come into the place where we work, so he doesn't seem racist, also he works alongside African, Asian and South American colleagues too.

He basically does not like black taxi drivers at all (due to past experiences, and interactions with) - is he racist in saying so?

I am on the fence as to whether he has a point, I am giving it deeper thought before subscribing to an opinion.

TL;DR - Work colleague has bad experiences with black taxi drivers (as opposed to black work colleagues), therefore has low opinion of them (the taxi drivers) - is this racist?

This being the FOURTH time your friend has had a near miss or an incident with another motorist of any color or occupation- I'd say it was high time he took a look at his OWN driving skills, or lack thereof.

If the issue of black taxi drivers causing incidents like what happened to your friend, not once, but FOUR times, there's a statistical improbability there that would have been highlighted long ago!

It also sounds like your friend is a bit of a hot head the way he'd actually get out of his car to berate another motorist when he wasn't even hit!

TL;DR? You're probably safer all round to get the bus home from work. That way you reduce your risk of being involved in an accident caused by your friend, you won't have to listen to his shìte talk, and you also reduce the risk of your friend one day picking on the wrong person to roar abuse at and thereby getting you involved in his nonsense!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Gauss

As a fellow racist I concur that he is also a racist. He discriminates based on race, that by definition is racist which may or may not be immoral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

He's merely stating the facts as he sees them and happens to be fairly accurate in what he says too. I didn't realise incidents like this were so common among Nigerian taxi drivers :eek: seen quite a few incidents myself but can't recall any from our own home grown taxi spuds. What does that tell us?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 514 ✭✭✭RUSTEDCORE

NOT RACIST
    HE bases his opinion on personal statistical fact that taxi drivers of that ethnic group are not as good as others.There may be basis to back up his theory as these would mostly be people who are not from this nation and lack knowledge of laws/rules or have exhibit different cultural behavior.

Example: If an african militia came to Ireland and killed 100 irish people we would hate them even if we really liked african people.We hate a specific group of these people due to membership in such an evil group this does not make us racist as the race does not cause our hatred it is the actions of the group not their nationality or skin colour. We would hate any other nationality or group who took the same actions.We woud even hate irish who killed irish.

RUSTEDCORE wrote: »
    NOT RACIST
    HE bases his opinion on personal statistical fact that taxi drivers of that ethnic group are not as good as others.There may be basis to back up his theory as these would mostly be people who are not from this nation and lack knowledge of laws/rules or have exhibit different cultural behavior.

Example: If an african militia came to Ireland and killed 100 irish people we would hate them even if we really liked african people.We hate a specific group of these people due to membership in such an evil group this does not make us racist as the race does not cause our hatred it is the actions of the group not their nationality or skin colour. We would hate any other nationality or group who took the same actions.We woud even hate irish who killed irish.

But the op's friend is lumping in all black drivers not a paticular group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Perhaps he was just against the drivers of black taxi's? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Its understandably racist.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

If they had all been white taxi drivers with green eyes, I doubt he'd be ranting about all those green-eyed taxi drivers being the same. It's inappropriate stereotyping at best as pointed out earlier.

Also as someone else has pointed out, the only common denominator in these incidents is your friend, he might want to take a look at his own driving and observation skills.

kneemos wrote: »
    But the op's friend is lumping in all black drivers not a paticular group.

It is reasonable to assume that foreign nationals who have less knowledge of our country and its rules do not have equal ability to Irish taxi drivers.

It was a generalisation but im sure if he asked his friend... do you think a black person is capable of being a good driver or is it impossible... his friend would say sure.

We would call all knives sharp but I can buy a knife or even a samurai sword which is as blunt as a spoon.

Even if he did mean that all black people are bad drivers there may be evidence to back up such a theory if he means comparatively to caucasians. I cannot say whether it is true or not but their brain chemistry is believed to be slightly different as is a 18 year old males to a 18 year old females and insurance companies use this information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Racists - a great bunch of lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

Its understandably racist.

There's no such thing as understandable racism.

One of the leading theories is that colder climates tend to select for higher intelligence. You simply need more brainpower to create more advanced clothing, tools and infrastructure in order to thrive in colder temperatures.

iq-map-of-the-world.gif
    iq_and_the_wealth_of_nations.jpg
    flye2_intelligence.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭secondrowgal

Lapin wrote: »
    Yep. Its the safest option.

If you hate them all equally, you can't be accused of discrimination between one taxi driver and another. ;)

Taxi-ist!!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Keno 92 wrote: »

Makes me sick. Taxi drivers are people too.
    Yes they are people too, its just that they are people who are a danger to others on the roads.

Taxi-ist!!! :p

arent they the ones who stuff dead animals?

miamee wrote: »

Also as someone else has pointed out, the only common denominator in these incidents is your friend, he might want to take a look at his own driving and observation skills.
    Methinks you may have missed the other common denominator.

Looks like the racists have woken up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I'm always a bit wary around taxi drivers full stop.

Many of them straddle 2 lanes in dublin, stop suddenly and don't bother with indicators.

I'm also very wary around large black women drivers having almost been written off a few times by them. 2 times in particular stand out - people carriers with kids not buckled in. Once on the N7 when she went straight across the lanes with no indicators or looking in the mirrors - scared the sh*t out of me!!

Don't know if that makes me a racist or not?

There's no such thing as understandable racism.

What's so difficult to understand about it, a ten year old can understand it, this isn't quantum mechanics we're talking about.

Separately what racism is, is discrimination based on race. If a person's race affects your decisions or beliefs about that person then you are racist. I am a racist, I believe a person who is black is more likely to win the 100m final. I use ethnic origin as a discriminant in determining some of my beliefs therefore I am racist.

Looks like the racists have woken up.
    A lot of people who use this word dont actually know what it means - would you be in this category?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

If we decide he is a bit racist what do we do then?

first we get him drunk, then take him for pizza and try to see up his skirt with a camera phone..........

john47832 wrote: »
    A lot of people who use this word dont actually know what it means - would you be in this category?

I don't believe in categories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Thanks for the replies people - AND FOR KEEPING IT (somewhat) MATURE! I can see the general consensus being that he is fairly racist for the views that he holds.

To give my reasons for posing the conundrum was that he has had bad experiences with black taxi drivers. He has black friends in work and shows no sign of being a bigot or racist but does have the viewpoint that black taxi drivers are generally ruder, worse drivers and have caused him all sorts of grief.(Unfortunately, I was present in two of the occasions of car damaging).

If he has had all of this grief, is he not entitled to a CERTAIN amount of disgruntlement? Saying if Roma gypsy people or Unionists in the North, or those 'crazy goshdarn Yanks' gave you grief and you held an opinion regarding them, would you not be understood in holding a certain amount of disgruntlement?

Thanks for the maturity :)

"posing a conundrum" is stretching it a little, your friend may not be a boorish 'send them all back' type, but the viewpoint that "black taxi drivers are generally ruder" is a racist one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

If it comes to punches the person who gets out of the car first will get blamed.

By all means let your friend call out a dodgy driver, your friend can roar all he wants.

Just be careful getting out of the car.

The gardaí and legal eagles would nail you for it

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    If we decide he is a bit racist what do we do then?
    lol, this is ah dude, there are only 2 rules in AH

(1) Decisions are never made in AH
    (2) Nothing ever gets "done" in AH

Oh yea, we dont ever talk about AH

I don't believe in trees.

So you are discriminating against me because I believe in categories?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

IM0 wrote: »
    there is a difference between making generalisations and being racist. if he was racist he would be treating work colleagues with similar racist ****, but he not so its NOT racism just sterotyping

Stereotyping on the basis of race is racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

Gauss wrote: »
    What's so difficult to understand about it, a ten year old can understand it, this isn't quantum mechanics we're talking about.

Separately what racism is, is discrimination based on race. If a person's race affects your decisions or beliefs about that person then you are racist. I am a racist, I believe a person who is black is more likely to win the 100m final. I use ethnic origin as a discriminant in determining some of my beliefs therefore I am racist.

What did I say I didn't understand? A ten year old could see that's not what I said. But feel free to rattle off any old stuff and say it isn't quantum physics to make yourself feel clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

Can I have a large Big Mac meal with a coke please?

Gauss wrote: »
    I don't believe in trees.

You can't swing from a catagory.

john47832 wrote: »
    So you are discriminating against me because I believe in categories?

No.